Pocatello, ID 
Upper Ross Park Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #3 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 309ft.   3 / 336ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pocatello pleasure

2-4    6/1/2013   12/18/2013
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 27  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: Beautiful park with nice grass.
Good use of elevation.
Decent variety of hole lengths.
Trees and OB are moderately challenging.
Course designer(s) made good use of the park's natural features.
#8 is one of my all-time favorite holes.
Cons: Can get crowded.
Only 9 holes, but space is limited.
No long holes for extra challenge.
Pros and long bombers won't be challenged much.
#5 tee is sloped downhill and makes for tricky balancing.
Other Thoughts: The park is very attractive and the holes are well placed. Plenty of trees and precise shots required. Holes 6-9 are very cool and make good use of the park's natural features. #8 is particularly cool with the hole tucked back into a gap in the rock wall. If you're in the area, it's worth a few rounds. I wish I lived closer to Pocatello. I've only played in the winter and early morning so I haven't encountered the crowds that many others complain about. We combine it with Sister City for a nice double feature.

 Good Beginner Course

5+    8/7/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: codyrunsfast
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The first 5 holes are perfect for beginners as there is basically no chance for losing a disc and they are pretty straightforward.
- The course is well-kept, the grass is full, the trees are healthy, the baskets are in great condition, etc.
- Almost every hole has a secondary position to allow for variety, though it isn't too drastically different (Also, I'm not sure how often they are changed).
- In the evening hours there are thick trees to the west which give shade.
- The holes offer the opportunity to try different types of throws including hyzers, rollers, and left to right, and right to left fades.
- Wait times are short
Cons: - The course is very short and some people might not find it very challenging
- The last 3 holes have thick trees to the right that are part of a rocky area that might make disc finding hard.
- It's only 9 holes (9 short holes, all par 3)
Other Thoughts: It is a very fun course to play but it is almost too low-key sometimes. I have already shot a 27 (even) on the course and I've been playing for less than a year. It is a great course to just play with some friends who might be learning and I often try new throws that I wouldn't try on a more risky course. The elevation changes on a few holes (#3, #4, and #5). #4 is an uphill throw with a wide-open basket, and the other two are down hill, both with the baskets hidden which adds some fun if you practice some new throws. Overall, the course is very easy to shoot par on most of the holes but I find it more fun now to try some different types of throws.

(9/4/2011 update) After playing a few more courses around I have decided that Ross Park is one of my favorite courses simply because to perform well you must be able to throw a number of different shots, it is easily accessible, and the course is in great condition. The short holes and size of the course keep it from being better than 3.5 but if it had 9 more holes or if the ones it had required more than 1 throw to reach the pin then this course would score higher with me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    12/28/2010   12/29/2010
Review By: pacatak
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun Course. Easy, but has variety, esp with the Lava Rock in teh area. Some interesting holes.

The Tee Pads are made of pavers, got good grip

signage is excellent.

Elevation Changes
Cons: A little short, would be great if they added 9 more on lower ross park
Other Thoughts: We played in the dead of winter so no crowding issues to speak of. The park is on a hill with outcroppings of Lava rock. I really enjoyed the elevation changes and the interesting rock formations that were included in the course. Each Hole has an A and B position.

The asphalt running trail and a road go right through the course and are "out of bounds" Even when they are between you and the hole. Kinda annoyed me, but i guess it simulates a creek.

Very fun course. I recommend it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great short course

1    6/17/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: Topher
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good use of existing trees and other obstacles
-great for families and beginners
-easy to access with stroller
-well kept, attractive landscape/grass
Cons: -most holes are really short
-too busy, with lots of beginners
Other Thoughts: This course would be easy to crank out in 20 minutes if it's not busy. It was way too busy when I was there and had to wait 5-10 minutes at each tee. The wait is caused by both high use in general as well as a high use by beginners. I talked with a local who said it usually is busy, especially on nice days, but he told me to try out Bengal Ridge. It is a far more challenging course, definitely not one for beginners from what I understand, and according to this guy, it is not very busy because it is so hard that most people go to this course. I still think it's worth checking out since how it's right off the interstate, and is a well kept course. Also, on the East side of the course (on the other side of trees and cliffs) there is the rest of Ross park which has good picnic areas, a skatepark and waterpark.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

7/7/2007   7/10/2007
Review By: mesaranger
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shot selections needed,
dark brick tee boxes,
elevated tee boxes
very clean design and park conditions were in good shape
Cons: Would have liked a map to find the hole placement faster, pretty easy to do after a few minutes though
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice 9 hole course tucked away in a sweet little town. Ross Park has a Veteran memorial in the center with a family park and disc golf course around it. As the PDGA course directory tells you the first tee box is directly behind the restrooms. Ample parking is available in the same area. Something else I noticed that the local Dg club had done was planted a donation box to the left of the first tee box. What a great idea for the local club to maintain the course and budget for future club needs. Each tee box is labeled with a white 2 x 4 with red box numbers and distance to the pin below. Each tee box was made up of a dark Denver colored brick and pressure treated lumber for a perimeter. Bar none the parks and rec crews and the local DG club has made every effort in preserving the cleanliness of this park. The baskets were the Innova disc catchers with the round base, pad locked to the concrete pad of course.

Standing on the first tee box was a little confusing because directly in front of you is three baskets that could be your potential target. However with a quick look around it's easy to figure out the layout of the course. All of the holes were 189' to 260' and very well placed. The park is also comprised of various elevations and is plentiful with large mature trees. This and the pin placement make each shot selection and execution a challenge.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.