Chariton, IA 
Chariton DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Unique metal signs

5+    4/15/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: shakatak
Played: 52  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Unique metal signs at each hole
*Concrete tee pads
*Mach 3 baskets
*Good elevation
*Hole 3 is pretty good - see my remarks on the "other thoughts" section
*Good course for beginners although they could lose a disc pretty easily on 8 with a noob hyzer
*Doesn't look like it gets much traffic so you'll probably have the course to yourself
Cons: *Other than hole 3 the holes aren't that interesting, just mostly open throws at a basket with one or two trees in the way
*Teepads could be longer
*The basket on 8 is leaning over quite a bit and has been that way since I first played it in 2011.
*Hole 9 is one of the plainest holes I've played

Other Thoughts: *Hole 1 - When I first played this course in 2011 there was a bunch of trees/thick brush on the left side of the fairway on 1, forcing you to play a not-so-easy big righty hyzer to get close to the basket. Since then the trees and brush have been completely removed, leaving you an EASY wide open 165' downhill straight shot to the basket.
*Hole 2 - Tough uphill 300' + shot
*Hole 3 - Fun downhill then uphill 465' hole with treeline and railroad tracks just left of the fairway, a large tree on the right side, and a creek that you have to go over. The best hole out here in my opinion. A challenging par for this Intermediate player.
*Hole 4 - Short hole with a pine tree guarding the basket and o.b. fence on the left and long
*Hole 5 - Throw over a creek uphill, you need about 300' in distance to get there
*Hole 6 - Wide open throw that is pretty much the opposite of hole 5's throw
*Hole 7 - Easy ace run hole. I played 6 rounds in a row here and birdied it 5 times, hitting the basket off the tee once.
*Hole 8 - Pond on the left, wide open on the right. Basket bent over quite a bit.
*Hole 9 - Boring straight throw, slightly uphill, not a single tree or obstacle the whole way. Like other reviewers have said it looks like they ran out of land and just plopped a hole down.

Not a course worth driving too far out the way to play but a course with baskets and cement teepads is cool for a small town to have.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worthwhile

1    9/5/2009   6/23/2010
Review By: Clue
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.4 Years
Pros: There's enough length/variety that it's worth playing. Tees are good. Signs make holes very easy to find. Baskets are good. Very little traffic, but well taken care of.
Cons: Only par 3 holes. Very ordinary small town course.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't travel very far to play this as there are a lot better options within an hour's drive.

 Welcome to Ironsign!

1    6/25/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really good little 9-hole course. This place has water, OB, elevation, protected pins, and a nice layout. This is very well maintained and has some of the most unique tee signs I have seen thus far. Their tee signs look like handmade metal (cast iron look to them) map style signs. See the photo I uploaded in the photo section for an example. Cement tees are of decent length and they are course suitable. The holes provided some good variation in length. Bathrooms are at the ball field next door and there was great parking.
Cons: Hole #9 could use some more imagination, even if they planted a strategic tree. Although the layout is nice, most holes are straight ahead driving. No trashcans are available, but the grounds are still unbelievably spotless.
Other Thoughts: This is actually a beautiful and simple little course. The Fun Factor for me was decent. I really enjoyed this little course and wished I had enough time to play it again. It may not be worth a long drive, but it was a great little stop if driving through the area anyway.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Surprise

1    6/5/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located amidst a small hometown baseball complex, so I was pleasantly surprised when I pulled up and noticed the nice elevation variety on the course.

- Hole type variety is average with 5 Straight / 1 Straight with Water / 2 Left / 1 Right. There is not significant foliage challenges, but great placed baskets within the trees available. Even though the holes are mostly straight, they were well desgined.
- Hole length was great for a shorter course with 3<200 / 4@ 200-400 / 2>400. Great course for challenging Duece runs!
- Course has concrete tee pads.
- Tee signs were unique and accurate. Made from steel, so deterioration was a not an issue. All the tee signs showed the tree locations accurately and distances were indicated as well.
- The overall course beauty was average, but the course is certainly worth stopping to play if you are driving through. There is water that comes into play on the 8th hole only.
- Nobody on the course when I played. Played very fast and had an absolute blast!
- All the fairways were mowed and the course was very well maintained. The parks and rec. department obvioualy cares about this one.
- Not a single piece of trash even though trash cans were minimal!
Cons: - The course will be a little short for big arm throwers who like the 400' + holes, but that will obviously be a positive for shorter arm throwers.
- Only 9 holes :)
- Holes 8 & 9 could use more imagination. The course designer ran out of space it appears and just dropped the last 2 holes on the property.
Other Thoughts: - Playground nearby.
- Bathrooms @ baseball fields.
- Just a great 9-hole course that was a short, moderately technical joy to play. I don't know that I wold make the trip to play it again since my optionsin Kansas City are too numerous and better with 18-holes courses, however that being said, I was glad I made the trip and fit this one in. If you're along I-35 and have an hour to spare, stop off in Chariton and ring the chains at this DGC! You'll be glad you stopped to stretch.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.