Reidsville, NC
Lake's Edge DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tyson Hole #2
3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Gettin Edgy

1    10/29/2013   10/30/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Overall Lake's Edge is a more technical wooded style course where shot placement and hitting early gaps is key.

Most of the wooded holes are stretched out and play tight because you're having to put more distance on the disc. On many of the holes most players would be happy to play a solid safe shot off the tee that gives you an easier par; birds are very tough to come by.

The biggest strength of Lake's Edge is a nice balance in shot type. It gives you different looks on holes that bend left and right and has some more unconventional shapes. There's also a few open holes to give more balance to a mostly wooded design.

There's also a good blending in of multiple par holes that force you to really consider where you're landing the disc in set up for the next shot.

Some holes have multiple pads.

Another strong point of the course is the land it was built on. It has solid elevation changes throughout. There's not major up and downs but the landscape is rugged and fractal as it moves down towards the lake.

The lake does come in to play on the later part of the course where you have a couple holes playing up to and along it with one shot you throw over the water. There's also a creek running through parts of the course that gives you an OB obstacle to deal with.

Scoring well here is a tall order because the multi-shot holes really force you to make a great shot off the tee and some of the par 3's are long and tight. There are some easier holes mixed in and on those you have to get your birds. If you do hit early on many holes a par can be tough to come by because the rough can be punishing and thick.

Course flows well, no long transitions and it's pretty easy to figure out where the next tee is. The course starts and finishes right near the parking lot.

Some of the better holes include...

1 - Beautiful valley hole right out of the gate, good starter hole.

9 - Nice looking hole that is one of the better designed holes on the course. Goes open to wooded for 369' with a tough but fair line.

18 - Good finishing hole that forces a tight tunnel straight down a creek to hopefully set up an easier approach back up the hill to the basket. Really good eye appeal on this hole.

Equipment - Huge concrete level pads. Some really nice pads out here and that's a huge plus. The baskets are Discatchers and are still in really good shape. They were spray painting the chains when I was out there so they'll bright and shiny for a while. There are tee signs but they're the more basic drawn type with hole distance listed.

Benches and trashcans throughout the course. Some holes have a really helpful arrow pointing the direction the fairway bends where the basket isn't visible.

Atmosphere - It's a really beautiful course on a nice piece of park land. The elevation changes and the lake setting really make for a pleasant round. The course does a good job of flowing out of the way of the other park activities to give you a more remote feeling during the round.

The park also has an office right at 1's pad which has sells refreshments and some disc golf related items like discs and shirts.
Cons: Layout - My biggest problem with this course is that many holes fall in that tweener range where the shape and length of the fairways make it difficult to have reasonable scoring opportunities on the par 3's or to easy of a bird on what is called a par 4. Often solid shots off the tee leave you with short boring upshots for par.

Another big con for me are the landing zones, or lack thereof. A good deal of the multi shot holes just have poorly designed areas in which to land your tee shot. I saw many good shots off the tee be in the fairway yet still have weird angles or routes to move forward from. This to me seems to be a trend in many Schwarz designed courses.

The course also lacks a fun factor for me. It's a course where you're more forced to play a lot of safe shots off the tee and if you do mess up you have some tough rough to contend with.

Again and just to reinforce this point I think many of the basket locations weren't optimal. Many just seemed to be tucked a bit to far back in an area that made it overly tough to reach for most players.

Equipment - Biggest con here is the tee signs. The hole pics aren't very descriptive and the dotted lines showing the fairway are basic and not always that accurate.

Atmosphere - No real complaints here at all. There are a good amount of exposed roots and places to trip up but that's nothing that unusual for the area.

You will also need to stop by the park office and pay a fee per carload to play the course which was $2. Not a con for me but to some it may be.
Other Thoughts: I think Lake's Edge is one of the better designed courses you'll find from Schwarz.
Here the landscape itself in a way saves the day because it would be hard to put a course here that wasn't well received but I think some more thought could of been put in to many of the multi-shot holes.

Overall it's a pretty good course and a place to come if you want a challenge, especially you're ability to throw long mid shots or hone in your fairway drivers.

It's definitely one of the better courses in this part of NC so if you're in the area I'd highly recommend making this your first stop.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Time - Great Course

2-4    1/29/2013   1/31/2013
Review By: grhomes
Played: 44  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very large, well made, concrete pads on every hole. Signage is well done, with lines and distances fairly well described. Great use of the land, with elevation changes mixed with trees and water.
Cons: The mud. Actually I should call it clay. There isn't much anyone can do about it, but be warned you WILL slip on a few tee pads if you aren't aware, the stuff will cake on your shoes. Also the course is very RHFH-anhyzer demanding. Holes 14 and 15 come to mind, with little to no reasonable shot available, and are probably far-fetched. #7 could probably use a redesign, the mando asks a little too much and birdie is out of the question unless you band a 100' putt.
Other Thoughts: It's $2 a vehicle to visit the park, which is honestly a great thing. It keeps the course/area well maintained and the dg'ers to serious folk only. The shop also has plastic for sale, with some surprisingly decent stuff for sale.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worth a drive

2-4    9/9/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course built in a small lakeside park. There are soccer fields, horse shoes, basketball courts, and camping available. There is also a store to sign in that carries discs, drinks and some snacks. Good clean restrooms are available also. And heck, there's even a nice boat ramp and dock if you'd like to do some fishing.

Good signs at the tee pads showing hole layout, line and length. And very large concrete tee pads. There are short and long pads at most holes.

Course offers excellent variety. There are short wooded holes, monstrous wooded holes and some open holes. There is a little bit of elevation both up and down. I would call this a technical course, but there are a few chances to throw a driver in the open.

You will need to use every shot and every disc in your bag here. Nothing repetitive.

Good bridges and clear walkways. Navigation is easy, and upkeep is well done.

There are a couple holes along the water too. 15 plays with a swampy arm of the lake on your left, and tight wooded lines to hit to get to the basket. 16 plays over the swampy arm from the long pad to the tune of 270'. There is also a shorter pad for those that don't want to brave the water, or weeds depending on the lake level.
Cons: #7 plays along a fenced in area that has a mando and a sharp right turn. Seemed a little forced in with that much room in the park. Not a great hole.

#8 is a sharp hyzer route around some trees to the basket. But there is a thumber or FH route over the gravel road. Might need a mando there.

There are a few holes that are a little tight and over grown. Having played this course a few times I knew where to target, but the lines needed seem a little odd to me, and not obvious the first time playing here. If you enjoy tight technical holes this may not be an issue for you.

While technically there are 2 lake holes they are neither scenic or that risky. 15 might be risky due to random tree bounces more so than any risk of throwing directly into the water.

Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play. There are enough open holes to balance out the tough technical holes even if you are not a fan of the punishing long wooded shots.

If you enjoy holes with multiple bends and turns you'll enjoy this course. #10 is a nice shot that makes you thread a shot through the woods to an open landing area. Then you need to throw a RHBH hyzer around some more trees to a basket in an open field.

#12 is a Nevin-like wooded hole that combines 520' of fairway with some very tight gaps. I blew up and shot a 7! My buddy played it well, just missed a 3, and took a nice 4. So even though it is intimidating it can be tackled with good accuracy.

If you're in NC and you like courses like Rockness, Nevin, or Elon Angry Beaver, you'll like Lake's Edge. There is a lot of fun shots, and no negatives big enough to keep you away.

There is a $2 fee per vehicle entering the park.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Real Solid Golf

2-4    4/22/2011   4/22/2011
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Solid Golf Holes. Reidsville had some really solid golf to be played. Fair woods holes, nice open bombers, mixed open/woods holes, elevation, righty, lefty, straight, OB, water… it just a really well thought out course design.
- Par 4's. I would say there are probably five legit Par 4's on the course. Holes 4, 10, 12 and 18 required you to throw a perfect drive to a precise landing zone in order to throw a second shot through a gap in order to get into some sort of putting position. And, Hole 11, a wide-open 600'+ downhill bomb with an OB treeline to the left, an OB road to the right, and a pin placement perfectly nestled in between the two where they come together. Although reachable in 1 by the biggest of arms, I would say the pin position's proximity to OB and length of the Hole would demand a Par 4 label.
- Beautiful Concrete Tees. The most beautiful, large, smoothly textured, concrete tee-pads you ever wanted to see.
Cons:
- A Few Questionable Fairways. A few of the holes had some really questionable fairways. Tiny gaps in the woods that had to be hit sideways on hyzer lines or two-finger roller lines if you wanted to be successful.
- Hole 18. I loved the championship feel of Hole 18: Par 4, memorable, makes you play golf… However, because you're playing up a steep walled ravine, the landing zone that is required off the tee-pad is a bit unfair in that you have to throw and absolutely perfect shot off the tee and then hope to get really lucky to not roll down the steep hill into the OB lined creek.
Other Thoughts:
- Recreational Pars Labeled. This is not a big deal to me; I just used common sense to figure out what was what and came up with a Par of 59. Labeled Par is 66… I shot a 56.
- Overall… I thought Reidsville was a blast; so much so, that I had to go around a second time. I love that some of the Holes are outright birdie holes in that you feel like you have to get them, while other Holes are placement, play smart, golf Holes. I also like the way the course played in and out of the woods several times. A few of the Holes are questionable, but on the whole the course was fantastic.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Better than I expected

1    10/15/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 9.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good wooded course overall. Two-thirds of the course is very solid, with the last third not up to the same level.
- The first six holes were great, as close to perfect as a mid-level course can play. They're the perfect mix of elevation, doglegs, straight shots and length; each hole really had a different look to it. It also ends with an exciting final 3 holes.
- #1 is a great opening hole. Relatively short hole, at 218 ft, that goes down & up a hill through a narrow fairway. Depending on how aggressive you want to be with your first shot of the day will affect whether you try for a birdie or play it safer for an easy 3.
- This is a very solid wooded course. Only 1 completely open hole (#11) with two others partially open. If you're not a fan of trees, don't play here.
- Great use of the terrain. Solid mix of up & down holes; water coming in to play on several holes.
- Course emphasizes accuracy more than length. There are some longer holes, but even these can be handled easily with station-to-station shots, rather than pulling out the driver.
- Wonderful park with lots of amenities. The park store behind the first has a decent selection of discs.
- I liked the miniature benches set up between trees on the back 9.
Cons: My biggest problem with the course is that there are several poorly designed holes that stand out like sore thumbs. As mentioned above, the first six holes are fun, enjoyable holes. Then you get to #7. It plays around a fenced-in parking lot where all the park vehicles are stationed. You lose that wooded-hole feel real quick once you get here.
- #10 uses a gravel road as part of its fairway. There probably could have been a better layout than this.
- Several other holes on the back 9 had poorly designed, or virtually non-existent, fairways. The back 9 felt rough around the edges; that work still needed to be done on some of the holes.
- A couple holes play a little too close to the water that the lost disc factor is really high. A bad bounce off a tree on #12, 15 or 16 can spell doom for a disc.
- The listed par is obviously aimed for recreational players. We all should be aiming to shoot better than 66.
- No water fountains or restrooms throughout the course. You'll have to stop by the store before teeing off.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned, this course was close to being very good. A couple below average holes somewhat took the luster off an otherwise great course.
- The course's top holes, to me are: #1 (mentioned above), #11 (the open, downhill hole) & 16 long (throwing over the water) & the two long uphill holes (#4 & 18).
- For a regional perspective, this course had the feel of a tougher Reedy Creek with some Yadkin County thrown into the mix.
- This course had some great scenic views. Standing on #11 tee, looking toward the basket with the lake in the background, was a great view.
- This course can easily get overlooked because it's a bit out of the way. My buddy & I only saw one other person the whole time. It was good for us, but a shame overall because the course is worth the drive and the couple bucks to play. Make the trip worthwhile and play a couple of rounds.
- I'm giving this course a 3.5 with a caveat. I'd rate it a 3.25 because it's a notch below my other 3.5-rated courses, but better than the 3.0s. If the several lesser-quality holes were improved, I would rank this in the 3.5 - 3.75 range.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2011
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's worth the entry fee! After reading the other reviews in time order you get the sense that it is improving as time goes on.
-great tee signs
-clean and scenic
-challenging with variety
-nice concrete tee pads
-risk/reward (obstacles,water, elevation)
-easily navigated...maps available
-shop with discs and supplies
-camping on site
Cons: Not many...

- maybe too challenging for beginners (they will still have fun though)
Other Thoughts: I actually camped here and had a great time. The campground area was nice and it wasn't too far to walk to the course from our site. The park staff are amazingly friendly! I will be back for more.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Beautiful Woods Course

1    12/17/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: AdamCaudle
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Really fun shots/gaps
- Challenging fairways
- Good signs, baskets, and tee's
- Creek and lake in play
- Decent use of elevation
- Lots of forced Hyzer/Anhyzer shots
- Shop with discs, drinks and snacks
- Nice scorecards/maps available
-
Cons: - A few fairways need trees taken out
- 16 needs a clear gap from the pro tee.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quality

5+    6/8/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 94  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well thought out, well designed course. Contains good variety as well as length. Definitely some legit par 4's on here, requiring some strategy and good placement. Mostly wooded, makes great use of elevation which is surprisingly ample considering it is around a lake. Very scenic, saw a deer. A couple of nice open holes. Fairways very well defined and clean, underbrush very minimal. The holes were generally equal in terms of straight, curve left and right, and a few nice "S-curve" fairways. Incorporates lake nicely. Great signage and flows seamlessly. The park office/pro shop actually has a good selection of discs, bags, hats and t shirts, even some Discmania discs.
Cons: Only a few holes had multiple tees. Not many benches, very few trash cans. That's about it. Even if you don't like water holes, there is little chance of losing a disc b/c it seems pretty shallow. $2 car entry fee but well worth it. After hole 13, the pars become fairly ridiculous where you are automatically playing to save bogey b/c the switchback fairways defy natural golf lines, forcing you to lay up each throw for placement. I don't mind that too much but unless you can literally thread needles with a disc, you're playing for bogey which sucks. #14, 15, 18 and to a lesser extent 17 is like this.
Other Thoughts: Signature/Favorite Hole: #12. a sweet, challenging par 5 with creek and a winding fairway.
A must play. One of the nicest and most fun I've played. Great park, has restrooms, fishing, etc. Apparently any problems with the course being "rough" due to newness is no more, had a great time.

I downgraded this course a little bit b/c of the last con I listed. If these fairways were more realistic/fair, it would rate a solid 4-5 discs for me. I don't mind the dreaded, near impossible to par hole occasionally, but here these holes kind of gang up on you on the back nine.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.