Disc Golf Store
Louisville, KY 
Charlie Vettiner Park Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #7
3 / 264ft.   3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Challenging Course

5+    11/13/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2009
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course varies greatly with awesome elevation changes on 1-4 and 12-18. Several nice tunnel shots to test how straight you can keep your flight. Awesome scenery without a whole lot of disc-grabbing greenery, although on number 1 (downhill and blind) if you overthrow you might spend quite a while finding your disc in the creek bed. Playing in and out of the woods the entire time, and very creative fairway design and pin placement. Also, some of the bridges across the creeks have been recently installed/renovated to improve the look and ease of travel of the course.
Cons: Tee signs need to be replaced/improved.

Also, not major cons, but the bathrooms and other amenities in the park are not close to the course.
Other Thoughts: Approaching the tees on 13 and 14 are steep and if the ground is slippery can be quite treacherous. There are a lot of OB areas all over, so you really have to watch your placement. I really suggest wearing hiking boots for playing this course.

I love this course and the challenge it presents. This course is the closest to my house so I try to play as often as I can. I also hear there will be an A-Tier at Vettiner for 2009, should be awesome.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 roller coaster

1    11/3/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: Roger2
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park has a wide variety of shots and holes with a nice use of terrain. Combines some good woods holes with some wide open shots. Beautiful well maintained park. The tees that were not obvious from the previous hole were well marked with pointer signs. Good concrete tees
Cons: Older course and equipment. Tee signs were rather uninspiring and a little unclear on long shots. A little potential for lost discs but not bad.A couple of unfinished bridges not nice now but will add to the course when completed.
Other Thoughts: A lot of right hand fades. Looks like the course has suffered some storm damage that hasn't been cleared as of fall '08. I loved the long last hole. I would definitely play this hole again if traveling through the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A course for the strong arm!

1    10/27/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: thatguy
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great use of the rolling hills in Kentucky. Many great up-hill and down-hill shots. This course is very long and you will get plenty of excercise. The tees are very nice concrete and there are a handfull of holes that have pro tees. There is a good combination of woods and open field holes but most of the holes are in the woods. Due to a recent storm there is a tree down across the fairway on hole 4 making a great obstacle. All of the people that I met playing there were very friendly.
Cons: This course has some VERY long holes, # 18 being the longest. Hole 18 is marked as a par 4 but should be closer to a par 6. The sign for the tee box for hole 5 was missing due to recent storm damage. Only a few of the holes have pro tees. On some of the signs it is confusing where the basket actually is located. Traveling from the basket to the next tee can be hazardous in places due to ravines and deep creek beds.
Other Thoughts: Over all this is an amazing course that is well loved and well maintained. The park is working on installing foot bridges to go over the creeks and ravines and they look very nice. The storm that hit recently obviously doesn't like disc golf as much as the rest of us. One of the practice baskets had a tree land on it and it looks pretty pathetic. Good news is that the wonderful people in KY were prepared because there is a second practice basket. My advise is warm up and stretch your arm and shoulder a lot before this course (especially hole 18). Also, a gentle throw is all you need on hole 1, if you throw your disc level it will glide gracefully down the hill and land just before the basket. Good luck and enjoy this course, I know I'll play it again if I'm ever back in Louisville!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Humbler...

5+    9/28/2008   9/28/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a world class course. Lots of different challenges, ever changing terrain, clean long tees, couple short holes many long, hyzer and anhyzers, pro tees. It will really work you over if you are not up to a nice long course. Trees and brush come into play on more then half the holes. You really have to know your game to play this course, landing zone is critical on several holes. Beware the disc eating evergreens as well. I have had two discs get caught, luckily it was windy, one fell the other was low enough to knock out. Hole 18 is a killer hair pin turn. Three nice bridges have been installed, more hill work is on the way, thanks to a scouts project.
Cons: Needs more garabage cans. Some of the hills on the back 9 are downright trecherous if it has rained. Def risk of losing a disc or two in the summer. Just a great course to work out your skills.
Other Thoughts: Add 9 more to it! There is plenty of room. No matter how good I think I am this course humbles me.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Louisville's finest

5+    7/12/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2010
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well designed, making good use of the topography. Good variety of shots required. Some unique holes the likes of which I've never seen anywhere else.

Teepads and signs are good. I would call this course "deceptively tough". In other words, it looks easier than it is. It's darn tough to shoot a good round at Vettiner.
Cons: Can be a little unforgiving for the novice golfer. The rough is very thick in many places and can make finding discs difficult if you stray off the fairways.

Despite it's difficulty, it's heavily played. Louisville doesn't have enough courses, and the two it has get crowded.

As others have mentioned, holes 7 and 10 are short par 3s that are wide open. They really offer nothing to the course. I'm not sure exactly how I'd rectify the situation, however. Perhaps 7 could go back into the wooded area on the right?
Other Thoughts: I've come to appreciate Vettiner more as the years go on. In some ways it reminds me of a shorter Idlewild.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

8/6/2008   8/6/2008
Review By: danhal87
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: First time I've played this course and only the second course I've ever played. It had a really nice layout, and I loved the way some of the holes were made. It was very difficult for me as a beginner though. It was nice though that when you throw in the trees it is not super thick and it's easy to find your disc.
Cons: I couldn't find a map or scorecard.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid Round

7/18/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.3 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tees. Well-Defined fairways. Excellent mixture of shot shape required. (hyzer, anhyzer, etc.) Excellent use of elevation. Excellent design and layout as you started close to the parking lot, came back to the parking lot for hole 12, and then returned for 18. Easy to navigate.

Cons: The surrounding park was fairly bland. There wasn't much going on. The course requires accuracy occasionally but mostly requires the ability to navigate elevation. I thought hole 18 was kind of silly. (basically a horseshoe)
Other Thoughts: There are a few shots that come close to park roads. That really doesn't bother me but I know it is a bother for others. It is quite a hike to play. If you are not in solid physical condition this course can work you over. I know it got the best of me by the end of the round. Overall, it was the most challenging Louisville course that we played and it was very enjoyable. I know the cons I listed look longer than the pros but the pros are what make this an excellent course. This course is well above average and definitely worth playing anytime you happen to be in the area.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/24/2008   5/28/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2008
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a little bit of everything. It really has a great variaty of shots. It is very well kept and is in a nice park. Every hole presents a different challange and you will have to pull out all of your shots on this one. There are well marked signs and nice teepads for every hole. Holes 12 through 18 are all really nice challenging holes. Hole 18 is like nothing I have ever played before.
Cons: Can't think of many. THe only thing I can thin of is there are 2 holes that are completely open that are both midrange shots of about the same length.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course to play if you are in the area and will require you to be creative with your shots. You can score pretty well on this course because of the short open holes and all of the wooded holes have well defined fairways. I notice that a lot of people are complaining about #18 being to long. You need to throw a nice long first shot. The second shot is a thumber over the woods to cut 150-200ft off the hole. From there is you made 2 good throws you have a short approach for a tap in 4 or a jump putt with a chance at a 3. If you go all the way around the horseshoe it will take you a lot of throws.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 nice mix

5/10/2008   5/15/2008
Review By: dwain
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a fantastic variety of holes that make use of the open fields and wooded hills. There are short holes that require more finesse than power, and there are holes that will challenge the biggest arm. Hole 16 was my greatest enemy with a tight tee-off through the woods into an open field followed by an uphill curve to the left. The nearly horseshoe shape of hole 18 was a tough one to finish on, but it was certainly creative enough to be fun.

There are quite a few holes that play with elevation, and there are a couple of creeks/creekbeds that I assume are OB. The holes are very nicely marked, and moving from one to another is very easy.
Cons: There were a couple of muddy holes, but that's just searching for something to be a "con" on what was a generally great course.

I did come home covered in ticks...
Other Thoughts: The course reminds me a little bit of Veteran's Park in Lexington, but Vettiner stands ahead because of its use of elevation and fairways surrounded by trees (instead of Veteran's fairways full of trees).

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

3/5/2008   3/5/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Well maintained. Wide variety of shots. Long open shots, short technical shots, it's all here.
Cons: It does get pretty sloppy after a rain. And it's too far away.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth a stop if passing through da Ville

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.