Los Angeles, CA 
Chavez Ridge DGC at Elysian Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #15 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 243ft.   3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Took some getting used to!!!

2-4    1/30/2014   1/31/2014
Review By: tommyUnitas
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging short course. Lots of elevation and trees. Precision is a must... Even a good shot can end up down the hill. Good baskets, good tee markers, good tees, friendly helpful locals.
Cons: I chained out a short birdie putt on #5 and rolled about 200 feet straight down a hill, took me 3 shots to get back up got a 6. There's a lot of dirt on the course, so wear your hiking shoes.
Other Thoughts: Pay attention to the tee marker signs, not only for where the pin is, but also for where the next tee is located. Played 2 rounds today (first time there), and will be back for sure in the future. Park on the road near hole 6. I carry 13 discs, but only used 6 during my two rounds (150 and 170 champion sidewinders, 155 champion valkyrie, 173 champion spider approach, and 2 putters 170 and 174). No need for a driver. I could probably get away with using just my 150 sidewinder and a putter. At first, layout could be a little confusing, but hooked up with some locals and by the end of the day was dialed in pretty good. Lot's of birdie and ace holes, but beware of the Chavez Roll... Straight down the hill!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Short dusty ace race!

1    6/10/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: SuperRocky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very challenging course because of the hills.
Roll-aways are a real danger constantly. Play a putter flat.
Very short and technical!

Hole 18 overlooking the stadium is cool!

Cons: Very very short course. I played a putter off the tee on 12 of the 18 holes and birdied 9 of those. I also got an ace with my putter on a short slightly uphill hole (#12)

When I did pull out a fairway driver, it was for very controlled shots
Other Thoughts: Although very short, it appears that there are tees in place for longer shots and or league and doubles rounds. Hope to get back there someday to try those out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Chavez Roll

5+    11/14/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2013
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Full Update of my original Review, full disclosure I am a club member and play here almost daily.

-Technical tight holes, a number of holes make even world class players really think through their shots. Holes 2, 7, and 13 are my favorite of these.

-Enjoyable short (reachable) holes, a lot of long armed folks despise this course because their ability to open up and throw as hard as they can is limited, personally I really enjoy the aspect of having to think about ALL parts of the shot including power, placement and angle of landing. It makes parking a 240' hole that much more enjoyable when you know a shot thrown 20' longer would have been 50-300ft down a hill depending on how rough the landing was.

-Multiple Pin Locations, there are a 2 or 3 folks with keys to the basket locks that keep the baskets moving around on a monthly basis, a number of the holes change pretty dramatically based on where the basket is located, keeps things interesting.

-Hole variety, there always seems to be a great balance of backhand/forehand holes, never really favoring either but having a few holes that are easier and a few more challenging for each.

-Parking, park down below or off to the side of the road on hole 6 (get all 4 of your wheels off of the street), always plenty of parking.

-Locals, we are a fun, friendly bunch. There is pretty much always someone playing who is willing to show folks around. There is also a local lost and found (he is in a small silver truck) I have yet to lose a disc that didn't come back to me out here.

-Views, played a round right before it started raining today, you could see 30 miles south and 20 miles east, truly spectacular, could see the cranes in the port! Entire course is bright green because of all the rain right now, great setting.

-Tournament layout/Monthly Layout, every month and a few times a year on a bigger scale the course switches it up and new and crazier holes are born, including the Freeway Hole that features throwing out over a hill that has the I-5 at the bottom of it. Playing in one is a great way to see the land used to its fullest when the ADA restrictions for the regular course don't come into play.
Cons: -Brutal, punishing, arbitrary hills. With how wet the ground is at the moment this is alleviated a little, but most of the time 2 nearly identical shots can have dramatically different results depending on whether or not one touched a twig that sent it rolling (see "Chavez Roll" and "You got Chavezed")

-The rough down hill on holes 9-16 is a lost disc wasteland, be wary of hyzering anything down the hill here, with the wrong skip or roll you probably aren't seeing it again.

-Amenities (or lack thereof) there is no water and the closest restroom is down on the field below, it can get hot and dusty out there on summer days, prepare for it.

-Directions, there is now a sign pointing the way towards the course but for someone who just randomly drives up it is almost impossible to stumble on Hole 1, print the map!

-Vandals, really nothing the course can do about this but local teens (im guessing) seem intent on vandalizing all of the tee signs over and over.
Other Thoughts: Overall as a home/local course this place is amazing. Playing during a weekday before noon will usually lead to you having a private course. Dont show up expecting to bomb high speed drivers all day, bring a Roc and a putter and expect to have your patience challenged by the lovely, occasionaly nasty hills of Chavez.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 You got CHAVEZED!

5+    9/17/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: DiscinTim
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -challenging and technical holes
-multiple pin positions and locals that actual change them
-some nice alternate teepads can be found around the course, making some short holes quite a bit longer, or more challenging with different approach lines.
-well maintained paths, locals dig out steps in many places to make traversing the hillsides easy
-great views of downtown LA and dodger stadium
-friendly locals always willing to show you around
Cons: -you can catch some bad rolls, which will force you to play carefully.
-there are not any drinking fountains up on the course, but the park below does have several so stock up on water.
-most of the holes are shorter as opposed to long, it is not really a 'con' but may be for some.
Other Thoughts: The course is always getting better with new teepads, signs and maintenance, thanks to the local chavez ridge disc golf club. New teesigns were just installed on many holes!

The locals really care about the course, and they have regular weekly and monthly tournaments.

The tournaments always bring surprises with all kinds of temporary holes, safari locations, and alternate teepads.

You can park near the baseball fields and hike up to hole one, or drive up to the top and hike down to hole 1, either way.

This is an under-rated course. Some complain about the shorter holes and roll-aways, but it requires a technical game, where bad play or errant shots can be punished. It will definitely make your upshot and putt game better. If you haven't played, absolutely check it out.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Dodger Stadium

1    9/25/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: The Meat Truck
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent views, fun course, and a nice variety of shots.
Free to play.
Nice rubber tee mats.
Offers a unique challenge unlike any course I have every played.
Great baskets.
Cons: Course is quite short, very few holes have a need ffor a driver.
Very lefty friendly.
Other Thoughts: Well, I was driving around Elysian park looking for the course and was about ready to give up when i decided to take a turn where it said the little league fields are and just a little past there I ran into this very nice local fellow named Blake *shout out*. Who told us where the first tee was and offered to play with, we accepted of course (regarding parking there is a fire lane were most people park, they apparently dont tow there he said, as there was about 5 cars parked there while we played, judging from where we parked it was very close to tee one and eighteen) and headed at hole one, I was surprised to find out as I forgot my shoes and were wearing flip flops, that this course was not hard at all to walk and was not the hike that i thought it would be, it had a nice path throughout and only parts that where hard on the feet is when your disc rolls WAY down the ridge (which most likely will happen your first time playing). My overall view of the course was very good, short but sweet and a few ace oppurtunites which are always fun. Go play this course if not for the course for the great view of chavez and dodger stadium.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course Above the LA Skyline

1    7/12/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unique challenge, views.
Other Thoughts: Chavez Ridge is certainly not the fanciest course I've ever played, and it's probably one of the shortest, yet it is definitely one of the most interesting. With its steep landscape and the thought and consideration each and every shot requires as a result, plus the wide and absolutely tremendous views of both Los Angeles and the San Fernando Valley, Chavez Ridge is the kind of course you'll never forget if you're passing through, and might not ever play the same way twice if it's a regular stop.

Chavez Ridge runs directly behind Dodger Stadium and the course plays along both sides of this ridge, plus a couple holes along the top. Hole by hole is not really uphill and downhill so much as along a steep hill. Number 1 is fairly typical of the challenges throughout the course - 240 feet tee to basket, a mostly straight line. But the land slopes downward steeply to the right, and upward steeply (though considerably less far) to the left. Fail to keep your shot on the line and it might roll several hundred feet downhill. And by steep, I mean navigable on foot, but just barely. Thus every shot is a risk/reward challenge; do I go straight at it, try to lay up safe on the path (which is not particularly wide), how much might this disc skip? And on and on. Putts that are one inch too short can end up rolling 200-300 feet downhill, and simple approaches that you hold onto a fraction of second too long can end up adding three throws to the hole. This mental challenge is enhanced by the fact that the course plays on both sides of the ridge; thus the risk is pretty equal for right hand or left hand back hand throws, or forehand vs. backhand dominant players. Not every hole is a straight line either; placement and shaping is required on several holes above and beyond the challenges the landscape presents. For me, though, the more discs I use, and the more shots I use, the better, so Chavez Ridge turned out to be Fun overall, requiring more consideration, and inspiring more "Wow, how am I going to play this hole?" moments than possibly any other course I've played, all in a good way.

Chavez Ridge is a hike - up a steep hill to hole #1, up or along a steep hill for a majority of the 18 holes, and then all the way from top to bottom from 18 back to your car. Hiking boots might be helpful. It has one set of tees per hole, and a map is helpful for first timers, and even then there are a couple confusing spots. Signage is mostly adequate, though numbers on the baskets would be a big improvement. Finally, big arms don't have much to add here. For fun factor, however, Chavez Ridge cannot be beat, and that's why it's at the top of my must play again list for Southern California. And the views are as fine as any I've seen on a disc golf course, especially along the top of the ridge, for the last few holes. These views and the unique nature of the course boost its overall rating considerably, in my opinion.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of a kind in LA

5+    5/3/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An excellent challenge in downtown LA. Steep hills and rough terrain severely punish bad shots. Tees have new rubber pads and well marked signs. There is a degree of risk with every shot you take. Even the seemingly easy short holes can easily result in a death roll down the hill.
Cons: Navigation can be tricky, so bring a map or use a guide. The risk for loosing a disc is very high so bring a spotter. All in all no major complaints.
Other Thoughts: This is a must see if you are in the LA area. This course offers a challenge unlike any of the other local courses. I'm going to go ahead and guess that this course was designed by a lefty. But it offers a great change of pace.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great little course

5+    4/15/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: z-man
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great little course built atop a ridge near Dodger Stadium...Course is about 10 minutes away from my work so I swing up and play whenever I have some free time...

-Scenic views on a few of the holes I will never forget
-Short but technical holes...This course will test your ability to control your plastic...If you can't, you'll get in shape real quick as you trudge up and down the sides of the mountain...
-Good variety of shots...not a lot of length (though there are some alternate tee pads you can throw from that lengthen it out a bit)
-Not a lot of traffic...can usually play a round in about an hours worth of time
Cons: -Fairly lefty friendly course due to the slope of the hill...righties will constantly have to focus on not hyzering too much whereas lefties can crash into the hill without having to worry about skipping down the hill
-No amenities at the top of the hill...though a bathroom is present at the base of the hill in a flatter area of the park
Other Thoughts: I like to work on my putting here (1 hole is fairly flat and I don't have to worry about rolling down the hill)...The views of downtown L.A. and dodger stadium...as well as views looking out over the Valley keep me coming back...

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 An Ace Without Any Rollaways!

1    3/28/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow! What to say about a course that's been reviewed 20 times previously. I was invited by Apothocarty and his group of SoCal players on a Sunday morning. It would not be a good course to play alone. As the course plays completely atop the ridge, there is constant danger in the form of errant throws or rollaways on good shots or putts. Luckily, when I played in late March, the grass was a little higher than normal in some places which prevented a few nasty rollaways. My group managed to play the entire 18 with any game-changing rolls. I think we were more lucky than skilled. Expect them! There is an amazing view of Dodger stadium and the LA city skyline from # 18. While fairly short in actual distance, the course more than makes up for that with it's extreme risk/reward nature on many or most of the holes. The baskets and teepads are more than adequate.
Cons: A player who wants to throw big air will not find the chance here. It's a workout alright but if you can manage to avoid that pre-mentioned rollaway, you're mostly walking across the ridge and not so much up and down. The only hole I could find any problem was # 16. It plays down an old road with an extreme drop off on the left. I felt it was kind of a "filler" hole.
Other Thoughts: Luckily, I almost always play in hiking boots so I was prepared for that. I somehow managed to avoid any catastrophic rollaways. I didn't run into any of LA's gay population (At least, I think all of Apthocarty's group were of the straight and narrow). I didn't lose any discs. Not being the most agile, youthful player around, I was thrilled that I didn't roll down any ridges. I met and got to play with a group of friendly SoCal players. And I managed to throw in a 129' bomb on # 12 for my 5th career ACE, with nine witness's looking on.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Jem in the Middle of Los Angeles!

5+    12/18/2009   12/30/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2010
20 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great tees and baskets
-Not many people there, golfers or otherwise
-Tricky, high-risk shots make Chavez incredibly unique. The place is situated along a ridge, meaning it is sometimes windy with a chance of rolling down the hill. Safe shots are the name of the game.
-Beautiful vistas of downtown Los Angeles
-Friendly locals...UTILIZE THEM. You will probably end up losing a hole or two if you are playing the course for the first time and don't have a guide.
-Little to no trash around the course
Cons: -Questionable design characteristics. Hole 9's tee is pretty much in the middle of 8's fairway. Hole 10 is a bit tricky to find.
-Lack of flow between holes. Again, use a guide.
-Rocky, hilly, steep terrain. Have you ever seen a 400' Tijuana death roll down a hill? You will at Chavez.
-Police recruits run through the park, but they stay away from the main course area and generally mind their own.
-No pro shop or map available on site. Make sure and print one out from DGCR!
Other Thoughts: Chavez is a serious technical course with the attitude of an angry model: too sultry and dangerous for her own good.

Bring your short/mid game...this course requires a lot of short, safe shots, or the ability to weave discs through tight trees and steep hills.

Bring your boots as well, and expect a lot of up-and-down hiking.

Chavez is a great course for a nice secluded round...in the middle of Los Angeles no less!

The layout could use a little work as crisscrossing fairways are a problem, but the lack of people playing the course usually negates that design flaw.

The difficulty level, solitude and the natural and rugged beauty make this course a jem...but it is NOT a course for beginners. If you are a white, blue or gold-level golfer, you will love the simplistic beauty of the course design and a good hike! Red-level golfers...prepare for a lot of frustration and chasing looooong rollers.

20 of 23 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.