Chester, WV 
Chester City Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: thadon Hole #3
3 / 114ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun Short Course

1    10/21/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: Geepster
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: Well maintained park: played in the fall with half of the leaves off of the trees and fairways were clear and cut.
The holes had enough obstacles, natural and man-made to throw a variety of shots.
Ace opportunity on nearly every hole!
The short length affords you the opportunity to play quickly. A round can be played in 15 minutes in an empty park.
Accessibility: right off WV 2 and close to US 30.
Cons: Tee signs aren't always angled towards the basket, especially #2 which plays back towards the parking lot.
Grass tees.
Other Thoughts: I played when the only other people around were another golfer the Deputy Sheriff's K9 units running the dogs (away from the course) and a boater getting ready to fish in the river. I would imagine that a summer day with the park in full use would make play more difficult.
Loved the mando through the basketball court.

Unusual Place

1    9/14/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: knettles
Played: 72  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent baskets.
-Flat tees.
-Tee signs depicting the mandos.
-Good practice for upshots and putts.
Cons: -REALLY short. Most holes are putter shots.
-Only 9 holes.
-Whole course runs through a small multi-use park. Encounters with non-dg'ers is inevitable.
Other Thoughts: This is very obviously a beginner course and meant to introduce people to the game. The weird part of that is, there's two holes here that seem like legitimate disc golf holes (4 and 5). Four is around 250 and doglegs hard left around the back of a basketball court that's OB. Five throws 300' over the court, through two double mandos (light posts), and fades around a building. These two holes don't match the rest of the course. They're too difficult for someone that would be entertained by the rest of the holes, but just right for someone that would be bored with the rest of the holes.

Also, if there's other people using the park, they'll most likely be in your way on one or more holes. Throw a playground in the middle of everything and it just becomes dangerous. The local teens apparently like hanging out here as well.

In closing, this is a practice course. I wouldn't recommend it unless you're a completionist.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very, Very Quick Round

2-4    8/30/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 78  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Park seems to be groomed well and is a good park to bring your family along with you - everything is in a small area so you would be able to keep an eye on your kids at all times. Park has Porta-Johns, a small skateboard park, basketball court, and a big pavillion. There is a decent amount of parking considering how small the park is
-Chainstar baskets are nice and steady, although the chains have rusted a tiny bit
-The course is so short that you can easily play 2 rounds in under 30 min, which would be a good warm-up for other nearby courses. Thompson Park and Tomlinson Run State Park are both located within 10 minutes from here, so while it is not worth stopping for on its own, you can hit it up and make a full day of playing these 3 conveniently located courses
-Very easy to get to from highway - once you're in Chester, look signs for the city park, which is close to the McDonald's
-Tee signs with pars, distances, and mando's, which up the level of difficulty a little bit
-Exciting if you're looking for aces because 6 or 7 of them I would consider 'ace runs'. I hit the chains or basket on multiple holes and I am a low-intermediate level player
Cons: -Only need a mid and a putter, except on 5 and maybe 4
-The two par 4's (4 and 5) are one par too high
-Since there are no tees and the pins are located so close, it can sometimes be confusing as to which direction you are shooting during the first go-around. The tees aren't set up in any specific pattern or facing any general direction in respect to the pin, just kind of randomly placed. However, the course is so small and simple that it won't be confusing after the first round.
-There was no one at the park on the Friday morning I played, but if anyone would be at the park it would create problems. All of the holes play near everything else, 5 even goes through a basketball court
Other Thoughts: As I previously stated, this park is good if you want to bring a child or beginner too, or if you want to get a bunch of birdies and possible aces. There is not much challenge to this course, except a few trees that may interefere with your shots. This truly is a pitch-and-putt course, with 2 holes (4 and 5) that may require a driver. It is nice enough with signs and baskets that are in pretty good shape, and it is conveniently located between 2 other courses. I recommend stopping here to get a quick round in before or in between Thompson and Tomlinson.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A perfect warm-up to playing 27 at Thompson

1    7/8/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park seems to be well cared for; the course, however, could use some TLC in regards to tees, signage, etc.

Optional mandos are stated on each hole, making the course a little more difficult, I suppose. A small stream comes into play on some of the holes.

A great opportunity for pitch-and-putt disc golf and very beginner friendly!

ACE RUNS GALORE!
Cons: Aside from the fact that a fairway or distance driver is not needed here (with the exception of maybe #5), I seriously feared using one because of the number of people running around. Moreover, pavilions, basketball courts, benches, and many other objects are right in the middle of the course!

No tees, and the signs have seen better days.

Hole lengths are very short. I mean, really really short. I recommend putters, maybe a midrange, and/or superclass discs. One hole is even under 100 feet.
Other Thoughts: This park has that feel of one of those courses that would have been kinda cool in the Wham-O and Midnight Flyer era. The holes are short, there are a few trees to contend with, but PLENTY of other park objects to come in contact with.

While the course is far from spectacular, it will forever stand out in my mind because it's where I got my first ace on a ::drum roll:: whopping 94 footer! If I can ace a hole here, anyone can.

I suggest making a stop here if you're going to play Thompson Park nearby. It's a good chance to get a quick warm-up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty short

2-4    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: jhilton
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice baskets
- the idea to include the mandos is a nice way to make it more challenging
- makes for a nice putter only, or mid only round
- good chance for an Ace here
- if you had a young child or someone with a lot less power, this would be a great place to take them
- easy to navigate
Cons: - short
- holes throw across each other and across or near spaces with other uses, this could be very dangerous for others
- not much of a challenge
Other Thoughts: We found the park to be the most fun when we played with just one disc. This took the disadvantages of length and turned them into a chance to really learn how to control one disc. If you really want to work on your putter play, this might be a good place as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Putters Delight

2-4    8/20/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had very nice baskets, and the tee pads were in flat places in the grass so they were fine also. It only takes about 30 minutes to play with two players which would be nice for after work or school if you are in the area.
Cons: All the holes are very very short. The park does not have much land so can not extend the holes at all. If there were other people at the park you would have to wait or warn them you are throwing because of how the course interweaves the small park.
Other Thoughts: This course is for someone to work on their putting and their midrange shots. There is only really one hole where you need to let it rip to get to the hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Course

2-4    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 79  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets. This course is great for someone who wants to work on short game and putting. It's also a course that would be really easy to stop and play a quick round. The signs are pretty good here too.
Cons: The park is very small and the holes go back and forth across an are where people could easily get in the way if they are using the park.
Other Thoughts: It probably isn't worth a special trip to this course, but if you are in the area it is definitely worth checking out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/27/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: JHoleczy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is very small, you could play it in less than half an hour. It's close to Mountaineer Casino and Thompson Run Park, so if you're already at either of those places you could easily play this course. Short holes make for birdie and ace chances galore.
Cons: It's almost not worth the time it takes to play it. There are only two unique holes and one is unique because you have to throw across a basketball court. If there are other people utilizing the park, you won't be able to play a few of the holes. If the pavilion was being used I would have potentially hit someone on two straight throws, and I had to wait for the basketball players to be out of the way to make my throw on hole 5. The basket for hole 6 is half way torn out of the ground and leaning at a 45 degree angle.
Other Thoughts: It's only worth playing if you're already there or close by.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 It's a cool little course

5+    9/3/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is actually a pretty cool course. It is not a course you would want to make a special trip to play, like I did so many years ago. It's 9 holes of pure fun. Takes about 30 minutes to play. You will get 7 good ace run chances. The holes all have mandos marked on the tees if you want to add some challenge to the course.

Nice baskets. This is a great course to practice your upshots on. And I have never seen anyone else playing here so you can make up holes if you wish.

Cons: Tees/baskets are too close together on some holes, but not really a problem because no one is ever there.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area it is worth the 30 minutes it will take to play the course. The park is really kinda cool and it is such a strange place for a disc golf course. But it all works and it is a quick fun round.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/5/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mostly a course made to test your short and technical game. Most holes are short and have mandatory routes that you must take. If you don't take the mandatory route i imagine its a penalty. Signage is layed out very nicely
Cons: Not the big grip and rip style course most well be use to. Hole 5 crosses a B-ball court.
Other Thoughts: I thought was unique from typical boring layout of most 9 hole so i gave it 3. Simply becuase someone ,somehow figured out how to cram 9 holes in this small little park. Its very nice park with some old school playground equipment. If your playing thompson you should definitely stop by and give it whirl. Just about everything as far as amenities are concerned. You can even go swim in the Ohio River if you want.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center