Mobile (Chickasaw), AL 
Chickasaw Community Park Share
Uploaded By: TheGlueGunner Hole #16
3 / --   3 / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great course

5+    5/20/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: hammerhead611
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 0.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Little bit of everything on this course...elevation changes, water hazards, moderately wooded, and wide open
*Quiet park setting (though it will probably be overrun with kids from the neighboring apartment complex and neighborhood during the summer)
*Course is continually changed...you may play it one day then come back a week or so later and the baskets have been moved. Nice break from the monotony of the same course over and over
*Several benches and trash cans throughout the course
Cons: *The water in the "creek" looks like it could be nasty
*The park can become a playground for unsupervised kids when they aren't in school (played this past weekend and kids were climbing on the some of the baskets)
*Don't know how often the grass is cut, but the past couple of times I've been out there, the grass has been fairly high in some spots
*With the course being changed frequently, signage from the basket to the next hole would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This course is situated between a city park, church, and school. The park has a pool, tennis and basketball courts, small playground, library, and civic center.

With the current layout, play starts out with fairly straight throws on the first few holes. Holes of note are...
#3 (plays from the corner of the pool area across the basketball court, between the tennis courts and old building to a suspended basket).
#7 plays parallel to the highway, over the "creek", to a basket located in the corner of a small fenced in area.
#8 plays around the corner of one of the church buildings to a basket located in an old tree stump.
The next few holes bring elevation into play as you play down the hill, then cross the ditch for a hole parallel to the ditch, then back across the ditch and uphill.
#14 (fairly certain it's 14) plays under a large oak tree to the basket located about 3/4 of the way across a pavement area with a map painted on it (the basket is located in the Mobile area on the map).
Next 3 of holes bring elevation changes back into play, along with trees.
The last hole plays down a hill, across the creek, and back up the hill to the basket located near a ditch.

Chickasaw is a nice course, that brings a little bit of the other courses in Mobile into play with the elevation changes, "creek" water hazard, and trees.

UPDATE:
Played Chickasaw earlier in the week and again today and several holes were changed somewhat during the week. Updates are as follows:
Hole #4 basket has been moved up just over the small ditch in a cluster of trees
Hole #7 tee box has been moved back about 30'
Hole #8 tee box has been moved down by the ditch next to the manhole cover and basket has been moved out of stump, back about 150' (no more throwing around corner of school/church bldg
Hole #11 tee box has been moved back about 30' and basket is now short of the bridge and right on the edge of the ditch

UPDATE #2:
Played Chickasaw again and the last 3 holes have been changed up since last week.
#16--tee box has been moved back about 30' to the road exiting the school to the south
#17--tee box has been moved up and basket now on strip of land between the ditch and the houses bordering the park
#18--tee box has been moved down across the ditch and basket has been moved across ditch that runs behind the amphitheater

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Like A Box of Chocolates

1    12/18/2012   1/1/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Meeting Cecil, the King of Rocs and Rollers, who maintains the course.

Two (natural) tees per hole. Excellent use of available terrain.
Cons:
With no map, limited signage, and Cecil having the ability to move tees and baskets at his pleasure, this course could be difficult for a first-time/infrequent visitor to navigate.
Other Thoughts:
Course is located in a public park that diagonally stretches behind a few public buildings and some private houses. A stream (but with no chance of disc loss) runs down the center, with the land flat near the stream, but then sloping quickly upwards on both sides. Scattered pockets, and occasional lone, mid-to-large hardwoods are used well to create obstacles and windows.

I really enjoyed the setup of the course the day I played it. While definitely on the open side, the trees were utilized well to create challenging windows. Seven of the baskets were located near the water, so approach shots needed to be quite accurate. From the tee, the water was often at a very "annoying" distance for me, i.e. near my typical driving range. Elevation changes, none severe, appeared in various forms - flat, down-slope, up-slope, across-slope, up-n-over, across-valley. Shape-wise, straight off the tee, with the occasional left or right turn, but typically subtle, would serve in most cases.

Favourite hole: The day I played, #17. Initially flat and open, the grounds drops at the same time large hardwoods appear, creating a low window to hit. The ground levels out again as the stream makes an appearance, with the basket on the other side of it.

"Mobile" hole-13 is interesting, but bring a disc you don't mind having skip across rough asphalt.

Quite an enjoyable course - make the effort to visit if in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Chickasawesome

1    9/26/2012   9/26/2012
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very well maintained

Plenty of garbage cans and benches

variety of holes/shot opportunities with no hazards of a disc-losing nature

Elevation is always a plus in this town and this course has some - also a couple baskets are set higher up than ground level and hole 3 is suspended between trees by chains

Pro & Am tees

reasonably clean pot-o-gold port-o-john on site (the "facility" at Langan park made me regret being human)
Cons: natural dirt tees (not a huge minus to me)

a little cramped on the front 9 - play is confined between the neighborhood (so it feels like you're in someone's backyard) and a high traffic area - most of the course's soundtrack is provided by the road

When a lot of people are out there I can see how crossfire could become an issue, although the caretaker (didn't get his name) said he was going to be working on a way to fix that.

Signage is a little lacking, but the course is by no means hard to navigate - again, an issue the caretaker said he was taking care of.

No water fountain(s) that I saw - not a big issue, I usually bring my own water - just being nit-picky
Other Thoughts: This course is, as StPaulie said, a little bit of a hidden gem - I just moved to Mobile recently and have tried a few of the other courses and I think on an aesthetic level this one is the coolest looking course - it plays around a large area near the Chickasaw civic center, a public pool, a church and a neighborhood - there's a creek (maybe it's more of a drainage ditch) running through it with little wooden bridges going across it and a fair amount of trees (the biggest hazard of the course though never VERY dense). Elevation comes into play on a good number of holes, there's also suspended basket (Hole 3). As I said signage is a little lacking, but once you find Tee 1 (near the pool on Court St.) the course isn't too hard to navigate. The hole on the concrete (I think it's 13) is kind of a pain for the simple fact that concrete eats discs, and if you're an amateur like me you probably don't have the accuracy necessary to make the shot from far away. If it had better signage and concrete tees it'd be an easy 4, maybe even a 4.5. All in all though it's a very cool course that I'd call my fave so far in Mobile - I'll definitely be back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Make-shift but interesting...

1    6/25/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: v0nn3gut
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has nice elevation changes and every hole has its own character. There's a hanging basket, a pin set in a map of America (painted onto a concrete expanse), a sweet downhill shot through a tunnel of trees, a church, etc... You don't get bored on this course.
Cons: Tee pads were dirt and there were no real signs to guide you through the course (just spray painted arrows on the ground).
Other Thoughts: If I lived in the area I would play this course again and again. If they got new tees and some signs this would be a 4 easily.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Chickasaw park

1    7/19/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Here is a hidden jewel in the Mobile area worked into an older park and from what heard from the caretakers here mostly unused park. The park is tucked into a residential area that felt very safe and plenty of parking available. There are plenty of benches and sufficient trash cans available to keep the park clean. The two maintenance people I met were very personable and very helpful.
The course makes very good use of the terrain available and is well designed. At first view I was worried about interference with the rest of the facilities. This turns out to not be case as they are not used anymore other than the pool. This allowed the tennis courts, amphitheatre, snack bar and paved "four square" area to be incorporated into the course. The rolling hills provided elevation change hard to find in a costal area. The drainage ditch provided another nice challenge and I liked the placement of baskets on the "other" side of the ditch requiring more accuracy in you shots. The hanging basket was another fun touch. There is enough distance to satisfy the big arms and enough trees and other obstacles to force accurate shaped shots, make you think about how you will play each hole. Nice mix of long and short holes with definite ace runs available. With both long and short tees this is a course you can take new players to without discouraging them. All in all this is a very fun course to play.
Cons: Signs would help a lot here. There are some next tee signs and some arrows painted on the ground. These helped but I still had some issues finding my way around. The maintenance guy pointed out some of the holes to me and this helped a lot. Signs might be difficult here as I understand tee and basket placements are moved around often.
Other Thoughts: This course is obviously a labor of love with limited budget for the gentleman taking care of it. The tees are marked with a 6 by 6 post and are natural. The negative aspect of natural tees is limited by moving them around when they begin to wear. There is an assortment of baskets used that seem pretty old but well cared for. They caught my disc very well and did not affect my game. The day I played there had been a few days of heavy rain and it rained lightly while I was playing. The course held up real well with only one or two places with standing water. If I make it back to the area I will be back for another round.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course W/ Tons of Character

1    6/28/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: looking4owls
Played: 62  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quirky, fun shots throughout. You use every disc in your bag, but make sure you bring your drivers. Hanging baskets, elevation, concrete "greens" are all really fun aspects of the course.
Cons: Dirt tees. Decievingly long. A little too long.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A really good course

1    6/28/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: Preach
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 38.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: loved the layout of this course. The holes offered a variety of challenges. The layout was easy to follow as they had painted arrows on the ground in preparation for a tournament. There was a good mixture of short and long holes, with one suspended basket.
Water did come into play as there is a drainage ditch running thoughout. Number 18 was the most challenging as you had to thread a shot through a small opening about halfway between the tee and the hole.
Cons: The water in the drainage ditch was pretty bad. Don't go there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad but needs work

1    10/10/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good work out going up and down the hills. Different elevations. Some nice holes. Grounds are nicely kept. A challenge with different hole lenths.
Cons: Lack of signs to location. Lack of directional signs to the holes. Very confusing to find next hole if never played. Tee markings are lousy to determine between middle and advanced players. Need access to water after using port a potty.
Other Thoughts: With proper signs and a little more work this course can be much better. 3 out of 5 with potential.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Playing course!

1    4/16/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.8 Years
Pros: 1) This course is something different than the other courses in mobile. A lot of elevation changes and moderate tree cover offers a nice balance.

2)Benches and Trashcans abundant in this park.

3) Offers some man-made challenges as well. throwing over an ampitheatre, and around tennis courts and what i think was an old smokehouse. Much different than the typical course through the woods.

4)LOTS of signs directing you where to go. while some of the tees and holes are hard to find, often signs will direct you in the right direction

5) Moderately challenging, mostly due to the requirement of a wide range of shots. Beginners can play this course, but will struggle a little.
Cons: 1) While the ditch didn't smell too bad, and the water only seemed to be 6 inches deep in most places (It is a dry week for mobile though) I threw a disc down in there and got it back within about 2 minutes. Although, some areas of the creek do have steep sides. WARNING: Saw multiple snakes in the creek, be very aware of your surroundings when going into the creek. While the Person who takes care of the course Kills them when he sees them, they are still in the area.

2) Tee pads, while they are inconsistent, I don't mind too much, because they can at least be FOUND, unlike a few other courses in the area.

3)A few holes are very close to each other (at time of review the 3 and 10 holes we're right near each other, along with the tee for 4., so always watch for other players)

4) Baskets are varied in type from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: Loved the course, and can't wait to go back!

  An awesome Oasis

5+    4/27/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: Dayute
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I'll have to say that out of all the courses in Mobile this one is my favorite. Maybe because I play it the least, or because it has a wide variety of challenges instead of the usual found at the other courses around town. I've never felt crowded on this course which is also a big plus compared to the hoardes you'll find at Langan or Medal of Honor Parks. The locals are all laid back and nice especially the course superintendent Cecil who always seems to be around to tell you about new Pin placements and changes to the course which are very frequent. Great use of elevation and man-made as well as natural obstacles to really challenge every shot in your arsenal instead of just being a bomber course or deep-woods course. Natural Tee's are not bad at all as far as natural Tee's go, played enough yet not rutted from overplay. Tees are generally easy to find with signs pointing you to the next one when it gets a little confusing. Pin placement changes often and the basket positions are some of the smartest and difficult in the area with my favorite being the new "wall" basket placed on the edge of a nice drop-off which can really be challenging and provides you with several options of how to play the hole. This theme follows most of the course. You're always presented with several challenging options.
Cons: Concrete Tees would be nice but as much as this course changes would be impractical. My biggest gripe is the baskets, This would easily be one of my favorite courses if the baskets didnt suck so much. They are old, beat up, and they feel smaller than normal. Its like someone took a sledgehammer to the bottoms of ALL the baskets and bent them so they'd be smaller. The old chains really don't seem to grab discs at all and like to spit all your putts out. If it weren't for these crappy baskets this course would be perfect. If you're playing for the first time I would advise finding a guide as it is sometimes hard to find the next tee despite all the signage and figuring out which basket to throw to can be a little difficult but all baskets are clearly marked with hole numbers if you spend some time checking first. Since the course changes so often there are no maps available and the Tee's dont have any special signs telling you where the pin is.
Other Thoughts: This course is always clean, never crowded, and very well maintained. If they would invest in some new baskets this course would be one of my favorites. It is easy to find from I-65 and in a safe, comfortable neighborhood. In a city as strong in DG as Mobile is with many good courses this is the overlooked gem. If you are playing the area I'd definitely not skip over this one in favor of the more popular courses.

If anyone knows of a club I can support or Tournaments I can play in here to maybe get this course some new baskets let me know as new baskets would make this the best course in the area.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.