Mobile (Palmetto), AL 
Chickasabogue County Park Share
Uploaded By: catiadude69 Hole #12 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 208ft.   3 / --   3 / 208ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Great

2-4    5/31/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: alvinp48
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a heavily wooded course but you have room to throw. The underbrush is minimal so even if you throw a errant shot its not hard to find.
Cons: None for me.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. I enjoy playing this course as often as I can.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Gnomes of Zurich

1    12/17/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
27-holes (three 9-hole loops). Easy navigation. For the original-18, 5'x10' concrete teepads, signs showing distance/shape, benches, trashcans.
Cons:
Dead flat. Single tee/pin position. Luck factor a bit high.
Other Thoughts: The course winds its way under the thickly-grouped, small-/mid-sized diameter trees on either side of the entry road to a public park. After paying to enter, the small lot on the left is where tee-1/basket-9 are located, and the larger lot on the right will lead you to tee-10/basket-18, tee-1B/basket-9B. All three loops play in roughly a clockwise direction.

Other than the two wide-open, ~350' holes 13&14, the other 25-holes will play in the woods. These two and in-the-woods, 450', straight for 2/3rds, then hard left for the remainder 7B, are the three longest holes. Most of the remaining 24-holes fall into the 225' +/- 35' range, so this course is a about control, not distance.

From the tee, you'll need to throw a fairly even blend of left-/right-/no-turners. Turns vary in sharpness of subtle to extreme, but most are moderate. Most of the turns are required late - only a few mid-fairway. For the most part, throwing lanes are fair, but challenging. A wayward disc will likely be found, as the shule is not thick, but the trees are close together, so an off-fairway approach could prove to be difficult. To me, the luck-factor seemed a bit high - about 1/4th of the holes had thick clusters of trees (not quite a jailcell, but close) guarding the basket.

The new, additional 9-holes start on the same side as 10-18. Tee signs at natural, signs are handwritten, navigation is a little less intuitive (but not difficult - just need to look around a bit, as opposed to the auto-pilot of the original-18), a bit rougher (small tree stumps to catch your toes), and, on average, longer (hole-7B is ~450, and three other holes >270', while only 5 of the original-18 >270', and two of them are wide-open).

A fun and quick play, and popular - was teeming with people the weekday afternoon I played. Good place to work on your control game - worth a visit unless pure bombing is your delight.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Discing with the dead

5+    2/26/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a large [600+ acres] county park, the course is separate from the campground and other park users except for hole #s 13-14, which cross the ballfield.
Its a technically tight course, resembling a series of odd-shaped hallways with lots of doors leading nowhere you really want to go. Novices will thrive only if they throw 50-150 ft. and land in the fairway, though the ground cover in the rough is such that you aren't likely to lose a disc---but the spiders and snakes might make you wish you weren't hunting for it. Gradual, slight changes in elevation are sprinkled throughout the course.
A nice variety of tee-off hyzers, anhyzers and straight shots give way to short or long birdies, or difficult recovery shots if you find yourself off-fairway. Shrubbery extends from the ground to 20-30 ft. high, and the large trees might leave a gap of 10-20 ft. before their branches start to shade out the sun. Several times only an unlikely tomahawk rescued my par. Much of the fairway is open hardpacked dirt or leaf/pine needle cover, so skips/slides can be expected. A total of 4 holes are 300'+, so a distance driver is unnecessary, though I did use a Wraith, underpowered, to great effect on hard corners. Each set of nine holes starts clockwise and ends at the parking lot, but you'll be out of sight of the public on most of the holes.
Tees are nicely brushed cement, and the tee signs, though simple, give distance and an accurate rendition of the necessary shot: their tombstone shape give tribute to an ancient cemetery located on a trail in the park.
Lots of animal life: whitetail deer, raccoons, cranes, blue herons, armadillo, salamanders, black cats, every snake you've ever imagined.
The interstate is about 1/2 mile away and you can hear it, but the park is on a dead-end past a neighborhood, and is completely shaded except for #s 13-14, so it feels secluded. No one will hear your screams.
Cons: The course was created long before warp-speed drivers existed, so a lot of the tees are within 30-50 ft. of the last basket. Easy to find the next tee, risky to ignore those driving behind you.
The newest 9 holes have a lot of small stumpage, so watch your footing, though the rest of the course is fairly rooty also.
Humid and buggy during mid-spring to mid-fall.
Rain will leave shallow standing water in many places, and a downpour will put a foot or two of muddy water in some ravines.
Other Thoughts: Store with snacks, drinks and a few discs for sale at the gate. Night golf fun if you know the course. Huge field to practice drives. Swimming at the river/beach, swingsets and playground at river and ballfield, 3-4 miles of hiking trails. Lots of undeveloped terrain for future course expansion.
*COURSE UPDATE: nine new holes have been added between #s 6 and 7 of the nine holes added two years ago.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  3 disc course

1    11/2/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: THENICK
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Novice friendly. Technical shots rewarded. Shaded. Fairly short. Course is easy to follow.
Tee markers accurate. Concrete tee pads. Snacks and discs offered nearby. 27-hole format offers variation.
Cons: Not enough opportunities to throw some bombs.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tight like prom night

1    8/4/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tees, decent baskets though some chains were in bad shape there were never any catching issues. Very basic signs but they seemed to work, the simple drawing appeared very accurate.
3 loops of 9 let you mix it up from the parking lot if you desire.
Cons: The 2 open holes seem out of place with the rest of the character of the course but I suppose it was a welcome change. Lots of indication that the place becomes a river on the front 9.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun little course, rather short in distance but pretty tight and required some decent line shaping to make good shots. It was short enough that our daughter played a good bit of the holes. The course is right after the entrance gate to the park which costs you a buck to get into. The ground is rooty and seemed to be clay based so it was very skippy. The area could possibly get very buggy but it amazingly wasn't when we were out there.
This is the kind of course where you won't be learning how to throw 400' but you will learn how to throw 200' up a hallway consistently and accurately, which personally I value a lot more. I suppose the biggest criticism would be that it could get a bit old if this was your only course but with 27 holes to choose from it might take a while. If I was in the area again I would definitely play it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Wood

1    6/26/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short but highly technical woods course. Well-defined fairways with decent shot variety and challenge, and with the exception of two holes, you're in the shade the whole time. The course consists of an older 18-hole course with concrete tee pads and a newer 9-hole alternate layout that has natural tee pads and new DGA baskets. Fairly balanced over the whole 27 holes, but the 18-hole course seems to have some repetitive right-turning layouts. The alternate 9-hole course is somewhat longer than the older 18-hole course and had plenty of variety over the 9 holes. The presence of the canopy has taken long OH shots out of the bag and force hyzer and anny control to the forefront of your round. The underbrush is neither sparse nor congested, so bad kicks off of the pines will still require a score-saving miracle shot or two. The pine needle carpet generates some high-velocity skips and add a dimension to the hole approach.

Each hole on the main 18-hole course has a marker with distance and general hole layout. The alternate 9-hole course has white markers with hole numbers only. Next-hole markers on some of those alternate holes to help navigation. Navigation on the 18-hole course was fairly straightforward and easy. Plenty of benches throughout the course. The 18-hole and alternate 9-hole course's layout brings you back to the parking lot after nine holes, regardless of the order you play them in, which allows easy refilling of water bottles and fresh clothes, if necessary. The ranger station/gate has some discs, drinks, and munchies that are always welcome in proximity to a quality course.
Cons: The 18-hole main course shows some signs of it's age as the baskets have just enough discoloration to make them hard to see under the shady canopy of the Chickasabouge pines. Most baskets have hole numbers and high-visibility tape to aid in the optics, but they have seen better days as well. Navigation on the alternate 9 hole course was tricky a couple of times, but not impossible. The alternate 9-hole course still needs some beat-in and maybe some trimming to match to potential of the 18-hole course. Not a ton of distance on the main 18-hole course. Not much elevation in play, but enough to be respected on some holes. No water when we played, but a wet spring/summer could see some of the shallow ditches/creeks come to life and add an H2O aspect to the course.

Bugs. Mosquitoes and other flesh-hungry flying critters were out, even in the early morning. Bring the bug spray, leave the sunscreen.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that kept the hot South Alabama sun from sapping too much energy. Old growth pines and plenty of wildlife on this tucked away course in LA (lower Alabama). A little repetition and not much D, but 27 holes of tight fairways requiring consistent execution and line-shaping make for a good morning or afternoon round just outside of Mobile.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Woods Experience

1    10/2/2010   4/20/2011
Review By: The Drake
Played: 90  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Being a woods course there are certain things I look for in my determination of whether or not its a good or bad course. First and foremost its pretty easy to navigate. Its been a long time since I played it so I can't remember if there were markers denoting where the next tee was but I do remember it was pretty easy and obvious where to go from hole to hole. Fairways are clean without many "wtf" trees lining fairways. Greens are fair with good putting lanes from almost all angles. There are even a couple possible par 4s on the course. As mentioned before the fairways are tight, demanding accuracy but at the same time very manageable unlike many woods courses which set a tee and a pin but don't manage to actually make a fairway between.
Cons: Entirely technical course. There's need for a driver one 1 or 2 holes which are open (13 and 14) but other than that if you have a good Roc (or your equivalent) and a putter you could play the entire course and shoot pretty well.
Being from Birmingham where each of our courses has a lot of elevation there is not really much of that here so your options for types of shots are limited to doglegs and tight gaps.
Other Thoughts: Chickasabogue is a standard woods course which will test accuracy off the tee. I tend to be very picky and particular with my feelings on woods courses and I'd have to say this one is pretty solid, though not exceptional. I'd heard a lot about it from locals in Birmingham and was happy I finally got a chance to play it.

On a side note while playing hole 13 I threw my drive to within a few feet of the basket (15-20 feet past actually) and as I was walking the fairway a black bear came out of the woods to investigate. He sniff my disc and the basket, looked at me for good 30 seconds and then lumbered back into the woods. My first wildlife experience on a golf course and pretty cool. But with that said I'd be cautious and aware when playing here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 loved it

1    9/1/2006   4/8/2011
Review By: jcburton24
Played: 61  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 22.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course offers a great variety of technical shots. Concrete tees, good tee signs and benches on every hole. Plenty of trash cans. One the best wooded courses I have played.
Cons: Nothing bad to say about it.
Other Thoughts: Can not wait until I can make it back to Mobile to play some golf. My favorite course I played there.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Top Knotch Playin Field

5+    12/5/2010   3/16/2011
Review By: TheHoaginator1020
Played: 53  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a multitude of different heights, angles, and terrain. Being set in the woods offers a relief on a windy or rainy day, but still gives you a chance to test out your strength against mother nature on some of the back 9. All holes are a respectable length for any beginner or pro player, with optional tees for either devision. This is one of my favorite courses in the surrounding area because of its versatility, and its over all length. All fairways are either a pretty sharp shot or bigger than would have expected. Teepads are all big enough to get a could run off and the signs might be sub par but you can see for yourself what shot needs to be made. Difficulty levels on this course are well balanced between holes with ditches, and a few water hazards. The park is open for animals as well and is greatly shaded from prying eyes and the wind.
Cons: Lots and lots of trees, but hey its disc golf. Also, I have never gotten a call from anyone when I lost a disc down there... so, don't expect to have nice people find it and help you out, thats a rarity.
Other Thoughts: There have been several events on this course that have been a blast, and in the heat of the summer, the river is just a walk down the road and you can take full advantage of your $2 spent with a short dip to relax your playing muscles. If you ever plan on playing in Mobile, definitely check this course out, it makes the area so much more enjoyable.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/3/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: tjohnson99
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very easy to find each tee
- If you call ahead and tell the park you are coming they will allow you to play at night!
- This is a great course to work on your accuracy and it provides you with some good right hook shots as well.
- Every tee pad it concrete and well marked
- If you stop by the guard gate you can pick up some disc, food, and drinks (and they are not over priced)
- Lots of shade and it's got some places to sit on every hole, which is great when playing in big groups.
Cons: - It's very easy to shoot in the negatives. Hole three is maybe the hardest shot on the whole course if you can't throw an "s" shot.
- The maps are not clear on what the actual hole looks like, it's just a wood post with a drawing on it.
- Lots of people drink out there and do other things so it's not always kid friendly
- There is almost always a ton of people on the course so play can be a little slow if you get stuck behind a large group of drunk rednecks that won't allow you to play though
Other Thoughts: I do like this course! It's fun to bring my middle school club out to the park and play because it's challenging for them and gives them chance to work on their accuracy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.