Mobile (Palmetto), AL 
Chickasabogue County Park - Original Share
Uploaded By: catiadude69 Hole #14 (Taken 11/2009)
4 / 332ft.   3 / 332ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Tight like prom night

1    8/4/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tees, decent baskets though some chains were in bad shape there were never any catching issues. Very basic signs but they seemed to work, the simple drawing appeared very accurate.
3 loops of 9 let you mix it up from the parking lot if you desire.
Cons: The 2 open holes seem out of place with the rest of the character of the course but I suppose it was a welcome change. Lots of indication that the place becomes a river on the front 9.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun little course, rather short in distance but pretty tight and required some decent line shaping to make good shots. It was short enough that our daughter played a good bit of the holes. The course is right after the entrance gate to the park which costs you a buck to get into. The ground is rooty and seemed to be clay based so it was very skippy. The area could possibly get very buggy but it amazingly wasn't when we were out there.
This is the kind of course where you won't be learning how to throw 400' but you will learn how to throw 200' up a hallway consistently and accurately, which personally I value a lot more. I suppose the biggest criticism would be that it could get a bit old if this was your only course but with 27 holes to choose from it might take a while. If I was in the area again I would definitely play it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the winter

5+    1/6/2008   11/6/2009
Review By: thebigE
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for all skill levels that really helps players work on accuracy and the short game. Beginners will appreciate the shorter distances on the majority of the front 9, though the fact that the fairways are pretty narrow in spots and surrounded by pretty thick shule make things a little more difficult than a pitch and putt type course. There are conrete tees on every hole, though they are a little small. They give you a smooth takeoff point though, which is important on this course due to the prolific rootage surrounding most of the tee areas. In the summertime, it's shady, which is a big plus in southern Alabama. However, the summer can be rough because this course is pretty much in a heavily forested swamp, which means the bugs are rampant. Nice pro shop at park entrance, camping just a short distance from the course. Perfect dark course for night golf (the park closes at sundown but if you're camping you have free reign). Lefties will love it, as at least half of the holes break right. There is good distance, including the only two field holes on the course, on the back 9. Lots of benches, garbage cans and signage. It's a nice fun course to play if there are a variety of skill levels in your group.
Cons: Stagnant heat and God-awful buggage in the summer (but it's lower AL right?). Almost too busy to fool with on the weekends, and some of my fellow locals are really pushy when trying to hustle up games for cash. That part of it really gets old, and sometimes it really puts a damper on the round. Alcohol is allowed in the park, so drunks can be an issue. For righties, the preponderance of right turn holes can be a good or bad thing: good if you want to work your sidearm or anis; bad if you only throw from one side.
Other Thoughts: I'm a Mobile local, born and raised, and I really take pride in the great courses in my hometown. If I was ranking all 11 courses that are within 45 minutes of Mobile, I'd say the Bogue falls somewhere in the middle. Not the best, but not the worst. On a weekday, it can be a lot of fun in cool weather. One other thing, it does cost a buck to enter the park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/20/2008   12/20/2008
Review By: aceman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: was fun,mostly short wooded holes that are fairly easy but enough mix to make it worth playing again. pretty course that is heavily played so no underbrush to lose your disc in
Cons: rough looking locals thought I might get mugged,LOTS of drunk people since its legal to drink on this course.locals trying to get you to play them for money again and again.
Other Thoughts: bring a freind

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Home Alabama!

1    11/30/2008   11/30/2008
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2008
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee boxes- Nice cement pads on every hole with only one having a safety hazard drop off at the end.
Signage and Marking- 4 3/4 discs in my book and only misses the 5 because one tee sign is missing, but on an easy hole that is wide open and straight.
Benches & Bag holders- Nice bench and sometimes multiple benches on every hole. A new feature that we noticed that can only be described as a bag holder was a nice bonus.
Cleanliness & Trash Cans- I'm not sure if they were on every hole, but it seemed like it and the park showed it...No Trash! Beautiful!
Cons: Disc Catchers- Lower than regulation height on more than a few occasions and some of them were in bad shape.
Anhyzer Hell- If you don't have an anhyzer shot in your repertoire or a slice disc in your bag the anny shots on this course will make for a long day as there are 8 of them.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing this course and would definitely suggest it to anyone traveling through Mobile. The trees are just enough to challenge a person, but can get frustrating if you are having a bad luck day. I wanted to give this course a higher mark due to how much I enjoyed it, but due to the above cons found a 4 or higher unjustifiable.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Got to love trees.

1    11/30/2008   11/30/2008
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee pads on every hole. Good tee signs with distance and flight path on them for every hole except 14 (but it's an open straight shot 344') Good layout. Easy to follow map (get it from the toll booth, or check the files/links tab on this course - I will have a couple maps up soon.) Benches, and trash cans on every tee, also most of the tees have bag hangers so you don't have to put your bag on the ground. Not too crowded.
Cons: Tee pads can be slippery when wet, and not all are flush with the ground (but very close). Too many left to right shots vs. straight or right to left.
Really there is not anything to truly complain about.
Other Thoughts: If you want a kmz file of this course you can e-mail me at ninja-don@hotmail.com and I'll send one to you. What is a kmz file? It is a file that you can open using google earth. It will show you a layout of the course overlayed on google earth.
If you are playing in the summer, you will probably want to bring some bug spray.
If you don't like treed courses, then you "may" want to pass on this one... however each hole is pretty well open for a technical or in my case lucky throw.
I strongly recommend this course if you are in the Mobile area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Halloween Howler

2-4    10/26/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very fun course. More on the wooded side of things but thats what makes it so fun. Has a few ace runs.
Cons: Only thing I can think of is beating your discs to death on the trees.
Other Thoughts: I played in the Halloween Howler so I got to play the temp course out in the fields as well. That was a great course as well. I really wish I lived closer to Mobile and I would be busting my ass trying to get people to put up the money to donate for name placement on the holes. Would make that temp course a perma course. Can't go wrong with 36 holes on site.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/26/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course to play for all skill levels. It is a mostly short, but technical course, that requires and rewards accurate shots. It is short and easy enough that newer players can enjoy the course, but technical enough that pro players will still be challenged.

The course is mostly flat, but the variety is awesome, with shots going straight, right, left, some shorter and some longer. There are a couple of open holes, a couple of really short, easy holes, and a couple of very difficult and challenging holes. The fairways are well defined. There are good tee signs, benches, and concrete tees on every hole. Navigation is very intuitive and easy to follow the beaten paths.

The course does loop around at the half way point. The entrance station has snacks, drinks, and sells discs. There is also camping allowed in the park. The course is fairly easy to get to and located away from the busier city of Mobile, which can make for a great disc golf weekend get-a-way.
Cons: There really are no glaring cons when it comes to the course, unless you do not like technical courses, in which case this is not a course for you. Some people consider it a con that a course does not have more open bombing shots, but that is not what this course is designed for, and therefore, is not what you should expect when coming to play this course.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course several times in tournaments in recent years. Each time I feel like I should shoot about a 10-12 down, but probably average closer to a 6 down. This course is simply everything you would want to see in a technical, wooded course. As with all wooded courses, there is always an element of luck in some of the very tight fairways, but if you throw accurate shots, you will be rewarded with good scores on this course. Blue level pros can probably expect to shoot around 6-12 down on this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.