Los Angeles, CA
Chavez Ridge DGC at Elysian Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #14
3 / 166ft.   3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Mountains In Los Angeles?!?!?

1    1/8/2009   1/9/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 5.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course plays so much like a mountain course that you will forget that you are actually in Los Angeles. The local club keeps the course maintained and the signs were extremely helpful. There are also some great views as you are literally playing on a ridge that is very near downtown Los Angeles and Dodger Stadium. There are many challenges on this course that will keep you guessing at every turn. So many shots are not obvious at first glance. There are benches at most of the tees for you to rest at.
Cons: The course itself is super short. There are several holes that play less than 200 feet. You could play this course only using a putter and get away with it. The ridge that you play on provides for several opportunities for discs to roll down hill, even after a good shot. Some holes are what you might call shoehorned in. Tees are not always obvious as most of the time they are simply a piece of wood along a path. Getting from hole 8 to 9 could be tricky unless you know where you are going, I got lost. The first tee is a little ways from where you are supposed to park. You will need to do some scouting walks unless you are familliar with the course and know where all the holes are currently located.
Other Thoughts: I ended up playing just over half the course with one of the guys who has been around since they put it in, Cliff was his name. I would not reccomend this course at all for people who are just learning to play. For more experienced players, the length of the course may deter you but it is a course that will help you refine your accuracy better than just about any other course that I have played. I think this course is particularly good and has character in it because it is not as long as other courses.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Ely18 Chavez Ridge

5+    1/2/2009   1/7/2009
Review By: supergimp
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Five to ten minutes away from the heart of downtown Los Angeles. Great views of downtown and Dodger Stadium. I saw a brown eagle there. The extremely technical course is unlike any other on the west coast. There is also a close knit community of disk golfers who'll never let anyone play alone. You can always find a local doing course improvements, selling spare disc, keeping a lost and found, and giving directions.
Cons: The steep slopes make luck a huge factor. Many disk have landed underneath the basket only to take a small roll that picked up speed on the 90 degree slope and end up 100 feet down the hill. The park used to have a bad reputation, but the disc golfers seem to have moved out any previous activity. Still, I suggest playing with a group. If anything to help spot lost disc.
Other Thoughts: Let's get a disc golf club going at Ely18. If you are interested email me at rdiaz90604@hotmail.com. I used to live and play in La Mirada and was used to that course as well as nearby Huntington Beach and Eldorado Park. When I first played Chavez Ridge I thought I'd never play again. However, once I moved to downtown I found myself loving the course. I even prefer it to the nearby Oak Grove course. Come on out and give it a try. Bring a camara with a zoom. On a clear day one can see Long Beach from hole 18.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Learn new cuss words as you chase your disc down the hill!

1    8/7/2008   8/7/2008
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the few 18-hole courses serving the central Los Angeles disc golf-playing public. Excellent place to practice precision placement since if you mess up, you generally get to hike wa-a-a-a-ay down the (very steep) hill to find your disc.
Cons: Back nine is a bit confusing despite good signage.
Other Thoughts: This is a short course where good flight control really helps. Front nine plays across the face of a ridge (45-degree slopes everywhere). Back nine plays just over the ridgeline in fairly dense woods.

+.5 disc now that they've got the teepads in.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.