Los Angeles, CA 
Chavez Ridge DGC at Elysian Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #14 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 166ft.   3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Really cool par 3 golf

2-4    11/12/2015   8/18/2016
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 59  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Coming from the mid-Atlantic area where most courses are wooded, this place had a really unique texture to it that I'm not used to at home. I love the big elevation change. I love how the ground (dirt, rocks, and roots) make for some "hold your breath" moments hoping your throw lands safely without a mountainside rollaway. That adds a nice challenge to a course that otherwise is comprised of mostly short holes. There are a wide variety of lines at Chavez, as some hole allow for predictable, more open hyzer route type of throws, while others force you to throw on a rope through a tight fairway. There are some incredible lookout points on this course down into various parts of LA, the mountains in the distance, and Dodger Stadium. I had a tough time getting over how terrain like this was smack in the middle of one of the biggest cities in the world....very cool.
Cons: If you happen to kick and roll, you can roll really really far downhill on some holes, even if you've done your job executing the shot. That can be a pain. Furthermore, if you roll or stall out a shot that fades way downhill, there are a few holes that could make that disc very tough to find. I didn't see bathrooms or running water anywhere, so if they are there, my apologies, but that's always nice to have, especially if you want to play a few in a row.
Other Thoughts: This course does remind me of one of my home courses--Sedgley Woods, in that it's an older style course meant for controlled putter and mid-range shots. If you're in LA, with it being hard to get anywhere far in a reasonable amount of time, you'll definitely have fun at this place.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rollers!

1    10/10/2015   10/10/2015
Review By: Phil Esra
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous tee signs
Good use of available space
Friendly locals
High stakes because of steep hillside
Cons: The Walk of Shame down the hill to retrieve your accidental roller
Condoms and abandoned clothing
Like the rest of LA, dry and hot as hell in the summer, which lasts through October (100 degrees on October 10, 2015).
Other Thoughts: I came here as a noob expecting an extremely unforgiving course--I found it less brutal than expected. Many holes are short, which lets you play conservatively, which in turn gives you a better chance of keeping your disc up on the ridge. The high stakes were fun--they added an element of excitement.

Sometimes a disc took an unlucky bounce and long roll, but mostly precision was rewarded and bad throws were penalized (sometimes severely).

As a noob with a weak arm, I got a much better score here than I usually do at Oak Grove--plus 11-12 instead of plus 18 for 18 holes at Oak Grove. Many holes only needed a putter.

There's a drinking fountain down below the course, but no water once on the course. I burned through a liter bottle much faster than expected on a baking-hot day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Took some getting used to!!!

2-4    1/30/2014   1/31/2014
Review By: tommyUnitas
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging short course. Lots of elevation and trees. Precision is a must... Even a good shot can end up down the hill. Good baskets, good tee markers, good tees, friendly helpful locals.
Cons: I chained out a short birdie putt on #5 and rolled about 200 feet straight down a hill, took me 3 shots to get back up got a 6. There's a lot of dirt on the course, so wear your hiking shoes.
Other Thoughts: Pay attention to the tee marker signs, not only for where the pin is, but also for where the next tee is located. Played 2 rounds today (first time there), and will be back for sure in the future. Park on the road near hole 6. I carry 13 discs, but only used 6 during my two rounds (150 and 170 champion sidewinders, 155 champion valkyrie, 173 champion spider approach, and 2 putters 170 and 174). No need for a driver. I could probably get away with using just my 150 sidewinder and a putter. At first, layout could be a little confusing, but hooked up with some locals and by the end of the day was dialed in pretty good. Lot's of birdie and ace holes, but beware of the Chavez Roll... Straight down the hill!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short dusty ace race!

1    6/10/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: SuperRocky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very challenging course because of the hills.
Roll-aways are a real danger constantly. Play a putter flat.
Very short and technical!

Hole 18 overlooking the stadium is cool!

Cons: Very very short course. I played a putter off the tee on 12 of the 18 holes and birdied 9 of those. I also got an ace with my putter on a short slightly uphill hole (#12)

When I did pull out a fairway driver, it was for very controlled shots
Other Thoughts: Although very short, it appears that there are tees in place for longer shots and or league and doubles rounds. Hope to get back there someday to try those out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Chavez Roll

5+    11/14/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2013
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Full Update of my original Review, full disclosure I am a club member and play here almost daily.

-Technical tight holes, a number of holes make even world class players really think through their shots. Holes 2, 7, and 13 are my favorite of these.

-Enjoyable short (reachable) holes, a lot of long armed folks despise this course because their ability to open up and throw as hard as they can is limited, personally I really enjoy the aspect of having to think about ALL parts of the shot including power, placement and angle of landing. It makes parking a 240' hole that much more enjoyable when you know a shot thrown 20' longer would have been 50-300ft down a hill depending on how rough the landing was.

-Multiple Pin Locations, there are a 2 or 3 folks with keys to the basket locks that keep the baskets moving around on a monthly basis, a number of the holes change pretty dramatically based on where the basket is located, keeps things interesting.

-Hole variety, there always seems to be a great balance of backhand/forehand holes, never really favoring either but having a few holes that are easier and a few more challenging for each.

-Parking, park down below or off to the side of the road on hole 6 (get all 4 of your wheels off of the street), always plenty of parking.

-Locals, we are a fun, friendly bunch. There is pretty much always someone playing who is willing to show folks around. There is also a local lost and found (he is in a small silver truck) I have yet to lose a disc that didn't come back to me out here.

-Views, played a round right before it started raining today, you could see 30 miles south and 20 miles east, truly spectacular, could see the cranes in the port! Entire course is bright green because of all the rain right now, great setting.

-Tournament layout/Monthly Layout, every month and a few times a year on a bigger scale the course switches it up and new and crazier holes are born, including the Freeway Hole that features throwing out over a hill that has the I-5 at the bottom of it. Playing in one is a great way to see the land used to its fullest when the ADA restrictions for the regular course don't come into play.
Cons: -Brutal, punishing, arbitrary hills. With how wet the ground is at the moment this is alleviated a little, but most of the time 2 nearly identical shots can have dramatically different results depending on whether or not one touched a twig that sent it rolling (see "Chavez Roll" and "You got Chavezed")

-The rough down hill on holes 9-16 is a lost disc wasteland, be wary of hyzering anything down the hill here, with the wrong skip or roll you probably aren't seeing it again.

-Amenities (or lack thereof) there is no water and the closest restroom is down on the field below, it can get hot and dusty out there on summer days, prepare for it.

-Directions, there is now a sign pointing the way towards the course but for someone who just randomly drives up it is almost impossible to stumble on Hole 1, print the map!

-Vandals, really nothing the course can do about this but local teens (im guessing) seem intent on vandalizing all of the tee signs over and over.
Other Thoughts: Overall as a home/local course this place is amazing. Playing during a weekday before noon will usually lead to you having a private course. Dont show up expecting to bomb high speed drivers all day, bring a Roc and a putter and expect to have your patience challenged by the lovely, occasionaly nasty hills of Chavez.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 You got CHAVEZED!

5+    9/17/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: DiscinTim
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -challenging and technical holes
-multiple pin positions and locals that actual change them
-some nice alternate teepads can be found around the course, making some short holes quite a bit longer, or more challenging with different approach lines.
-well maintained paths, locals dig out steps in many places to make traversing the hillsides easy
-great views of downtown LA and dodger stadium
-friendly locals always willing to show you around
Cons: -you can catch some bad rolls, which will force you to play carefully.
-there are not any drinking fountains up on the course, but the park below does have several so stock up on water.
-most of the holes are shorter as opposed to long, it is not really a 'con' but may be for some.
Other Thoughts: The course is always getting better with new teepads, signs and maintenance, thanks to the local chavez ridge disc golf club. New teesigns were just installed on many holes!

The locals really care about the course, and they have regular weekly and monthly tournaments.

The tournaments always bring surprises with all kinds of temporary holes, safari locations, and alternate teepads.

You can park near the baseball fields and hike up to hole one, or drive up to the top and hike down to hole 1, either way.

This is an under-rated course. Some complain about the shorter holes and roll-aways, but it requires a technical game, where bad play or errant shots can be punished. It will definitely make your upshot and putt game better. If you haven't played, absolutely check it out.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Dodger Stadium

1    9/25/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: The Meat Truck
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent views, fun course, and a nice variety of shots.
Free to play.
Nice rubber tee mats.
Offers a unique challenge unlike any course I have every played.
Great baskets.
Cons: Course is quite short, very few holes have a need ffor a driver.
Very lefty friendly.
Other Thoughts: Well, I was driving around Elysian park looking for the course and was about ready to give up when i decided to take a turn where it said the little league fields are and just a little past there I ran into this very nice local fellow named Blake *shout out*. Who told us where the first tee was and offered to play with, we accepted of course (regarding parking there is a fire lane were most people park, they apparently dont tow there he said, as there was about 5 cars parked there while we played, judging from where we parked it was very close to tee one and eighteen) and headed at hole one, I was surprised to find out as I forgot my shoes and were wearing flip flops, that this course was not hard at all to walk and was not the hike that i thought it would be, it had a nice path throughout and only parts that where hard on the feet is when your disc rolls WAY down the ridge (which most likely will happen your first time playing). My overall view of the course was very good, short but sweet and a few ace oppurtunites which are always fun. Go play this course if not for the course for the great view of chavez and dodger stadium.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course Above the LA Skyline

1    7/12/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 15.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unique challenge, views.
Other Thoughts: Chavez Ridge is certainly not the fanciest course I've ever played, and it's probably one of the shortest, yet it is definitely one of the most interesting. With its steep landscape and the thought and consideration each and every shot requires as a result, plus the wide and absolutely tremendous views of both Los Angeles and the San Fernando Valley, Chavez Ridge is the kind of course you'll never forget if you're passing through, and might not ever play the same way twice if it's a regular stop.

Chavez Ridge runs directly behind Dodger Stadium and the course plays along both sides of this ridge, plus a couple holes along the top. Hole by hole is not really uphill and downhill so much as along a steep hill. Number 1 is fairly typical of the challenges throughout the course - 240 feet tee to basket, a mostly straight line. But the land slopes downward steeply to the right, and upward steeply (though considerably less far) to the left. Fail to keep your shot on the line and it might roll several hundred feet downhill. And by steep, I mean navigable on foot, but just barely. Thus every shot is a risk/reward challenge; do I go straight at it, try to lay up safe on the path (which is not particularly wide), how much might this disc skip? And on and on. Putts that are one inch too short can end up rolling 200-300 feet downhill, and simple approaches that you hold onto a fraction of second too long can end up adding three throws to the hole. This mental challenge is enhanced by the fact that the course plays on both sides of the ridge; thus the risk is pretty equal for right hand or left hand back hand throws, or forehand vs. backhand dominant players. Not every hole is a straight line either; placement and shaping is required on several holes above and beyond the challenges the landscape presents. For me, though, the more discs I use, and the more shots I use, the better, so Chavez Ridge turned out to be Fun overall, requiring more consideration, and inspiring more "Wow, how am I going to play this hole?" moments than possibly any other course I've played, all in a good way.

Chavez Ridge is a hike - up a steep hill to hole #1, up or along a steep hill for a majority of the 18 holes, and then all the way from top to bottom from 18 back to your car. Hiking boots might be helpful. It has one set of tees per hole, and a map is helpful for first timers, and even then there are a couple confusing spots. Signage is mostly adequate, though numbers on the baskets would be a big improvement. Finally, big arms don't have much to add here. For fun factor, however, Chavez Ridge cannot be beat, and that's why it's at the top of my must play again list for Southern California. And the views are as fine as any I've seen on a disc golf course, especially along the top of the ridge, for the last few holes. These views and the unique nature of the course boost its overall rating considerably, in my opinion.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of a kind in LA

5+    5/3/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 79  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 9.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An excellent challenge in downtown LA. Steep hills and rough terrain severely punish bad shots. Tees have new rubber pads and well marked signs. There is a degree of risk with every shot you take. Even the seemingly easy short holes can easily result in a death roll down the hill.
Cons: Navigation can be tricky, so bring a map or use a guide. The risk for loosing a disc is very high so bring a spotter. All in all no major complaints.
Other Thoughts: This is a must see if you are in the LA area. This course offers a challenge unlike any of the other local courses. I'm going to go ahead and guess that this course was designed by a lefty. But it offers a great change of pace.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great little course

5+    4/15/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: z-man
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great little course built atop a ridge near Dodger Stadium...Course is about 10 minutes away from my work so I swing up and play whenever I have some free time...

-Scenic views on a few of the holes I will never forget
-Short but technical holes...This course will test your ability to control your plastic...If you can't, you'll get in shape real quick as you trudge up and down the sides of the mountain...
-Good variety of shots...not a lot of length (though there are some alternate tee pads you can throw from that lengthen it out a bit)
-Not a lot of traffic...can usually play a round in about an hours worth of time
Cons: -Fairly lefty friendly course due to the slope of the hill...righties will constantly have to focus on not hyzering too much whereas lefties can crash into the hill without having to worry about skipping down the hill
-No amenities at the top of the hill...though a bathroom is present at the base of the hill in a flatter area of the park
Other Thoughts: I like to work on my putting here (1 hole is fairly flat and I don't have to worry about rolling down the hill)...The views of downtown L.A. and dodger stadium...as well as views looking out over the Valley keep me coming back...

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.