Mobile (Chickasaw), AL 
Chickasaw Community Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj Hole #6 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / --   3 / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Like A Box of Chocolates

1    12/18/2012   1/1/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Meeting Cecil, the King of Rocs and Rollers, who maintains the course.

Two (natural) tees per hole. Excellent use of available terrain.
Cons:
With no map, limited signage, and Cecil having the ability to move tees and baskets at his pleasure, this course could be difficult for a first-time/infrequent visitor to navigate.
Other Thoughts:
Course is located in a public park that diagonally stretches behind a few public buildings and some private houses. A stream (but with no chance of disc loss) runs down the center, with the land flat near the stream, but then sloping quickly upwards on both sides. Scattered pockets, and occasional lone, mid-to-large hardwoods are used well to create obstacles and windows.

I really enjoyed the setup of the course the day I played it. While definitely on the open side, the trees were utilized well to create challenging windows. Seven of the baskets were located near the water, so approach shots needed to be quite accurate. From the tee, the water was often at a very "annoying" distance for me, i.e. near my typical driving range. Elevation changes, none severe, appeared in various forms - flat, down-slope, up-slope, across-slope, up-n-over, across-valley. Shape-wise, straight off the tee, with the occasional left or right turn, but typically subtle, would serve in most cases.

Favourite hole: The day I played, #17. Initially flat and open, the grounds drops at the same time large hardwoods appear, creating a low window to hit. The ground levels out again as the stream makes an appearance, with the basket on the other side of it.

"Mobile" hole-13 is interesting, but bring a disc you don't mind having skip across rough asphalt.

Quite an enjoyable course - make the effort to visit if in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Chickasaw park

1    7/19/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Here is a hidden jewel in the Mobile area worked into an older park and from what heard from the caretakers here mostly unused park. The park is tucked into a residential area that felt very safe and plenty of parking available. There are plenty of benches and sufficient trash cans available to keep the park clean. The two maintenance people I met were very personable and very helpful.
The course makes very good use of the terrain available and is well designed. At first view I was worried about interference with the rest of the facilities. This turns out to not be case as they are not used anymore other than the pool. This allowed the tennis courts, amphitheatre, snack bar and paved "four square" area to be incorporated into the course. The rolling hills provided elevation change hard to find in a costal area. The drainage ditch provided another nice challenge and I liked the placement of baskets on the "other" side of the ditch requiring more accuracy in you shots. The hanging basket was another fun touch. There is enough distance to satisfy the big arms and enough trees and other obstacles to force accurate shaped shots, make you think about how you will play each hole. Nice mix of long and short holes with definite ace runs available. With both long and short tees this is a course you can take new players to without discouraging them. All in all this is a very fun course to play.
Cons: Signs would help a lot here. There are some next tee signs and some arrows painted on the ground. These helped but I still had some issues finding my way around. The maintenance guy pointed out some of the holes to me and this helped a lot. Signs might be difficult here as I understand tee and basket placements are moved around often.
Other Thoughts: This course is obviously a labor of love with limited budget for the gentleman taking care of it. The tees are marked with a 6 by 6 post and are natural. The negative aspect of natural tees is limited by moving them around when they begin to wear. There is an assortment of baskets used that seem pretty old but well cared for. They caught my disc very well and did not affect my game. The day I played there had been a few days of heavy rain and it rained lightly while I was playing. The course held up real well with only one or two places with standing water. If I make it back to the area I will be back for another round.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad but needs work

1    10/10/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good work out going up and down the hills. Different elevations. Some nice holes. Grounds are nicely kept. A challenge with different hole lenths.
Cons: Lack of signs to location. Lack of directional signs to the holes. Very confusing to find next hole if never played. Tee markings are lousy to determine between middle and advanced players. Need access to water after using port a potty.
Other Thoughts: With proper signs and a little more work this course can be much better. 3 out of 5 with potential.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/22/2009   2/26/2009
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really fun course to play with a lot of shot variety and nice elevation change. It is a mostly open course, but the trees, the rolling hills and the ditch do a great job of forcing the shot. The ditch may be a disc eater, but the course is designed around it very well to give each shot an extra added challenge, aside from dodging the trees and other obstacles.

Navigation is not completely intuitive, but if you pay attention to the blue wooded posts with large white numbers of them, as well as the baskets with the large number plates on the rim facing the tee. The course flows well plus each hole has little red posts serving as the am tees.
Cons: I will echo the concern about the tee pads. Anywhere from slabs of concrete, to dirt tee pads, to no tee pads at all. Some of the posts list the distance to the basket, but some seem to be wrong and others are missing the distance completely. Also as mentioned in previous reviews, there is the issue of the different baskets, most of them very old and a bit outdated.

The ditch is indeed very nasty looking and will eat discs. I've heard reports of broken glass from bottles and such being at the bottom. I like the extra challenge of the ditch, but if you are not an experienced player then I suggest keeping your drive safely away if at all possible.
Other Thoughts: The basic distinction of this course is it has a great design, with a lot of elevation change and many interesting shots. However, the guy who designed the course, also takes care of the course and likes to change up the course every once in a while. The 3 times I have played this course have been completely different layouts (a few shots were the same, but the majority were different). The idea sounds neat, as it can keep the course from becoming boring for the locals, but it also prevents a standard set of tee pads and accurate/consistent tee signs. I would recommend playing this course if you are in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Abyss

1    12/6/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: FREE!!!
One thing I like about this course is that it had a ton of elevation changes. Uphill shots, down hill shots, up and over hill shots, and so on.
The tees are easy to find (big blue block with large white numbers on them).
There are also a set of short tees which are also easily spotted (smaller red posts with white tops - usually directly forward of the long tee).
Obstacles are plenty on this course, from stadium benches on an uphill shot, to shooting through a small gap between a building and the tennis court fences. Trees are often in play and of course bushes... plus there is a creek that runs trough the middle of the entire course.
The course is well laid out and walks fairly well. Even without a map you can make your way around this course... the tee block markers are very easy to see.
The baskets have metal plates with very large numbers on them, which are pretty easy to see from a long way off. Most of them were obvious which one you needed to shoot at. They also make a cool sound that you can hear all over the park when you hit the chains.
Cons: The Creek (Abyss); it smells pretty bad (but only up close) it looks like it's only about 6 inches deep, but even with the water about 4 feet from the top of the edge there was still a few places that we got a stick to go at lease 4 feet down. You can only see about 3 inches into it, so if you put a disc in there, it better be a floating disc... or you probably won't get it back. The creek comes into play on the majority of the holes and even forces you to throw across it. Beware of this creek... it will eat your disc!!! Also be careful on the holes that have baskets on the hill sides... if you miss and your disc rolls at all, it will probably make it into the creek.
The tee box areas are less than safe... the few that had some type of black top with rocks in it, well I was scared to throw off of them in fear of twisting my ankle, or worse. Then there were some that were dirt and had rocks or roots in the way, then some were mostly sand, and the rest were just worn down grass.
Not all of the tee markers have distance marked on them. None of them have pars marked on them.
The baskets are not all Mach 3 baskets like it says on the course info on this site... there is a mix of Chainstars, Mach 3, and mach 2, and I think I saw some disc catchers too. Some of these were also mounted at different heights.
Other Thoughts: This course was one of kind for me. I really did like the layout, and the elevation changes... I would like to play it again, but I doubt I ever will make it back there again.
I do however recommend this course if you are in the area, but if you only have time for one course in the Mobile area... this would be my # 4 pick.
If some money was spent on this park to put SAFE concrete tee pads or something of the sort and some distance markers, then this park would get at least a full mark higher from me.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.