Los Angeles, CA 
Chavez Ridge DGC at Elysian Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #11 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 179ft.   3 / 287ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Over the hill and through the woods

2-4    9/2/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tight and technical, bad shots can be severely punished by rolling down the hill, then again some good shots are punished too.
-They are installing really good tee boxes, once those are all in it will drastically help the course.
-Really good course to work on the short game.
-Sweet views of LA and the stadium
-Close to Philippes the best french dip sammy anywhere!
Cons: Not many, they done a lot with what they were given. Navigation is tough, but I've only played in tournaments and I think they kind of switch it all up from the regular routing for tourneys.
Other Thoughts: Cliff Towne and the other DISC ppl have done a great job here. I have only played this course in tournaments, and I have always played bad there. That said it's a course that really exposes weaknesses in my game which would be ultra-accurate mid range shots. In the tournament set-up there are some really difficult holes, like 300' through a 6' corridor.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 in big, bad LA

5+    8/26/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: wadflinger
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well marked, right in downtown LA, awesome view of Dodger Stadium on 18, park is beautiful and has best views in LA, nice and shady, smells great and is a nice break from city
Cons: dusty in summer, easy to lose a disc or ruin a round on hills, traffic is usually rough getting there
Other Thoughts: good challenging course, no open room to let loose but helps with short game and accuracy, since i live in LA this is my most frequently visited course

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain course in downtown LA?!?!

2-4    8/19/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes in downtown L.A. Free! Tight and technical on steep slopes with beautiful views. I met some great guys on the first tee who showed me around, so I didn't need the map which seemed accurate. Signs and new rubber tee pads on each hole. Eucalyptus trees provide shade on most holes. Course seems to be a well kept secret, because it is right in L.A. and I only saw one other group on a wednesday afternoon.
Cons: Dusty (at least in summer). L.A. traffic. No long or open holes. Good chance of losing a disc especially for beginners.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play for any disc golfer in southern California. Short, but very challenging. One bad roll down a steep hill can change your round in an instant. Play conservatively and keep an eye on your discs. Wear your most supportive footwear. A truly unique disc golf experience!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/27/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: tai madama
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 7/17/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is a challenging corse very technical play for any level player if you want to round out your game and learn how to judge your ability go have a blast. More advanced players dont need many discs as they will be playing mostly technical shot only a couple of long holes with open fairways. The guys up there are very friendly and it is encouraged to join up if you are playing solo so that you have some more eyes when looking for lost disc, which brings me to the CONS....
Cons: The long down hill rollers can be a drag but it will let you know where you can throw the first time out there. There is some trash on the course at places due to the other park users and they can be rude to golfers, dont hit them in the head with a star driver no mater how tempting it is, the traffic in and out can be very bad if there is a game at dodgers stadium (but the cheers can be very inspiring when you just parked one) lost discs are common
Other Thoughts: if you loose a disc that doesnt have a PH# on it try going on mondays at 5 and ask for GREG he guards the lost and found and is very honest if he found it he holds on to it and when other locals find them they give them to him

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 chavez ridge

2-4    6/29/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: howardb
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First and for most i must say "GOOD JOB" to all people involved in the hard work it must have took to make Chavez Ridge, my first experience was heart throbbing due to my disc landing half way down the ridge but what a beautiful course and what a great view of both long beach and dodger stadium. the people i have met on mondays when im there playing the weekly "mandatory mondays" are just the friendliest group of guys and it makes you feel good knowing you fit right in, i need to get out there more and play other days cause when i finish mondays i want to play more..so get on out there and join us on monday evenings.
Cons: well as far as a con for this course i dont have one right at the moment but when i first got there and played signage was a big problem espsecially when it came down to the back nine, thanks for the locals there i made it a full round plus some.
Other Thoughts: get out and play "the ridge" you will want more once you have experienced it...oh and bring a camera!!!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Notes from the Course Designer

5+    7/3/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: Boomshado
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easily accessable course location situated north of downtown LA, between three major freeways (101, 110 & 5). Tight technical course along hillsides, across ravines and through numerous stands of trees. Nothing else like it in Southern California, a mini-Mountain course. 1.5-miles of hand made trails connnect all tees to baskets, including transition trails to next hole. Currently 34 pin locations on 12 of the 18 holes.
Cons: Serpentine course layout is tough to navigate for a first-timer. Also tee for hole #1 can be hard to locate. One long uphill transition between holes #8 & #9. Trecherous rollers possible for both good or errant shots. Lost discs a possibility, especially on the 'old road' hole with it's 100-ft sheer cliff. Only one hole over 300-ft. (18-long). Lack of extra signage is agreement to have course 'blend-in' with the natural surroundings of Elysian Park.
Other Thoughts: Only DGC in the City of Los Angeles. Local rule of being "Chavezed" - ALWAYS COUNT TO 3 when you lose site of your disc, it could come rolling back into your view and go down the slope of the hill. The Big Arm's scof at it's lack of length, while the Novice player will be terrified by it's extreme difficulty. Carefully read PDGA Course Directory instructions to locate CRDGC, it says...Drive in and park 400-feet inside Elysian Park entrance, near small ball field and restroom. Then walk across that field to locate unmarked trail head that leads up to first tee.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course

1    3/7/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 83  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent course that was very challenging and fun to play. The steep slope makes each hole a challenge. The locals on the course were very friendly and helpful. The views were stunning all around.
Cons: Lost a brand new disc. Not surprised though as straying from the line can put you way downhill from the basket. The signage could have been better all around. It was very difficult for us first timers to find the start of the course, and the first tee on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while visiting LA from Houston, Texas. I've never encountered a course that has so much elevation changes. In Houston things are flat and hills are manufactured. The locals who play this course have a real treasure. Excellent time and I can't wait to visit and play again.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/6/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: flash86
Played: 45  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is located right off the 110 freeway and is very close to downtown Los Angeles. Dodger Stadium and the historic LAPD Police Academy are right next door. The course plays along a sloping ridge above a park. The slope makes you think about your shots and will punish you for errant throws, but is not so steep that you have to worry about safety. Moderately to heavily wooded course depending on the hole so accuracy is at a premium. Between the trees and the slope, you are forced to play a more technical game. Very nice course to work on your short to medium game. Since course is a little on the shorter side, you can play multiple rounds fairly quickly.
Cons: Definitely won't have much need for drivers on this course so if you like to grip it and rip it this is not your course. Not much variety in the pin placements. There are some optional placements, but the baskets are rarely rotated. Parking can be hard to come by due to all the people in the park below. The area around the course has been known for questionable or illegal activities in the past, but has seemed to decrease recently. And good luck trying to get back on the 110 North with that 20 foot on-ramp! LOL

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun & Technical

1    3/7/2009   3/8/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This wooded course set on the side of Chavez Ridge challenged my accuracy and made me use several different shot (short hyzer/ anhyzer, tubes, tomahawks, etc.). So, bring more than a putter, as 1 reviewer suggested. With it being well wooded, your imagination needs to be used to create a shot at times. The tee signs were helpful and accurate.

A disc golf exclusive area in the park
Cons: Scavenging for disc can get fustrating, so make sure you have more than your 2 eyes on throw when playing.

The walk between #8 and #9 is confusing and pretty far (but that is the result of the space that is used in the park)

Restrooms are located at the bottom of the hill and is not easily accessable.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely breathe taking views of LA, Dodger Stadium, Hollywood. I met some great guys at the course. Thanks to Cliff Towne for the the directions and befriending me. The local crew are the nicest guys I ever played with. I would like to thank them all for making my time playing "The Ridge" the best DG experience. So, big thanks to Big Ray, Roger, Austin, Steve, Stephen, Greg, Dave, Cliff, Andrew, Jonathon, & Nick. Best Local Crew In SoCal!!

For anyone that thinks this course is just too short to play, I dare you to take the "Mad Hatter Challenge". Using the Alt. tee pads and all long positions, this layout will humble the seasoned veteran every time!!!! (Actually stay away, we like that our course isn't crowded and cliqued up). I won't list being "Chavez'd" (having your perfectly placed up shot roll 250' downhill) as a con. It is part of the difficulty and swagger this course employs.

Make sure to check the Dodgers schedule for home games. Makes entering the park tough. ****Hint: Enter off Broadway/Pasadena(going west) turn right into park at the end of the bridge over the LA river

Favorite Hole: Gotta be either #15 or #18. They have such distinctively different plays depending on the positions. Can't describe em, because they are so different due to placement. #2 and #4 are awesome also for the same reasons. Cliff and Dave milked every bit of the park to get a unique experience. Honestly, I just love all the throws there

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome vacation

1    3/2/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: discwhisperer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One truely cool view from both sides.LA / Hollywood on one side Dodger stadium on the other. Tight wooded course in LA wow.Met some locals and they were great.Multiple basket placements on most holes.A little short but tight I liked it.It was not busy and I love that.
Cons: Somewhat hard to navigate.Watch out you might roll down the hill,but personally I like that it makes it interesting.Don't really need a driver.
Other Thoughts: To be in downtown LA its awesome.I highly recomend checking this one out.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.