Tulsa, OK
Chandler Park - Original Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #5 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 272ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Pro caliber? No. Fun? Yes!

5+    11/18/2013   12/2/2013
Review By: homeskule87
Played: 33  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tons of "aceable" holes.
Every hole is "birdieable"
Concrete tees.
Enough trees to make you throw accurately or suffer the consequences.
Great place to have a mid range/putter round.
There's two courses here so you get more bang for your buck.
There is no better course for a beginner in town.
Cons: The baskets are little, beat up old machs and some of the worst in town.
The holes are all easy and a intermediate player could easily shoot -10.
The holes are all short.
The signage is horrible.
Because this course is so easy it is usually crowded.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the most popular course in Tulsa simply because it is easy and fun. With a little tlc and some new baskets this course would be great!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Warm up

2-4    11/20/2012   1/1/2013
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete pads, good baskets, good signage.
Plenty of parking.
Pavilion nearby along with other amenities like a playground, nice bathrooms, etc. Just a nice place to bring your family or new players.
Very relaxing course
They have changed things around some and I really like the new hole 17(?). Seems to be someone taking interest in this old course.
Not much trash
Friendly locals although its usually pretty crowded
There is another course on site.
Cons: Very short. This course is nice for what it is, but if you like to watch a disc sail, this is not the course for you. Only one hole longer than 300'
Not much variety
Other Thoughts: Chandler has been around for quite a while. It has been surpassed by Tulsa's many other courses, but is still a good place to warm up or bring a newcomer or child. It's not a bad course, it just is not a great course.

I played disc golf my 1st time here. Great memories and a beginning to a recreational activity that has brought many more great memories.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beginner course

1    9/9/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Filipeeno
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great place to take beginner disc golfers to get interested in the sport. Good course to take just a putter and maybe a Roc or some mid-range. This is a morale booster for those that need it.
Cons: Short, not challenging. Can be crowded if you play on a weekend.
Other Thoughts: This is the course that I learned how to play DG on, so it has some sentiment. I've gotten better and now it's a morale booster and place to play a casual round with some newbies.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Chandler Park (Old Course)

5+    3/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a fun quick/easy course. Great for beginner players. Trees are used pretty effectively as obstacles.
Cons: This is a super short course. I would guess that the average length is probably something around 230-240. The 3rd hole is the longest at like 320-330. Also the last 3 hole's tees and baskets have been jacked up by some different construction and such, making them difficult to navigate. Although I think they may have remedied this since the last time I played.
Other Thoughts: It's a quick course to play, and still a lot of fun. But if you're looking for a challenging course - this isn't it. Take a beginner and show them the ropes at this course - its great for beginners. Or just go here and try to shoot for an ace - theres a pretty good chance you'll get one on some of the holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lava Mountain

1    11/24/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty park like setting. Short, mostly open shots make play swift. Easy to play but pin placement & select trees make line selection critical. Large concrete tee pads. Nice tee signs with picture of hole & arrow(s) showing line(s). Distance & Par marked. Pretty easy walk with flat terrain, grass & dirt. Two disc golf courses on the property.
Cons: Some of the tee signs are missing, damaged or modified (hole numbers are crossed out & new numbers written in). The flow starts off well at first but starts to suffer later on. Without a map or local to guide us we quickly became confused as to which hole was next. Some missing tee pads & mis-matched baskets added to the dilema. We ended up making up a couple holes in the end because of impending darkness. Mostly straight shots. No real dog-legs, elevation or super long throws here.
Other Thoughts: The course is on the west side of town in what looks like the tallest mountain in the city of Tulsa. The surrounding views are stunning but only seen while driving up to the course. This is a large park with interseting lava rock formations. There are flat rocks all over the course which will cause the disc to skip (or you to trip).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/10/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: shyflyguy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Difficult area to lose discs, short holes good for beginners. Many trees provide shade for those hot Oklahoma days. No water holes.
Cons: Many trees make difficult shots, some holes the best play is a skipshot. Many holes offer a simple path for only one type of throw (sidearm or backhand) not both. Unable to locate tees for holes 15 & 17. Course layout not easy to follow.
Other Thoughts: Due to the many trees, be prepared to warp a couple of discs, unless you have the high grade plastic. 2 of our threesome bent discs after bouncing off of trees. Hard ground and rocky terrain makes for good skip shots and long rollers, even beyond the basket.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Flat - but fun!

1    3/19/2011   3/25/2011
Review By: sandford
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: OVERALL FUN FACTOR (16% weight) - 4.5 - Although this course has a few cons it was still a lot of fun to play, and that is the most important criteria for me! None of the holes were bland/boring for me and they all kept me on my toes thinking and trying to make good throws.
COURSE DESIGN (14% weight) - 4 - Course design is great for the park space it is on. Great placement of tees and baskets through and around trees that force you to try and think about / shape shots. On several holes, there were challenging puts to make due to trees near the baskets.
SIGNS/MAPS/MARKERS (11% weight) - 4 - Signage is very good, shows picture of the hole and a reccomended flight path on each one (as seen in the course photos on this site). There's a course map and a few markers showing way to the next tee.
TEE PADS (8% weight) - 4 - Nice concrete tees
SCENIC BEAUTY (8% weight) - 3 - A well kept park, it is pretty nice
BASKETS (5% weight) - 2.5 - All baskets are in good condition, but they are a mix of different types which can wreck your putting rythm a bit
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 4.5 - Even though all the holes were similar in length and elevation, that didn 't stop the course designers from making them all feel very different. Becasue of trees / obstacles you really have to throw a good variety of shots to do well. Lots of places to play skips.
FOLIAGE MAINTENANCE (3% weight) - 4.5 - Grass is cut and trees look like they are kept pruned.
MIX OF TIGHT AND OPEN (3% weight) - 3.5 - pretty decent mix. "Tight" meaning lots of trees in the way you need to throw over /under / through
OVERALL CHALLENGE (3% weight) - 2.5 - Not all that challenging, but still fun
CROWDED? (3% weight) - 4 - There was some disc golf traffic on a beautiful Saturday afternoon, but no waiting at teepads.
PARKING (2% weight) - 5 - plenty of free parking
Cons: ELEVATION (8% weight) - 1 - Mostly all the holes are flat (even though the park is up on a hill) which makes for a redundant feeling at each tee off.
EPIC HOLES (5% weight) - 1 - There are not any holes that really stick out to me as epic memorable experiences.
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 1.5 - Most all holes are short or averge in length. 12 holes are under 250 feet.
BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 2 - There are a few trash cans through out the park, no benches at the tees.
Other Thoughts: Wish I had a chance to play the second course here - Moose Run, but i'll have other opportunities in the future. Local players told me there is a good scene here with fun camping, festivals and tournaments.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Short and not so sweet

1    9/4/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: jakerg23
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short holes made for a low score. No holes were too frustrating, and the first 12 or so holes flow pretty naturally. Good course for a beginner since no holes are too long or difficult.
Cons: Impossible to decipher the last 4 holes. 15 had no tee that we could find, the sign for hole 18 leads to the tee for hole 16, and 17 and 18 had no tees at all that we could find. No holes were too interesting or hard.
Other Thoughts: This course can make you feel really good since you can birdie a lot of holes pretty easily, but compared to a course like McClure, this one isn't interesting enough for repeat playings.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and simple

1    7/16/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mostly concrete tee pads, good length and in decent shape. Mixture of a few discatcher and old mach baskets in decent condition. Tee signs are mostly there up to 14, and the pictures on the Tulsa disc sport site will get you through hole 12 anyway. Nice covered pavilion, and restrooms are onsite.

The park if very nice, and when you're leaving, you get a great view of the Tulsa skyline.

This is a very Rec-friendly course, no big danger or terribly long or difficult shots.

My memorable holes:
11 - Basket semi-guarded on all side by a stand of trees, a little tricky to get a layup for deuce.
That's about it. Really.
Cons: I'll keep the list concise. There are a lot of things I could nit-pick, but here are the main ones.

Holes 15-18 are just random. The baskets are spread around in a small grassy area on the other side of the pavilion from the rest of the course. There are not defined tees, tee signs, or any indication of where you are supposed to throw from. I was told by a couple locals that those holes had to be moved due to a new building that was recently constructed. It really did drag down the enjoyment of my round at the end.

The course almost overlaps on it's big brother Moose Run, and with no "next tee" markers, I ended up throwing on a couple of the "moose run" holes inadvertently. Course navigation is sketchy to say the least. Most times you can find the next hole, but the 6-7 and 12-13 transitions are tricky, and 15-18 is just a guess.

There also were no benches or trashcans on the course that I recall seeing. I didn't spot a lot of litter, but I could see where it might become a problem at times.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 2 is based on the fact that the course is somewhat fun, but is severely lacking in difficulty and upkeep. Just putting some signs on 15-18 for where the tees are would help tremendously in enjoyment factor. It also would hurt to have a hole or two that you can't drive with a mid-range or putter.

If you're in the Tulsa area and decide you want to hit up Moose Run at Chandler, then this course might not be a bad play-it-while-you're-there deal, but I wouldn't make a special trip just for it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 As Classic as Tulsa itself

5+    6/18/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: JWood311
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short course, plenty of Ace opportunities. Great course for beginners or improving target golf. Well maintained, and a favorite of most locals.
Cons: Not much distance driving. Chip & Putt. Get's crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: This course hosts some really good local tournaments.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.