Louisville, KY
Charlie Vettiner Park Share
Uploaded By: LtDan914 Hole #5 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 291ft.   3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice course, good layout

1    12/2/2013   2/6/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout, has some good elevation changes and use of wooded areas. A couple of fun tree tunnels and some nice open holes.

There are good facilities and for a multi use park you don't get interfered with/ interfere with anyone else activities.

Also some nice views down by the river, though the water doesn't really play a part.
Cons: Some minor cosmetic things when I was there, a lot of litter by some tee pads and a huge brush pile by hole 2.

The course overall is great, if have just liked a couple of longer holes. It's plays slightly short of average.
Other Thoughts: When I was there it was raining, cold and there was some sleet. Even with all this it was still a fun course. It's a must play if your in the area. I I go back in better weather, I'll be playing there again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/18/2008   2/11/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/14/2011
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The 18 holes are set on very nice land. The course moves in and out of the woods with a nice mix of tighter technical holes, moderately open with a few obstacles, and very open holes. There is a lot of elevation utilized here, a lot of playing straight up and straight down, especially in the woods. The rough is punishing, but the fairways are very fair. Tees, baskets, signs, and navigation are just fine.

The course is a good hike and requires you to be in decent shape in order to finish strong.
Cons: This is definitely a solid course, but it just did not have very many memorable holes like you get with the top level courses. Many of the tee shots here seem to be the same- in the woods throw it very straight, in the open throw it long without fear. The exception is #18. Hole 18 is a unique hole, and I know a lot of people really like it, but to me it seems more like a gimmick than a real hole- it is shaped in a V, and would probably be made into two holes are most courses. It can make or break your whole round, but it is just so different from the other holes (and any other hole anywhere) and just seemed like an odd design to me.

There are some wide open holes with little to no obstacles that are not nearly as interesting as the rest of the course. They almost are filler holes (something not found on superior courses.)

Little con- tee 12 was something else before it was a tee, more square in shape, just felt awkward, and does not look as nice as a regular tee like the other 17 holes have. (There are alternate tees for some holes, but this one can't have a regular tee?)

Con for some- this course is not very beginner friendly.
Other Thoughts: CV is very demanding and will be enjoyed primarily by seasoned players looking for a personal challenge or a good place for a competitive round. It is definitely worth a stop if you are traveling to play the Louisville area courses. I would want to play it again next time I am up there.

Because the course can wear you out physically, and it is tough, I found myself really tired and just ready to be done playing by the end. It was also mid-summer, very hot, and our last course of the day, but I rarely feel this way on any course in any season. (so come prepared to play.)

*I debated between giving this a 3.5 (Very Good) or a 4.0 (Excellent). It is better than most 3.5's I have played, but I didn't enjoy it as much as all the courses I have rated 4.0+. I wish I could give it a 3.75 (Very, Very Good or Almost Excellent). This is just one guy's opinion here, so be sure to read all the reviews as this course is very well-liked by many people, and you may too.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tough wooded course

1    5/12/2009   7/21/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly wooded park. Most of the holes play through thick woods with thick rough that's waiting to punish an errant shot. A few holes give you a break with a little more open shots, though the woods are usually lurking alongside the open holes with a chance to end up in trouble. There is a great mix of hole lengths and shapes here, you'll throw every shot you have to score well and stay out of trouble. There are a couple shorter holes, and lots of longer and tougher holes, and the course never feels very repetitive.

There are nice large concrete tees throughout the course, and they have enough texture to provide solid footing. The signs are basic, but accurate, and are sufficient to follow the course with no navigation issues. There are stairs and bridges where necessary to make it easier to get around the course.
Cons: There is a lot of traffic on this course, both players and other random walkers. This makes for some waiting, and for some potential safety issues when walkers come around blind corners on the course unexpectedly. The traffic has also caused compaction and erosion on a lot of the wooded fairways, so there are lots of slick muddy areas if it's rained recently.

There are lots of blind holes so you'll do some extra walking to see where to throw, and a spotter is useful on several holes. A few of the open holes feel like filler holes, and don't fit in with the feeling of the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun and challenging course, and definitely worth a stop if you're anywhere in the area. There is a great variety of holes that keeps you on your toes throughout. Beginners may find it a little too challenging and punishing, but more experienced players will find themselves tested to make lots of different shots and hit some nice tight lines.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Big park for your big drives

2-4    3/7/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: Switters213
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.8 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Varied Terrain, this park has both woods and wide open spaces. It has hills and flats. If you want to experience almost all disc golf has to offer in one course, this is a good place to do it.
- Big tee pads. I have a big run-up when i drive, so a big cement tee pad is nice.
- Long drives. If you love to throw those long bombs, this is the place for you. If you're keeping score, those 300 foot drives are really going to pay off in the more open parts of this course.
Cons: - Mandos. I've come to belive that mandatory shots are a reflection of bad hole design. I refuse to use them. Fortunately there aren't many here.
- Crowds. Louisville is a big place. Almost a million people in the greater metro area, and this is a good course...be prepared to wait to play and then be crowded by players coming up from behind on any nice summer weekend.
- Mud. During the wetter times of the year, parts of this course turn into a slip-and-slide. Best bring your hiking boots.
Other Thoughts: - If you can get there really early or go during a week day you'll beat most of the crowds.
- Hole 18 (par 6) seems ridiculous at first, but unless you're the incredible hulk i don't recommend trying to throw over or through the woods. Just play hard and throw around the bend like the sign says...if you place your middle approach shots well, you should be able to do it in 5, no problem.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wicked Course

1    8/15/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: g1nked
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pro designed obviously shows great mix
for pro and amatuer I thought very difficult and challenging for my level at the time.
Cons: just distance for me just a tad which is not a Con for others. Only one i heard was casual park walkers may decide to take a hyzer fairway walk around a tree not knowing where their walking in the face of danger
Other Thoughts: I can not see everyone who plays this would love it over time and experience.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Disrepair

2-4    7/8/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: Kellermeyer14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very Challenging. A lot of varying grades, uphill and downhill. Enough holes in the woods to challenge and enough open fairways to let you pull back & let 'er rip. The third hole has a challenging ravine to throw across. The eighth starts out open and then turns into a tunnel.
Cons: 1. The rough along the first three holes is incredibly overgrown. 2. It looks like people have used it as a dumping ground. The second hole ends right by a bunch of trash. 3. Some missing tee signs.
Other Thoughts: It may have been a great course at one time, but it needs some TLC. Apparently there's an A tier event being held there in Sept. '09. If so, someone needs to get their sh*t together.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/9/2010   3/5/2008
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 56  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 20.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2010
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good course to learn a variety of shots. Almost every hole has the ability to test your skills. There are several mando's and frequent O.B.'s. Some casual water, mostly in creek beds. Also has very thick rough. If you want to improve your scores at other courses, play here frequently.
Cons: Can get extremely sloppy after rain and snow. The entire course is directly above the large creek where all of the water runs off too.
Terrain sucks to walk. Not much fun to play. If you want a fun course go to Iroquois..lol
Other Thoughts: very challenging to Pro's and Am's alike!
Unless you are in a Tournament atmosphere go for 3 on most every hole. It will certainly make your scores look much better. Try and minimize your errant shots into the rough. Most rough shots require 2 or more shots.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.