Citronelle, AL 
Citronelle Municipal Park Share
Uploaded By: Heathen Hole #6 (Taken 2/2013)
4 / 445ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    4/24/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: hammerhead611
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Nice shaded course...last few holes open up a little
*Nice mixture of finesse holes and holes that allow to really let one fly
*Nice mixture of short and long holes
*Baskets are marked with red flags in the post of the basket.
*Tees are marked with distance, direction, and par (some could use repainting though)
Cons: *Several holes are fairly close together...cross play could be a problem if there are a bunch of people playing
*Course can be confusing on the front 9, as it isn't easy to tell which basket is the one for the hole you're playing
*No benches,bag holders, or trash cans. There was one picnic table about midway through the back 9 with a trash can. There were several plastic drink bottles and beer bottles/cans scattered throughout the course. I picked up several thinking the next hole would have a trash can only to find none.
*Sort of hard to find the next tee box as you can see several tees from the just completed hole. Some have a marker pointing the way to the next tee while some don't (I could not get a wifi signal so I couldn't pull up the map posted on here)
*Tee markers and direction markers could use a repainting.
*No toilets or water fountains on the course...there were a couple of port-a-potties near the parking lot and swimming area.
Other Thoughts: Today was the 1st time I played this course. It is a nice course. After finding the course, I drove to the check in station to pay the $1 fee only to find it closed. Found someone cutting grass around the parking lot at the ball fields and he told me not to worry about it. The course plays in a canopy of pine trees, providing plenty of shade. The last few holes are a bit more open, but still somewhat shaded. While it wasn't too bad today, I could see where the creepy crawlers, mosquitoes, gnats, biting flies, and bees/wasps, etc could be troublesome...better pack some bug spray. Snakes could also become an issue, especially closer to the water...actually surprised I didn't see any today (and with the pine needles and leaves on the ground, they will blend right in). I don't know if the golf course pro shop has drinks and snacks, but it is advisable to bring your own. There are several gas stations on the main road (Hwy 45) through Citronelle and one after you turn off of 45, so a forgotten drink or snack could mean a drive "back to town".

Several holes to note:
#5--hard right hand dog-leg (cannot see basket from tee)
#6--hard left hand dog-leg 9 (again cannot see basket). Also, do not over shoot the basket as it sets on the edge of a drop down to the lake. While there is some underbrush that could stop an errant throw, I can picture some discs lost to the lake here.
#9--while a straight hole, it plays almost 500', down a hill and back up
#11 and #13--tee boxes back up to each other, just a few feet apart
#14--throwing from the blue tee requires you to throw from across the street, toward the basket, which is setting on top of about a 15' drop-off
#18--just over 600'


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Light My Firebird

1    12/16/2013   1/3/2014
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 34.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Yep, its where the plant grows that the candle gets its scent [and bug-repellent properties] from; it also has a Civil War site known as "Surrender Oak".
This pleasant walk of a course exists at the boundary where hardwoods are starting to be prevalent among the pines, and rolling hills begin to break up the terrain. There's only a bit of pesky but relenting undergrowth to the left side of #s 5-8 and 16; the rest of the course is open tall-trunked fairways with a sandy, leaf and pine needled floor.
Only the holes closest to the parking lot are flattest: most travel downhill, uphill, or across a wide, gradual ravine that descends from the woods to the south and into the lake.
The water is only of real concern on #3, but truly blown throws on #s 5-6 might slip through enough shrubbery to get wet.
The natural tees showed evidence of recent play, but on a winter weekday we had the entire park to ourselves. The early morning slanting sun through the trees[the long, blurred shadows made me feel like I was speeding across the land as I walked] and mist on the lake was really entrancing---it probably took the 3 of us an hour to play the first 5-6 holes.
#s 5, 6, and 14 were notable placements, and the course map is mostly correct, though #9 has been greatly lengthened and #18 somewhat shortened.
The previously mentioned fire pit must have been a one-time thing, as the few ashes left had weeds and grass growing in them.
Cons: The natural tees aren't the best, but its typical of a certain % of Southern courses, so you should start getting used to them.
A bit of repetitiveness with tall trunks defining most of the throwing lanes.
The transitions from 8 to 9 and 15 to 16 aren't obvious, so keep your eyes open.
Not the easiest course to find, as its a few miles and turns to the SW of downtown Citronelle, which is also the closest place to find anything other than water.
Not really a con, but I think its lack of consistent use is due to the plethora of good Mobile courses, though this is only 30 min. away from central downtown.
Other Thoughts: $1 per person and well worth it. I believe they want you to pay at the office to the SE of the lake, but no one was there, and the ancient, roving maintenance man didn't want to take our money.
Decent indoor bathrooms on site; ballfields, playground and fishing to be had.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Lakeside course

1    12/16/2011   12/16/2011
Review By: tank4141
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lovely Lakeside holes, its one of the best courses I've played in this area
Cons: On hole 16 I believe there is an extremely large pit that is used apparently for burning brush. well this pit is positioned directly in the middle of the hole and my friends disc landed in it. Upon retreiving his disc he fell into a smouldiring pit of embers that caused beyond 3rd degree burns to his feet. We rushed him to the emergency room and hope for a full recovery but I would recomend avoiding that hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/27/2009   6/27/2010
Review By: jubbub
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very good course with some challenging sections. Long and short holes. Lots of trees, and my Discs are always attracted to them!

Secluded and Quiet
Cons: course sometimes is not mowed
Other Thoughts: My father-in-law used to play everything as a PAR 3, because when tournaments are held, that is what they classify each hole there. It makes it more difficult, especially when you reach the 600 foot holes

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great playing course!

2-4    6/6/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Great Playing course, even the 200-300ft holes are very well constructed

2) Played this one on a weekend and NO ONE was there. nice scenery, not crowded like many Mobile area courses are on the weekends

3) Hole 14 is quite possibly one of the most interesting holes i've ever played. 200' drive across a sand pit up to a hole 15' above your head on a cliff.

4) Not overgrown in most places. a welcome relief in the south in the summer

5) Spotty shading from the pine trees, another nice fact in summer

6) Par is fair on this course. while a 475' is a par 5, it is down a hill and up another, while hooking through the woods. while the 605' par 4 is more of a level open shot.

7) Requires Just about any type of shot you can think of.
Cons: 1) Hard to get to right now with the detour (follow the detour signs to the park for now)

2) sand tee pads

3)no benches or trashcans. while i don't mind, i know some people do

4) $1 fee to play (pay at the RV park station up the road from the course)
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses so far, only needs some teepads and maybe a few benches, and this would easily rate 4 stars or better. Easily worth the drive out of mobile to play.

As far as the fee to play goes. the RV office was closed when we finished playing this course, but there is a sign posted (on the disc golf billboard) that says there is a $1 fee to play, even though it does not seem strictly enforced.

Either way, the course is well worth the $1 to play


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Drive

2-4    4/10/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: thebeast175
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like this course.
Most holes have three tees and all of them have maps painted onto the tee markers. The Baskets are in good condition. The set up is great and each hole is easy to find as long as you read the markers. There is a good mix of distances. If you are a beginner then the red tees would be perfect. The pro tees are a challenge for me but I play close to even on on the Am. tees. Great scenery and would make for a great camp and play situation.
Cons: Almost all the tees are dirt/sand. The sand tees can be tricky. There are a few holes that go back and forth and have the same feel. Right now the bridge is washed out so you have to take the detour route to get there.
Other Thoughts: Take a day and play this course a couple of times. It is well worth the trip.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice place to play

1    7/20/2005   7/9/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is in a state-park-like county park, so the aesthetics are nice (peaceful, pretty, no bad neighborhood). It's situated among tall pines, partly in a developed area with grass and no underbrush, partly in woods that are not too dense. Good variety of hole design, some good use of elevation. Easy to follow routing.

If you're off the fairway, there's usually a chance to recover with an excellent upshot.

For campers, the course is only a few feet from the campground at one point.
Cons: Good holes, but no really great holes.

Sand teepads.
Other Thoughts: I played most of the Mobile courses during a blazing hot summer vacation. With the filtered shade of the pine trees and the mostly unblocked breeze off the lake, this was the most comfortable one.

Worth the drive out from Mobile.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 May 2009 Review

1    5/17/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: poling2482
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very fun and distinct course. Each hole offers something different and I actually had my first ace on this course, hole 11. The damn broke so the water is very low but still a beautifull course. Mutiple tees are clearly marked.
Cons: The 705 foot hole! Not many cons I can think of.
Other Thoughts: Worth the hour drive from Mobile. Update from previous review, they did not charge us the dollar to get in.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/22/2009   2/25/2009
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course in a forest of pine trees, with the ground coated by pine cones and pine needles. The tee signs are little wooden posts that contain the distance, par, and basic shape of the fairway. There are 3 sets of tees per hole, red (easiest), white, and blue (toughest). Some tees have the white and blue tee combined, in which case the post is painted both colors. The course flows well and navigation is fairly easy. On holes where you can not see the next set of tees after completing a hole, there are light blue wooden posts pointing the direction you should go to find the next tee.

Design wise, the course is excellent. There are tons of trees, but the fairways are well defined. There is a lot of shot variety and awesome elevation changes. There is little to no shule on most every hole. I only played the longest tees, but it looked like each set of tees correctly estimated the skill level necessary to enjoy playing this course.

The park is beautiful, with half of it being a golf course and the other half being a disc golf course amongst the pine trees, right next to a campground.
Cons: This course is located in a small town outside of Mobile, which already has a lot of courses, so it seemed like this course does not get played very often and does not have an established local club to help with upkeep.

My only real con is the fact that there are no tee pads. The tees were a mix of natural tees (pine needles and pine cones) and sand (which looked like it was put there on purpose, but is a terrible idea in my opinion). They also charge $1 to play the course, but it is certainly worth it.
Other Thoughts: I had heard good things about this course, but did not quite know what to expect being it does not get played all that often. I really enjoyed my round there and look forward to playing it again. If this course could get better tee pads and maybe a tad bit of upkeep, it would be a phenomenal course and I would adjust my rating. It is a fun, fair course, for all skill levels, so I would highly recommend playing this course if you are ever in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 need some mowing and tees to make it a 4.5

1    10/22/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 sets of tees allow for all skill levels from Top Pro to never played to play along together. Long and challenging from longs, with 4 holes well over 500' and one over 800'- and it's a tight, elevation hole. Scenic landscape of grassy hills covered with tall pines around a lake. 15' sand cliff with basket on edge of it. Well marked!
Cons: Nothing wrong with the design. No poorly thought out holes or bad lines. Not much rough or hazards, almost no ivy to be found in the park, little thorns. Fire ants. Dirt/sand tees can cause a bad drive. Needs to be mowed bad. 1$ to play (so low it's hardly a con).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.