Chester, WV 
Chester City Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: thadon Hole #9
3 / 141ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Unusual Place

1    9/14/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: knettles
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent baskets.
-Flat tees.
-Tee signs depicting the mandos.
-Good practice for upshots and putts.
Cons: -REALLY short. Most holes are putter shots.
-Only 9 holes.
-Whole course runs through a small multi-use park. Encounters with non-dg'ers is inevitable.
Other Thoughts: This is very obviously a beginner course and meant to introduce people to the game. The weird part of that is, there's two holes here that seem like legitimate disc golf holes (4 and 5). Four is around 250 and doglegs hard left around the back of a basketball court that's OB. Five throws 300' over the court, through two double mandos (light posts), and fades around a building. These two holes don't match the rest of the course. They're too difficult for someone that would be entertained by the rest of the holes, but just right for someone that would be bored with the rest of the holes.

Also, if there's other people using the park, they'll most likely be in your way on one or more holes. Throw a playground in the middle of everything and it just becomes dangerous. The local teens apparently like hanging out here as well.

In closing, this is a practice course. I wouldn't recommend it unless you're a completionist.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A perfect warm-up to playing 27 at Thompson

1    7/8/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park seems to be well cared for; the course, however, could use some TLC in regards to tees, signage, etc.

Optional mandos are stated on each hole, making the course a little more difficult, I suppose. A small stream comes into play on some of the holes.

A great opportunity for pitch-and-putt disc golf and very beginner friendly!

ACE RUNS GALORE!
Cons: Aside from the fact that a fairway or distance driver is not needed here (with the exception of maybe #5), I seriously feared using one because of the number of people running around. Moreover, pavilions, basketball courts, benches, and many other objects are right in the middle of the course!

No tees, and the signs have seen better days.

Hole lengths are very short. I mean, really really short. I recommend putters, maybe a midrange, and/or superclass discs. One hole is even under 100 feet.
Other Thoughts: This park has that feel of one of those courses that would have been kinda cool in the Wham-O and Midnight Flyer era. The holes are short, there are a few trees to contend with, but PLENTY of other park objects to come in contact with.

While the course is far from spectacular, it will forever stand out in my mind because it's where I got my first ace on a ::drum roll:: whopping 94 footer! If I can ace a hole here, anyone can.

I suggest making a stop here if you're going to play Thompson Park nearby. It's a good chance to get a quick warm-up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty short

2-4    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: jhilton
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice baskets
- the idea to include the mandos is a nice way to make it more challenging
- makes for a nice putter only, or mid only round
- good chance for an Ace here
- if you had a young child or someone with a lot less power, this would be a great place to take them
- easy to navigate
Cons: - short
- holes throw across each other and across or near spaces with other uses, this could be very dangerous for others
- not much of a challenge
Other Thoughts: We found the park to be the most fun when we played with just one disc. This took the disadvantages of length and turned them into a chance to really learn how to control one disc. If you really want to work on your putter play, this might be a good place as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Putters Delight

2-4    8/20/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had very nice baskets, and the tee pads were in flat places in the grass so they were fine also. It only takes about 30 minutes to play with two players which would be nice for after work or school if you are in the area.
Cons: All the holes are very very short. The park does not have much land so can not extend the holes at all. If there were other people at the park you would have to wait or warn them you are throwing because of how the course interweaves the small park.
Other Thoughts: This course is for someone to work on their putting and their midrange shots. There is only really one hole where you need to let it rip to get to the hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/28/2008   10/18/2008
Review By: Jgolferboy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good for first time players. Park atmosphere can be a relaxing and/or stress free game of disc golf. .
Cons: Very short holes, with 1 under 100ft. Lots of people throughout the course. Holes play along side the skatepark, basketball course and pavilion.
Other Thoughts: Thompson Park is right across the river, less than 10min away.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.