Disc Golf Store
Los Angeles, CA 
Chavez Ridge DGC at Elysian Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #17 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 223ft.   3 / 223ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Three and Out

1    7/21/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: Mateo227
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great tee signs. I would have been totally lost if not for the informative tee signs that include general directions to the following holes.
- Good tee boxes. I would have preferred concrete but the rubber mats ensured sure footing, for now.
- The course is in good shape. A big thank you to all of the volunteers who keep it clean and nice!
Cons: - Poor layout. On the back nine most holes are parallel to the previous ones making it repetitive and increasing the chance of running into the group in front of you.
- No drinking water. If you are constantly running up and down the ridge like me, you will get thirsty.
- Very steep hills. I've listed this as a con because the hills only come into play if you make a bad shot. I would imagine a course like this would have at least one hole with 300' elevation change from tee to basket.
Other Thoughts: Chavez Ridge forces accurate shots and inflicts penalties of long upshots or killer drop-offs if you are not spot on. The course has immense potential but is limited by it's repetitive design and lack of creative use. Forcing tight shots at consistently short distance is not enough to make this course above average.

This is a great place to practice your right handed forehand throws with midrange discs.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Chavez Holiday

1    1/4/2012   2/12/2012
Review By: ronfromchicago
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an exciting course and should not be missed if you are in the area. I was in LA from Chicago soon after New Years and it was awesome. The course lies on several ridges along the top of a hilly park near Chinatown. This certainly is not a course for the timid, as miscalculations in speed, power, or direction result in your disc rolling way down the side of the hill. If you are not on your A game your disc will go bye bye and this adds an additional layer of excitement to the course.
Cons: The course is somewhat difficult to navigate for the newly initiated trying to interpret the course map. I was lucky enough to have met two local Sherpas who were kind enough to let me tag along as I worked to improve my fledgling skills. Had a great time bros! (Hit me up with an email if you read this.)
Other Thoughts: There appeared to be plenty of people around who could help out if the map isn't enough. Park at the top of the hill where you see other cars. Wear shoes with good tread as you may be walking up and down hills.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Dodger Stadium Course

1    11/15/2011   11/16/2011
Review By: freakinwizzz
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great for working on your short game like throwing midranges and putters. Very technical which makes a course with no holes over 300 feet pretty fun.
Cons: Not really a con but you can park a shot on a hole and if it doesn't stick you can roll 700 feet down a hill. Its a little hard to navigate but the locals are super nice and helped me and my buddies find the start, once we found the start it was easy enough to navigate
Other Thoughts: I thought this course was super fun even tho i live 2 hours away I want to drive there for the monthly. Very fun and difficult

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Chavez Roll

5+    11/14/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 35  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2013
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Full Update of my original Review, full disclosure I am a club member and play here almost daily.

-Technical tight holes, a number of holes make even world class players really think through their shots. Holes 2, 7, and 13 are my favorite of these.

-Enjoyable short (reachable) holes, a lot of long armed folks despise this course because their ability to open up and throw as hard as they can is limited, personally I really enjoy the aspect of having to think about ALL parts of the shot including power, placement and angle of landing. It makes parking a 240' hole that much more enjoyable when you know a shot thrown 20' longer would have been 50-300ft down a hill depending on how rough the landing was.

-Multiple Pin Locations, there are a 2 or 3 folks with keys to the basket locks that keep the baskets moving around on a monthly basis, a number of the holes change pretty dramatically based on where the basket is located, keeps things interesting.

-Hole variety, there always seems to be a great balance of backhand/forehand holes, never really favoring either but having a few holes that are easier and a few more challenging for each.

-Parking, park down below or off to the side of the road on hole 6 (get all 4 of your wheels off of the street), always plenty of parking.

-Locals, we are a fun, friendly bunch. There is pretty much always someone playing who is willing to show folks around. There is also a local lost and found (he is in a small silver truck) I have yet to lose a disc that didn't come back to me out here.

-Views, played a round right before it started raining today, you could see 30 miles south and 20 miles east, truly spectacular, could see the cranes in the port! Entire course is bright green because of all the rain right now, great setting.

-Tournament layout/Monthly Layout, every month and a few times a year on a bigger scale the course switches it up and new and crazier holes are born, including the Freeway Hole that features throwing out over a hill that has the I-5 at the bottom of it. Playing in one is a great way to see the land used to its fullest when the ADA restrictions for the regular course don't come into play.
Cons: -Brutal, punishing, arbitrary hills. With how wet the ground is at the moment this is alleviated a little, but most of the time 2 nearly identical shots can have dramatically different results depending on whether or not one touched a twig that sent it rolling (see "Chavez Roll" and "You got Chavezed")

-The rough down hill on holes 9-16 is a lost disc wasteland, be wary of hyzering anything down the hill here, with the wrong skip or roll you probably aren't seeing it again.

-Amenities (or lack thereof) there is no water and the closest restroom is down on the field below, it can get hot and dusty out there on summer days, prepare for it.

-Directions, there is now a sign pointing the way towards the course but for someone who just randomly drives up it is almost impossible to stumble on Hole 1, print the map!

-Vandals, really nothing the course can do about this but local teens (im guessing) seem intent on vandalizing all of the tee signs over and over.
Other Thoughts: Overall as a home/local course this place is amazing. Playing during a weekday before noon will usually lead to you having a private course. Dont show up expecting to bomb high speed drivers all day, bring a Roc and a putter and expect to have your patience challenged by the lovely, occasionaly nasty hills of Chavez.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 You got CHAVEZED!

5+    9/17/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: DiscinTim
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -challenging and technical holes
-multiple pin positions and locals that actual change them
-some nice alternate teepads can be found around the course, making some short holes quite a bit longer, or more challenging with different approach lines.
-well maintained paths, locals dig out steps in many places to make traversing the hillsides easy
-great views of downtown LA and dodger stadium
-friendly locals always willing to show you around
Cons: -you can catch some bad rolls, which will force you to play carefully.
-there are not any drinking fountains up on the course, but the park below does have several so stock up on water.
-most of the holes are shorter as opposed to long, it is not really a 'con' but may be for some.
Other Thoughts: The course is always getting better with new teepads, signs and maintenance, thanks to the local chavez ridge disc golf club. New teesigns were just installed on many holes!

The locals really care about the course, and they have regular weekly and monthly tournaments.

The tournaments always bring surprises with all kinds of temporary holes, safari locations, and alternate teepads.

You can park near the baseball fields and hike up to hole one, or drive up to the top and hike down to hole 1, either way.

This is an under-rated course. Some complain about the shorter holes and roll-aways, but it requires a technical game, where bad play or errant shots can be punished. It will definitely make your upshot and putt game better. If you haven't played, absolutely check it out.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/9/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 65  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Being from Florida I am not at all used to elevation. This course had elevation out the wazoo and I really enjoyed it. Several of the reviews complained about discs rolling down the hill and while that is a real possibility I didn't really run into trouble with it except on one hole where a par turned into a double bogey.

The locals must take really good care of this course. It is very clean. Multiple pins on almost every hole. Some really nice blind shots that would have you listening for chains. Some nice locals. If I lived in the area this is where I would play.
Cons: A couple of holes were confusing where you couldn't figure out which basket you were aiming for. Old school signage needs updated and a marker for which pin it is on would be ideal. So many times you have to walk out there to figure where the basket is located. The foxtail thorny plants were terrible and got all in my shoes. I spent a lot of time pulling them out and had to throw away my socks. Apparently this is only bad in the hot months. It is BAD right now. Finding the park was a pain. The directions on the main page are all wrong. I followed them exactly and it didn't work out. I had to get help and looking back at how I got in there I am even more convinced that a local needs to update the directions on the main page of this course.
Other Thoughts: Thanks to pokamitch for showing me around. There isn't much that would improve this course except the couple things mentioned in the "con section". Great view of dodger stadium. Great disc golf! Thanks for reading this review. I hope it was helpful.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Chase that disk!!!

1    2/12/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: IamDangerboy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course provides a lot of challenge especially it seems on the front 9 holes. The tees are all marked, and have the distance to the pin. The course seems somewhat well maintained with different pin positions.
Cons: Once you enter Elysian Park there are no signs whatsoever that point you in the direction to the course. We drove around for 20 min just trying to find the course, and once we did find the course, it took another 10 min just to find the first tee. Playing on a ridge is just as fun as it sounds. One miss throw and you are running down the hill after your disk. We were chasing our disks down hill more then we were actually enjoying the game. This park seem really big why they chose to build this on the steep ridge and not vary the course a little I will never know.
Other Thoughts: Great views of the city. It was a beautiful day to play a game of DG with my loved one! And we got to meet some nice people playing out on the course.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/24/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: sbinwien
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Other Thoughts: Nice course but it could be much better. They have a great location and could make a much greater variety. Instead, most holes are at the top of the ridge, so if you don't play the hillside right, you go all the way down to the bottom. On most holes, the slope is always to the left, because it is links style. It could be so much better with just different teebox positions, more dog legs, up hill and down hill, etc.

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Dodger Stadium

1    9/25/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: The Meat Truck
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent views, fun course, and a nice variety of shots.
Free to play.
Nice rubber tee mats.
Offers a unique challenge unlike any course I have every played.
Great baskets.
Cons: Course is quite short, very few holes have a need ffor a driver.
Very lefty friendly.
Other Thoughts: Well, I was driving around Elysian park looking for the course and was about ready to give up when i decided to take a turn where it said the little league fields are and just a little past there I ran into this very nice local fellow named Blake *shout out*. Who told us where the first tee was and offered to play with, we accepted of course (regarding parking there is a fire lane were most people park, they apparently dont tow there he said, as there was about 5 cars parked there while we played, judging from where we parked it was very close to tee one and eighteen) and headed at hole one, I was surprised to find out as I forgot my shoes and were wearing flip flops, that this course was not hard at all to walk and was not the hike that i thought it would be, it had a nice path throughout and only parts that where hard on the feet is when your disc rolls WAY down the ridge (which most likely will happen your first time playing). My overall view of the course was very good, short but sweet and a few ace oppurtunites which are always fun. Go play this course if not for the course for the great view of chavez and dodger stadium.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Unique LA course

1    8/15/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a dusty ridge with scattered trees with really nice views of downtown and Dodger stadium from various places on the course. There are enough trees and some brush that none of the holes are wide open, and there is a range from a few obstacles to avoid all the way to some tight lanes through dense stands of trees. A few holes called for some different shapes, and those seemed balanced between left and right turning shots. The hills made for some nice risks of roll aways, especially on several greens, and with the hard packed ground conducive to skips you really have to think about how your disc is going to land.

There is a good course map on the site, it's worth printing out your first time, though other than finding the first tee the course is easy to follow. Most of the signs are in good shape and show the hole layout and distance. The tees are small, but in good shape, and most holes really don't require a runup so the size wasn't a major issue. The baskets are in nice condition and caught well.
Cons: My biggest issue with the course is the use of the elevation. Nearly all the holes followed the contours of the ridge, so there were some good risks of skipping or rolling down the hill, but not any added challenge shooting up or downhill. It's very unfortunate that the designers were forced to stick mostly with the contours, and it was disappointing to drive up into the hilly park and find a course that plays pretty flat. Most of the holes are very short, it's a really fun putter course but doesn't have much variety. The first hole is difficult to find the first time, it's a ways down the hill past 6 if I remember correctly.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice short course, with some fun shots and great views. I really enjoyed throwing the whole course with a couple putters, and it tests your short game in places. Beginners might find it a bit punishing, especially for RHBH players as uncontrolled high hyzers are prone to heading way down the hill on many holes, but it's a nice length for newer players. More experienced throwers won't find too many real challenges here, but it's a fun place to play and definitely worth a stop if you're in LA.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.