Louisville, KY 
Charlie Vettiner Park Share
Uploaded By: LtDan914 Hole #2 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

2-4    9/27/2008   12/17/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2010
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Charlie Vettiner is one of the top courses in the local and surrounding areas. This David Greenwell design offers a challenging par59 layout that requires accuracy and creative shot-making throughout the course. Bring your "A" game, otherwise you could be in for a long and frustrating round of disc golf.

Course Essentials:
-Baskets: The courses uses DGA baskets that are all in good shape. Single pin placements on all 18 holes.
-Tee Pads: Level, concrete pads of adequate length on all holes, alternate (Am) pads are located on holes 3, 8, 11, 13, 17, and 18.
-Tee Signs: Signs are present on most holes and tee pads, signs are missing on a few holes. The available signs show hole layout and distance.

General Course Design & Layout:
-Length: 5,958 from the longs tees (331/hole avg); 5,478 from the am tees (304/hole avg)
-Elevation: Minimum to moderate throughout the course, used effectively in course design. A few holes on the back nine have more severe elevations that can be difficult to navigate, especially when the ground is wet.
-Fairway Variety: 5 technical holes; 10 semi-technical holes; 3 open holes.

Charlie Vettiner has a smooth, flowing layout that is easy to navigate. The course is comprised of 2 loops (1-11, & 12-18) that both return to the parking area. The fairways are clearly defined and offer a good variety of straight, right to left, and left to right layouts. Elevations are minimum-moderate throughout the course, but a few key areas have more severe elevations that are a little more difficult to navigate (Hole12, from 13s basket to 14s tee, basket on 15, 15s basket to 16s tee, and hole18).

The rough can get very thick during the summer months, especially on the back nine, accurate drives are crucial to low scores. A couple of holes are designed to encourage strategic placement of your drive and/or approach shot; these holes reward accuracy over length, a great design feature of the course (in my opinion). There are 3 holes that are basically wide open (6, 7 and 10) and offer a chance to get a couple of easy deuces. Hole 10 does have an artificial O.B., but really should not come into play for any seasoned player.

There are a few mandos in place to help protect other players and pedestrians that may be in the area. Holes 9-11, and 18 run close to the road where vehicle and pedestrian traffic may be present, and a shot wide right off the tee for 5 could potentially interfere with players on the tee for hole 6. The mandos are located on these holes to help reduce the potential danger through these areas (I don't play this course often, I know there is a mando on 5, 9 and 18, possibly 10 & 11, I apologize if I missed any).

A practice area is located near the first tee, plenty of room to practice long putts and short approach shots. Practice basket is located on a slope, so you can also practice up/down and sidehill putts. Trash cans located around the course, and restrooms are available on site.

Epic Holes:
Hole 1- I love the opening hole at CV. A short, downhill and relatively simple hole with a sweeping left to right fairway. Fairly straight-forward, but miss the fairway you could end up in some thick brush and turn what should be an easy 2 into a 4!

Hole 3- Great hole with an "S" shaped fairway. A right to left shot off the tee that ends up in the fairway leaves a pretty straight-forward left to right approach. Throw to far off the box and you end up in the trees, a good example of placement over length design.

Hole 8- This hole is almost like a funnel, a wide open tee shot requiring a left to right flight path into the woods. A reasonable opening at the entrance to the woods that narrows to a tight, straight fairway requires both distance control and accuracy to score well. To much, or not enough on the tee shot will put you into some thick woods.

Hole 12- A tight, straight downhill fairway to an open pin. A accurate drive leaves a good look at a 2, but miss right or left, and you could be scrambling for par. The pin is located on the side of a steep hill that is prone to roll-aways.

Hole 15- Relatively simple hole, but the pin is located on a severe side slope. A missed putt here has the potential to turn an easy three into a 4 or worse.

Hole 16- Another strategy based hole where placement off the tee is crucial. Clear the narrow tunnel and tight gap off the box, then you are left with a moderate uphill shot to a well protected basket.

Hole 18- Fantastic finishing hole. A long "U" shaped fairway that plays uphill with thick woods along the inside (right side) of the fairway. Length is important here, but also placement. If you hug to tight to the inside, you can easily be blocked out for your approach. This hole has a narrow green with the road (O.B.) on the left and thick woods to the right. Position is key to leaving a good line into the basket and having a chance for a 4.
Cons: -Tee signs missing on some holes/tee locations

-Steep elevations can be difficult to walk on even in dry conditions, these areas are much more challenging in wet conditions, proceed with caution through these areas (Hole12, from 13s basket to 14s tee, basket on 15, 15s basket to 16s tee, and hole18)

-Several blind tee shots. Someone playing this course for the first time will most likely have to scout out pin locations before playing several of the holes (1, 3, 4, 5, 8, 13, 15, 16)

-Some tee pads are a little slippery in wet conditions
Other Thoughts: Overall, Charlie Vettiner is a well-designed course that will challenge players of all levels. I would not consider this a beginner friendly course, so if you are new to disc golf, and new to this course, don't be discouraged if you struggle your way through the layout. Of all the local courses, this one has proven to be the most difficult for me. Even after playing for 4yrs, I still find myself struggling to get a decent score on this course. Charlie Vettiner is a fantastic, fun and challenging course, if you are in or near the Louisville area, don't miss this one, a definite must play.

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/5/2010   12/11/2008
Review By: AdamE
Played: 252  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2013
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very challenging and technical course that requires many different shots and accuracy. While there are some longer holes on this course, nearly all of them favor accuracy over distance. There are two pro par 4's and one pro par 5 here and they really add to the challenge of the course.

There are about 4 holes in an open field, but OB, tree lines and hills are used to keep them interesting. The rest of the course is wooded. Elevation comes into play on many holes and putting greens often have elevation changes to add to the challenge.

Some of my favorite holes are hole 3, the first par 4 where you first shot is over a ravine. Hole 8 is a downhill turnover into a wooded tunnel. Hole 9 is a flex shot out of a gap with the basket just on the other side of an OB ditch. Hole 13 is a very unique hole, it's a great RHFH shot over a hill, through a tunnel and the basket is on the right once you clear the tunnel. Hole 16 is the next par 4 requiring a short but accurate drive out of a tunnel to a landing zone, the next shot is a big uphill hyzer. And hole 18 is a monster par 5 with a huge uphill bomb off the tee, get past the mando and you'll have a look at a RHBH anny shot then an approach to the basket but watch out, OB road boarders this hole after the initial drive.

The course has nice tee signs, although one of the signs is missing since it was hit by the lawn mower. Baskets are in great condition.
Cons: The hills at this course can get very muddy when they're wet.
***UPDATE***
Steps have been taken to control erosion on the hill by hole 14 and 15 and steps have been installed. Thanks to the boy scout troop who helped out! Gravel has been spread in many other areas like hole 8, 12 and 13 to help control erosion and mud.

There aren't many trash cans on the course. There is a small walk from hole 11 to hole 12, but it shouldn't be a problem to find since hole 12 is right next to hole 1.

A few of the tee pads can get slick when wet.
Other Thoughts: This is a par 58 course with holes 3 and 16 being par 4 and hole 18 is par 5. Shooting par here is very good, a 58 is rated in the 950's.

This Dave Greenwell designed course will challenge all aspects of your game, regardless of your skill level, and is well worth going out of your way to play.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Accuracy & Distance

2-4    3/23/2008   11/21/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 97  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course which offers a lot to the players. Some distance is good but don't sacrifice accuracy (especially on #18). This place gives you the opportunity to go-for-it and either rewards or punishes you based on your shot. I love courses that present the opportunity and challenges players to try a shot. Great hole designs which present every type of challenge imaginable - The fairways are there you just better not miss. Played this course for the first time this year and my first round was in a the CV Open - Boy did I throw a lot of forehand rollers. Bring every shot and be ready to use them. Hole #3 can be a beast if you miss your line and #18 is a punishing finishing hole.
Cons: Not many - A few holes can be a little slick because of erosion (Hole #1 I believe is pretty slick) and can get muddy in a few places so come prepared.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful course and can't wait to get back there in '09. Well taken care of and a lot of though in the hole designs. Great work.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Course

5+    11/13/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2009
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course varies greatly with awesome elevation changes on 1-4 and 12-18. Several nice tunnel shots to test how straight you can keep your flight. Awesome scenery without a whole lot of disc-grabbing greenery, although on number 1 (downhill and blind) if you overthrow you might spend quite a while finding your disc in the creek bed. Playing in and out of the woods the entire time, and very creative fairway design and pin placement. Also, some of the bridges across the creeks have been recently installed/renovated to improve the look and ease of travel of the course.
Cons: Tee signs need to be replaced/improved.

Also, not major cons, but the bathrooms and other amenities in the park are not close to the course.
Other Thoughts: Approaching the tees on 13 and 14 are steep and if the ground is slippery can be quite treacherous. There are a lot of OB areas all over, so you really have to watch your placement. I really suggest wearing hiking boots for playing this course.

I love this course and the challenge it presents. This course is the closest to my house so I try to play as often as I can. I also hear there will be an A-Tier at Vettiner for 2009, should be awesome.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 roller coaster

1    11/3/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: Roger2
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park has a wide variety of shots and holes with a nice use of terrain. Combines some good woods holes with some wide open shots. Beautiful well maintained park. The tees that were not obvious from the previous hole were well marked with pointer signs. Good concrete tees
Cons: Older course and equipment. Tee signs were rather uninspiring and a little unclear on long shots. A little potential for lost discs but not bad.A couple of unfinished bridges not nice now but will add to the course when completed.
Other Thoughts: A lot of right hand fades. Looks like the course has suffered some storm damage that hasn't been cleared as of fall '08. I loved the long last hole. I would definitely play this hole again if traveling through the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A course for the strong arm!

1    10/27/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: thatguy
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great use of the rolling hills in Kentucky. Many great up-hill and down-hill shots. This course is very long and you will get plenty of excercise. The tees are very nice concrete and there are a handfull of holes that have pro tees. There is a good combination of woods and open field holes but most of the holes are in the woods. Due to a recent storm there is a tree down across the fairway on hole 4 making a great obstacle. All of the people that I met playing there were very friendly.
Cons: This course has some VERY long holes, # 18 being the longest. Hole 18 is marked as a par 4 but should be closer to a par 6. The sign for the tee box for hole 5 was missing due to recent storm damage. Only a few of the holes have pro tees. On some of the signs it is confusing where the basket actually is located. Traveling from the basket to the next tee can be hazardous in places due to ravines and deep creek beds.
Other Thoughts: Over all this is an amazing course that is well loved and well maintained. The park is working on installing foot bridges to go over the creeks and ravines and they look very nice. The storm that hit recently obviously doesn't like disc golf as much as the rest of us. One of the practice baskets had a tree land on it and it looks pretty pathetic. Good news is that the wonderful people in KY were prepared because there is a second practice basket. My advise is warm up and stretch your arm and shoulder a lot before this course (especially hole 18). Also, a gentle throw is all you need on hole 1, if you throw your disc level it will glide gracefully down the hill and land just before the basket. Good luck and enjoy this course, I know I'll play it again if I'm ever back in Louisville!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Humbler...

5+    9/28/2008   9/28/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 27.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a world class course. Lots of different challenges, ever changing terrain, clean long tees, couple short holes many long, hyzer and anhyzers, pro tees. It will really work you over if you are not up to a nice long course. Trees and brush come into play on more then half the holes. You really have to know your game to play this course, landing zone is critical on several holes. Beware the disc eating evergreens as well. I have had two discs get caught, luckily it was windy, one fell the other was low enough to knock out. Hole 18 is a killer hair pin turn. Three nice bridges have been installed, more hill work is on the way, thanks to a scouts project.
Cons: Needs more garabage cans. Some of the hills on the back 9 are downright trecherous if it has rained. Def risk of losing a disc or two in the summer. Just a great course to work out your skills.
Other Thoughts: Add 9 more to it! There is plenty of room. No matter how good I think I am this course humbles me.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Louisville's finest

5+    7/12/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2010
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well designed, making good use of the topography. Good variety of shots required. Some unique holes the likes of which I've never seen anywhere else.

Teepads and signs are good. I would call this course "deceptively tough". In other words, it looks easier than it is. It's darn tough to shoot a good round at Vettiner.
Cons: Can be a little unforgiving for the novice golfer. The rough is very thick in many places and can make finding discs difficult if you stray off the fairways.

Despite it's difficulty, it's heavily played. Louisville doesn't have enough courses, and the two it has get crowded.

As others have mentioned, holes 7 and 10 are short par 3s that are wide open. They really offer nothing to the course. I'm not sure exactly how I'd rectify the situation, however. Perhaps 7 could go back into the wooded area on the right?
Other Thoughts: I've come to appreciate Vettiner more as the years go on. In some ways it reminds me of a shorter Idlewild.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

8/6/2008   8/6/2008
Review By: danhal87
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: First time I've played this course and only the second course I've ever played. It had a really nice layout, and I loved the way some of the holes were made. It was very difficult for me as a beginner though. It was nice though that when you throw in the trees it is not super thick and it's easy to find your disc.
Cons: I couldn't find a map or scorecard.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid Round

7/18/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 144  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 12.5 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tees. Well-Defined fairways. Excellent mixture of shot shape required. (hyzer, anhyzer, etc.) Excellent use of elevation. Excellent design and layout as you started close to the parking lot, came back to the parking lot for hole 12, and then returned for 18. Easy to navigate.

Cons: The surrounding park was fairly bland. There wasn't much going on. The course requires accuracy occasionally but mostly requires the ability to navigate elevation. I thought hole 18 was kind of silly. (basically a horseshoe)
Other Thoughts: There are a few shots that come close to park roads. That really doesn't bother me but I know it is a bother for others. It is quite a hike to play. If you are not in solid physical condition this course can work you over. I know it got the best of me by the end of the round. Overall, it was the most challenging Louisville course that we played and it was very enjoyable. I know the cons I listed look longer than the pros but the pros are what make this an excellent course. This course is well above average and definitely worth playing anytime you happen to be in the area.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.