Reidsville, NC 
Lake's Edge DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tyson Hole #1
3 / 218ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Sign



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Excellent front 9, great course overall.

1    4/5/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 43  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful terrain, well designed, hardware in great shape. Massive concrete tees. Nice use of elevation and water. On the front 9 especially, the fairways are nice and open, making the challenging hole layouts fair and fun.
Cons: The back 9 is a good bit denser than the front 9, which added a bit of an annoyance factor. I would have rated the front 9 a solid 4.5, but the back 9 took away from it a bit. For example, the 12th and 18th fairways are very tight and winding, making the shots very difficult. I understand that difficulty is good, but this was not exactly fun. Otherwise, great course.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 was one of the most beautiful sets of 9 holes I've seen. Gorgeous mossy fairways and old trees with massive root systems. The back nine just seemed like it has not been maintained as well or something. Definitely worth your time if youre in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/25/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Some much variety its crazy.
-Shop for food and discs
-Up/down left/right
-Water holes ;)
-Discatchers
-Easy to navigate
Cons: -Not really true alternate pin placement at the park just at tournaments which change the whole par of the course.
Usually just one single line to throw on.
Other Thoughts: The only reason this course doesnt get a 4.5 is no alternate pins and no WOW factor when it comes down to it. the course is so solid but nothing super creative i.e. Mandos/elevated baskets.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/3/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: Plankeye
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an 18 hole course where several holes have a short tee pad or a short pin placement. Each hole is unique and you will not get bored playing the course.

At the visitor center near the first hole, you can get a scorecard and a pencil. The scorecards are very nice but only have the long pin placement and/or short tee sign distances. It does not have the distances on the few holes where there is a short pin. I have never played the holes in their short pins as I think they are only used for tournaments. Also in the shop you can buy snacks, drinks, water, gatorade, and even beanie-weenies! They also sell discs, hats, shirts, and fishing gear. There is a unisex bathroom in the shop as well.

Many of the baskets cannot be seen from the fairway but there are signs that point you in the direction your discs need to go. Most of the signs are at the spot where you would want your disc to turn so you have a little idea of where the good landing spots are on the longer more difficult holes.



Cons: Some of the tee-signs are not accurate. Some holes have a sharper turn than advertised.

Hole's 14 and 15 are the least fair holes on the course. Hole 15 has been cleaned up some to make it a little easier but if you land on the right side of the fairway you can forget about saving a 3 even if you are only 50 feet away. On the left side you have the lake so you have to pick your poison. If the one tree off of the tee on hole 14 was removed, the hole would be a lot fairer to both right and left handed players....currently a lefty has a lot easier time with this hole than a righty. And it is still a difficult short for a lefty!

More benches are needed out there.
Other Thoughts: There is a $2 fee to enter the park. If the shop was not there, this course would not have gotten a 4 but a 3.5.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of the Triad

5+    11/16/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signage on every hole
Water shots come into play
True par 4's and 5's on the course with no possible way of deucing.
Course continues to get better fairways the more it is played.
Recent PDGA event has kept this course in the eye of many triad players. long wooded shots are a mainstay at this course.
Benches at almost every hole.
Alternate teepads for some holes to make things a little easier.
Amazing club house that sells drinks, discs, and food (NO TAX!)
Cons: 3 holes in particular are just not very well thought out. (15, 14, 17) These are spray and pray holes, very easy to kick way off line, the off the fairway growth hasn't been cleaned yet.
Other Thoughts: This is a gem, and worth playing all the time. I wish I was closer, as this course would be a mainstay for me.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Course in the Triad

2-4    7/3/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: axl_rose
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean park free of litter and alcohol bottles.

Challenging holes with many elevation changes

Good mix of open and wooded holes

Well marked course path easy to follow.
Cons: I don't really have any cons for this course. I have no complaints
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in the triad as far as I am concerned. I am not pro but have been playing for almost five years now and I would say this course would offer a good challenge to those who have played disc golf for more than a year. Playing this course will give you a good workout because sometimes it feels like you are on a hike. The layout is excellent from hole to hole, the tees are easy to find and clearly marked. My two favorite holes on this course are 10 and 11. This course has becoma a weekly stop for me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Whoa! What a challenge!

2-4    12/7/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: hycard
Played: 48  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent signage on every tee / hole.

Begins with wooded holes played across sloping ravines with creekbeds and well-placed trees restricting disc placement.

Trails through course are above average. Bridges and benches throughout.
Lake hazard comes into play on back nine (last seven holes) requiring accurate throws.
Cons: $2 entry is worth the price.

Way too challenging for beginning discgolfers, yet extremely fun. Neither a con, though.

Other Thoughts: Well maintained park with all the amenities is very clean and family-oriented.
Park office has pro shop, snack bar, restrooms, and overly helpful staff.
Well designed map/scorecard available at office.

Update..1-24-09...Course is in better condition: improved tee pads, benches, and fairways.

Update.. 2010....Fairways more defined.
Alternate basket placement on longer holes adds a new level to this already spectacular course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.