Brownsville (Smiths Grove), KY 
Chalybeate Springs Sports Complex Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 365ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    6/13/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course- good concrete tees and baskets including practice basket. Kiosk with large color course map. You just can't navigate on auto-pilot the first time you play, but it is not too hard to figure out without a map.

Good variety and balance of open grassy fairway holes and narrow wooded holes that went up and down and left and right. One hole goes straight down and another goes straight up to the top of the bluff about 100'. Each 9 loops back the parking lot. Both 9's start with open holes, go in the woods for a few holes, then finish back out in the open. Adding in the walking paths as O.B makes #1 and #2 more challenging.
Cons: Signs used to be good, but only about half the color map tee signs still exist, the rest just have hole # and distance faintly drawn on the wood post.

#4 is straight downhill, but the path down is not the safest, could use some steps like found in other places.

For the most part the course is in an area all by itself, but, if the walking trail was busy, there could be a risk of hitting somebody on several holes.

I played in the summer- the open grassy fairways had been mowed at some point but needed mowed again, the wood fairways were narrow and the plant growth on the ground there was often not different than the rough, and the rough was ankle to knee high and dense. I played by myself and basically had to place my bag half way down the fairway, take a disc back to the tee, and in one motion throw and then run down the fairway to watch where the disc landed. I would recommend playing with others and having spotters, or playing in the winter if by yourself.

My opinion, but a couple holes on the bluff (for me) had too much risk for losing a disc off the bluff (requiring more luck than skill)- the fairways were narrow with lots of trees and sloped steeply toward the drop. There was a plastic fence along the two holes to help with disc loss but you could still fly over or slide under or even roll under in some spots. The basket for one was near the dledge and the landing area was steep- I basically slid my putter on the ground for 2 shots and then dropped it in the basket.
Other Thoughts: It is actually a pretty fun course. Most, if not all, holes are dueceable for any experienced player, but don't let the distances fool you, there is plenty of challenge on the wooded holes where the main fear of losing your disc in the rough or off the bluff makes you think twice about how to play the hole.

A good course for beginner to intermediate players- not too long, plenty of open holes (in fact first timers could just play the open holes 1,2, 10,11,12,16,17,18 or something like that). The woods holes are not long but are tough and tight. This course demonstrates a lot of types of hole styles one will encounter on other courses. Map shows a lot of water but I didn't feel like the creek ever came in to play, and I really only caught a glimpse of it once (maybe in the spring the creek gets fuller and wider?).

Would make for a nice quick warm-up round for advanced players before going over to play Holler in the Hills.

The directions to the nearby school worked perfect on my GPS- the park entrance is just past the school- and once in the park, the course is easy to find.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Chalybwhatever

1    4/1/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 203  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of open and wooded shots that can test your game.

As everyone on my card from the BG ams will tell you I love the uphill 125 ft hole and a few others where MAJOR terrain comes into play.

the Fence on hole 14 was a savior for many.

The open holes were well manicured(for wooded holes see cons)
Cons: No benches which I like to have on any course even if it is a short one.

I thought that many of the fairways only allowed for a poke and pray line with no true "Fair"way that could be hit.

A lot of this course also required pure luck on whether you rolled away forever or would sit right next to the basket.

I felt like many of the danger zones such as the area to the right of 15 could use some sort of stairs to make disc retrieval less dangerous.

The 140 jump putt hole (#14) imo was a dumb hole and a filler that took away from most ofthe rest of the course.

The rough is extremely rough and there are many hanging limbs right in the middle of fairways that you can really see from the tee that will knock your disc down.
Other Thoughts: While I enjoyed this course for the most part I felt that it was gimmicky in some places and at best deserved a 2.5. I believe that there is a lot of maintenance that needs to be done on the fairways in order to make this a fair course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Underappreciated in my opinion.

1    1/24/2012   1/25/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Practice basket available near the parking lot. Always appreciated to help warm up before heading out.

2) Discactchers in decent shape and the yellow band is appreciated in a few places

3) Signs with all the information with Hole # Par distance and a map.

4) This park has tennis, volleyball, baseball, a pavilion and a playground . . . plenty of other activities.

5) Awesome variety on this course because of the mix of open, to moderately wooded, to heavily wooded.

6) The elevation change on this course was dramatic, not only in a couple of the holes going up and down, but also on #14 and 15 where you throw on the edge of the cliff. I executed #14 well but got lucky and was saved by the pole on the basket. #15 I wasn't so lucky, I caught the right side of a tree and my disc went all the way down by the river.

7) There is a good variety or shots, needed to turnover some drives, some gentle hyzers, you have the option of a spike hyzer on a few shots (although it is risky).

8) The fun factor on this course comes from the elevation changes and the wooded holes.

9) Nice grippy concrete tees are always appreciated.

10) Challenging course but also still fairly beginner friendly because of the shortness of most of the holes.This is the kind of course I could imagine a beginner getting hooked on.

11) Hole #10 uses a tennis fence as the main obstacle. They could also eliminate this hole if necessary to add another wooded hole, but at least they used what they could to force a tough anhyzer or a stall shot over the fence.

12) Overall while I do not like the wide open holes at least there are some rolling hills to create some interest on the hole . . . they aren't all just flat and wide open.
Cons: 1) Overall the good holes outweigh the boring wide open holes, but it looks to me like there could have been more wooded holes than they used, and I simply prefer the wooded holes.

2) A few areas in the woods have severe erosion problems. They tried to fix one of the areas with asphalt and it did help, but even that is eroding away.This is not only bad because of the erosion issues running right down into the river but also because of the tripping and dangerous hazard.

3) Some of the lower areas definitely hold water, it seems like much of Kentucky has a lot of clay soils. I was able to walk around these areas but after a heavier rain I could imagine it is worse.

4) The stairs they used to get you up the hill are falling apart and dangerous. Definitely not built to code of any kind as the board were simply nailed in from the sides and no bracing. I know this is the old way of doing things but disc golf courses need to step it up to current times and do things correctly. If we lose courses because someone gets hurt on something like this I will be disappointed because it could have been avoided.

5) If you go to the bottom of the hill near the river on #14 and #15 you will have to walk all the way around to Hole #8 and down the stairs to retrieve your disc and throw your recovery shot. It will be a hassle for people on 3 different holes and it will slow everything down too. Perhaps a stairway over the cliff would be a good idea.
Other Thoughts: I want to give this course a 3.5 because of the fun I had, but the erosion, the boring holes in the open, and the issue on #14 and #15 knock this down to a 3 disc course. Improve the infrastructure and maybe remove one of the boring open holes (I recommend #17 because it doesn't even need to be there) and add another wooded hole and you have a winner in my mind.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Better than Reviewed

1    8/9/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice compliment to Holler in the Hills just a few miles up the road. We played this course as our 2nd course of a two course day trip since we live 2 hours away, and it was a drastic and nice change from the amazingly gorgeous, hilly and challenging Holler in the Hills course. This course was either finally taken care of or the reviews below are just being harsh. I'm going with the former. I was expecting a trashy course, but what I got was a bit of a surprise here. Nice open holes, and some nice wooded holes, and a couple had MASSIVE elevation changes that were really neat and tricky. Teepads were in good condition, and the course flow was smooth and cohesive. The kiosk at the beginning was very nice. It plays through a multi-use park with a school very close by, but most of the course, especially the wooded sections were primarily just used for disc golf. Not a destination course, but a good course for those of you looking to get out of Bowling Green, and for those who are looking for a good compliment to Holler.
Cons: The open holes, especially a couple seemed TOO open. No obstacles, just chuck it and land close for a birdie or automatic par. One hole plays right next to a basketball and tennis court, and an errant drive to the right could possibly land right in them, as well as an errant drive on the one open hole next to the school could land in the school yard.
Other Thoughts: This course is in good shape as of today. Nice and easy, not too long, not too short. Nice challenges and some nice elevations. Great wind down course. If you are in the area, play this course, it's not the best course around, but far from the worst, and not nearly as bad as what I thought it would be.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/7/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chalybeate seems like a nice quite park. The course is a little on the short side, has Discatcher Pros baskets and looping 9's. It has a nice mix of open and wooded holes. Most of the course is fairly flat, but there are a couple cool shots with big elevation changes. There are a couple turnover shots here, but for the most part it's hyzer city.
Cons: I feel I have to review this course in the condition I played it in, and this course shows no signs of being taken care of. Nine of the holes had tall, punishing rough over knee high in many places. That included the fairway on many of these holes making them extremely difficult if not borderline impossible to play. It was so bad I played many of these with a bright colored putter because my goal quickly changed from "play the hole well" to "throw a putter 75ft so you don't loose a disc or spend forever looking for it."

The tee pads were pretty short, but they're level with the ground so it's not a big deal.

About 4 of the holes are wide open with no obstacles.

Holes 3 and 9 play through tight gaps so small they're almost unfair. Trying to hit an 8-10ft gap roughly 100ft off the tee is a bit ridiculous IMHO.

Hole 6 has so many trees in the way there is no fairway. Just poke and hope.
Other Thoughts: Overall this COULD be a nice, fun little course if it was taken care of but unfortunately that doesn't seem to be happening right now. I wouldn't recommend anyone play this course in the condition it's currently in.

Hopefully this will change and I'll update my review if I find out it has. With a little TLC, this course would be playable and enjoyable and I'd probably rate it a 2.5 if it was in good condition.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun short course to play

1    10/15/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: discgolphinmafaukner
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chalybeate disc golf course sits in a public park close to a school. The course has a good balance of grip-and-rip and technical shots. There are times where you are pulling out your fastest driver, and on the next hole you are pulling out your putter to throw through the woods. Some of the wooded shots are really cool! This course comes back close to the parking lot after hole 9. There is lots of OB in the form of walking paths. Lots of elevation changes on this course; the course makes good use of the terrain. All of the baskets were in good condition. There are straight ahead shots, hyzer shots, and anhyzer shots. This course has a little of everything except for huge distance.
Cons: More benches and trash receptacles would be nice. Some of the holes' fairways cross each other which can be dangerous on a busy day. Also coming out of the bottoms on some of the holes can be a little tricky. I didn't notice any bugs but I played in middle October.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course a three because of the cons. However I would still say the pros outweigh the cons! There may not be a lot of distance but the course still presents it's challenges. Come play this course it is a lot of fun. I can see how some of the holes in the bottoms could be flooded. However when I played the course the bottoms were fine. I thought this course was a lot of fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 An interesting mix

1    5/10/2009   7/21/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a multi use park, but doesn't conflict with other park activities. There is a nice mix of open rolling field shots and some tightly wooded holes. There is a steep drop into the woods, and a couple holes play up and down the hill, and others bring it in to play as a possible hazard, making for some fun and interesting shots. There is some length on a couple of the open holes, and the wooded holes will make you hit tight lines with brushy rough waiting to punish an errant shot.

There is a nice course map at the beginning of the course, and the flow of the course is good with no navigation issues. There are decent concrete pads and tee signs for every hole, and the discatchers are in good shape.
Cons: The open holes are wide open, and get a little boring and repetitive. The wooded holes are nice and technical, but all are short so they don't end up being all that challenging. The short downhill hole is fun, but a longer shot down the hill would be a nice complementary hole and add a little to the fun factor.

It's quite brushy and wet down in the woods, making for a pretty buggy and possibly mucky round. It ends up being a pretty easy course overall, with lots of birdie opportunities, and not too many holes that really threaten a bogey unless you screw up multiple times. A little more challenge and more tough wooded holes instead of all the field holes would add some variety and challenge.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent warm up course for nearby Holler in the Hills or on your way south to Bowling Green, but isn't worth a long drive by itself. There are some fun holes, but too many wide open shots and not enough challenge to make it a must play. Beginners will enjoy the mix of wooded and open shots, and won't find too much length. More experienced players will be able to score well here with only a mid and putter, and won't really be tested.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another fun BG Course

2-4    4/7/2006   1/15/2010
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 108  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chalybeate Springs has a great blend of open and wooded holes. It makes excellent use of elevation. It has a very nice course map that illustrates clearly what the competitor is getting into (other than the elevation, difficult to portray on a map). The use of elevation is a noted pro, and for good reason. There are fun downhill holes, fun uphill holes, and a couple of great holes that play along the bluff. The open shots aren't all clumped together, which allows you to ease into the round with a couple of easier holes, you get a break from the elevation and wooded shots in the middle, and then you finish off with some nice birdies attempts in the open.
Cons: The course isn't as well kept as other BG Courses. Some of the open shots do feel somewhat repetitive (though not so much that it is a major issue). The biggest con to the course though is that it isn't right there near the other BG Courses. It would get a lot more play were it nearer the main BG circle. It feels like its a little further out, and not really a part of the main community even though it very much is.
Other Thoughts: This is another in the long list of BG courses I enjoy playing. There aren't many I don't enjoy in that community. If it was better kept it would be a 3.5. As it is - I hold it as a 3.0 because it IS a genuinely "good" course. It is a lot of fun to play, it offers some unique shots (hole 4 is the most notable - I witnessed an ace and I circle-3'd it off the tee during my one tournament round there), and it is worth at least one play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A course that offers variety

5+    3/27/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very original in my opinion. There are some nice cliffs that offer elevation changes that I have seen nowhere else. The holes are realtively short which offers more for beginner players and forces seasoned players to be accurate. As with any course it seems to punish bad shots and reward good shots.
Cons: There was one hole on the front nine at the bottom of the creek that seemed like a poke and hope type of shot. I believe I threw a forehand roller each time and hoped I would get up there for somewhat of a putt. Some people might call the cliffs a con for safety purposes but I think it offers a different challenge then most courses. It seems to be off of the beaten path as far as where the course is in relation to Bowling Green.
Other Thoughts: I'd come back and play this course anytime, the location of it doesn't bother me. Obviously someone has put some time into this course and it shows. The man hours it took too install and clear everything (mostly the woods shots) are nice. The cliffs that you could throw off force you to be careful, I love this. Risk-Reward right!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/28/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: rinneal
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course offers a wide variety of shots. If you can't throw the long shot, this course is great. Wooded holes are great and challenging.
Cons: Course could be better taken care of.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. Play a minimum of once a week. Played last year in the snow. I enjoy playing this course because of the accuracy required on wooded holes, and the challenge.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.