Los Angeles, CA 
Chavez Ridge DGC at Elysian Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #4 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 256ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 take a RISK and ROLL out to chavez... you'll be REWARDED.

1    12/28/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 342  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14.2 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
- Epic Holes. Several of the holes (on the Front 9) could easily be on any DG course in the country and be Bad Ass! Gorgeous golf holes with extreme risk/reward situations.
- Use of Elevation. Although most the holes are fairly level from tee-to-pin (no extreme uphill/downhill holes), the threat of extreme downhill rolls and therefore extreme uphill shots is everywhere. I think every hole on this course is influenced by elevation or at least the threat of elevation.
- "Preci-PINS". Several pins are located on the edge of huge, steeply downhill, precipices... which really leads to some great risk/reward golf. You constantly have to ask yourself how badly you want to go for that 25' death putt. And, laying up isn't any easier... as your shot could easily slide on the ground, hit a twig, stand up on edge and take off rolling.
- Gay Hook-Up Spot. When this course was first installed it was notorious for being a random hook-up spot for Gay guys. There were stories of moaning bushes and dudes streaking the fairways. I believe most of that activity has ceased due to the DG course being there; however, I hear they are still there. Stereotypical guy on the prowl: 28-45 year old Latin male with sweatpants and easy to slip off shoes.
- Freeway Traffic. Elysian Park is conveniently located near several major freeway junctions, which could lead to some Extreme LA traffic. Proximity to Dodger Stadium increases this during game days.

- Great Shot / Bad Roll. There is nothing that can be done about it. You will have one or more bad rolls during the round. Personally, I love the pin positions, I love the risk, but beginners could be in for a long day and a lot of climbing (experts too).
- Layout Confusion. There are several areas on the course where the next closest tee-pad is not the actual next tee-pad. And, there didn't seem to be any next-tee signs to aid in navigation.
Other Thoughts:
- LA Police Academy. The police academy is down the street and there is the possibility that the jogger jogging by is a police officer or an officer in training. Be Aware!
- Overall... in the So-Cal DG community Elysian has a bad rap. I think the Homosexual activity and LA traffic have more to do with this than the Golf. The Golf was fantastic, especially the Front 9. The Back 9 seemed much shorter and much more regular in terms of quality of golf shots. I'd definitely play here again!
- My Score: (a disappointing) -2

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/23/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 14.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - short and sweet, you can play a round in under an hour
- NEVER crowded. You honestly should be surprised to see more than 2 or 3 other groups there. It's really nice to seemingly have a course to yourself
- spectacular view off of 18, over LA and Dodger Stadium
- teaches you to throw your softer/flexible discs, or learn to adjust to constantly throwing on a slope and avoiding rolls
- decent signs
- fly18 rubber tees are in average shape
- all holes are short, so there are many ace opportunities
- one of the only courses in the LA metro area to have some true wooded holes
Cons: - long walk from the parking area to tee 1, and longer walk back
- many holes throw EXTREMELY close to other tees, almost to the point of overlapping
- some navigation difficulty between 8 & 9. Follow the stairs up to the road, walk straight across and down the path on the other side. This will drop you in the middle of 9's fairway, the tee will be to your left
- the hills. Many excellent shots will kick up and roll 300' + downhill, which can destroy a score or ruin a fun round
- can be very dusty/dry, so don't be surprised if you get dirty. This also leads to slick tees if they're covered in sand.
- no trash cans or bathrooms on the course, only down in Elysian Park, near the soccer fields
Other Thoughts: Elysian has multiple positions on most holes, but the positions are hardly ever moved. Also, many of the distances on the signs are wrong, but they still show you a general basket location, so if you're a first timer you can figure it out pretty easily.

Elysian Park is right next to the LAPD Academy... many people worry about 420/drinking on the course because of this, but it really isn't an issue. Just don't partake in the open in the parking lot and be conscious of people around your because the recruits to run in the hills that the course is on.

This course is one of those that usually, you either love it or hate it, and that can depend entirely on how many bad rolls you get off of what would normally be a good shot.

All in all though, Elysian should provide you with a fast, fun round, and teach you about some of the more extreme elevation challenges in disc golf. While most courses with elevation have you throwing up or down the hills, Elysian plays pretty much perpendicular along the slope, so that the fairway always slopes either left or right, never straight up or down.

Elysian is worth checking out if you're going to be in LA for a while, but there are definitely better courses to spend your time at, if your time is limited.

Also, check out what the prior reviewer said about playing on a night when the Dodgers play... he's 100% right, and you should follow his directions to avoid traffic.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great course near downtown LA

5+    11/16/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2012
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tight, short course
-Nice rubber tee pads, and signs at each hole with distance and map
-Not too busy, and the locals have all been very friendly
-Signature hole 18 plays in view of Downtown LA and Dodger Stadium.
-Secret road into the park off of Broadway if there is a game going on, so traffic can be avoided if you prepare in advance. From Broadway, go North on Elysian Park Dr, and after a short distance, a long left turn onto Park Row Dr. Just stay on this road, staying generally northbound the whole time (several cutoffs exist), cross over the freeway, and park when you spot baskets and tees.
-Really great to feel 'away from it all' literally a mile from downtown.
-There are a few holes with multiple tees, just look around a little bit!
Cons: -All bad throws are punished. Most holes are under 200 feet but you can make them over 400 in a hurry if your disc catches speed rolling down the hill. On the front 9, it will roll onto a grass field. On the back 9, it will roll into oblivion.
-No real chance to bring out your big arms, except maybe on hole 18.
-Layout can be confusing the first time out, bring a map from the linked website when you go.
-Very tight at places, keep an eye out for others as at times, there are other holes on either side of you, and really only about 20 feet away.
-Go out of your way to avoid throwing to the left on hole 16. That hillside eats discs.
-No trash cans, and no benches.
Other Thoughts: This course plays on top of a ridge in Elysian Park. Tight fairways and steep hills are the name of the game. While all of the holes are essentially 'flat,' they all shoot across a hill that loves picking up your disc and making it roll. The area used to be known as an 'alternative lifestyle cruising area' but I have not seen this to be the case any time I have been there, which is a lot.

The website recommends parking at the bottom of the hill by the baseball field, but if you keep driving up the road, stay to the right and park at the top of the ridge. Much closer and you can keep an eye on your car more easily. I have seen rangers, parking enforcement, and police drive by and as long as you are off the pavement, you wont get a ticket.

The walk to hole 9 is a little far. Climb the ridge, and go across the two streets a little ways to a white barrier. Go down the other side of the hill at that barrier to find the tee.

I don't really bother even bringing drivers on this course. Most throws are under 200 feet and incredibly narrow at times. Great ACCURATE mid-range practice.

We use spotters on hole 17. It is a good idea, can save some hassle.

Bring comfortable shoes, sometimes I have to trek up and down that hill 5 or 6 times, and sometimes I don't have to at all.

While the course is predominantly DG exclusive, hole 18 seems to have a lot of non DG activity, I have dealt with anything from people having a picnic to amateur film makers shooting stuff.

I did not like this course at first, but it grew onto me. It has done incredible things for my mid-game, as the mental anguish of knowing you have to hike down the hill is truly motivation enough not to screw up the throw.

There is an unspoken rule at Chavez Ridge that you should count to 3 once you THINK you watched your disc land. A lot of times, it will grow legs and keep moving down the hill.
Do not try to play here when the ground is wet, I was slipping constantly on the steep and slick hillsides.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Over the hill and through the woods

2-4    9/2/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 10.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tight and technical, bad shots can be severely punished by rolling down the hill, then again some good shots are punished too.
-They are installing really good tee boxes, once those are all in it will drastically help the course.
-Really good course to work on the short game.
-Sweet views of LA and the stadium
-Close to Philippes the best french dip sammy anywhere!
Cons: Not many, they done a lot with what they were given. Navigation is tough, but I've only played in tournaments and I think they kind of switch it all up from the regular routing for tourneys.
Other Thoughts: Cliff Towne and the other DISC ppl have done a great job here. I have only played this course in tournaments, and I have always played bad there. That said it's a course that really exposes weaknesses in my game which would be ultra-accurate mid range shots. In the tournament set-up there are some really difficult holes, like 300' through a 6' corridor.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 in big, bad LA

5+    8/26/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: wadflinger
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well marked, right in downtown LA, awesome view of Dodger Stadium on 18, park is beautiful and has best views in LA, nice and shady, smells great and is a nice break from city
Cons: dusty in summer, easy to lose a disc or ruin a round on hills, traffic is usually rough getting there
Other Thoughts: good challenging course, no open room to let loose but helps with short game and accuracy, since i live in LA this is my most frequently visited course

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain course in downtown LA?!?!

2-4    8/19/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 95  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes in downtown L.A. Free! Tight and technical on steep slopes with beautiful views. I met some great guys on the first tee who showed me around, so I didn't need the map which seemed accurate. Signs and new rubber tee pads on each hole. Eucalyptus trees provide shade on most holes. Course seems to be a well kept secret, because it is right in L.A. and I only saw one other group on a wednesday afternoon.
Cons: Dusty (at least in summer). L.A. traffic. No long or open holes. Good chance of losing a disc especially for beginners.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play for any disc golfer in southern California. Short, but very challenging. One bad roll down a steep hill can change your round in an instant. Play conservatively and keep an eye on your discs. Wear your most supportive footwear. A truly unique disc golf experience!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    6/27/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: tai madama
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 7/17/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is a challenging corse very technical play for any level player if you want to round out your game and learn how to judge your ability go have a blast. More advanced players dont need many discs as they will be playing mostly technical shot only a couple of long holes with open fairways. The guys up there are very friendly and it is encouraged to join up if you are playing solo so that you have some more eyes when looking for lost disc, which brings me to the CONS....
Cons: The long down hill rollers can be a drag but it will let you know where you can throw the first time out there. There is some trash on the course at places due to the other park users and they can be rude to golfers, dont hit them in the head with a star driver no mater how tempting it is, the traffic in and out can be very bad if there is a game at dodgers stadium (but the cheers can be very inspiring when you just parked one) lost discs are common
Other Thoughts: if you loose a disc that doesnt have a PH# on it try going on mondays at 5 and ask for GREG he guards the lost and found and is very honest if he found it he holds on to it and when other locals find them they give them to him

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 chavez ridge

2-4    6/29/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: howardb
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First and for most i must say "GOOD JOB" to all people involved in the hard work it must have took to make Chavez Ridge, my first experience was heart throbbing due to my disc landing half way down the ridge but what a beautiful course and what a great view of both long beach and dodger stadium. the people i have met on mondays when im there playing the weekly "mandatory mondays" are just the friendliest group of guys and it makes you feel good knowing you fit right in, i need to get out there more and play other days cause when i finish mondays i want to play more..so get on out there and join us on monday evenings.
Cons: well as far as a con for this course i dont have one right at the moment but when i first got there and played signage was a big problem espsecially when it came down to the back nine, thanks for the locals there i made it a full round plus some.
Other Thoughts: get out and play "the ridge" you will want more once you have experienced it...oh and bring a camera!!!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Notes from the Course Designer

5+    7/3/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: Boomshado
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easily accessable course location situated north of downtown LA, between three major freeways (101, 110 & 5). Tight technical course along hillsides, across ravines and through numerous stands of trees. Nothing else like it in Southern California, a mini-Mountain course. 1.5-miles of hand made trails connnect all tees to baskets, including transition trails to next hole. Currently 34 pin locations on 12 of the 18 holes.
Cons: Serpentine course layout is tough to navigate for a first-timer. Also tee for hole #1 can be hard to locate. One long uphill transition between holes #8 & #9. Trecherous rollers possible for both good or errant shots. Lost discs a possibility, especially on the 'old road' hole with it's 100-ft sheer cliff. Only one hole over 300-ft. (18-long). Lack of extra signage is agreement to have course 'blend-in' with the natural surroundings of Elysian Park.
Other Thoughts: Only DGC in the City of Los Angeles. Local rule of being "Chavezed" - ALWAYS COUNT TO 3 when you lose site of your disc, it could come rolling back into your view and go down the slope of the hill. The Big Arm's scof at it's lack of length, while the Novice player will be terrified by it's extreme difficulty. Carefully read PDGA Course Directory instructions to locate CRDGC, it says...Drive in and park 400-feet inside Elysian Park entrance, near small ball field and restroom. Then walk across that field to locate unmarked trail head that leads up to first tee.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course

1    3/7/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent course that was very challenging and fun to play. The steep slope makes each hole a challenge. The locals on the course were very friendly and helpful. The views were stunning all around.
Cons: Lost a brand new disc. Not surprised though as straying from the line can put you way downhill from the basket. The signage could have been better all around. It was very difficult for us first timers to find the start of the course, and the first tee on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while visiting LA from Houston, Texas. I've never encountered a course that has so much elevation changes. In Houston things are flat and hills are manufactured. The locals who play this course have a real treasure. Excellent time and I can't wait to visit and play again.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.