Louisville, KY 
Charlie Vettiner Park Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #18
5 / 484ft.   5 / 612ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Louisville needed it

5+    10/22/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 92  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 25.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This challenging pro caliber course combines distance, elevation and obstacle with great effect, necessitating a variety of throws and technical ability. A good mix of open and wooded holes with most risk/reward from the tees or fairways and a few very challenging pin placements. An errant throw on numerous holes will find you in some thick rough, no doubt adding strokes.
Tees (the few alts), signs, baskets and bridges are in good shape with clearly defined fairways; well maintained.
Holes #3 & #8 from pro pads, and #12 are particularly engaging given their elevation and woods-tunnels. .
Cons: All in all CV is a great course but given the length and elevation, the lack of access to water, and a few treacherous slopes in desperate need of steps detract from it. A few blase holes could be modified to their betterment - #2, #6 and #7 - simply by moving the pins: #2 to behind the small stand of trees and the others into the treeline which they currently border.
No one hole stands out as "signature."
Other Thoughts: I play this course more than any other; it's my home away from home. It's always a challenge and fun to play with plenty of birdie ops, but get them on the front 11 because the back 7 can easily take them away.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wicked Course

1    8/15/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: g1nked
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pro designed obviously shows great mix
for pro and amatuer I thought very difficult and challenging for my level at the time.
Cons: just distance for me just a tad which is not a Con for others. Only one i heard was casual park walkers may decide to take a hyzer fairway walk around a tree not knowing where their walking in the face of danger
Other Thoughts: I can not see everyone who plays this would love it over time and experience.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great corse

5+    10/3/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: tacoma38
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 25.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2009
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course for all levels of play.Lots nice long shots!and plenty of tunnels thru the woods.Down hill shots..up hill shots..left and right hand..Nice and clean course!! not alot people on course at one time! great course!!!
Cons: Hard to find!!Tough terrain for older players with any medical problems
Other Thoughts: If you play and are in town,...its a must play!! check it out!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A for Awesome!

1    8/22/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.5 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A
(Many of the holes will punish a bad deuce attempt with a bogey. Several holes really make you think about how to approach them and how aggressive is safe enough to not hurt your score.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A
(Almost every hole out there feels rewarding when I card the result I hope for.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A
(Great variety of hole shapes and lengths and great use of terrain. The course has 3-4 different vibes depending on where you are on the course - very cool.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
(Overall very nice. Beautiful woods and meadows. Seclusion is great for half the course and OK for the part running along the park road. The area around the start/finish does feel haphazard or something. I knocked off half a grade since first and last impressions count.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == B
(Hole 18 is really cool even though it caters to the really big arms - either big drive or big overhand 2nd shot is needed to score well. Hole 16 is really interesting too, but more finesse than power is needed. Needs more par 4's and 5's IMO since the ones out there are so cool.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/21/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: Cnitro
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of the tougher courses you will come across and will leave you wanting more. This course has narrow fairways and thick brush which make it challenging. It has signs showing hole locations and obstacles in the way. It has nice scenary along the way and will leave you a decent workout. The first 11 holes wrap around and into the the woods and leaves you back near the first tee which is located right next to the 12th tee, so the course is unique in the sense that it has a front 11 and a back 7. The back 7 consist of much harder and longer holes.
Cons: This course will eat discs. The brush is thick and one bad or blind throw can leave you searching for an hour wondering "Its got to be here somewhere". The hills can be a pain in the @$$ but in the end its worth it. The narrow fairways make this course not for begininers. The open holes are almost to simple and easy but I guess its to commpensate for the diffcuilty of some of the narrow wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: This course will leave you wanting more. Anything under par is considered amazing. The course wouldnt be that hard if they changed some of the par 3's to par 4's. The course consist of 1 par 5 3 par 4's and 14 par 3's. 2 or 3 of the par 3's could easily be par 4's Hole #4 for instance should be a par 4. You could throw a perfect beast of a drive and still be blind to pin. Not many par 3's can say that

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Disrepair

2-4    7/8/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: Kellermeyer14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very Challenging. A lot of varying grades, uphill and downhill. Enough holes in the woods to challenge and enough open fairways to let you pull back & let 'er rip. The third hole has a challenging ravine to throw across. The eighth starts out open and then turns into a tunnel.
Cons: 1. The rough along the first three holes is incredibly overgrown. 2. It looks like people have used it as a dumping ground. The second hole ends right by a bunch of trash. 3. Some missing tee signs.
Other Thoughts: It may have been a great course at one time, but it needs some TLC. Apparently there's an A tier event being held there in Sept. '09. If so, someone needs to get their sh*t together.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation Change and Lot of Variety

2-4    1/31/2010   2/4/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice Practice Area (although one basket has been damaged . . . not sure if that was from the ice storm but it is all mangled and the chains are gone. UPDATE: 3rd basket is still missing

2) Nice signage on most holes. (#5 tee sign was missing) Next tee signs to direct you to the next holes were helpful and placed well.

3) Awesome variety in holes. Some downhill holes, some uphill and even more on sidehills! I really enjoyed the basket locations on those sloped holes. They really made it fun (but the ice around the baskets did not). There are a few holes where it is wide open, but none you can really just rip loose because they are short. But a couple of them have a forced layup or a mando to navigate to get a second shot down the fairway.

4) Some very nice tight wooded holes forcing layups. You really need to be able to shape your shots around the wooded areas.

5) Very scenic. I really enjoyed the stream behind #9 green. It leaves you with a nice peaceful thought as you try and tee off on #9. The wooded areas were a nice walk on their own.

6) Nice infrastructure. DGA Baskets were in good shape, and the teepads were even better. Nice size to the teepad. I have played on concrete tees that just aren't wide enough, these had plenty of room. Signs are in good shape too.

7) Alternate tee locations on a few of the holes allowing for the beginner to at least have a shorter throw.

8) All in all this was one of my top 3 courses . . . granted I have only played 11 now, but this hits the mark (UPDATE: Still one of my favorites and I have now played 171 courses) . I am sure once the limbs are cleaned up and the ice melts this course is phenomonal, so I rated it as if these things were taken care of. I am sure getting power to the locals is morei mpoartant than the disc golf course. This course is one of only a few courses I have rated at 4.5! I like the challenges it presenets and I look forward to coming back in season to play this course again. I know I can do better. I think the ice cost me 5 shots because my disc kept sliding down the hills around the basket.

UPDATE: 9) I do not remember this the first time but there were some nice railroad ties steps put in place around Hole #13 and #14. Perhaps the first time they were under the ice, but they certainly are worth a mention as they greatly help a very steep part of the course.
Cons: 1) Not very beginner friendly because of the majority of the holes having tight fairways, multiple hazards like streams and such and many chances to have bad rollaways on some of those hills.

2) Terrain of the course could be difficult for some to walk. Be sure to have good traction in the snow or when its gone, I am sure it gets slick when wet.

3) A few holes have alternate tee locations, but I think a handful more could use another tee also.

4) Too many blind baskets from the tee. First timers will really struggle to find where they are going.

UPDATE: 5) 3 inches of snow a few days prior to my second time playing this course had half of Louisville out here to go sledding. There were numerous throws I had to shortarm to avoid the areas where people were standing or sledding, and I think these people had no idea what it was I was doing out there. It would be nice if they designated certain areas of the park for sledding and slightly removed from the DG course.
Other Thoughts: I played this course after the Ice Storm that hit Kentucky. Despite the ice on 5 or 6 holes really affecting play, and the 5 or 6 holes affected by down trees and dead limbs, I still had an awesome time.

UPDATE: I played this course again about 1 year from the first time I had played it. I enjoyed it more this time because the 3 inches of ice was gone . . . it was replace with a fresh 3 inches of snow when I played this time.

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/27/2008   12/17/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2010
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Charlie Vettiner is one of the top courses in the local and surrounding areas. This David Greenwell design offers a challenging par59 layout that requires accuracy and creative shot-making throughout the course. Bring your "A" game, otherwise you could be in for a long and frustrating round of disc golf.

Course Essentials:
-Baskets: The courses uses DGA baskets that are all in good shape. Single pin placements on all 18 holes.
-Tee Pads: Level, concrete pads of adequate length on all holes, alternate (Am) pads are located on holes 3, 8, 11, 13, 17, and 18.
-Tee Signs: Signs are present on most holes and tee pads, signs are missing on a few holes. The available signs show hole layout and distance.

General Course Design & Layout:
-Length: 5,958 from the longs tees (331/hole avg); 5,478 from the am tees (304/hole avg)
-Elevation: Minimum to moderate throughout the course, used effectively in course design. A few holes on the back nine have more severe elevations that can be difficult to navigate, especially when the ground is wet.
-Fairway Variety: 5 technical holes; 10 semi-technical holes; 3 open holes.

Charlie Vettiner has a smooth, flowing layout that is easy to navigate. The course is comprised of 2 loops (1-11, & 12-18) that both return to the parking area. The fairways are clearly defined and offer a good variety of straight, right to left, and left to right layouts. Elevations are minimum-moderate throughout the course, but a few key areas have more severe elevations that are a little more difficult to navigate (Hole12, from 13s basket to 14s tee, basket on 15, 15s basket to 16s tee, and hole18).

The rough can get very thick during the summer months, especially on the back nine, accurate drives are crucial to low scores. A couple of holes are designed to encourage strategic placement of your drive and/or approach shot; these holes reward accuracy over length, a great design feature of the course (in my opinion). There are 3 holes that are basically wide open (6, 7 and 10) and offer a chance to get a couple of easy deuces. Hole 10 does have an artificial O.B., but really should not come into play for any seasoned player.

There are a few mandos in place to help protect other players and pedestrians that may be in the area. Holes 9-11, and 18 run close to the road where vehicle and pedestrian traffic may be present, and a shot wide right off the tee for 5 could potentially interfere with players on the tee for hole 6. The mandos are located on these holes to help reduce the potential danger through these areas (I don't play this course often, I know there is a mando on 5, 9 and 18, possibly 10 & 11, I apologize if I missed any).

A practice area is located near the first tee, plenty of room to practice long putts and short approach shots. Practice basket is located on a slope, so you can also practice up/down and sidehill putts. Trash cans located around the course, and restrooms are available on site.

Epic Holes:
Hole 1- I love the opening hole at CV. A short, downhill and relatively simple hole with a sweeping left to right fairway. Fairly straight-forward, but miss the fairway you could end up in some thick brush and turn what should be an easy 2 into a 4!

Hole 3- Great hole with an "S" shaped fairway. A right to left shot off the tee that ends up in the fairway leaves a pretty straight-forward left to right approach. Throw to far off the box and you end up in the trees, a good example of placement over length design.

Hole 8- This hole is almost like a funnel, a wide open tee shot requiring a left to right flight path into the woods. A reasonable opening at the entrance to the woods that narrows to a tight, straight fairway requires both distance control and accuracy to score well. To much, or not enough on the tee shot will put you into some thick woods.

Hole 12- A tight, straight downhill fairway to an open pin. A accurate drive leaves a good look at a 2, but miss right or left, and you could be scrambling for par. The pin is located on the side of a steep hill that is prone to roll-aways.

Hole 15- Relatively simple hole, but the pin is located on a severe side slope. A missed putt here has the potential to turn an easy three into a 4 or worse.

Hole 16- Another strategy based hole where placement off the tee is crucial. Clear the narrow tunnel and tight gap off the box, then you are left with a moderate uphill shot to a well protected basket.

Hole 18- Fantastic finishing hole. A long "U" shaped fairway that plays uphill with thick woods along the inside (right side) of the fairway. Length is important here, but also placement. If you hug to tight to the inside, you can easily be blocked out for your approach. This hole has a narrow green with the road (O.B.) on the left and thick woods to the right. Position is key to leaving a good line into the basket and having a chance for a 4.
Cons: -Tee signs missing on some holes/tee locations

-Steep elevations can be difficult to walk on even in dry conditions, these areas are much more challenging in wet conditions, proceed with caution through these areas (Hole12, from 13s basket to 14s tee, basket on 15, 15s basket to 16s tee, and hole18)

-Several blind tee shots. Someone playing this course for the first time will most likely have to scout out pin locations before playing several of the holes (1, 3, 4, 5, 8, 13, 15, 16)

-Some tee pads are a little slippery in wet conditions
Other Thoughts: Overall, Charlie Vettiner is a well-designed course that will challenge players of all levels. I would not consider this a beginner friendly course, so if you are new to disc golf, and new to this course, don't be discouraged if you struggle your way through the layout. Of all the local courses, this one has proven to be the most difficult for me. Even after playing for 4yrs, I still find myself struggling to get a decent score on this course. Charlie Vettiner is a fantastic, fun and challenging course, if you are in or near the Louisville area, don't miss this one, a definite must play.

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/5/2010   12/11/2008
Review By: AdamE
Played: 223  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2013
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very challenging and technical course that requires many different shots and accuracy. While there are some longer holes on this course, nearly all of them favor accuracy over distance. There are two pro par 4's and one pro par 5 here and they really add to the challenge of the course.

There are about 4 holes in an open field, but OB, tree lines and hills are used to keep them interesting. The rest of the course is wooded. Elevation comes into play on many holes and putting greens often have elevation changes to add to the challenge.

Some of my favorite holes are hole 3, the first par 4 where you first shot is over a ravine. Hole 8 is a downhill turnover into a wooded tunnel. Hole 9 is a flex shot out of a gap with the basket just on the other side of an OB ditch. Hole 13 is a very unique hole, it's a great RHFH shot over a hill, through a tunnel and the basket is on the right once you clear the tunnel. Hole 16 is the next par 4 requiring a short but accurate drive out of a tunnel to a landing zone, the next shot is a big uphill hyzer. And hole 18 is a monster par 5 with a huge uphill bomb off the tee, get past the mando and you'll have a look at a RHBH anny shot then an approach to the basket but watch out, OB road boarders this hole after the initial drive.

The course has nice tee signs, although one of the signs is missing since it was hit by the lawn mower. Baskets are in great condition.
Cons: The hills at this course can get very muddy when they're wet.
***UPDATE***
Steps have been taken to control erosion on the hill by hole 14 and 15 and steps have been installed. Thanks to the boy scout troop who helped out! Gravel has been spread in many other areas like hole 8, 12 and 13 to help control erosion and mud.

There aren't many trash cans on the course. There is a small walk from hole 11 to hole 12, but it shouldn't be a problem to find since hole 12 is right next to hole 1.

A few of the tee pads can get slick when wet.
Other Thoughts: This is a par 58 course with holes 3 and 16 being par 4 and hole 18 is par 5. Shooting par here is very good, a 58 is rated in the 950's.

This Dave Greenwell designed course will challenge all aspects of your game, regardless of your skill level, and is well worth going out of your way to play.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Accuracy & Distance

2-4    3/23/2008   11/21/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course which offers a lot to the players. Some distance is good but don't sacrifice accuracy (especially on #18). This place gives you the opportunity to go-for-it and either rewards or punishes you based on your shot. I love courses that present the opportunity and challenges players to try a shot. Great hole designs which present every type of challenge imaginable - The fairways are there you just better not miss. Played this course for the first time this year and my first round was in a the CV Open - Boy did I throw a lot of forehand rollers. Bring every shot and be ready to use them. Hole #3 can be a beast if you miss your line and #18 is a punishing finishing hole.
Cons: Not many - A few holes can be a little slick because of erosion (Hole #1 I believe is pretty slick) and can get muddy in a few places so come prepared.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful course and can't wait to get back there in '09. Well taken care of and a lot of though in the hole designs. Great work.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.