Chippewa Falls, WI 
Chippewa Falls Middle School Share



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Not Bad

5+    8/4/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: BradWins
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: Very fun course once you get the hang of it. I play it at least 4 times a week. All of the holes are unique, so you aren't going to get bored, you will need to reach into your big ol' bag o' tricks to pull off a great game. And you get a good work out because the wooded half is a bit of a hike!
Cons: Very run down and in some serious need of maintenance. The tees are, well, what tees.. poor signage, some broken baskets, 1 trash can on whole course, and it is VERY easy to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Honestly, I think this course is very fun and challenging! I think most people just can't appreciate it because of how different and quirky it is. + it needs to be taken care of a lot better, but the idea is great. -PRO TIP- The first time you go to this course, bring someone who has played it before! You will get very confused without a guide.

 Don't waste your time

1    5/19/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: 8ceswild
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: There are baskets to catch discs.
Cons: Everything else.
I stopped here with a friend while on a road trip across the state. Why we chose this dump over another course along our path is unknown to me but it is what it is.
The course is run down, with missing signage and baskets. As mentioned in other reviews, holes 1,2, and 3 are gone which makes it FRUSTRATING for a first timer to know where to start from. The layout is an absolute joke!! Holes to across parking lots, roads, football fields, baseball diamonds, and down into a bug breeding zone filled with burning thistle! One hole in the woods has.....not exaggerating.....NO LANE! Impossible to shoot at the basket! I asked a local kid how to throw to it and he said, "just chuck it through the brush and hope it pops out the other side." HUH!?!? Then there is a hole like 80 feet long followed by one that is 600!!! The course was NOT designed by discers. You got to be hurting bad for some disc golf if you choose to play this dump. It speaks volumes for the lack of pride the city takes in thier park department and/or schools.
Other Thoughts: I will never waste time at this course again. If I was in the area I would rally like crazy to totally revamp the course layout and raise funds to upgrade items like adding SOME trash cans or some type of pads.

 Chippewa Falls Middle School

5+    3/14/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: SleekrBeekr
Played: 48  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2012
Pros: There are baskets to throw at.
The long holes offer a good chance to pull out the drivers and warm up the throwing arm. I often throw a few on the the football field hole, as it's 600+ ft.
The wooded holes give a good chance to work with mid-range and long putters.
Baskets up all year.
Cons: Five of the holes have been removed over the years and haven't been replaced. The first came out because the middle school built a new garage/storage building between the tee and the pin, it was hole #4. Holes #1 and 2 were removed so they could do some landscaping work, they could/should be put back. Hole #3 was probably removed because the basket was next to faculty parking. Hole #15 was taken out so they could clear some trees. The school added two "challenge" holes in the woods, one is a glorified putt, throwing down a steep hill into a ravine if over shot. The other is a blind hyzer running along side the hill, with a narrow fairway and thick trees and brush.
There is also a hole behind the school that is roughly 84 ft from tee to pin, a good hole to practice jump putts on.
Kids vandalize the signs and break glass bottles in the woods.
Other Thoughts: I'm a local and use this course often for practice, but it has gone down hill in the last 6 years or so.
This course could be restored with little work, as the school has stored all the removed baskets in their storage building. A few holes could be redesigned, if nothing more, just to add length.
Unfortunately, there isn't enough public interest in restoring this course. Which is a shame, as it could be a nice compliment to the great courses in the surrounding cities.

 Don't bother

1    10/2/2011   10/4/2011
Review By: Freebird
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: I thought hole 6 was fun, and there's plenty of parking. Hole 6 plays down a sharp drop into the creek bottom, but you can see the basket and if you can shape your shot right to left just a little it's a genuine ace opportunity, and there's a nice set of steps to get down.
Cons: Holes 1 & 2 don't exist, they must have been removed. We found the tee box for 3, and the box where the basket should have been, but no basket. Hole 5 and the "challenge hole" amount to nothing more than a great chance to lose a disc down into what was a wet muddy creek bottom with running water when we played. A short safari helped us to find 7 & 8, but the brush was so thick there was no way to throw a disc, so we had to skip them. The basket for 14 was nowhere near where the tee sign said it should be, and either 15 or 16 was completely missing. The tee boxes are just worn spots in the dirt, and a lot of tee signs are missing or inaccurate.
Other Thoughts: This course was kind of a good idea and has some potential. It should either be restored and maintained, or the equipment should be pulled and moved to somewhere it can be put to good use. As it exists, it was a frustrating bummer, and we won't bother to return.

 Chippewa Falls Middle School

1    6/23/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: SweetAl39
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers a couple of very challenging holes.
Cons: The challenging holes are down steep slopes heading toward a creek bottom in a heavily wooded area...it is so difficult, it isn't very fun. Other holes are so laughibly easy. Seemed like the course has not been maintained for a couple of years.
Other Thoughts: I could not find the first couple of holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Let the Name Fool You

1    7/19/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2008
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dirt tee boxes are decent. Tee signs are very nice, and informative.

A nice mix of wooded and open holes. Much more challenging than the average middle school dg course. Terrain in play on many holes, and a variety of risk reward shots through the trees, off cliffs, etc. You will need a variety of shots for this one.

The only thing missing here is water, which may flow in the spring through the bottom of the ravine (you'll see), but it was bone dry when I was there.
Cons: Some tee signs ripped out of the ground, (but still work)

Baskets and tee signs on holes 1,2,3 and 15 are pulled, apparently because of "kids leaving trash." Hopefully this situation is rectified and the course can be brought back up to 18 holes.

There is no possibility of adding a water hole, but some more holes around/across the ravine in the woods would be a welcome and challenging addition to a course with a variety of challenges already.

The missing holes, (#3 looked like a very interesting one that its a shame to lose) hold this course back from being better, but the holes still there are very nice
Other Thoughts: There is a fun "challenge hole" in the woods, which is unnumbered(wtf?), but can be used as another hole to bring the course up to 16 (if only they would put two more holes in the woods to complete it, with trash cans so people won't leave any trash)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center