Louisville, KY 
Charlie Vettiner Park Share
Uploaded By: LtDan914 Hole #9 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

1    7/18/2008   2/11/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 245  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 19 Years
This review was updated on 2/14/2011
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The 18 holes are set on very nice land. The course moves in and out of the woods with a nice mix of tighter technical holes, moderately open with a few obstacles, and very open holes. There is a lot of elevation utilized here, a lot of playing straight up and straight down, especially in the woods. The rough is punishing, but the fairways are very fair. Tees, baskets, signs, and navigation are just fine.

The course is a good hike and requires you to be in decent shape in order to finish strong.
Cons: This is definitely a solid course, but it just did not have very many memorable holes like you get with the top level courses. Many of the tee shots here seem to be the same- in the woods throw it very straight, in the open throw it long without fear. The exception is #18. Hole 18 is a unique hole, and I know a lot of people really like it, but to me it seems more like a gimmick than a real hole- it is shaped in a V, and would probably be made into two holes are most courses. It can make or break your whole round, but it is just so different from the other holes (and any other hole anywhere) and just seemed like an odd design to me.

There are some wide open holes with little to no obstacles that are not nearly as interesting as the rest of the course. They almost are filler holes (something not found on superior courses.)

Little con- tee 12 was something else before it was a tee, more square in shape, just felt awkward, and does not look as nice as a regular tee like the other 17 holes have. (There are alternate tees for some holes, but this one can't have a regular tee?)

Con for some- this course is not very beginner friendly.
Other Thoughts: CV is very demanding and will be enjoyed primarily by seasoned players looking for a personal challenge or a good place for a competitive round. It is definitely worth a stop if you are traveling to play the Louisville area courses. I would want to play it again next time I am up there.

Because the course can wear you out physically, and it is tough, I found myself really tired and just ready to be done playing by the end. It was also mid-summer, very hot, and our last course of the day, but I rarely feel this way on any course in any season. (so come prepared to play.)

*I debated between giving this a 3.5 (Very Good) or a 4.0 (Excellent). It is better than most 3.5's I have played, but I didn't enjoy it as much as all the courses I have rated 4.0+. I wish I could give it a 3.75 (Very, Very Good or Almost Excellent). This is just one guy's opinion here, so be sure to read all the reviews as this course is very well-liked by many people, and you may too.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 well designed; good challenge

1    7/26/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: discNDav
Played: 327  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 29.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: CV is a well designed course with a great mixture of mostly wooded and some open holes. The variety of shots required presented a good challenge for my game.

The elevation changes (small rolling hills) are great for DG here!

Good cement tees and signage were helpful.

The park and course itself are very well maintained...cut grass in the open and a clean park overall.

The bridges on the back 9 were much appreciated. The front nine ends at the parking lot making a perfect loop.

The course doesn't let up, it becomes more difficult near the end, hole 18 is a true par 5.

A much better challenge than Iroquois Pk, also in Louisville.

Cons: Ther rough can be thick in places throughout the wooded holes, not enough to lose a disc but enough so you'll spend time looking.

There are several blind shots off the tee and this can make it difficult the first time through.
Even with a map, I had some navigation issues between 14-17.
Other Thoughts: Even though I played decent, I got the feeling
if I played here often the course would become much easier.

The course seemed more wooded than the pictures show here.

Print a course map, you'll need it!

I'm a tough grader of courses and still give CV a 4.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging for everyone

5+    8/16/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 254  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 11.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course contains a large warm up area with two baskets specifically for putting and the baskets on numbers 2, 11, and 18 can be used for mid range warm ups as well. Large tee pads on every hole with adequate signs. Course traverses rolling hills in and out of the woods with punishing rough in the wooded holes. Several par fours and one par five truly test your abilities. Very accurate drives required to have a chance at birdie and they should be taken advantage of. The open holes still have OB and some mandos to make you concentrate more. Large bridges are installed across the creek in most situations with an excellent staircase built up the hill to number 14's tee pad.
Cons: On nice days there will be non-disc golf walkers on the course side of the park that are mostly oblivious to the course, so be watchful there. Also, runners like to use the hill off the road across eight and nine's fairways to train. This usually slows everything down. Several holes could use spotters to speed things up. Some of the hills can get quite muddy and slick after a storm and can be dangerous if you're not paying attention.
Other Thoughts: Vettiner is the harder of the two current courses in Louisville and for good measure. The hills can be exhausting and rounds there take longer than you'd think for a 6000 foot course. Number 18 was designed to be exactly the way it is, a big pain in the ass. Dave didn't want anyone to have a sigh of relief thinking they're finally at the last hole, he wanted that hole to make you concentrate even more and execute your shots right at the end. Other parts of the park can be quite busy so don't be surprised to hear an ice cream truck throughout most of your round or a family playing loud music while having a picnic or cookout.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  We need more like this one

5+    7/22/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: joer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 12/6/2011
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course, that the parks department maintains nicely. Great setting for disc golf. Great "warm-up/ putt" area. Nice baskets. The bridges are awesome, and help make this place( frank bink harris.). This is The premiere, championship level disc golf park in this area. This course is a must to play. Very Challenging, with a great layout of all different types of shots. Well designed DLG, your the man.
Cons: Not much bad one can say about this course besides: is not beginner friendly. Elevation changes are drastic and can be challenging to walk( e.g. # 3,12, 13, 14, 15 ,) The length of the tee-pads should've been built longer. The tee pads should've been poured with a rough finish, instead of the slick finish they have.
Other Thoughts: All in all, charlie vettiner is one of the finer disc golf courses that i have ever played. If you want to play on a beautiful, championship level course, thats hardly ever crowded, C.V. is a must to try! P.S. you better bring your A game.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Tough wooded course

1    5/12/2009   7/21/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly wooded park. Most of the holes play through thick woods with thick rough that's waiting to punish an errant shot. A few holes give you a break with a little more open shots, though the woods are usually lurking alongside the open holes with a chance to end up in trouble. There is a great mix of hole lengths and shapes here, you'll throw every shot you have to score well and stay out of trouble. There are a couple shorter holes, and lots of longer and tougher holes, and the course never feels very repetitive.

There are nice large concrete tees throughout the course, and they have enough texture to provide solid footing. The signs are basic, but accurate, and are sufficient to follow the course with no navigation issues. There are stairs and bridges where necessary to make it easier to get around the course.
Cons: There is a lot of traffic on this course, both players and other random walkers. This makes for some waiting, and for some potential safety issues when walkers come around blind corners on the course unexpectedly. The traffic has also caused compaction and erosion on a lot of the wooded fairways, so there are lots of slick muddy areas if it's rained recently.

There are lots of blind holes so you'll do some extra walking to see where to throw, and a spotter is useful on several holes. A few of the open holes feel like filler holes, and don't fit in with the feeling of the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun and challenging course, and definitely worth a stop if you're anywhere in the area. There is a great variety of holes that keeps you on your toes throughout. Beginners may find it a little too challenging and punishing, but more experienced players will find themselves tested to make lots of different shots and hit some nice tight lines.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Spectacular Holes

1    6/27/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: cc0049
Played: 116  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 12.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has some really amazing holes on it. Hole 1 starts off with a very picturesque downhill shot where you have to hit a small opening at the bottom of the fairway to be set up by the basket. I can't remember the numbers for some of the others, but the first few holes and holes 12-18 are tons of fun and are very challenging. The elevation that comes into play add a lot of challenge, beauty, and fun to the course. The course seems to be very well maintained and clean for the most part. This course is very visually appealing and has a good layout. There are quite a bit of improvements that have been done to the course such as staircases and bridges that have been built to help dgers traverse some tricky spots.
The baskets were in good shape, there were appropriately sized concrete tee boxes, and there were detailed signs to help with navigation. The course was pretty easy to follow for a first time player even without a map.
Cons: There are several blind holes that require you to walk far ahead to see where the basket is at. This adds a lot of time to your round when playing it for the first time. It became very tiresome for me at some point during the round and it took away from an otherwise very enjoyable round of golf. There are also several holes where it is a good idea to have a spotter on.
The few open holes pale in comparison to the wooded holes. They really seem to just be filler to make 18 holes. It adds to the variety of the course to have some open holes, but a couple of them lack any challenge at all.
I did not notice many trashcans on the course and did not see any restrooms.
Other Thoughts: The fairways are fair and the roughs can be rough. There is a nice level of risk/reward on this course. Hole 18 is a very difficult hole to finish on. It is basically a U-shaped hole forced by a mando at the corner. (I was definitely thinking thumber over the top of the corner, until I noticed the mando).

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 every bit of 6000 feet

1    3/28/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 764  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 27.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course feels as if you're playing more than 6000 foot total. Not a bomber course; but no short holes either. Every hole forces you to execute lines; and some distance. You earn your threes one hole after another; or, make a very quality shot for deuce opportunity.
Concrete tees, good signs, correct footage, next tee signs where necessary.
Great course upkeep; nice bridges; railroad tied tiered stairways.
We were here in spring and had no mud issues.
Very scenic style (ball golf course style) course; using elevation well.
Roll away greens.
Creek somewhat in play on a few holes.
Cons: Didn't really have any; except perhaps my score: the end of the course hit me pretty hard; so don't let up on your concentration (I took a 7 on #17 and a 5 on the long #18; arghh!)
Sounds as though this course is crowded. We played first thing in the morning and mostly had the course to ourselves.
Other Thoughts: Dave Greenwell course; and this one is every bit what you would expect from a long time pro and designer. Par 58; and you will earn it.
This one had been on my wish list for a while. This was first course of the second day of a traveling journey. First day, we played Alwoods, Camp Cullom, and Longley Park (in Indiana). All three of these are top notch courses; and yet, Vettiner was the best of the four.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/27/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: racer93
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, very technical, strategic OB placement. Great elevation changes, and basket placements bring the elevation changes into play. Can have a great round go south pretty quickly if you're not careful! That is what a great course can do to you.
Cons: Open holes (#6, 7, 10) somewhat ho-hum. Other than that, none.
Other Thoughts: Just a great course. Not for the beginner. Very hilly and that can tire you quickly. Bring plenty of water!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Big park for your big drives

2-4    3/7/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: Switters213
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Varied Terrain, this park has both woods and wide open spaces. It has hills and flats. If you want to experience almost all disc golf has to offer in one course, this is a good place to do it.
- Big tee pads. I have a big run-up when i drive, so a big cement tee pad is nice.
- Long drives. If you love to throw those long bombs, this is the place for you. If you're keeping score, those 300 foot drives are really going to pay off in the more open parts of this course.
Cons: - Mandos. I've come to belive that mandatory shots are a reflection of bad hole design. I refuse to use them. Fortunately there aren't many here.
- Crowds. Louisville is a big place. Almost a million people in the greater metro area, and this is a good course...be prepared to wait to play and then be crowded by players coming up from behind on any nice summer weekend.
- Mud. During the wetter times of the year, parts of this course turn into a slip-and-slide. Best bring your hiking boots.
Other Thoughts: - If you can get there really early or go during a week day you'll beat most of the crowds.
- Hole 18 (par 6) seems ridiculous at first, but unless you're the incredible hulk i don't recommend trying to throw over or through the woods. Just play hard and throw around the bend like the sign says...if you place your middle approach shots well, you should be able to do it in 5, no problem.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Louisville

5+    3/13/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Decent elevation changes. Several grip & rip holes. Technically challenging to where you'll need every shot/disc in your bag. A well maintained pro-caliber course. Benches or picnic tables at every tee.
Cons: I've spent more time looking for discs with my playing partners than on any other course! Although several improvements have been made of late, there are still multiple areas where there is excessive ground moisture/mud.
Other Thoughts: Hole #16 is the #1 most aggrivating one I've ever played, and played, and played, and played again and again! };')

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.