Louisville, KY 
Charlie Vettiner Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 218ft.   3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Pro Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    3/27/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: racer93
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, very technical, strategic OB placement. Great elevation changes, and basket placements bring the elevation changes into play. Can have a great round go south pretty quickly if you're not careful! That is what a great course can do to you.
Cons: Open holes (#6, 7, 10) somewhat ho-hum. Other than that, none.
Other Thoughts: Just a great course. Not for the beginner. Very hilly and that can tire you quickly. Bring plenty of water!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Big park for your big drives

2-4    3/7/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: Switters213
Played: 56  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Varied Terrain, this park has both woods and wide open spaces. It has hills and flats. If you want to experience almost all disc golf has to offer in one course, this is a good place to do it.
- Big tee pads. I have a big run-up when i drive, so a big cement tee pad is nice.
- Long drives. If you love to throw those long bombs, this is the place for you. If you're keeping score, those 300 foot drives are really going to pay off in the more open parts of this course.
Cons: - Mandos. I've come to belive that mandatory shots are a reflection of bad hole design. I refuse to use them. Fortunately there aren't many here.
- Crowds. Louisville is a big place. Almost a million people in the greater metro area, and this is a good course...be prepared to wait to play and then be crowded by players coming up from behind on any nice summer weekend.
- Mud. During the wetter times of the year, parts of this course turn into a slip-and-slide. Best bring your hiking boots.
Other Thoughts: - If you can get there really early or go during a week day you'll beat most of the crowds.
- Hole 18 (par 6) seems ridiculous at first, but unless you're the incredible hulk i don't recommend trying to throw over or through the woods. Just play hard and throw around the bend like the sign says...if you place your middle approach shots well, you should be able to do it in 5, no problem.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Louisville

5+    3/13/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Decent elevation changes. Several grip & rip holes. Technically challenging to where you'll need every shot/disc in your bag. A well maintained pro-caliber course. Benches or picnic tables at every tee.
Cons: I've spent more time looking for discs with my playing partners than on any other course! Although several improvements have been made of late, there are still multiple areas where there is excessive ground moisture/mud.
Other Thoughts: Hole #16 is the #1 most aggrivating one I've ever played, and played, and played, and played again and again! };')

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/21/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: FreddieC
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very Challenging course...Varied terrain, elevation changes, great diversity (from heavily wooded narrow fairways to wide open rippers) Plenty of obstacles, Mandos, etc and hardly any water!!
Cons: Some of the tee markers are damaged or missing which caused me to walk several holes to find the pin. Very muddy in spots; for example, Hole #2 looks like somebody got their 4 X 4 back their and did a 'yard job.'
Other Thoughts: Stay on the fairway to have a pleasant game. Trust me.

If there is a signature hole, I would say its Hole #18. Check it out for yourself!!


4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Louisville needed it

5+    10/22/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 103  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 27.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This challenging pro caliber course combines distance, elevation and obstacle with great effect, necessitating a variety of throws and technical ability. A good mix of open and wooded holes with most risk/reward from the tees or fairways and a few very challenging pin placements. An errant throw on numerous holes will find you in some thick rough, no doubt adding strokes.
Tees (the few alts), signs, baskets and bridges are in good shape with clearly defined fairways; well maintained.
Holes #3 & #8 from pro pads, and #12 are particularly engaging given their elevation and woods-tunnels. .
Cons: All in all CV is a great course but given the length and elevation, the lack of access to water, and a few treacherous slopes in desperate need of steps detract from it. A few blase holes could be modified to their betterment - #2, #6 and #7 - simply by moving the pins: #2 to behind the small stand of trees and the others into the treeline which they currently border.
No one hole stands out as "signature."
Other Thoughts: I play this course more than any other; it's my home away from home. It's always a challenge and fun to play with plenty of birdie ops, but get them on the front 11 because the back 7 can easily take them away.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wicked Course

1    8/15/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: g1nked
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pro designed obviously shows great mix
for pro and amatuer I thought very difficult and challenging for my level at the time.
Cons: just distance for me just a tad which is not a Con for others. Only one i heard was casual park walkers may decide to take a hyzer fairway walk around a tree not knowing where their walking in the face of danger
Other Thoughts: I can not see everyone who plays this would love it over time and experience.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great corse

5+    10/3/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: tacoma38
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 27.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2009
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course for all levels of play.Lots nice long shots!and plenty of tunnels thru the woods.Down hill shots..up hill shots..left and right hand..Nice and clean course!! not alot people on course at one time! great course!!!
Cons: Hard to find!!Tough terrain for older players with any medical problems
Other Thoughts: If you play and are in town,...its a must play!! check it out!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A for Awesome!

1    8/22/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.5 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A
(Many of the holes will punish a bad deuce attempt with a bogey. Several holes really make you think about how to approach them and how aggressive is safe enough to not hurt your score.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A
(Almost every hole out there feels rewarding when I card the result I hope for.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A
(Great variety of hole shapes and lengths and great use of terrain. The course has 3-4 different vibes depending on where you are on the course - very cool.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
(Overall very nice. Beautiful woods and meadows. Seclusion is great for half the course and OK for the part running along the park road. The area around the start/finish does feel haphazard or something. I knocked off half a grade since first and last impressions count.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == B
(Hole 18 is really cool even though it caters to the really big arms - either big drive or big overhand 2nd shot is needed to score well. Hole 16 is really interesting too, but more finesse than power is needed. Needs more par 4's and 5's IMO since the ones out there are so cool.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/21/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: Cnitro
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of the tougher courses you will come across and will leave you wanting more. This course has narrow fairways and thick brush which make it challenging. It has signs showing hole locations and obstacles in the way. It has nice scenary along the way and will leave you a decent workout. The first 11 holes wrap around and into the the woods and leaves you back near the first tee which is located right next to the 12th tee, so the course is unique in the sense that it has a front 11 and a back 7. The back 7 consist of much harder and longer holes.
Cons: This course will eat discs. The brush is thick and one bad or blind throw can leave you searching for an hour wondering "Its got to be here somewhere". The hills can be a pain in the @$$ but in the end its worth it. The narrow fairways make this course not for begininers. The open holes are almost to simple and easy but I guess its to commpensate for the diffcuilty of some of the narrow wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: This course will leave you wanting more. Anything under par is considered amazing. The course wouldnt be that hard if they changed some of the par 3's to par 4's. The course consist of 1 par 5 3 par 4's and 14 par 3's. 2 or 3 of the par 3's could easily be par 4's Hole #4 for instance should be a par 4. You could throw a perfect beast of a drive and still be blind to pin. Not many par 3's can say that

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Disrepair

2-4    7/8/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: Kellermeyer14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very Challenging. A lot of varying grades, uphill and downhill. Enough holes in the woods to challenge and enough open fairways to let you pull back & let 'er rip. The third hole has a challenging ravine to throw across. The eighth starts out open and then turns into a tunnel.
Cons: 1. The rough along the first three holes is incredibly overgrown. 2. It looks like people have used it as a dumping ground. The second hole ends right by a bunch of trash. 3. Some missing tee signs.
Other Thoughts: It may have been a great course at one time, but it needs some TLC. Apparently there's an A tier event being held there in Sept. '09. If so, someone needs to get their sh*t together.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.