Disc Golf Store
Los Angeles, CA 
Chavez Ridge DGC at Elysian Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #4 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 256ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Rough rough stuff

2-4    7/16/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: SuperBurrito
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 20.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained.
-Rubber tee pads.
-Signs at all holes.
-Great course design, very technical.
-Amazing views.
-Friendly Players.
-Hardest challenge in Los Angeles Area.
Cons: -All dirt, except for a small grass window in the spring.
-Your bird look could turn into a double boggie in the bat of an eye. Watch them hills!
-If the Dodgers are playing a home game prepare to sit in traffic.
-The chance you're gonna roll 50-150' down the hill is so present on most shots that the course may psyche you out.
-Sometimes I feel like a lumber jack out there!
-Definitely not the best spot to bring a beginner.
Other Thoughts: Throw it low and play for par. Bring some water with you. I have a great time up there every time even if I do have to walk up and down the hill a few times!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Los Angeles GEM

2-4    5/26/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: IsThisThingOn
Played: 17  Reviewed: 10
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -PERFECT tee pads (wood covered in rubber) make for the best driving footing I've ever had.
-Beautiful signage with a personal, local touch (see them in the photos)
-excellent choice of shot length in the terrain.
Cons: -the HILL of course
-side effect of the hill: limits shot choice considerably for those of you who like to throw hard hooks.
-little to no benches/seating
-bathrooms are a hike
Other Thoughts: The one thing that kept this from being a 4.5 (5.0 is a damn unicorn) is the lack of line choice due to the hill. You really are limited to making ridiculously safe choices on a LARGE number of holes. The BEST courses give more choices to experienced players with a variety of risk/reward levels.

Still a fantastic course. I really like the hole length variety from the 160-ish region to just over 300.

If you're playing one course in LA, this is probably the best choice.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Friendly Tournament!

1    2/11/2014   2/12/2014
Review By: powderdrop
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 27.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Played this course for the first time during the weekly Tuesday random dubs tourney. Had a great time with the locals and pros... and a great tour of the course. Most short holes but the added challenge of the ridge made for some fun situations.
Cons: Some pretty long walks after discs that rolled or flew down some steep hills... but love playing with that risk and having to think of it with each throw.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Took some getting used to!!!

2-4    1/30/2014   1/31/2014
Review By: tommyUnitas
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging short course. Lots of elevation and trees. Precision is a must... Even a good shot can end up down the hill. Good baskets, good tee markers, good tees, friendly helpful locals.
Cons: I chained out a short birdie putt on #5 and rolled about 200 feet straight down a hill, took me 3 shots to get back up got a 6. There's a lot of dirt on the course, so wear your hiking shoes.
Other Thoughts: Pay attention to the tee marker signs, not only for where the pin is, but also for where the next tee is located. Played 2 rounds today (first time there), and will be back for sure in the future. Park on the road near hole 6. I carry 13 discs, but only used 6 during my two rounds (150 and 170 champion sidewinders, 155 champion valkyrie, 173 champion spider approach, and 2 putters 170 and 174). No need for a driver. I could probably get away with using just my 150 sidewinder and a putter. At first, layout could be a little confusing, but hooked up with some locals and by the end of the day was dialed in pretty good. Lot's of birdie and ace holes, but beware of the Chavez Roll... Straight down the hill!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

disc golf on a steep hill!!!

2-4    11/16/2013   11/17/2013
Review By: Mabuku1
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Amazing views
Short holes
Challenges your precision
Friendly locals
Instagram #chavezridge
Cons: Didn't see any bathrooms
Other Thoughts: You park at the top of the course, and hole one is down at the bottom. It plays very tight and precise. Keep your shots low and straight, or they will sail all the way down the hill 200 feet in a split second. If you roll, hope you hit a tree. This is definitely an ace course if you get your precision right.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Skill Course

5+    6/29/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: rickztahone
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is free and you can basically park at the top of the course and hike down to one.
-The course was well thought out
-Maintained well by fellow enthusiasts
-Different pin locations which do not get moved that often but I see different basket locations so I assume they do change once in a while.
-Hiking. I always consider a good hike while playing DG to be a Pro but YMMV
-Nice view of the Dodger stadium and DTLA in the back end of the course
Cons: -This will be the most recurring con by most players, ROLLERS! This course is notorious for rollers because you are playing on a steep hill. Chances are you will roll. So, if you have that special stamp disc that you can't live without, don't toss it here.
-Snakes, i've seen a couple but not a rattler or anything like that. Just keep an eye out.
-When we first started playing this course we were definitely scratching our heads to figure out which Tee was next, and this was WITH a map! So, printing out a map, or having one on your phone is a must the first few times.
-Graffitti, I'm not sure why but some smart people decided to deface the Tee maps on a few Tee's??? Not sure why but it got a bit annoying at first. A few buddies and I were thinking of taking a spray can out and just adding small numbers on the bottom of each Tee, but we didn't want get in trouble for doing so.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is not very beginner friendly. With that being said, I have taken a beginner to this course and they survived it. Our group is yet to lose a disc but believe me, we have resorted to looking for a few discs for a long time.
I have personally found one disc there but it was not inked so I could not give it back. There also isn't a 'lost and found' area here so it is still in my bag. So, the best advice I can give you if you are going to play this course is to ink your discs and maybe if you get a roller and lose it someone will one day find it and give you call.
With all that being said, this is a fun course, i've only played a few courses but this is one of my favorites next to Veterans.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

This course has ridges!

2-4    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Jblevins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Extreme elevation and variety of shots need for this course. Fairways are open under a canopy of large trees but plays along the ridges of canyons in the shadow of Dodger stadium. Good tee pads.
Cons: Can be difficult to navigate, not a very long course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short dusty ace race!

1    6/10/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: SuperRocky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very challenging course because of the hills.
Roll-aways are a real danger constantly. Play a putter flat.
Very short and technical!

Hole 18 overlooking the stadium is cool!

Cons: Very very short course. I played a putter off the tee on 12 of the 18 holes and birdied 9 of those. I also got an ace with my putter on a short slightly uphill hole (#12)

When I did pull out a fairway driver, it was for very controlled shots
Other Thoughts: Although very short, it appears that there are tees in place for longer shots and or league and doubles rounds. Hope to get back there someday to try those out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Frienemy

1    6/10/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: LiLHomeGirl
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - free!
- great technical course
- look for alternative tees; they are not as nice but it keeps it interesting & new ones are often carved out.
- great "rest" stop areas.
- great views from all angles.
- plastic trashcans throughout- use them, they are emptied regularly.
- regulars move baskets around.
- league and tournament opportunities.
- regular player community
Cons: - the signs can be difficult to read due to graffiti. If you are new, bring a map. Many of the holes zigzag a long the hills.
- vagrants camp on the hills at night
- people liter and recently someone pooped on the course.
- slippery hills when there is no grass on hills. Dusty during the hot season! don't wear your nice polo shirts.
- aim well or plan on chasing your disc.
- for women, bring a partner. doesn't feel exactly safe for a lady.
- people are too lazy to walk down to Elysian park below for restrooms. Some tinkle a long the paths.
Other Thoughts: Bring water and a good attitude.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Solid course

1    10/12/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays on a dusty ridge with scattered trees with really nice views of downtown and Dodger stadium from various places on the course. There are enough trees and some brush that none of the holes are wide open, and there is a range from a few obstacles to avoid all the way to some tight lanes through dense stands of trees. A few holes called for some different shapes, and those seemed balanced between left and right turning shots. The hills made for some nice risks of roll aways, especially on several greens, and with the hard packed ground conducive to skips you really have to think about how your disc is going to land
Cons: I think i would have been lost if some guy didn't show me where some of the holes were.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play again

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.