Louisville, KY 
Charlie Vettiner Park Share
Uploaded By: LtDan914 Hole #4 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 279ft.   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Billtown Beauty

2-4    3/2/2013   3/2/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 159  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Charlie Vettiner DGC is the best in town on the Louisville side of the river, and combines with Seviren Lang and Iroquois to make a nice triumvirate for locals and travelers coming through I-65, I-64 & I-71. Located in a spacious park with all the amenities, the 18 hole disc golf course has its own space away from the other park activities, and it has sufficient challenge (especially with the mandos and OB's enforced) to host quality tournaments, like the annual Charlie Vettiner Open. My first time here (as a first year player), this course ate me alive, because I had trouble keeping it in the fairway. With a little more seasoning, I was able to par most holes on the course, so I'd say this course poses a challenge for Rec level players, but might really be up your alley if you are Intermediate or above.

Starting at the kiosk sign (lots of local league & club info: could use a map there) by tees 1 (& 12), you are introduced to the style of this course immediately with a downhill lane bending slightly right, where a controlled shot will land you a deuce (or in the case of a friend I made at my first BG Ams last year, a first ace!). A stronger arm than mine has a legitimate shot of also getting the comeback uphill #2, but it would take a really advanced to pro tee shot to park #3 across the ravine and finishing with a right bend. Hole #4 is very tight in the summer, with honeysuckle and cypress trees about 20' apart before a hook to the right for a finish. Five of the next seven holes are mostly open, but have a couple of mandos to control the lines. The neatest hole on the front nine might be #8, where you have to drive from the open, hit the gap, and finish in a 150' lane back to the basket. In the winter, you can look to the right from that basket and see the ball golf course and a pretty lake, and hear the water cascading down the rill behind the #9 tee

Once the course has you set up thinking it's not too tough, you discover the tight lines starting on the #12 downhill, the tree guarded finish on #13, the rising hyzer (rhbh) needed to park #14, and the split fairway on #15. But wait! #16 requires a lane tee shot, then a perfect blind hyzer to hook around near the #16 basket. As a Rec player, I'm still looking forward to my first (single) bogey 4 on this one. #17 is fairly straightforward, depending on your controlled drive, but #18 is a killer right-turning U hole that mirrors the difficulty of #16.

There are 6 holes here with multiple tee pads which work for a variety of skill levels, and I've heard there are multiple pin positions for all (?) the holes. There are benches and trash cans by most every hole, and the park is very well maintained. The DGA baskets are in great shape, and the infrastructure (stairs, bridges) is really pretty nice. (Tee) signage is becoming a little dated, with some going missing, but there are good 'next tee' signs where needed, and the map here on DGCR is really good: print one before you go. There are even a pair of practice baskets centrally located to the start of the course.
Cons: As mentioned, the course sign could use a map, along with the other helpful info, and a couple of tee signs need to be replaced.

There are a couple of spots where the course flow can lead to problems (if the group behind you isn't careful): you walk back from the #3 basket, angling across the fairway to get to the #4 tee. There's a fairly big gap between 14 & 15, and you have to walk back up the blind approach area to get from 16 to 17.
Other Thoughts: Currently undergoing some significant 'remodeling' of the turnaround drive by the start of the course, there are erosion barriers in the fairways of 1 & 12, and alongside the finish on 18. There is a lot of construction fencing now acting as a un-natural obstacle for the approach to #11's basket. And there is very little parking available right now.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

1    7/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a secluded area. It has rolling hills, open, and some tight holes with nasty rough. There is a good variety of left, straight, and right turning holes. Distances vary greatly hole to hole. Staying in the fairway is a must on many of the holes.

Solid Mach 3 baskets with 2 pin positions on each hole. All holes have number plates. There is a practice basket near the parking lot.

All tee pads are concrete. See cons too.

Nice tee signs with distances and descriptions. See cons too.

Minor elevation comes into play around the course.

There are some nice bridges on this course.
Cons: I had a guide who had played the course. There are a lot of blind holes and navigation could be an issue.

There are several wide open holes.

Several tee signs were missing.

Several of the tee pads could use some length too them especially #18.
Other Thoughts: I would suggest playing this course with another person and spotting for each other.

This is not far off the interstate and a great stopping point if you are traveling.

We were on our way back from Charlotte Worlds. We were not let down by this course. It's very fun.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and fun

5+    5/18/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: SMcVicker91
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course presents a great challenge. Staying out of the woods is incredibly difficult as most holes run the hazard and have big consequences if you land in them. Many holes have narrow passages surrounded by woods. Accuracy wins over distance big time here. In particular, Hole #16 presents incredible challenge: your drive is along a very narrow passage that verges to the left with trees on either side. Then it's a long way uphill, dense woods to the left, and the basket itself is in a small not-so-clear clearing, with a creek at the bottom that discs just love to roll down into.

In terms of tee pads, every hole has a concrete tee pad. Hole 12, however, is on a larger concrete area with the throwing perimeter spray-painted. Not a big deal.

Every hole except 1 or 2 has a sign with the distance/par/map. Everything flows well, getting lost is hard to do since the otherwise confusing transitions have directional signs.

There is a large practice area with 2 baskets to practice your putt and approach.
Cons: A few holes are a bit underwhelming like 6, 7, and 10, which are pretty much wide open with few obstacles. They do however provide much-appreciated solace from the woods.
Other Thoughts: 15 of the 18 holes are Par 3. The longest is #18 which is 600+ft. Again, accuracy is key to score well here.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great, Challenging Course!

1    8/6/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 98  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 10.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thoroughly enjoyed my round at Charlie Vettiner. As a player from the Chicago suburbs, it's not often that I get to play in a course with as many exciting features of disc golf that this course has. I will definitely play it again for the following reasons:

*Very challenging. Great course for advanced and tournament players to improve their game.

*Beautifully scenic woods and hills that have nice ammenities such as bridges and stairs for disc golfers to conveniently retrieve their disc

*I felt that nearly all the holes had the perfect distance for the obstacles they presented. I'm inured to playing wooded courses where the holes are between 200-250 feet, so that i don't need a super skillful shot to reach them, but at Charlie Vettiner there was awide range of distances among the wooded holes.

*Hole 15 was amazing. Distance rougly 305 ft... dense forest to the left and two hills in front and to the right for about 250 feet, then a cave of trees hides the hole. miss the cave and youre in trouble, but if you get it in, it's super rewarding!

*The usual "positives" for courses apply here: good baskets, teepads, etc (see below about signage)
Cons: I had such a great time at this course that I really wanted to give it a higher rating, but a few things kept me from doing so. The main flaw of this course is the signage. It's clear that a local club has tried to make these signs better, but the tee signs are a bit misleading and have a dearth of information on them. Also, some holes have alternate tees without signs, so when we got to hole 7s teepad, we thought it was an alt tee but in fact it was the only tee.

Other flaws:

*Not a big fan of hole 18... the hole's fairway is shaped like a V so that the basket is in fact a few hundred feet to the right of the teepad, but guarded by heavy woods. the tee sign makes no mention of the mando around the trees, and it just seems kind of silly to have a 600 foot shot like that be a "V"

*There weren't very many chances for big arms to air out their drivers. The more open holes on the course didn't exceed 350 feet or so. I would've loved a nice 450 foot open hole to magically replace hole 18. Then I would have given Vettiner Park a higher score!
Other Thoughts: Although I don't live anywhere near Lousiville, I would be very surprised if I didn't play this course again. It is well worth going out of your way for. If you are hoping to improve your game by taking on some very unique obstacles (one man made wall on a nifty little open hole) then this is the place for you. If you're like me, you'll likely throw a few frustrating shots, but to me that leaves me wanting to play the course again!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Best In Louisville!

5+    3/17/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: xTOMMYxIRISHx
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very nice looking
Will make your game a lot better
Great tee pads besides 12
All types of shots
Cons: Very Hard
Hard to find tee pads on some holes
12's tee pad
Lots of hard walking
Other Thoughts: Hands down the best place to play in Louisville. This is a great place to play and the CVO is a huge event with many great pros.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Well-balanced and Challenging

1    3/26/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 5 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Charlie Vettiner, a park-style course, provides 18 holes of challenging yet rewarding golf. With a nicely balanced mix of terrain including open grassy areas, tightly wooded tunnel shots, moderate elevation changes, a small stream, and just enough schule to punish errant shots without making a disc search inevitable for anything off the fairway, Vettiner will have you coming back for more.
- Good concrete tees throughout. Grippy and long enough for most players. Am tees, when they appear, are of the same quality.
- The slight to moderate elevation was very well implemented throughout. A nice mix of uphill and downhill shots, with a "gorge" style hole on #3. Even the more open hills had slopes or rolling hills to contend with. Pin positions often were placed in a manner that rewarded good putting and punished missed shots with rollaways.
- #10 has an interesting sort of (non-natural) rock wall to the right of the pin. Bushes on each side of it, and flags in the ground, denote OB. On this otherwise open hole, I found this to be a great way to create "artificial" risk. Certainly unique.
- #16 forces a (RHBH) hyzer through a tightly defined fairway of "matching" trees. If you get through without pinballing, you'll be forced to go uphill to the right of some large pines that protect the pin from sight.
- #18 is a 601' epic finisher. 300 (or so) feet to a mandatory, and then the fairway bends 90 degrees to the right, followed by another 300 feet to a tree-protected pin. Anything to the right before the mandatory will cost you badly.
- Adequate tee signs show the hole numbers, footage, mandos, and list any OB. Next tee directions as needed. Both the am and pro tees have signage. Yellow flags denote drop zones for OB. One sign warns walkers and other park goers to "Beware of Flying Discs."
- The undergrowth had well-worn paths, making wayward discs easy to find.
- Garbage cans and benches throughout.
- The course loops back to the parking lot at #12.
Cons: - #7's tee sign was missing.
- There was a lot of trash on this course for the amount of trashcans throughout. This, and the sort of scrap yardish feel on a couple of holes near the beginning make the course feel less secluded and a bit trashier than it is, unfortunately.
Other Thoughts: - Vettiner delivers. Despite a few minor cosmetic issues, this is a solidly designed and maintained course and one I'd find myself on often if I lived in the area.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 well designed; good challenge

1    7/26/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: discNDav
Played: 289  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 28.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: CV is a well designed course with a great mixture of mostly wooded and some open holes. The variety of shots required presented a good challenge for my game.

The elevation changes (small rolling hills) are great for DG here!

Good cement tees and signage were helpful.

The park and course itself are very well maintained...cut grass in the open and a clean park overall.

The bridges on the back 9 were much appreciated. The front nine ends at the parking lot making a perfect loop.

The course doesn't let up, it becomes more difficult near the end, hole 18 is a true par 5.

A much better challenge than Iroquois Pk, also in Louisville.

Cons: Ther rough can be thick in places throughout the wooded holes, not enough to lose a disc but enough so you'll spend time looking.

There are several blind shots off the tee and this can make it difficult the first time through.
Even with a map, I had some navigation issues between 14-17.
Other Thoughts: Even though I played decent, I got the feeling
if I played here often the course would become much easier.

The course seemed more wooded than the pictures show here.

Print a course map, you'll need it!

I'm a tough grader of courses and still give CV a 4.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging for everyone

5+    8/16/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 223  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course contains a large warm up area with two baskets specifically for putting and the baskets on numbers 2, 11, and 18 can be used for mid range warm ups as well. Large tee pads on every hole with adequate signs. Course traverses rolling hills in and out of the woods with punishing rough in the wooded holes. Several par fours and one par five truly test your abilities. Very accurate drives required to have a chance at birdie and they should be taken advantage of. The open holes still have OB and some mandos to make you concentrate more. Large bridges are installed across the creek in most situations with an excellent staircase built up the hill to number 14's tee pad.
Cons: On nice days there will be non-disc golf walkers on the course side of the park that are mostly oblivious to the course, so be watchful there. Also, runners like to use the hill off the road across eight and nine's fairways to train. This usually slows everything down. Several holes could use spotters to speed things up. Some of the hills can get quite muddy and slick after a storm and can be dangerous if you're not paying attention.
Other Thoughts: Vettiner is the harder of the two current courses in Louisville and for good measure. The hills can be exhausting and rounds there take longer than you'd think for a 6000 foot course. Number 18 was designed to be exactly the way it is, a big pain in the ass. Dave didn't want anyone to have a sigh of relief thinking they're finally at the last hole, he wanted that hole to make you concentrate even more and execute your shots right at the end. Other parts of the park can be quite busy so don't be surprised to hear an ice cream truck throughout most of your round or a family playing loud music while having a picnic or cookout.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  We need more like this one

5+    7/22/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: joer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 12/6/2011
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course, that the parks department maintains nicely. Great setting for disc golf. Great "warm-up/ putt" area. Nice baskets. The bridges are awesome, and help make this place( frank bink harris.). This is The premiere, championship level disc golf park in this area. This course is a must to play. Very Challenging, with a great layout of all different types of shots. Well designed DLG, your the man.
Cons: Not much bad one can say about this course besides: is not beginner friendly. Elevation changes are drastic and can be challenging to walk( e.g. # 3,12, 13, 14, 15 ,) The length of the tee-pads should've been built longer. The tee pads should've been poured with a rough finish, instead of the slick finish they have.
Other Thoughts: All in all, charlie vettiner is one of the finer disc golf courses that i have ever played. If you want to play on a beautiful, championship level course, thats hardly ever crowded, C.V. is a must to try! P.S. you better bring your A game.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 every bit of 6000 feet

1    3/28/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 711  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course feels as if you're playing more than 6000 foot total. Not a bomber course; but no short holes either. Every hole forces you to execute lines; and some distance. You earn your threes one hole after another; or, make a very quality shot for deuce opportunity.
Concrete tees, good signs, correct footage, next tee signs where necessary.
Great course upkeep; nice bridges; railroad tied tiered stairways.
We were here in spring and had no mud issues.
Very scenic style (ball golf course style) course; using elevation well.
Roll away greens.
Creek somewhat in play on a few holes.
Cons: Didn't really have any; except perhaps my score: the end of the course hit me pretty hard; so don't let up on your concentration (I took a 7 on #17 and a 5 on the long #18; arghh!)
Sounds as though this course is crowded. We played first thing in the morning and mostly had the course to ourselves.
Other Thoughts: Dave Greenwell course; and this one is every bit what you would expect from a long time pro and designer. Par 58; and you will earn it.
This one had been on my wish list for a while. This was first course of the second day of a traveling journey. First day, we played Alwoods, Camp Cullom, and Longley Park (in Indiana). All three of these are top notch courses; and yet, Vettiner was the best of the four.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.