Citronelle, AL 
Citronelle Municipal Park Share
Uploaded By: Heathen Hole #13 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 220ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    4/24/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: hammerhead611
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 0.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Nice shaded course...last few holes open up a little
*Nice mixture of finesse holes and holes that allow to really let one fly
*Nice mixture of short and long holes
*Baskets are marked with red flags in the post of the basket.
*Tees are marked with distance, direction, and par (some could use repainting though)
Cons: *Several holes are fairly close together...cross play could be a problem if there are a bunch of people playing
*Course can be confusing on the front 9, as it isn't easy to tell which basket is the one for the hole you're playing
*No benches,bag holders, or trash cans. There was one picnic table about midway through the back 9 with a trash can. There were several plastic drink bottles and beer bottles/cans scattered throughout the course. I picked up several thinking the next hole would have a trash can only to find none.
*Sort of hard to find the next tee box as you can see several tees from the just completed hole. Some have a marker pointing the way to the next tee while some don't (I could not get a wifi signal so I couldn't pull up the map posted on here)
*Tee markers and direction markers could use a repainting.
*No toilets or water fountains on the course...there were a couple of port-a-potties near the parking lot and swimming area.
Other Thoughts: Today was the 1st time I played this course. It is a nice course. After finding the course, I drove to the check in station to pay the $1 fee only to find it closed. Found someone cutting grass around the parking lot at the ball fields and he told me not to worry about it. The course plays in a canopy of pine trees, providing plenty of shade. The last few holes are a bit more open, but still somewhat shaded. While it wasn't too bad today, I could see where the creepy crawlers, mosquitoes, gnats, biting flies, and bees/wasps, etc could be troublesome...better pack some bug spray. Snakes could also become an issue, especially closer to the water...actually surprised I didn't see any today (and with the pine needles and leaves on the ground, they will blend right in). I don't know if the golf course pro shop has drinks and snacks, but it is advisable to bring your own. There are several gas stations on the main road (Hwy 45) through Citronelle and one after you turn off of 45, so a forgotten drink or snack could mean a drive "back to town".

Several holes to note:
#5--hard right hand dog-leg (cannot see basket from tee)
#6--hard left hand dog-leg 9 (again cannot see basket). Also, do not over shoot the basket as it sets on the edge of a drop down to the lake. While there is some underbrush that could stop an errant throw, I can picture some discs lost to the lake here.
#9--while a straight hole, it plays almost 500', down a hill and back up
#11 and #13--tee boxes back up to each other, just a few feet apart
#14--throwing from the blue tee requires you to throw from across the street, toward the basket, which is setting on top of about a 15' drop-off
#18--just over 600'


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Light My Firebird

1    12/16/2013   1/3/2014
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Yep, its where the plant grows that the candle gets its scent [and bug-repellent properties] from; it also has a Civil War site known as "Surrender Oak".
This pleasant walk of a course exists at the boundary where hardwoods are starting to be prevalent among the pines, and rolling hills begin to break up the terrain. There's only a bit of pesky but relenting undergrowth to the left side of #s 5-8 and 16; the rest of the course is open tall-trunked fairways with a sandy, leaf and pine needled floor.
Only the holes closest to the parking lot are flattest: most travel downhill, uphill, or across a wide, gradual ravine that descends from the woods to the south and into the lake.
The water is only of real concern on #3, but truly blown throws on #s 5-6 might slip through enough shrubbery to get wet.
The natural tees showed evidence of recent play, but on a winter weekday we had the entire park to ourselves. The early morning slanting sun through the trees[the long, blurred shadows made me feel like I was speeding across the land as I walked] and mist on the lake was really entrancing---it probably took the 3 of us an hour to play the first 5-6 holes.
#s 5, 6, and 14 were notable placements, and the course map is mostly correct, though #9 has been greatly lengthened and #18 somewhat shortened.
The previously mentioned fire pit must have been a one-time thing, as the few ashes left had weeds and grass growing in them.
Cons: The natural tees aren't the best, but its typical of a certain % of Southern courses, so you should start getting used to them.
A bit of repetitiveness with tall trunks defining most of the throwing lanes.
The transitions from 8 to 9 and 15 to 16 aren't obvious, so keep your eyes open.
Not the easiest course to find, as its a few miles and turns to the SW of downtown Citronelle, which is also the closest place to find anything other than water.
Not really a con, but I think its lack of consistent use is due to the plethora of good Mobile courses, though this is only 30 min. away from central downtown.
Other Thoughts: $1 per person and well worth it. I believe they want you to pay at the office to the SE of the lake, but no one was there, and the ancient, roving maintenance man didn't want to take our money.
Decent indoor bathrooms on site; ballfields, playground and fishing to be had.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Lakeside course

1    12/16/2011   12/16/2011
Review By: tank4141
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lovely Lakeside holes, its one of the best courses I've played in this area
Cons: On hole 16 I believe there is an extremely large pit that is used apparently for burning brush. well this pit is positioned directly in the middle of the hole and my friends disc landed in it. Upon retreiving his disc he fell into a smouldiring pit of embers that caused beyond 3rd degree burns to his feet. We rushed him to the emergency room and hope for a full recovery but I would recomend avoiding that hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/27/2009   6/27/2010
Review By: jubbub
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very good course with some challenging sections. Long and short holes. Lots of trees, and my Discs are always attracted to them!

Secluded and Quiet
Cons: course sometimes is not mowed
Other Thoughts: My father-in-law used to play everything as a PAR 3, because when tournaments are held, that is what they classify each hole there. It makes it more difficult, especially when you reach the 600 foot holes

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great playing course!

2-4    6/6/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Great Playing course, even the 200-300ft holes are very well constructed

2) Played this one on a weekend and NO ONE was there. nice scenery, not crowded like many Mobile area courses are on the weekends

3) Hole 14 is quite possibly one of the most interesting holes i've ever played. 200' drive across a sand pit up to a hole 15' above your head on a cliff.

4) Not overgrown in most places. a welcome relief in the south in the summer

5) Spotty shading from the pine trees, another nice fact in summer

6) Par is fair on this course. while a 475' is a par 5, it is down a hill and up another, while hooking through the woods. while the 605' par 4 is more of a level open shot.

7) Requires Just about any type of shot you can think of.
Cons: 1) Hard to get to right now with the detour (follow the detour signs to the park for now)

2) sand tee pads

3)no benches or trashcans. while i don't mind, i know some people do

4) $1 fee to play (pay at the RV park station up the road from the course)
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses so far, only needs some teepads and maybe a few benches, and this would easily rate 4 stars or better. Easily worth the drive out of mobile to play.

As far as the fee to play goes. the RV office was closed when we finished playing this course, but there is a sign posted (on the disc golf billboard) that says there is a $1 fee to play, even though it does not seem strictly enforced.

Either way, the course is well worth the $1 to play


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Drive

2-4    4/10/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: thebeast175
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like this course.
Most holes have three tees and all of them have maps painted onto the tee markers. The Baskets are in good condition. The set up is great and each hole is easy to find as long as you read the markers. There is a good mix of distances. If you are a beginner then the red tees would be perfect. The pro tees are a challenge for me but I play close to even on on the Am. tees. Great scenery and would make for a great camp and play situation.
Cons: Almost all the tees are dirt/sand. The sand tees can be tricky. There are a few holes that go back and forth and have the same feel. Right now the bridge is washed out so you have to take the detour route to get there.
Other Thoughts: Take a day and play this course a couple of times. It is well worth the trip.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.