Los Angeles, CA 
Chavez Ridge DGC at Elysian Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #1 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 203ft.   3 / 244ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee and Fairway

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 5 Next >

5+    5/6/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: flash86
Played: 45  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is located right off the 110 freeway and is very close to downtown Los Angeles. Dodger Stadium and the historic LAPD Police Academy are right next door. The course plays along a sloping ridge above a park. The slope makes you think about your shots and will punish you for errant throws, but is not so steep that you have to worry about safety. Moderately to heavily wooded course depending on the hole so accuracy is at a premium. Between the trees and the slope, you are forced to play a more technical game. Very nice course to work on your short to medium game. Since course is a little on the shorter side, you can play multiple rounds fairly quickly.
Cons: Definitely won't have much need for drivers on this course so if you like to grip it and rip it this is not your course. Not much variety in the pin placements. There are some optional placements, but the baskets are rarely rotated. Parking can be hard to come by due to all the people in the park below. The area around the course has been known for questionable or illegal activities in the past, but has seemed to decrease recently. And good luck trying to get back on the 110 North with that 20 foot on-ramp! LOL

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun & Technical

1    3/7/2009   3/8/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 29.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This wooded course set on the side of Chavez Ridge challenged my accuracy and made me use several different shot (short hyzer/ anhyzer, tubes, tomahawks, etc.). So, bring more than a putter, as 1 reviewer suggested. With it being well wooded, your imagination needs to be used to create a shot at times. The tee signs were helpful and accurate.

A disc golf exclusive area in the park
Cons: Scavenging for disc can get fustrating, so make sure you have more than your 2 eyes on throw when playing.

The walk between #8 and #9 is confusing and pretty far (but that is the result of the space that is used in the park)

Restrooms are located at the bottom of the hill and is not easily accessable.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely breathe taking views of LA, Dodger Stadium, Hollywood. I met some great guys at the course. Thanks to Cliff Towne for the the directions and befriending me. The local crew are the nicest guys I ever played with. I would like to thank them all for making my time playing "The Ridge" the best DG experience. So, big thanks to Big Ray, Roger, Austin, Steve, Stephen, Greg, Dave, Cliff, Andrew, Jonathon, & Nick. Best Local Crew In SoCal!!

For anyone that thinks this course is just too short to play, I dare you to take the "Mad Hatter Challenge". Using the Alt. tee pads and all long positions, this layout will humble the seasoned veteran every time!!!! (Actually stay away, we like that our course isn't crowded and cliqued up). I won't list being "Chavez'd" (having your perfectly placed up shot roll 250' downhill) as a con. It is part of the difficulty and swagger this course employs.

Make sure to check the Dodgers schedule for home games. Makes entering the park tough. ****Hint: Enter off Broadway/Pasadena(going west) turn right into park at the end of the bridge over the LA river

Favorite Hole: Gotta be either #15 or #18. They have such distinctively different plays depending on the positions. Can't describe em, because they are so different due to placement. #2 and #4 are awesome also for the same reasons. Cliff and Dave milked every bit of the park to get a unique experience. Honestly, I just love all the throws there

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome vacation

1    3/2/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: discwhisperer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One truely cool view from both sides.LA / Hollywood on one side Dodger stadium on the other. Tight wooded course in LA wow.Met some locals and they were great.Multiple basket placements on most holes.A little short but tight I liked it.It was not busy and I love that.
Cons: Somewhat hard to navigate.Watch out you might roll down the hill,but personally I like that it makes it interesting.Don't really need a driver.
Other Thoughts: To be in downtown LA its awesome.I highly recomend checking this one out.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    12/20/2008   2/3/2009
Review By: spencer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is very accessible sits right off of the 110 freeway to LA. Beautiful view of Dodger stadium and Los Angeles city's downtown. Holes are not too tough. A full 18 hole course right in LA. I was very surprised to find this jewel nestled so close to home.
Cons: Course is situated on top of a large hill. Be prepared to go scavenging because the discs have a tendency to roll down the course due to the steepness of the hill. Minimal signs somewhat hard to navigate if you are new to the course. Many of the holes sit somewhat precariously to the edge of the course. You are bound to lose a disc by even hitting right under the basket has the potential for an immediate down hill roll session with your disc.
Other Thoughts: Good course to work on your form and release. Not a whole lot of drives but good mid range play

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/8/2013   2/2/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 87  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2013
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Offers the best sights of any course in greater L.A. Outstanding mountaintop views (especially Hole 18, overlooking Dodger Stadium, as well as view at basket #15). Challenging steep hillsides make every hole tough, making trick shots like uphill thumbers and forehands handy. Many unusual elevation changes along (but rarely up and down) Chavez Ridge. Lots of shade and trees that offer fun and challenging mid-range play, particularly on the front nine. Also has a couple of opportunities to use more powerful shots. Good baskets and signs for the most part. Rubber tee pads are very well done (if they were all this good, they would rival cement tees). Monday league was lots of fun in 2009.
Cons: Hard to find holes one and nine. Needs some road signs indicating there is a course at Elysian park. No where near baseball fields as mentioned elsewhere. No wide open holes. Could use a bathroom and a few benches along the way. Steeply sloped hills are frequent disc-loss hazards. Despite being a truly unique landmark, this course suffers from a lack of diversity as well as longer holes.
Other Thoughts: Despite my rating, this is one of my favorite for its unique close-to-urban setting.

The gate was locked for unknown reasons on 2/7/09 and created access problems (was followed out by a trio of unfriendly (?) looking individuals), so playing alone could be an issue. The city often closes this course after heavy rains.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Mountains In Los Angeles?!?!?

1    1/8/2009   1/9/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 110  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 7.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course plays so much like a mountain course that you will forget that you are actually in Los Angeles. The local club keeps the course maintained and the signs were extremely helpful. There are also some great views as you are literally playing on a ridge that is very near downtown Los Angeles and Dodger Stadium. There are many challenges on this course that will keep you guessing at every turn. So many shots are not obvious at first glance. There are benches at most of the tees for you to rest at.
Cons: The course itself is super short. There are several holes that play less than 200 feet. You could play this course only using a putter and get away with it. The ridge that you play on provides for several opportunities for discs to roll down hill, even after a good shot. Some holes are what you might call shoehorned in. Tees are not always obvious as most of the time they are simply a piece of wood along a path. Getting from hole 8 to 9 could be tricky unless you know where you are going, I got lost. The first tee is a little ways from where you are supposed to park. You will need to do some scouting walks unless you are familliar with the course and know where all the holes are currently located.
Other Thoughts: I ended up playing just over half the course with one of the guys who has been around since they put it in, Cliff was his name. I would not reccomend this course at all for people who are just learning to play. For more experienced players, the length of the course may deter you but it is a course that will help you refine your accuracy better than just about any other course that I have played. I think this course is particularly good and has character in it because it is not as long as other courses.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Ely18 Chavez Ridge

5+    1/2/2009   1/7/2009
Review By: supergimp
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Five to ten minutes away from the heart of downtown Los Angeles. Great views of downtown and Dodger Stadium. I saw a brown eagle there. The extremely technical course is unlike any other on the west coast. There is also a close knit community of disk golfers who'll never let anyone play alone. You can always find a local doing course improvements, selling spare disc, keeping a lost and found, and giving directions.
Cons: The steep slopes make luck a huge factor. Many disk have landed underneath the basket only to take a small roll that picked up speed on the 90 degree slope and end up 100 feet down the hill. The park used to have a bad reputation, but the disc golfers seem to have moved out any previous activity. Still, I suggest playing with a group. If anything to help spot lost disc.
Other Thoughts: Let's get a disc golf club going at Ely18. If you are interested email me at rdiaz90604@hotmail.com. I used to live and play in La Mirada and was used to that course as well as nearby Huntington Beach and Eldorado Park. When I first played Chavez Ridge I thought I'd never play again. However, once I moved to downtown I found myself loving the course. I even prefer it to the nearby Oak Grove course. Come on out and give it a try. Bring a camara with a zoom. On a clear day one can see Long Beach from hole 18.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Learn new cuss words as you chase your disc down the hill!

1    8/7/2008   8/7/2008
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the few 18-hole courses serving the central Los Angeles disc golf-playing public. Excellent place to practice precision placement since if you mess up, you generally get to hike wa-a-a-a-ay down the (very steep) hill to find your disc.
Cons: Back nine is a bit confusing despite good signage.
Other Thoughts: This is a short course where good flight control really helps. Front nine plays across the face of a ridge (45-degree slopes everywhere). Back nine plays just over the ridgeline in fairly dense woods.

+.5 disc now that they've got the teepads in.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.