Mobile (Chickasaw), AL 
Chickasaw Community Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj Hole #4 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / --   3 / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course

5+    5/20/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: hammerhead611
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Little bit of everything on this course...elevation changes, water hazards, moderately wooded, and wide open
*Quiet park setting (though it will probably be overrun with kids from the neighboring apartment complex and neighborhood during the summer)
*Course is continually changed...you may play it one day then come back a week or so later and the baskets have been moved. Nice break from the monotony of the same course over and over
*Several benches and trash cans throughout the course
Cons: *The water in the "creek" looks like it could be nasty
*The park can become a playground for unsupervised kids when they aren't in school (played this past weekend and kids were climbing on the some of the baskets)
*Don't know how often the grass is cut, but the past couple of times I've been out there, the grass has been fairly high in some spots
*With the course being changed frequently, signage from the basket to the next hole would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This course is situated between a city park, church, and school. The park has a pool, tennis and basketball courts, small playground, library, and civic center.

With the current layout, play starts out with fairly straight throws on the first few holes. Holes of note are...
#3 (plays from the corner of the pool area across the basketball court, between the tennis courts and old building to a suspended basket).
#7 plays parallel to the highway, over the "creek", to a basket located in the corner of a small fenced in area.
#8 plays around the corner of one of the church buildings to a basket located in an old tree stump.
The next few holes bring elevation into play as you play down the hill, then cross the ditch for a hole parallel to the ditch, then back across the ditch and uphill.
#14 (fairly certain it's 14) plays under a large oak tree to the basket located about 3/4 of the way across a pavement area with a map painted on it (the basket is located in the Mobile area on the map).
Next 3 of holes bring elevation changes back into play, along with trees.
The last hole plays down a hill, across the creek, and back up the hill to the basket located near a ditch.

Chickasaw is a nice course, that brings a little bit of the other courses in Mobile into play with the elevation changes, "creek" water hazard, and trees.

UPDATE:
Played Chickasaw earlier in the week and again today and several holes were changed somewhat during the week. Updates are as follows:
Hole #4 basket has been moved up just over the small ditch in a cluster of trees
Hole #7 tee box has been moved back about 30'
Hole #8 tee box has been moved down by the ditch next to the manhole cover and basket has been moved out of stump, back about 150' (no more throwing around corner of school/church bldg
Hole #11 tee box has been moved back about 30' and basket is now short of the bridge and right on the edge of the ditch

UPDATE #2:
Played Chickasaw again and the last 3 holes have been changed up since last week.
#16--tee box has been moved back about 30' to the road exiting the school to the south
#17--tee box has been moved up and basket now on strip of land between the ditch and the houses bordering the park
#18--tee box has been moved down across the ditch and basket has been moved across ditch that runs behind the amphitheater

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Chickasawesome

1    9/26/2012   9/26/2012
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very well maintained

Plenty of garbage cans and benches

variety of holes/shot opportunities with no hazards of a disc-losing nature

Elevation is always a plus in this town and this course has some - also a couple baskets are set higher up than ground level and hole 3 is suspended between trees by chains

Pro & Am tees

reasonably clean pot-o-gold port-o-john on site (the "facility" at Langan park made me regret being human)
Cons: natural dirt tees (not a huge minus to me)

a little cramped on the front 9 - play is confined between the neighborhood (so it feels like you're in someone's backyard) and a high traffic area - most of the course's soundtrack is provided by the road

When a lot of people are out there I can see how crossfire could become an issue, although the caretaker (didn't get his name) said he was going to be working on a way to fix that.

Signage is a little lacking, but the course is by no means hard to navigate - again, an issue the caretaker said he was taking care of.

No water fountain(s) that I saw - not a big issue, I usually bring my own water - just being nit-picky
Other Thoughts: This course is, as StPaulie said, a little bit of a hidden gem - I just moved to Mobile recently and have tried a few of the other courses and I think on an aesthetic level this one is the coolest looking course - it plays around a large area near the Chickasaw civic center, a public pool, a church and a neighborhood - there's a creek (maybe it's more of a drainage ditch) running through it with little wooden bridges going across it and a fair amount of trees (the biggest hazard of the course though never VERY dense). Elevation comes into play on a good number of holes, there's also suspended basket (Hole 3). As I said signage is a little lacking, but once you find Tee 1 (near the pool on Court St.) the course isn't too hard to navigate. The hole on the concrete (I think it's 13) is kind of a pain for the simple fact that concrete eats discs, and if you're an amateur like me you probably don't have the accuracy necessary to make the shot from far away. If it had better signage and concrete tees it'd be an easy 4, maybe even a 4.5. All in all though it's a very cool course that I'd call my fave so far in Mobile - I'll definitely be back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Make-shift but interesting...

1    6/25/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: v0nn3gut
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has nice elevation changes and every hole has its own character. There's a hanging basket, a pin set in a map of America (painted onto a concrete expanse), a sweet downhill shot through a tunnel of trees, a church, etc... You don't get bored on this course.
Cons: Tee pads were dirt and there were no real signs to guide you through the course (just spray painted arrows on the ground).
Other Thoughts: If I lived in the area I would play this course again and again. If they got new tees and some signs this would be a 4 easily.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course W/ Tons of Character

1    6/28/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: looking4owls
Played: 62  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quirky, fun shots throughout. You use every disc in your bag, but make sure you bring your drivers. Hanging baskets, elevation, concrete "greens" are all really fun aspects of the course.
Cons: Dirt tees. Decievingly long. A little too long.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A really good course

1    6/28/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: Preach
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 38.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: loved the layout of this course. The holes offered a variety of challenges. The layout was easy to follow as they had painted arrows on the ground in preparation for a tournament. There was a good mixture of short and long holes, with one suspended basket.
Water did come into play as there is a drainage ditch running thoughout. Number 18 was the most challenging as you had to thread a shot through a small opening about halfway between the tee and the hole.
Cons: The water in the drainage ditch was pretty bad. Don't go there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for starters

5+    12/6/2008   11/6/2009
Review By: thebigE
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the few courses in the Mobile area that features a little elevation, located in a nice quiet neighborhood with laid back locals. This is one of the first courses I ever played, and it is a good throw on a sunny day. The centerpiece of this course is a creek that runs the length of the park and is in pay on a good number of the holes. Lots of neat features to play over and around, including the creek, a concrete amphitheater built into the side of a hill, a covered bridge and a gnarly old deadwood tree with dozens of discs tacked to it. There is a public pool on the grounds as well, though depending on the course set-up may or may not be in play. There is asome distance, but nothing monstrous, good variety of hyzers vs. anyhyzers. I need to say a little bit more about the creek and how it contributes to the difficulty of this course. This creek is a disc trap, at the bottom of a valley , high banks and dark shallow water with lots of undergrowth in warm months. I've lost two discs in there, and it is a rough spot. On many holes, you're either throwing alongside of the ditch, or over the ditch and valley from one rise to another. There are a couple of ace run shots in there, but the thing about this course is that it changes constantly. The last three times I've played it, there have been widely varying set-ups. That's why I'm harping on the features, which are the only real constant at this course.
Cons: The tee pads are inconsistent and rough in spots. It's definitely playable, not that big a deal, but nothing like some of the higher end courses in Mobile proper. But I gotta give the man who maintains the course, Cecil, his due because it's a big project that I think he pretty much handles by himself. Unless you play this course weekly, it will probably not have the same set-up more than once, which can get aggravating when you're searching for a tee pad you played last week only to find that it is nowhere to be found.
Other Thoughts: Cool course for a change when I get tired playing the cool courses in Mobile. It's about five minutes from the DGC at Chickasabogue Park, so between the two you can have a really varried and challenging day of golf.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.