Los Angeles, CA 
Chavez Ridge DGC at Elysian Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #9 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 205ft.   3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
This course has ridges!

2-4    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Jblevins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Extreme elevation and variety of shots need for this course. Fairways are open under a canopy of large trees but plays along the ridges of canyons in the shadow of Dodger stadium. Good tee pads.
Cons: Can be difficult to navigate, not a very long course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid course

1    10/12/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays on a dusty ridge with scattered trees with really nice views of downtown and Dodger stadium from various places on the course. There are enough trees and some brush that none of the holes are wide open, and there is a range from a few obstacles to avoid all the way to some tight lanes through dense stands of trees. A few holes called for some different shapes, and those seemed balanced between left and right turning shots. The hills made for some nice risks of roll aways, especially on several greens, and with the hard packed ground conducive to skips you really have to think about how your disc is going to land
Cons: I think i would have been lost if some guy didn't show me where some of the holes were.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play again

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/24/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: sbinwien
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Other Thoughts: Nice course but it could be much better. They have a great location and could make a much greater variety. Instead, most holes are at the top of the ridge, so if you don't play the hillside right, you go all the way down to the bottom. On most holes, the slope is always to the left, because it is links style. It could be so much better with just different teebox positions, more dog legs, up hill and down hill, etc.

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Unique LA course

1    8/15/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a dusty ridge with scattered trees with really nice views of downtown and Dodger stadium from various places on the course. There are enough trees and some brush that none of the holes are wide open, and there is a range from a few obstacles to avoid all the way to some tight lanes through dense stands of trees. A few holes called for some different shapes, and those seemed balanced between left and right turning shots. The hills made for some nice risks of roll aways, especially on several greens, and with the hard packed ground conducive to skips you really have to think about how your disc is going to land.

There is a good course map on the site, it's worth printing out your first time, though other than finding the first tee the course is easy to follow. Most of the signs are in good shape and show the hole layout and distance. The tees are small, but in good shape, and most holes really don't require a runup so the size wasn't a major issue. The baskets are in nice condition and caught well.
Cons: My biggest issue with the course is the use of the elevation. Nearly all the holes followed the contours of the ridge, so there were some good risks of skipping or rolling down the hill, but not any added challenge shooting up or downhill. It's very unfortunate that the designers were forced to stick mostly with the contours, and it was disappointing to drive up into the hilly park and find a course that plays pretty flat. Most of the holes are very short, it's a really fun putter course but doesn't have much variety. The first hole is difficult to find the first time, it's a ways down the hill past 6 if I remember correctly.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice short course, with some fun shots and great views. I really enjoyed throwing the whole course with a couple putters, and it tests your short game in places. Beginners might find it a bit punishing, especially for RHBH players as uncontrolled high hyzers are prone to heading way down the hill on many holes, but it's a nice length for newer players. More experienced throwers won't find too many real challenges here, but it's a fun place to play and definitely worth a stop if you're in LA.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and Unique

2-4    2/14/2010   2/22/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Beautiful course with amazing scenery and views of Downtown L.A. and Dodger stadium in a historic neighborhood
• Outstanding variety of angles challenge you bring out multiple types of throws
• Steep hills throughout the course provide extra challenge, and add multiple strokes should you roll down them
• Different than any other course that I have seen in California - truly unique
• Amazing local scene, with not very many crowds at any time. Come here at 9am on a weekend day and you practically have the course to yourself
• Offers plenty of fitness opportunities, more than your average course. Be ready for a workout when you play here. Especially if you have bad shots. The worse you do, the better the workout. I did pretty bad and I'm a bit portly; the crew was laughing at me after about 5 holes. I looked like I'd just come from the gym.
Cons: • Tee pad sizes vary, and are sometimes crunched in on a lot of holes. They did a great job with the space they had to work with though.
• Parking is a tad precarious, and there has been word of possible tickets for parking on Ridge Rd. This was not the case when I visited - 10 cars were parked there and the Sherriff rolled by every 5 minutes.
• No restrooms on the course proper. Use the bushes, but be wary that this was a former hookup spot. Look both ways (and behind you) before drawing your weapon.
• Could use more benches and trashcans, but again, space is quite limited.
• Holy Rollers! You think it won't happen to you, then you are wrong. A putt of mine that went 8 feet from the basket rolled 300 feet away down the hill.
• You will need a guide the first few times. The flow is pretty intuitive except where you have to cross the street to get to the next hole
• You can get a ticket for smoking here (cigarettes or otherwise). Heard of someone getting a ticket for medicating, but the ticket was only for "smoking in a high fire area".
• Now that the grass has grown after the rains, the rough is LONG! Use spotters if possible.
Other Thoughts: Chavez Ridge is a newer disc golf course built in 2006, and the first one in the city of L.A. Proper. The course is just scratching the surface of what could be possible with disc golf and the city of Los Angeles. There is nothing out there like this course - it is built on a huge hill (really a ridge) with the holes traversing across with hiking trails interspersed in between. This is not a casual player's course - even though the hole lengths look short in the "Hole Info" section, this course is a monster because of the rolling possibility on practically every hole.

You'll need to be in decent shape to play here, and it is not advised to wear tennis shoes - bring your hiking boots or trail runners. You'll need something with serious grip should you go "off the beaten path". Don't think this won't happen the first or even second time you play there - it will happen and most likely in spades. Also, bring your plastic you don't care as much about - leave the fancy stuff at home. Bring reliable, beat in, straight discs that you don't mind losing. There is more opportunity for lost discs here than on any course in Socal.

Since there isn't a huge amount of distance covered on most holes, this really is a "2 or die" course with plenty of birdie opportunities. Be warned, the holes that look the easiest and shortest are the ones hiding the obstacles best. I ended up getting a 5 on one 160 foot hole. Spotters are almost mandatory on many holes with the overthrows, skips, and rolls that are highly possible here.

You might have preconceived notions about this course, but trust me it will exceed your wildest expectations and usually in a good way. Keep in mind this isn't your run of the mill park, and for total noobs this course can be a bit of a beast. The name of the game is placement shots, and until you can throw a disc with 90% predictability over medium distances, you probably won't have much fun. For outdoorsmen, this course is a special treat. It combines hiking and disc golf better than any course I have seen out there. Most people I played with seemed to stick to midranges, and if you can get them out to 275' regularly you might be better off sticking to just those mid discs the entire round. Be warned if you throw a disc prone to skips like a Wraith or Katana.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 take a RISK and ROLL out to chavez... you'll be REWARDED.

1    12/28/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Epic Holes. Several of the holes (on the Front 9) could easily be on any DG course in the country and be Bad Ass! Gorgeous golf holes with extreme risk/reward situations.
- Use of Elevation. Although most the holes are fairly level from tee-to-pin (no extreme uphill/downhill holes), the threat of extreme downhill rolls and therefore extreme uphill shots is everywhere. I think every hole on this course is influenced by elevation or at least the threat of elevation.
- "Preci-PINS". Several pins are located on the edge of huge, steeply downhill, precipices… which really leads to some great risk/reward golf. You constantly have to ask yourself how badly you want to go for that 25' death putt. And, laying up isn't any easier… as your shot could easily slide on the ground, hit a twig, stand up on edge and take off rolling.
Cons:
- Gay Hook-Up Spot. When this course was first installed it was notorious for being a random hook-up spot for Gay guys. There were stories of moaning bushes and dudes streaking the fairways. I believe most of that activity has ceased due to the DG course being there; however, I hear they are still there. Stereotypical guy on the prowl: 28-45 year old Latin male with sweatpants and easy to slip off shoes.
- Freeway Traffic. Elysian Park is conveniently located near several major freeway junctions, which could lead to some Extreme LA traffic. Proximity to Dodger Stadium increases this during game days.

- Great Shot / Bad Roll. There is nothing that can be done about it. You will have one or more bad rolls during the round. Personally, I love the pin positions, I love the risk, but beginners could be in for a long day and a lot of climbing (experts too).
- Layout Confusion. There are several areas on the course where the next closest tee-pad is not the actual next tee-pad. And, there didn't seem to be any next-tee signs to aid in navigation.
Other Thoughts:
- LA Police Academy. The police academy is down the street and there is the possibility that the jogger jogging by is a police officer or an officer in training. Be Aware!
- Overall… in the So-Cal DG community Elysian has a bad rap. I think the Homosexual activity and LA traffic have more to do with this than the Golf. The Golf was fantastic, especially the Front 9. The Back 9 seemed much shorter and much more regular in terms of quality of golf shots. I'd definitely play here again!
- My Score: (a disappointing) -2

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 in big, bad LA

5+    8/26/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: wadflinger
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well marked, right in downtown LA, awesome view of Dodger Stadium on 18, park is beautiful and has best views in LA, nice and shady, smells great and is a nice break from city
Cons: dusty in summer, easy to lose a disc or ruin a round on hills, traffic is usually rough getting there
Other Thoughts: good challenging course, no open room to let loose but helps with short game and accuracy, since i live in LA this is my most frequently visited course

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    12/20/2008   2/3/2009
Review By: spencer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is very accessible sits right off of the 110 freeway to LA. Beautiful view of Dodger stadium and Los Angeles city's downtown. Holes are not too tough. A full 18 hole course right in LA. I was very surprised to find this jewel nestled so close to home.
Cons: Course is situated on top of a large hill. Be prepared to go scavenging because the discs have a tendency to roll down the course due to the steepness of the hill. Minimal signs somewhat hard to navigate if you are new to the course. Many of the holes sit somewhat precariously to the edge of the course. You are bound to lose a disc by even hitting right under the basket has the potential for an immediate down hill roll session with your disc.
Other Thoughts: Good course to work on your form and release. Not a whole lot of drives but good mid range play

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/8/2013   2/2/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 83  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2013
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Offers the best sights of any course in greater L.A. Outstanding mountaintop views (especially Hole 18, overlooking Dodger Stadium, as well as view at basket #15). Challenging steep hillsides make every hole tough, making trick shots like uphill thumbers and forehands handy. Many unusual elevation changes along (but rarely up and down) Chavez Ridge. Lots of shade and trees that offer fun and challenging mid-range play, particularly on the front nine. Also has a couple of opportunities to use more powerful shots. Good baskets and signs for the most part. Rubber tee pads are very well done (if they were all this good, they would rival cement tees). Monday league was lots of fun in 2009.
Cons: Hard to find holes one and nine. Needs some road signs indicating there is a course at Elysian park. No where near baseball fields as mentioned elsewhere. No wide open holes. Could use a bathroom and a few benches along the way. Steeply sloped hills are frequent disc-loss hazards. Despite being a truly unique landmark, this course suffers from a lack of diversity as well as longer holes.
Other Thoughts: Despite my rating, this is one of my favorite for its unique close-to-urban setting.

The gate was locked for unknown reasons on 2/7/09 and created access problems (was followed out by a trio of unfriendly (?) looking individuals), so playing alone could be an issue. The city often closes this course after heavy rains.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Ely18 Chavez Ridge

5+    1/2/2009   1/7/2009
Review By: supergimp
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Five to ten minutes away from the heart of downtown Los Angeles. Great views of downtown and Dodger Stadium. I saw a brown eagle there. The extremely technical course is unlike any other on the west coast. There is also a close knit community of disk golfers who'll never let anyone play alone. You can always find a local doing course improvements, selling spare disc, keeping a lost and found, and giving directions.
Cons: The steep slopes make luck a huge factor. Many disk have landed underneath the basket only to take a small roll that picked up speed on the 90 degree slope and end up 100 feet down the hill. The park used to have a bad reputation, but the disc golfers seem to have moved out any previous activity. Still, I suggest playing with a group. If anything to help spot lost disc.
Other Thoughts: Let's get a disc golf club going at Ely18. If you are interested email me at rdiaz90604@hotmail.com. I used to live and play in La Mirada and was used to that course as well as nearby Huntington Beach and Eldorado Park. When I first played Chavez Ridge I thought I'd never play again. However, once I moved to downtown I found myself loving the course. I even prefer it to the nearby Oak Grove course. Come on out and give it a try. Bring a camara with a zoom. On a clear day one can see Long Beach from hole 18.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.