Reidsville, NC 
Lake's Edge DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tyson Hole #7
4 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Excellent front 9, great course overall.

1    4/5/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 48  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful terrain, well designed, hardware in great shape. Massive concrete tees. Nice use of elevation and water. On the front 9 especially, the fairways are nice and open, making the challenging hole layouts fair and fun.
Cons: The back 9 is a good bit denser than the front 9, which added a bit of an annoyance factor. I would have rated the front 9 a solid 4.5, but the back 9 took away from it a bit. For example, the 12th and 18th fairways are very tight and winding, making the shots very difficult. I understand that difficulty is good, but this was not exactly fun. Otherwise, great course.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 was one of the most beautiful sets of 9 holes I've seen. Gorgeous mossy fairways and old trees with massive root systems. The back nine just seemed like it has not been maintained as well or something. Definitely worth your time if youre in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Gettin Edgy

1    10/29/2013   10/30/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Overall Lake's Edge is a more technical wooded style course where shot placement and hitting early gaps is key.

Most of the wooded holes are stretched out and play tight because you're having to put more distance on the disc. On many of the holes most players would be happy to play a solid safe shot off the tee that gives you an easier par; birds are very tough to come by.

The biggest strength of Lake's Edge is a nice balance in shot type. It gives you different looks on holes that bend left and right and has some more unconventional shapes. There's also a few open holes to give more balance to a mostly wooded design.

There's also a good blending in of multiple par holes that force you to really consider where you're landing the disc in set up for the next shot.

Some holes have multiple pads.

Another strong point of the course is the land it was built on. It has solid elevation changes throughout. There's not major up and downs but the landscape is rugged and fractal as it moves down towards the lake.

The lake does come in to play on the later part of the course where you have a couple holes playing up to and along it with one shot you throw over the water. There's also a creek running through parts of the course that gives you an OB obstacle to deal with.

Scoring well here is a tall order because the multi-shot holes really force you to make a great shot off the tee and some of the par 3's are long and tight. There are some easier holes mixed in and on those you have to get your birds. If you do hit early on many holes a par can be tough to come by because the rough can be punishing and thick.

Course flows well, no long transitions and it's pretty easy to figure out where the next tee is. The course starts and finishes right near the parking lot.

Some of the better holes include...

1 - Beautiful valley hole right out of the gate, good starter hole.

9 - Nice looking hole that is one of the better designed holes on the course. Goes open to wooded for 369' with a tough but fair line.

18 - Good finishing hole that forces a tight tunnel straight down a creek to hopefully set up an easier approach back up the hill to the basket. Really good eye appeal on this hole.

Equipment - Huge concrete level pads. Some really nice pads out here and that's a huge plus. The baskets are Discatchers and are still in really good shape. They were spray painting the chains when I was out there so they'll bright and shiny for a while. There are tee signs but they're the more basic drawn type with hole distance listed.

Benches and trashcans throughout the course. Some holes have a really helpful arrow pointing the direction the fairway bends where the basket isn't visible.

Atmosphere - It's a really beautiful course on a nice piece of park land. The elevation changes and the lake setting really make for a pleasant round. The course does a good job of flowing out of the way of the other park activities to give you a more remote feeling during the round.

The park also has an office right at 1's pad which has sells refreshments and some disc golf related items like discs and shirts.
Cons: Layout - My biggest problem with this course is that many holes fall in that tweener range where the shape and length of the fairways make it difficult to have reasonable scoring opportunities on the par 3's or to easy of a bird on what is called a par 4. Often solid shots off the tee leave you with short boring upshots for par.

Another big con for me are the landing zones, or lack thereof. A good deal of the multi shot holes just have poorly designed areas in which to land your tee shot. I saw many good shots off the tee be in the fairway yet still have weird angles or routes to move forward from. This to me seems to be a trend in many Schwarz designed courses.

The course also lacks a fun factor for me. It's a course where you're more forced to play a lot of safe shots off the tee and if you do mess up you have some tough rough to contend with.

Again and just to reinforce this point I think many of the basket locations weren't optimal. Many just seemed to be tucked a bit to far back in an area that made it overly tough to reach for most players.

Equipment - Biggest con here is the tee signs. The hole pics aren't very descriptive and the dotted lines showing the fairway are basic and not always that accurate.

Atmosphere - No real complaints here at all. There are a good amount of exposed roots and places to trip up but that's nothing that unusual for the area.

You will also need to stop by the park office and pay a fee per carload to play the course which was $2. Not a con for me but to some it may be.
Other Thoughts: I think Lake's Edge is one of the better designed courses you'll find from Schwarz.
Here the landscape itself in a way saves the day because it would be hard to put a course here that wasn't well received but I think some more thought could of been put in to many of the multi-shot holes.

Overall it's a pretty good course and a place to come if you want a challenge, especially you're ability to throw long mid shots or hone in your fairway drivers.

It's definitely one of the better courses in this part of NC so if you're in the area I'd highly recommend making this your first stop.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Time - Great Course

2-4    1/29/2013   1/31/2013
Review By: grhomes
Played: 49  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very large, well made, concrete pads on every hole. Signage is well done, with lines and distances fairly well described. Great use of the land, with elevation changes mixed with trees and water.
Cons: The mud. Actually I should call it clay. There isn't much anyone can do about it, but be warned you WILL slip on a few tee pads if you aren't aware, the stuff will cake on your shoes. Also the course is very RHFH-anhyzer demanding. Holes 14 and 15 come to mind, with little to no reasonable shot available, and are probably far-fetched. #7 could probably use a redesign, the mando asks a little too much and birdie is out of the question unless you band a 100' putt.
Other Thoughts: It's $2 a vehicle to visit the park, which is honestly a great thing. It keeps the course/area well maintained and the dg'ers to serious folk only. The shop also has plastic for sale, with some surprisingly decent stuff for sale.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Gourmet Course

1    11/20/2012   1/12/2013
Review By: WillAnderson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wonderful Course! After paying $2 & signing in, players are presented with a color map/score card which makes an awesome souvenir. The course offers variety, and you'll likely use every disc in the bag. Short holes, dog legs, elevations down & up, tight fairways & forgiving ones with hazards lurking to catch bad lines. RH flick & lefties will shoot higher. The signs are well done, allowing for easy planning & tackling each hole. The course, as the name implies, rests beside a beautiful lake (which you throw over x2 on the back 9.) Many creeks, hills, & well done bridges & pathways to navigate the course salt the landscape. The setting is serene & offers plenty of privacy. I can't see how a player wouldn't fall in love at first round. It's challenging & rewarding & relaxing just to be on this woodsy course. Very clean.
Cons: More benches and trash cans would be nice! The tee pads are fairly small compared to some of the bigger run-up ones found in TN. Weak RH flicks or players with no anyhyzer RHBH might find a portion of the course difficult, but my girlfriend didn't.
Other Thoughts: It's worth every penny!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lakes Edge AWESOME

2-4    9/12/2012   9/12/2012
Review By: xsteppsx
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: No Hole is the same
Fun to play very tricky

Cons: In my opinion a LEFTY would have it made at this course
Other Thoughts: Its only $2 to get in the park PER CAR its well worth it. There is alot of benches to relax on, a nice store at the beginning of the course, nice shaded course. CONCRETE pads!!!!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Worth a drive

2-4    9/9/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course built in a small lakeside park. There are soccer fields, horse shoes, basketball courts, and camping available. There is also a store to sign in that carries discs, drinks and some snacks. Good clean restrooms are available also. And heck, there's even a nice boat ramp and dock if you'd like to do some fishing.

Good signs at the tee pads showing hole layout, line and length. And very large concrete tee pads. There are short and long pads at most holes.

Course offers excellent variety. There are short wooded holes, monstrous wooded holes and some open holes. There is a little bit of elevation both up and down. I would call this a technical course, but there are a few chances to throw a driver in the open.

You will need to use every shot and every disc in your bag here. Nothing repetitive.

Good bridges and clear walkways. Navigation is easy, and upkeep is well done.

There are a couple holes along the water too. 15 plays with a swampy arm of the lake on your left, and tight wooded lines to hit to get to the basket. 16 plays over the swampy arm from the long pad to the tune of 270'. There is also a shorter pad for those that don't want to brave the water, or weeds depending on the lake level.
Cons: #7 plays along a fenced in area that has a mando and a sharp right turn. Seemed a little forced in with that much room in the park. Not a great hole.

#8 is a sharp hyzer route around some trees to the basket. But there is a thumber or FH route over the gravel road. Might need a mando there.

There are a few holes that are a little tight and over grown. Having played this course a few times I knew where to target, but the lines needed seem a little odd to me, and not obvious the first time playing here. If you enjoy tight technical holes this may not be an issue for you.

While technically there are 2 lake holes they are neither scenic or that risky. 15 might be risky due to random tree bounces more so than any risk of throwing directly into the water.

Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play. There are enough open holes to balance out the tough technical holes even if you are not a fan of the punishing long wooded shots.

If you enjoy holes with multiple bends and turns you'll enjoy this course. #10 is a nice shot that makes you thread a shot through the woods to an open landing area. Then you need to throw a RHBH hyzer around some more trees to a basket in an open field.

#12 is a Nevin-like wooded hole that combines 520' of fairway with some very tight gaps. I blew up and shot a 7! My buddy played it well, just missed a 3, and took a nice 4. So even though it is intimidating it can be tackled with good accuracy.

If you're in NC and you like courses like Rockness, Nevin, or Elon Angry Beaver, you'll like Lake's Edge. There is a lot of fun shots, and no negatives big enough to keep you away.

There is a $2 fee per vehicle entering the park.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/25/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Some much variety its crazy.
-Shop for food and discs
-Up/down left/right
-Water holes ;)
-Discatchers
-Easy to navigate
Cons: -Not really true alternate pin placement at the park just at tournaments which change the whole par of the course.
Usually just one single line to throw on.
Other Thoughts: The only reason this course doesnt get a 4.5 is no alternate pins and no WOW factor when it comes down to it. the course is so solid but nothing super creative i.e. Mandos/elevated baskets.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/3/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: Plankeye
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an 18 hole course where several holes have a short tee pad or a short pin placement. Each hole is unique and you will not get bored playing the course.

At the visitor center near the first hole, you can get a scorecard and a pencil. The scorecards are very nice but only have the long pin placement and/or short tee sign distances. It does not have the distances on the few holes where there is a short pin. I have never played the holes in their short pins as I think they are only used for tournaments. Also in the shop you can buy snacks, drinks, water, gatorade, and even beanie-weenies! They also sell discs, hats, shirts, and fishing gear. There is a unisex bathroom in the shop as well.

Many of the baskets cannot be seen from the fairway but there are signs that point you in the direction your discs need to go. Most of the signs are at the spot where you would want your disc to turn so you have a little idea of where the good landing spots are on the longer more difficult holes.



Cons: Some of the tee-signs are not accurate. Some holes have a sharper turn than advertised.

Hole's 14 and 15 are the least fair holes on the course. Hole 15 has been cleaned up some to make it a little easier but if you land on the right side of the fairway you can forget about saving a 3 even if you are only 50 feet away. On the left side you have the lake so you have to pick your poison. If the one tree off of the tee on hole 14 was removed, the hole would be a lot fairer to both right and left handed players....currently a lefty has a lot easier time with this hole than a righty. And it is still a difficult short for a lefty!

More benches are needed out there.
Other Thoughts: There is a $2 fee to enter the park. If the shop was not there, this course would not have gotten a 4 but a 3.5.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Real Solid Golf

2-4    4/22/2011   4/22/2011
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Solid Golf Holes. Reidsville had some really solid golf to be played. Fair woods holes, nice open bombers, mixed open/woods holes, elevation, righty, lefty, straight, OB, water… it just a really well thought out course design.
- Par 4's. I would say there are probably five legit Par 4's on the course. Holes 4, 10, 12 and 18 required you to throw a perfect drive to a precise landing zone in order to throw a second shot through a gap in order to get into some sort of putting position. And, Hole 11, a wide-open 600'+ downhill bomb with an OB treeline to the left, an OB road to the right, and a pin placement perfectly nestled in between the two where they come together. Although reachable in 1 by the biggest of arms, I would say the pin position's proximity to OB and length of the Hole would demand a Par 4 label.
- Beautiful Concrete Tees. The most beautiful, large, smoothly textured, concrete tee-pads you ever wanted to see.
Cons:
- A Few Questionable Fairways. A few of the holes had some really questionable fairways. Tiny gaps in the woods that had to be hit sideways on hyzer lines or two-finger roller lines if you wanted to be successful.
- Hole 18. I loved the championship feel of Hole 18: Par 4, memorable, makes you play golf… However, because you're playing up a steep walled ravine, the landing zone that is required off the tee-pad is a bit unfair in that you have to throw and absolutely perfect shot off the tee and then hope to get really lucky to not roll down the steep hill into the OB lined creek.
Other Thoughts:
- Recreational Pars Labeled. This is not a big deal to me; I just used common sense to figure out what was what and came up with a Par of 59. Labeled Par is 66… I shot a 56.
- Overall… I thought Reidsville was a blast; so much so, that I had to go around a second time. I love that some of the Holes are outright birdie holes in that you feel like you have to get them, while other Holes are placement, play smart, golf Holes. I also like the way the course played in and out of the woods several times. A few of the Holes are questionable, but on the whole the course was fantastic.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 So close

2-4    11/20/2010   11/23/2010
Review By: Frank Delicious
Played: 46  Reviewed: 4
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Holes that were really fun to play on this course: 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10*,11,13,16,17. Those are all holes that I would rate as above average. Yes even hole 11 the wide open hole. I like that they mixed that hole into there b/c it makes you change your mindset from tight wooded shots to open distance shots and then they promptly throw you back into the woods on a super tight tee shot on hole 12. The fairway on all the above listed holes were clear and fair and for the most part appropriately sized for the distance (as in the longer the hole, the wider the fairway). Only one basket was placed in what I would consider a dumb location but I think it is due to how the hole was designed (hole 15). All the other holes were on greens that allowed you a putt from any angle if you were within 30'.

The teepads and quality of tee signs and signage to next tees was top notch. I had no problem navigating the course .

The course was very clean which is probably b/c it is in a park that one has to pay to enter ($2, which is worth it). The park also has a shop at hole 1 that carries discs, food and drinks and has clean bathrooms.


*teeshot only
Cons: My biggest con with this course was the tee signs. While well made and very nice they did not accurately represent a lot of holes. Hole 17 was the most misleading. The sign represents it as a gentle (maybe 20-30 degrees of turn) anny but it is actually a very sharp, almost dog leg shot. If you are on a tee and you can't see the basket, I suggest you walk at least some of the fairway to get a better idea of the hole.

Holes 14 and 15 were really dumb holes and felt like they were forced into the design after the fact. In fact I almost went to hole 16 tee after 13 b/c it flowed that way and only signage kept me from going there. Those two holes seem like someone realized they only had 16 holes and needed to add two really quickly. Hole 15 also had the only badly placed basket also; it was probably only 8' from water. It was probably placed that close to the water b/c if you moved it farther right (away from water) it gets way too close to 14's tee.

Hole 12 is a badly designed hole, it goes from almost impossible teeshot to easy layup. The teeshot is an anny down a fairway about 10' wide with a few badly placed trees that will knock down anything not absolutely laced.

Hole 18 has the potential to be a great finishing hole. The biggest problem with the hole is there are a lot of 2-4" trees in the middle of the fairway that can knock you down into the creek the runs down the middle of the fairway. If they would just cut those trees down, the hole would still be a challenging hole with a tee shot that requires distance and accuracy to be put in a good position for a 3 but as it is now there is more luck than skill off the tee.
Other Thoughts: Short pads would be nice on this course. There are two already in place that shorten the 600' hole to 400' and lets people not throw over the water on 16. There are a lot of lengthy holes that could use some Am pads though (4, 5, 9, 10, 12, 13, 18). I played with my wife who is a rec player who had a tough time and saw quite a few groups of casuals really struggling out there on the longer holes. Anyone below a solid intermediate player might get frustrated at this course and a few well placed Am tees would solve that issue and speed up play for a lot of people.

This course was an odd mix of holes that I really liked intermingled with a some holes that I hated. I think the last 1/3 of the course containing most of the bad holes left me with a bad taste in my mouth and I would probably rate this course higher if I played the holes backwards.

Last thing: watch out for random people walking through the woods. I had hikers/campers walk into the fairways on hole 2, 7, and 8 and none of them realized they were walking into a DG course.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.