Louisville, KY 
Charlie Vettiner Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 271ft.   3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Pro Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Nice course, good layout

1    12/2/2013   2/6/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout, has some good elevation changes and use of wooded areas. A couple of fun tree tunnels and some nice open holes.

There are good facilities and for a multi use park you don't get interfered with/ interfere with anyone else activities.

Also some nice views down by the river, though the water doesn't really play a part.
Cons: Some minor cosmetic things when I was there, a lot of litter by some tee pads and a huge brush pile by hole 2.

The course overall is great, if have just liked a couple of longer holes. It's plays slightly short of average.
Other Thoughts: When I was there it was raining, cold and there was some sleet. Even with all this it was still a fun course. It's a must play if your in the area. I I go back in better weather, I'll be playing there again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Billtown Beauty

2-4    3/2/2013   3/2/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 163  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 3.1 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Charlie Vettiner DGC is the best in town on the Louisville side of the river, and combines with Seviren Lang and Iroquois to make a nice triumvirate for locals and travelers coming through I-65, I-64 & I-71. Located in a spacious park with all the amenities, the 18 hole disc golf course has its own space away from the other park activities, and it has sufficient challenge (especially with the mandos and OB's enforced) to host quality tournaments, like the annual Charlie Vettiner Open. My first time here (as a first year player), this course ate me alive, because I had trouble keeping it in the fairway. With a little more seasoning, I was able to par most holes on the course, so I'd say this course poses a challenge for Rec level players, but might really be up your alley if you are Intermediate or above.

Starting at the kiosk sign (lots of local league & club info: could use a map there) by tees 1 (& 12), you are introduced to the style of this course immediately with a downhill lane bending slightly right, where a controlled shot will land you a deuce (or in the case of a friend I made at my first BG Ams last year, a first ace!). A stronger arm than mine has a legitimate shot of also getting the comeback uphill #2, but it would take a really advanced to pro tee shot to park #3 across the ravine and finishing with a right bend. Hole #4 is very tight in the summer, with honeysuckle and cypress trees about 20' apart before a hook to the right for a finish. Five of the next seven holes are mostly open, but have a couple of mandos to control the lines. The neatest hole on the front nine might be #8, where you have to drive from the open, hit the gap, and finish in a 150' lane back to the basket. In the winter, you can look to the right from that basket and see the ball golf course and a pretty lake, and hear the water cascading down the rill behind the #9 tee

Once the course has you set up thinking it's not too tough, you discover the tight lines starting on the #12 downhill, the tree guarded finish on #13, the rising hyzer (rhbh) needed to park #14, and the split fairway on #15. But wait! #16 requires a lane tee shot, then a perfect blind hyzer to hook around near the #16 basket. As a Rec player, I'm still looking forward to my first (single) bogey 4 on this one. #17 is fairly straightforward, depending on your controlled drive, but #18 is a killer right-turning U hole that mirrors the difficulty of #16.

There are 6 holes here with multiple tee pads which work for a variety of skill levels, and I've heard there are multiple pin positions for all (?) the holes. There are benches and trash cans by most every hole, and the park is very well maintained. The DGA baskets are in great shape, and the infrastructure (stairs, bridges) is really pretty nice. (Tee) signage is becoming a little dated, with some going missing, but there are good 'next tee' signs where needed, and the map here on DGCR is really good: print one before you go. There are even a pair of practice baskets centrally located to the start of the course.
Cons: As mentioned, the course sign could use a map, along with the other helpful info, and a couple of tee signs need to be replaced.

There are a couple of spots where the course flow can lead to problems (if the group behind you isn't careful): you walk back from the #3 basket, angling across the fairway to get to the #4 tee. There's a fairly big gap between 14 & 15, and you have to walk back up the blind approach area to get from 16 to 17.
Other Thoughts: Currently undergoing some significant 'remodeling' of the turnaround drive by the start of the course, there are erosion barriers in the fairways of 1 & 12, and alongside the finish on 18. There is a lot of construction fencing now acting as a un-natural obstacle for the approach to #11's basket. And there is very little parking available right now.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Want to rate it higher

2-4    11/16/2012   11/28/2012
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's just something appealing to me about courses like this where you have semi-wide fairways, with dense forests running along both sides. I think it looks cool and it's fun to play shots. They make your line for you, it's easy to tell what you're supposed to throw every hole. This course had a great mix of shots and fantastic elevation changes. You had to go left, right, up, down, open holes, wooded holes. This course had a decent opening hole and a great closing hole. The last hole was tough but really scorable at the same time. I played the course twice and made bogey on it the first time and birdie the 2nd. This is definitely the best one around.
Cons: Some of the tee signs were in rough shape. There were some laying at the base of the pole they were supposed to hang on and some weren't there at all. The ones that were there weren't very informative and a couple of times I was wondering, Where's the basket?
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, one of my favorites. It has all you can ask for in a technical course. If you're coming to Louisville this is definitely the place to play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

1    7/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a secluded area. It has rolling hills, open, and some tight holes with nasty rough. There is a good variety of left, straight, and right turning holes. Distances vary greatly hole to hole. Staying in the fairway is a must on many of the holes.

Solid Mach 3 baskets with 2 pin positions on each hole. All holes have number plates. There is a practice basket near the parking lot.

All tee pads are concrete. See cons too.

Nice tee signs with distances and descriptions. See cons too.

Minor elevation comes into play around the course.

There are some nice bridges on this course.
Cons: I had a guide who had played the course. There are a lot of blind holes and navigation could be an issue.

There are several wide open holes.

Several tee signs were missing.

Several of the tee pads could use some length too them especially #18.
Other Thoughts: I would suggest playing this course with another person and spotting for each other.

This is not far off the interstate and a great stopping point if you are traveling.

We were on our way back from Charlotte Worlds. We were not let down by this course. It's very fun.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and fun

5+    5/18/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: SMcVicker91
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course presents a great challenge. Staying out of the woods is incredibly difficult as most holes run the hazard and have big consequences if you land in them. Many holes have narrow passages surrounded by woods. Accuracy wins over distance big time here. In particular, Hole #16 presents incredible challenge: your drive is along a very narrow passage that verges to the left with trees on either side. Then it's a long way uphill, dense woods to the left, and the basket itself is in a small not-so-clear clearing, with a creek at the bottom that discs just love to roll down into.

In terms of tee pads, every hole has a concrete tee pad. Hole 12, however, is on a larger concrete area with the throwing perimeter spray-painted. Not a big deal.

Every hole except 1 or 2 has a sign with the distance/par/map. Everything flows well, getting lost is hard to do since the otherwise confusing transitions have directional signs.

There is a large practice area with 2 baskets to practice your putt and approach.
Cons: A few holes are a bit underwhelming like 6, 7, and 10, which are pretty much wide open with few obstacles. They do however provide much-appreciated solace from the woods.
Other Thoughts: 15 of the 18 holes are Par 3. The longest is #18 which is 600+ft. Again, accuracy is key to score well here.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great, Challenging Course!

1    8/6/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 99  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thoroughly enjoyed my round at Charlie Vettiner. As a player from the Chicago suburbs, it's not often that I get to play in a course with as many exciting features of disc golf that this course has. I will definitely play it again for the following reasons:

*Very challenging. Great course for advanced and tournament players to improve their game.

*Beautifully scenic woods and hills that have nice ammenities such as bridges and stairs for disc golfers to conveniently retrieve their disc

*I felt that nearly all the holes had the perfect distance for the obstacles they presented. I'm inured to playing wooded courses where the holes are between 200-250 feet, so that i don't need a super skillful shot to reach them, but at Charlie Vettiner there was awide range of distances among the wooded holes.

*Hole 15 was amazing. Distance rougly 305 ft... dense forest to the left and two hills in front and to the right for about 250 feet, then a cave of trees hides the hole. miss the cave and youre in trouble, but if you get it in, it's super rewarding!

*The usual "positives" for courses apply here: good baskets, teepads, etc (see below about signage)
Cons: I had such a great time at this course that I really wanted to give it a higher rating, but a few things kept me from doing so. The main flaw of this course is the signage. It's clear that a local club has tried to make these signs better, but the tee signs are a bit misleading and have a dearth of information on them. Also, some holes have alternate tees without signs, so when we got to hole 7s teepad, we thought it was an alt tee but in fact it was the only tee.

Other flaws:

*Not a big fan of hole 18... the hole's fairway is shaped like a V so that the basket is in fact a few hundred feet to the right of the teepad, but guarded by heavy woods. the tee sign makes no mention of the mando around the trees, and it just seems kind of silly to have a 600 foot shot like that be a "V"

*There weren't very many chances for big arms to air out their drivers. The more open holes on the course didn't exceed 350 feet or so. I would've loved a nice 450 foot open hole to magically replace hole 18. Then I would have given Vettiner Park a higher score!
Other Thoughts: Although I don't live anywhere near Lousiville, I would be very surprised if I didn't play this course again. It is well worth going out of your way for. If you are hoping to improve your game by taking on some very unique obstacles (one man made wall on a nifty little open hole) then this is the place for you. If you're like me, you'll likely throw a few frustrating shots, but to me that leaves me wanting to play the course again!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Best In Louisville!

5+    3/17/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: xTOMMYxIRISHx
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very nice looking
Will make your game a lot better
Great tee pads besides 12
All types of shots
Cons: Very Hard
Hard to find tee pads on some holes
12's tee pad
Lots of hard walking
Other Thoughts: Hands down the best place to play in Louisville. This is a great place to play and the CVO is a huge event with many great pros.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 WOW

1    6/1/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: Mike B.
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I was impressed and intimidated by this course, possibly the most difficult course I have played other than the course I learned on in Lake Area of Yellowstone National Park. The first course I have lost a disc on in years. Extremely tough wooded holes, many with doglegs and elevation changes, lots of tunnels, even the more open holes have elevation changes and mature trees to navigate through.
Cons: Not a good course for beginners, the out of bounds is thick and unforgiving, The tunnels can be monotonous, and with a thick out of bounds filled with poison ivy oak and sumac you'll tend to lay up more than take risky shots. A few tees were missing signs and could a couple of places I wasn't too sure where the next tee was.
Other Thoughts: It is so good to find a course that you don't have to douse yourself in bug spray to play, and to see wildlife on a DG course again was a huge plus ( Bison and Elk frequent DG courses out west, but I'll gladly settle for deer and rabbits) After loosing a disc on hole 2 and then having to shoot over a ravine on hole 3 I was a bit intimidated by this course, It's definitely a tight and technical course, if you're new to the sport this is not the course for you, one could easily spend most of there time in the woods looking for discs.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Well-balanced and Challenging

1    3/26/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 192  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.1 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Charlie Vettiner, a park-style course, provides 18 holes of challenging yet rewarding golf. With a nicely balanced mix of terrain including open grassy areas, tightly wooded tunnel shots, moderate elevation changes, a small stream, and just enough schule to punish errant shots without making a disc search inevitable for anything off the fairway, Vettiner will have you coming back for more.
- Good concrete tees throughout. Grippy and long enough for most players. Am tees, when they appear, are of the same quality.
- The slight to moderate elevation was very well implemented throughout. A nice mix of uphill and downhill shots, with a "gorge" style hole on #3. Even the more open hills had slopes or rolling hills to contend with. Pin positions often were placed in a manner that rewarded good putting and punished missed shots with rollaways.
- #10 has an interesting sort of (non-natural) rock wall to the right of the pin. Bushes on each side of it, and flags in the ground, denote OB. On this otherwise open hole, I found this to be a great way to create "artificial" risk. Certainly unique.
- #16 forces a (RHBH) hyzer through a tightly defined fairway of "matching" trees. If you get through without pinballing, you'll be forced to go uphill to the right of some large pines that protect the pin from sight.
- #18 is a 601' epic finisher. 300 (or so) feet to a mandatory, and then the fairway bends 90 degrees to the right, followed by another 300 feet to a tree-protected pin. Anything to the right before the mandatory will cost you badly.
- Adequate tee signs show the hole numbers, footage, mandos, and list any OB. Next tee directions as needed. Both the am and pro tees have signage. Yellow flags denote drop zones for OB. One sign warns walkers and other park goers to "Beware of Flying Discs."
- The undergrowth had well-worn paths, making wayward discs easy to find.
- Garbage cans and benches throughout.
- The course loops back to the parking lot at #12.
Cons: - #7's tee sign was missing.
- There was a lot of trash on this course for the amount of trashcans throughout. This, and the sort of scrap yardish feel on a couple of holes near the beginning make the course feel less secluded and a bit trashier than it is, unfortunately.
Other Thoughts: - Vettiner delivers. Despite a few minor cosmetic issues, this is a solidly designed and maintained course and one I'd find myself on often if I lived in the area.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/18/2008   2/11/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/14/2011
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The 18 holes are set on very nice land. The course moves in and out of the woods with a nice mix of tighter technical holes, moderately open with a few obstacles, and very open holes. There is a lot of elevation utilized here, a lot of playing straight up and straight down, especially in the woods. The rough is punishing, but the fairways are very fair. Tees, baskets, signs, and navigation are just fine.

The course is a good hike and requires you to be in decent shape in order to finish strong.
Cons: This is definitely a solid course, but it just did not have very many memorable holes like you get with the top level courses. Many of the tee shots here seem to be the same- in the woods throw it very straight, in the open throw it long without fear. The exception is #18. Hole 18 is a unique hole, and I know a lot of people really like it, but to me it seems more like a gimmick than a real hole- it is shaped in a V, and would probably be made into two holes are most courses. It can make or break your whole round, but it is just so different from the other holes (and any other hole anywhere) and just seemed like an odd design to me.

There are some wide open holes with little to no obstacles that are not nearly as interesting as the rest of the course. They almost are filler holes (something not found on superior courses.)

Little con- tee 12 was something else before it was a tee, more square in shape, just felt awkward, and does not look as nice as a regular tee like the other 17 holes have. (There are alternate tees for some holes, but this one can't have a regular tee?)

Con for some- this course is not very beginner friendly.
Other Thoughts: CV is very demanding and will be enjoyed primarily by seasoned players looking for a personal challenge or a good place for a competitive round. It is definitely worth a stop if you are traveling to play the Louisville area courses. I would want to play it again next time I am up there.

Because the course can wear you out physically, and it is tough, I found myself really tired and just ready to be done playing by the end. It was also mid-summer, very hot, and our last course of the day, but I rarely feel this way on any course in any season. (so come prepared to play.)

*I debated between giving this a 3.5 (Very Good) or a 4.0 (Excellent). It is better than most 3.5's I have played, but I didn't enjoy it as much as all the courses I have rated 4.0+. I wish I could give it a 3.75 (Very, Very Good or Almost Excellent). This is just one guy's opinion here, so be sure to read all the reviews as this course is very well-liked by many people, and you may too.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.