Mobile (Chickasaw), AL 
Chickasaw Community Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj Hole #6 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / --   3 / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Fun for starters

5+    12/6/2008   11/6/2009
Review By: thebigE
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the few courses in the Mobile area that features a little elevation, located in a nice quiet neighborhood with laid back locals. This is one of the first courses I ever played, and it is a good throw on a sunny day. The centerpiece of this course is a creek that runs the length of the park and is in pay on a good number of the holes. Lots of neat features to play over and around, including the creek, a concrete amphitheater built into the side of a hill, a covered bridge and a gnarly old deadwood tree with dozens of discs tacked to it. There is a public pool on the grounds as well, though depending on the course set-up may or may not be in play. There is asome distance, but nothing monstrous, good variety of hyzers vs. anyhyzers. I need to say a little bit more about the creek and how it contributes to the difficulty of this course. This creek is a disc trap, at the bottom of a valley , high banks and dark shallow water with lots of undergrowth in warm months. I've lost two discs in there, and it is a rough spot. On many holes, you're either throwing alongside of the ditch, or over the ditch and valley from one rise to another. There are a couple of ace run shots in there, but the thing about this course is that it changes constantly. The last three times I've played it, there have been widely varying set-ups. That's why I'm harping on the features, which are the only real constant at this course.
Cons: The tee pads are inconsistent and rough in spots. It's definitely playable, not that big a deal, but nothing like some of the higher end courses in Mobile proper. But I gotta give the man who maintains the course, Cecil, his due because it's a big project that I think he pretty much handles by himself. Unless you play this course weekly, it will probably not have the same set-up more than once, which can get aggravating when you're searching for a tee pad you played last week only to find that it is nowhere to be found.
Other Thoughts: Cool course for a change when I get tired playing the cool courses in Mobile. It's about five minutes from the DGC at Chickasabogue Park, so between the two you can have a really varried and challenging day of golf.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun short course

2-4    7/3/2004   7/3/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, relatively easy course, yet fun with the hills, obstacles, and even the creek.

A good course for beginners (beware the creek) and moderate players; top players will find it less-than-challenging.

Neighborhood park in a good residential area.

Little underbrush to search for discs; keep out of the ditch and you're probably not losing any plastic.
Cons: The teepads (well explained by earlier reviewers).

Not terribly challenging.
Other Thoughts: Course winds through a park with fairly big hills, large trees, a steep-sided drainage ditch, and among park features such as a covered bridge, swimming pool, amphitheatre (which you throw over). I only played during workdays while on vacation, but wondered whether the non-disc-playing public might be in the way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/22/2009   2/26/2009
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really fun course to play with a lot of shot variety and nice elevation change. It is a mostly open course, but the trees, the rolling hills and the ditch do a great job of forcing the shot. The ditch may be a disc eater, but the course is designed around it very well to give each shot an extra added challenge, aside from dodging the trees and other obstacles.

Navigation is not completely intuitive, but if you pay attention to the blue wooded posts with large white numbers of them, as well as the baskets with the large number plates on the rim facing the tee. The course flows well plus each hole has little red posts serving as the am tees.
Cons: I will echo the concern about the tee pads. Anywhere from slabs of concrete, to dirt tee pads, to no tee pads at all. Some of the posts list the distance to the basket, but some seem to be wrong and others are missing the distance completely. Also as mentioned in previous reviews, there is the issue of the different baskets, most of them very old and a bit outdated.

The ditch is indeed very nasty looking and will eat discs. I've heard reports of broken glass from bottles and such being at the bottom. I like the extra challenge of the ditch, but if you are not an experienced player then I suggest keeping your drive safely away if at all possible.
Other Thoughts: The basic distinction of this course is it has a great design, with a lot of elevation change and many interesting shots. However, the guy who designed the course, also takes care of the course and likes to change up the course every once in a while. The 3 times I have played this course have been completely different layouts (a few shots were the same, but the majority were different). The idea sounds neat, as it can keep the course from becoming boring for the locals, but it also prevents a standard set of tee pads and accurate/consistent tee signs. I would recommend playing this course if you are in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Abyss

1    12/6/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: FREE!!!
One thing I like about this course is that it had a ton of elevation changes. Uphill shots, down hill shots, up and over hill shots, and so on.
The tees are easy to find (big blue block with large white numbers on them).
There are also a set of short tees which are also easily spotted (smaller red posts with white tops - usually directly forward of the long tee).
Obstacles are plenty on this course, from stadium benches on an uphill shot, to shooting through a small gap between a building and the tennis court fences. Trees are often in play and of course bushes... plus there is a creek that runs trough the middle of the entire course.
The course is well laid out and walks fairly well. Even without a map you can make your way around this course... the tee block markers are very easy to see.
The baskets have metal plates with very large numbers on them, which are pretty easy to see from a long way off. Most of them were obvious which one you needed to shoot at. They also make a cool sound that you can hear all over the park when you hit the chains.
Cons: The Creek (Abyss); it smells pretty bad (but only up close) it looks like it's only about 6 inches deep, but even with the water about 4 feet from the top of the edge there was still a few places that we got a stick to go at lease 4 feet down. You can only see about 3 inches into it, so if you put a disc in there, it better be a floating disc... or you probably won't get it back. The creek comes into play on the majority of the holes and even forces you to throw across it. Beware of this creek... it will eat your disc!!! Also be careful on the holes that have baskets on the hill sides... if you miss and your disc rolls at all, it will probably make it into the creek.
The tee box areas are less than safe... the few that had some type of black top with rocks in it, well I was scared to throw off of them in fear of twisting my ankle, or worse. Then there were some that were dirt and had rocks or roots in the way, then some were mostly sand, and the rest were just worn down grass.
Not all of the tee markers have distance marked on them. None of them have pars marked on them.
The baskets are not all Mach 3 baskets like it says on the course info on this site... there is a mix of Chainstars, Mach 3, and mach 2, and I think I saw some disc catchers too. Some of these were also mounted at different heights.
Other Thoughts: This course was one of kind for me. I really did like the layout, and the elevation changes... I would like to play it again, but I doubt I ever will make it back there again.
I do however recommend this course if you are in the area, but if you only have time for one course in the Mobile area... this would be my # 4 pick.
If some money was spent on this park to put SAFE concrete tee pads or something of the sort and some distance markers, then this park would get at least a full mark higher from me.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Extra Discs!

1    12/6/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2008
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging Basket locations: Some of them were either tucked in next trees or bushes or perched up on the side of a hill.
Scenery: Clean nice park and surrounding area with no poison oak/ivy to speak of.
Amenities: Benches and Trash cans on every hole.
Marking: All tee boxes are marked and cages are labeled with metal signs which made an awesome sound with the chains.
Elevation Changes- Again, made for a challenging round of DG which is sure to make you scratch your head.
Cons: Tee Boxes: Or should I say, lack there of. Some were plain grass(ok), some were makeshift cement/blacktop slabs that were more like a small circle of cement(BAD), one was sand and others were just plain dirt.
Baskets: Most disc catchers were in okay shape, but there was a wide variety of types as well as heights for them so no putting flow could ever be reached.
THE "CREEK/SEWER": This thing runs pretty much the length of the course and comes into play on at least half of the holes. IT'S A DISC EATER! Not only is it deep(3+ ft in places), but too dark and nasty to see ANYTHING! Suggest a dragon or hydra on this course for sure.
Map: No map was available at the start. It looked like there was normally one there, but it was all out. You can figure the course out without it though.
Other Thoughts: This course is actually pretty sweet. If the tee boxes, cages and "CREEK/SEWER" weren't an issue this course would rank much higher. If you're in the area I'd suggest University of Southern Alabama, Chickasabouge or Langan Park over this one for sure.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.