Winfield, KS 
Cherry Street Park Share
Uploaded By: devin26 Hole #1 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Enjoyable Course

5+    9/24/2002   3/26/2010
Review By: souljacker
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2011
Pros: Nice, easy, and fun course. Well laid out and easy to navigate.

update: has some work done. Now has permanent cement tee's (for a couple of years now) and all the baskets are in good shape. Some landscaping done specifically for the course.
Cons: Alt course a bit difficult to find without someone who knows it. In fact was back home recently and played with some regulars who were not even sure about a couple of the Alt tee's.
Other Thoughts: Alot of the drives are out in the open, however a few holes have interesting obstacles to work around.

A decent mix of long distance drives and few shorter birdie holes.

The occasional pedestrian to watch out for, but never felt like it was to crowded or too much waiting.

A good fun 9 hole course. If you can figure out the alts might be an 'OK' 18 holer, but I will always consider it a 9 hole course.

I've upped my rating .5 based on the tee's being in there and the work the locals put into it.

 Winfield, KS Cherry Street Park

5+    12/30/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: Robert Scott
Played: 52  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 18.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice short to mid distance holes in a nice park. Easy to follow and all the tees have signs. The regular pins are red top new baskets. Most of the old baskets are still in the ground so you can mix things up and play the old baskets from the new tees.
Cons: Dirt (mud) tees.
The park was very crowded, would not have been a big problem but the group of 10 to 15 Idiot kids were setting around Hole #9 and the Bridge on the sidewalk.
Other Thoughts: Its been about 7 year since I last played this course, it has changed a lot for the most part. I liked it before and now I like it a lot more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/6/2008   12/6/2008
Review By: smitcraft
Played: 71  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are 2 sets of baskets on the course most of the year. 1 set of homemade which are pretty nice, and a set of Red top Innova baskets.

The marked course is easy to follow and play.

There is a longer alternate course that plays much harder and longer then the normal course.
Cons: The course is to easy from the marked tees. You can throw almost a 250 foot hyzer on almost every hole.

The alternate course isn't marked very well. You will need a guide to find the stones the first time.


3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

7/13/2008   7/14/2008
Review By: CharmPeddler
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nicely mowed grass
Primary tee's visibly marked
water fountain in park (it was a warm day)
nice playground for kiddies
Cons: alt tee's on later holes hard to find or distinguishable from teepads. couldn't find 5-6 at all.
Other Thoughts: This is only my second played course, but from what i can see it was a very nice course. grass was short. no water traps, although there are water drainage ways, but the walkovers are nice and IF water is there it won't be over 6-7" deep.

as said before, the alt tee's after hole 4 are hard to find/ distinguish from other holes unless u walk over and take a direct look. i played the course twice, back to back. and was unable to find alt 5-6

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

7/7/2008   7/8/2008
Review By: nathanburrows
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -new tees
-visible tee pads
-variety of shots
-multiple tee pads
-multiple tees
Cons: -dirt tee pads
-only 9 holes
-alternative tee pads are sometimes hard to find
Other Thoughts: great course to go and work on shots.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.