Louisville, KY 
Charlie Vettiner Park Share
Uploaded By: LtDan914 Hole #13 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 218ft.   3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A Solid Round

7/18/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 144  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 12.7 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tees. Well-Defined fairways. Excellent mixture of shot shape required. (hyzer, anhyzer, etc.) Excellent use of elevation. Excellent design and layout as you started close to the parking lot, came back to the parking lot for hole 12, and then returned for 18. Easy to navigate.

Cons: The surrounding park was fairly bland. There wasn't much going on. The course requires accuracy occasionally but mostly requires the ability to navigate elevation. I thought hole 18 was kind of silly. (basically a horseshoe)
Other Thoughts: There are a few shots that come close to park roads. That really doesn't bother me but I know it is a bother for others. It is quite a hike to play. If you are not in solid physical condition this course can work you over. I know it got the best of me by the end of the round. Overall, it was the most challenging Louisville course that we played and it was very enjoyable. I know the cons I listed look longer than the pros but the pros are what make this an excellent course. This course is well above average and definitely worth playing anytime you happen to be in the area.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/24/2008   5/28/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2008
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a little bit of everything. It really has a great variaty of shots. It is very well kept and is in a nice park. Every hole presents a different challange and you will have to pull out all of your shots on this one. There are well marked signs and nice teepads for every hole. Holes 12 through 18 are all really nice challenging holes. Hole 18 is like nothing I have ever played before.
Cons: Can't think of many. THe only thing I can thin of is there are 2 holes that are completely open that are both midrange shots of about the same length.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course to play if you are in the area and will require you to be creative with your shots. You can score pretty well on this course because of the short open holes and all of the wooded holes have well defined fairways. I notice that a lot of people are complaining about #18 being to long. You need to throw a nice long first shot. The second shot is a thumber over the woods to cut 150-200ft off the hole. From there is you made 2 good throws you have a short approach for a tap in 4 or a jump putt with a chance at a 3. If you go all the way around the horseshoe it will take you a lot of throws.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 nice mix

5/10/2008   5/15/2008
Review By: dwain
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a fantastic variety of holes that make use of the open fields and wooded hills. There are short holes that require more finesse than power, and there are holes that will challenge the biggest arm. Hole 16 was my greatest enemy with a tight tee-off through the woods into an open field followed by an uphill curve to the left. The nearly horseshoe shape of hole 18 was a tough one to finish on, but it was certainly creative enough to be fun.

There are quite a few holes that play with elevation, and there are a couple of creeks/creekbeds that I assume are OB. The holes are very nicely marked, and moving from one to another is very easy.
Cons: There were a couple of muddy holes, but that's just searching for something to be a "con" on what was a generally great course.

I did come home covered in ticks...
Other Thoughts: The course reminds me a little bit of Veteran's Park in Lexington, but Vettiner stands ahead because of its use of elevation and fairways surrounded by trees (instead of Veteran's fairways full of trees).

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

3/5/2008   3/5/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Well maintained. Wide variety of shots. Long open shots, short technical shots, it's all here.
Cons: It does get pretty sloppy after a rain. And it's too far away.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth a stop if passing through da Ville

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Charlie Vettiner

2/29/2008   3/5/2008
Review By: LarrySneegas
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A challenge every round. A variety of elevation changes and some fast greens spread throughout the course. Tee pads are usually in great shape.
Cons: Can get a bit sloppy at times making it a slippery day. Still waiting for completion of 2 permanent bridges. (one of which is scheduled for installation 3/29/08)
Other Thoughts: One of my top 5 all-time-favorite places to play. Close to freeway.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/9/2010   3/5/2008
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 66  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 23.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2010
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good course to learn a variety of shots. Almost every hole has the ability to test your skills. There are several mando's and frequent O.B.'s. Some casual water, mostly in creek beds. Also has very thick rough. If you want to improve your scores at other courses, play here frequently.
Cons: Can get extremely sloppy after rain and snow. The entire course is directly above the large creek where all of the water runs off too.
Terrain sucks to walk. Not much fun to play. If you want a fun course go to Iroquois..lol
Other Thoughts: very challenging to Pro's and Am's alike!
Unless you are in a Tournament atmosphere go for 3 on most every hole. It will certainly make your scores look much better. Try and minimize your errant shots into the rough. Most rough shots require 2 or more shots.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

2/28/2008   2/28/2008
Review By: skottyb
Played: 51  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great course all around, brings out every shot in your game, an excellent design, pro caliber course.
Cons: its not closer to my home, and i wish there were more courses like this in L'ville.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Charlie V - ProCourse in Louisville

2/27/2008   2/27/2008
Review By: martinyoung
Played: 219  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.5 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: bending discs around trees, skipping past multiple ob's, mandatory tunnel shots, and so many options on how to attack the baskets - stay in the fairways though, because once you end up in the rough choices are limited - great mix of elevation, woods and open shots -
Cons: pads get slick easily and for the time being course backside gets a tad sloppy after rain and snow melt
Other Thoughts: Future A-Tier Site 2009

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Charlie Vettiner

2/16/2008   2/22/2008
Review By: Ironman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Awsome hole design, Very challenging, Very appealing to the eyes. Great T-pads. Great location to local areas.
Cons: Sloppy in the rain.
Other Thoughts: Thanks to Louisville disc golf club this course will soon be a high class park. The additions to be put in this year will make it the best course within 50 miles.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  cv

2/21/2008   2/21/2008
Review By: sweat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Other Thoughts: Designed by one of the greatest of all time "Dave Greenwell", when in Louisville stop and get a round in. "SWEET" course.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.