Reidsville, NC 
Lake's Edge DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tyson Hole #3
3 / 244ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Sign



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 So close

2-4    11/20/2010   11/23/2010
Review By: Frank Delicious
Played: 46  Reviewed: 4
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Holes that were really fun to play on this course: 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10*,11,13,16,17. Those are all holes that I would rate as above average. Yes even hole 11 the wide open hole. I like that they mixed that hole into there b/c it makes you change your mindset from tight wooded shots to open distance shots and then they promptly throw you back into the woods on a super tight tee shot on hole 12. The fairway on all the above listed holes were clear and fair and for the most part appropriately sized for the distance (as in the longer the hole, the wider the fairway). Only one basket was placed in what I would consider a dumb location but I think it is due to how the hole was designed (hole 15). All the other holes were on greens that allowed you a putt from any angle if you were within 30'.

The teepads and quality of tee signs and signage to next tees was top notch. I had no problem navigating the course .

The course was very clean which is probably b/c it is in a park that one has to pay to enter ($2, which is worth it). The park also has a shop at hole 1 that carries discs, food and drinks and has clean bathrooms.


*teeshot only
Cons: My biggest con with this course was the tee signs. While well made and very nice they did not accurately represent a lot of holes. Hole 17 was the most misleading. The sign represents it as a gentle (maybe 20-30 degrees of turn) anny but it is actually a very sharp, almost dog leg shot. If you are on a tee and you can't see the basket, I suggest you walk at least some of the fairway to get a better idea of the hole.

Holes 14 and 15 were really dumb holes and felt like they were forced into the design after the fact. In fact I almost went to hole 16 tee after 13 b/c it flowed that way and only signage kept me from going there. Those two holes seem like someone realized they only had 16 holes and needed to add two really quickly. Hole 15 also had the only badly placed basket also; it was probably only 8' from water. It was probably placed that close to the water b/c if you moved it farther right (away from water) it gets way too close to 14's tee.

Hole 12 is a badly designed hole, it goes from almost impossible teeshot to easy layup. The teeshot is an anny down a fairway about 10' wide with a few badly placed trees that will knock down anything not absolutely laced.

Hole 18 has the potential to be a great finishing hole. The biggest problem with the hole is there are a lot of 2-4" trees in the middle of the fairway that can knock you down into the creek the runs down the middle of the fairway. If they would just cut those trees down, the hole would still be a challenging hole with a tee shot that requires distance and accuracy to be put in a good position for a 3 but as it is now there is more luck than skill off the tee.
Other Thoughts: Short pads would be nice on this course. There are two already in place that shorten the 600' hole to 400' and lets people not throw over the water on 16. There are a lot of lengthy holes that could use some Am pads though (4, 5, 9, 10, 12, 13, 18). I played with my wife who is a rec player who had a tough time and saw quite a few groups of casuals really struggling out there on the longer holes. Anyone below a solid intermediate player might get frustrated at this course and a few well placed Am tees would solve that issue and speed up play for a lot of people.

This course was an odd mix of holes that I really liked intermingled with a some holes that I hated. I think the last 1/3 of the course containing most of the bad holes left me with a bad taste in my mouth and I would probably rate this course higher if I played the holes backwards.

Last thing: watch out for random people walking through the woods. I had hikers/campers walk into the fairways on hole 2, 7, and 8 and none of them realized they were walking into a DG course.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Better than I expected

1    10/15/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good wooded course overall. Two-thirds of the course is very solid, with the last third not up to the same level.
- The first six holes were great, as close to perfect as a mid-level course can play. They're the perfect mix of elevation, doglegs, straight shots and length; each hole really had a different look to it. It also ends with an exciting final 3 holes.
- #1 is a great opening hole. Relatively short hole, at 218 ft, that goes down & up a hill through a narrow fairway. Depending on how aggressive you want to be with your first shot of the day will affect whether you try for a birdie or play it safer for an easy 3.
- This is a very solid wooded course. Only 1 completely open hole (#11) with two others partially open. If you're not a fan of trees, don't play here.
- Great use of the terrain. Solid mix of up & down holes; water coming in to play on several holes.
- Course emphasizes accuracy more than length. There are some longer holes, but even these can be handled easily with station-to-station shots, rather than pulling out the driver.
- Wonderful park with lots of amenities. The park store behind the first has a decent selection of discs.
- I liked the miniature benches set up between trees on the back 9.
Cons: My biggest problem with the course is that there are several poorly designed holes that stand out like sore thumbs. As mentioned above, the first six holes are fun, enjoyable holes. Then you get to #7. It plays around a fenced-in parking lot where all the park vehicles are stationed. You lose that wooded-hole feel real quick once you get here.
- #10 uses a gravel road as part of its fairway. There probably could have been a better layout than this.
- Several other holes on the back 9 had poorly designed, or virtually non-existent, fairways. The back 9 felt rough around the edges; that work still needed to be done on some of the holes.
- A couple holes play a little too close to the water that the lost disc factor is really high. A bad bounce off a tree on #12, 15 or 16 can spell doom for a disc.
- The listed par is obviously aimed for recreational players. We all should be aiming to shoot better than 66.
- No water fountains or restrooms throughout the course. You'll have to stop by the store before teeing off.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned, this course was close to being very good. A couple below average holes somewhat took the luster off an otherwise great course.
- The course's top holes, to me are: #1 (mentioned above), #11 (the open, downhill hole) & 16 long (throwing over the water) & the two long uphill holes (#4 & 18).
- For a regional perspective, this course had the feel of a tougher Reedy Creek with some Yadkin County thrown into the mix.
- This course had some great scenic views. Standing on #11 tee, looking toward the basket with the lake in the background, was a great view.
- This course can easily get overlooked because it's a bit out of the way. My buddy & I only saw one other person the whole time. It was good for us, but a shame overall because the course is worth the drive and the couple bucks to play. Make the trip worthwhile and play a couple of rounds.
- I'm giving this course a 3.5 with a caveat. I'd rate it a 3.25 because it's a notch below my other 3.5-rated courses, but better than the 3.0s. If the several lesser-quality holes were improved, I would rank this in the 3.5 - 3.75 range.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2011
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's worth the entry fee! After reading the other reviews in time order you get the sense that it is improving as time goes on.
-great tee signs
-clean and scenic
-challenging with variety
-nice concrete tee pads
-risk/reward (obstacles,water, elevation)
-easily navigated...maps available
-shop with discs and supplies
-camping on site
Cons: Not many...

- maybe too challenging for beginners (they will still have fun though)
Other Thoughts: I actually camped here and had a great time. The campground area was nice and it wasn't too far to walk to the course from our site. The park staff are amazingly friendly! I will be back for more.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 ball golf style course AWSOME

5+    4/1/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: nice pads, layout, club house, and park. has par 3s 4s and 5s. great for the am as well as the advanced. a few wather holes, along with a few field holes. mandos ans pro tees. cant give this course enough credit enjoy!
Cons: you got to pay $2 to play. but if every time i paid $2 i got to play a course of this calibur, i would pay to play forever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Other Thoughts: make sure you have enough time to play two rounds. itss worth it then some!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of the Triad

5+    11/16/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signage on every hole
Water shots come into play
True par 4's and 5's on the course with no possible way of deucing.
Course continues to get better fairways the more it is played.
Recent PDGA event has kept this course in the eye of many triad players. long wooded shots are a mainstay at this course.
Benches at almost every hole.
Alternate teepads for some holes to make things a little easier.
Amazing club house that sells drinks, discs, and food (NO TAX!)
Cons: 3 holes in particular are just not very well thought out. (15, 14, 17) These are spray and pray holes, very easy to kick way off line, the off the fairway growth hasn't been cleaned yet.
Other Thoughts: This is a gem, and worth playing all the time. I wish I was closer, as this course would be a mainstay for me.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Too tight = luck necessary

2-4    9/27/2008   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some really tremendous holes with long shots necessary. Also, many wooded holes with accuracy necessary. Love the holes that are multiple shot par 4's and 5's. Water is in play on much of the back 9 which is fun because of the thought/strategy required with those shots.
Cons: Just way too many "chuck and pray" shots for my liking. I don'd mind tight, wooded shots, but there at least needs to be a distinct fairway or clear view of what you are "supposed" to do. Too many of these holes don't even have a fairway. The $2 entry fee isn't outrageous, but adds a little inconvenience.
Other Thoughts: The well designed holes are absolutely fantastic. Then, there are just some holes that seem to have been thrown in randomly without clearing out a path to the basket. Disc golf is a game of skill and I don't care much for those holes/courses where luck plays such a major role.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Beautiful Woods Course

1    12/17/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: AdamCaudle
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Really fun shots/gaps
- Challenging fairways
- Good signs, baskets, and tee's
- Creek and lake in play
- Decent use of elevation
- Lots of forced Hyzer/Anhyzer shots
- Shop with discs, drinks and snacks
- Nice scorecards/maps available
-
Cons: - A few fairways need trees taken out
- 16 needs a clear gap from the pro tee.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Course in the Triad

2-4    7/3/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: axl_rose
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean park free of litter and alcohol bottles.

Challenging holes with many elevation changes

Good mix of open and wooded holes

Well marked course path easy to follow.
Cons: I don't really have any cons for this course. I have no complaints
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in the triad as far as I am concerned. I am not pro but have been playing for almost five years now and I would say this course would offer a good challenge to those who have played disc golf for more than a year. Playing this course will give you a good workout because sometimes it feels like you are on a hike. The layout is excellent from hole to hole, the tees are easy to find and clearly marked. My two favorite holes on this course are 10 and 11. This course has becoma a weekly stop for me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quality

5+    6/8/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well thought out, well designed course. Contains good variety as well as length. Definitely some legit par 4's on here, requiring some strategy and good placement. Mostly wooded, makes great use of elevation which is surprisingly ample considering it is around a lake. Very scenic, saw a deer. A couple of nice open holes. Fairways very well defined and clean, underbrush very minimal. The holes were generally equal in terms of straight, curve left and right, and a few nice "S-curve" fairways. Incorporates lake nicely. Great signage and flows seamlessly. The park office/pro shop actually has a good selection of discs, bags, hats and t shirts, even some Discmania discs.
Cons: Only a few holes had multiple tees. Not many benches, very few trash cans. That's about it. Even if you don't like water holes, there is little chance of losing a disc b/c it seems pretty shallow. $2 car entry fee but well worth it. After hole 13, the pars become fairly ridiculous where you are automatically playing to save bogey b/c the switchback fairways defy natural golf lines, forcing you to lay up each throw for placement. I don't mind that too much but unless you can literally thread needles with a disc, you're playing for bogey which sucks. #14, 15, 18 and to a lesser extent 17 is like this.
Other Thoughts: Signature/Favorite Hole: #12. a sweet, challenging par 5 with creek and a winding fairway.
A must play. One of the nicest and most fun I've played. Great park, has restrooms, fishing, etc. Apparently any problems with the course being "rough" due to newness is no more, had a great time.

I downgraded this course a little bit b/c of the last con I listed. If these fairways were more realistic/fair, it would rate a solid 4-5 discs for me. I don't mind the dreaded, near impossible to par hole occasionally, but here these holes kind of gang up on you on the back nine.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 C = needs more development

1    11/15/2007   4/23/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2009
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Note: I played this course shortly after it opened. This review reflects the course as it was when I played it. Thankfully lots of work has gone into improving it - can't wait to play it again!

What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C+ (Most of the holes are too long or shaped too wierdly to go for a birdie.....so you play putter, putter, putter, drop-in. Boring! I drive 300' accurately, BTW. On too many holes you are just throwing towards a wall of trees - no real fairway defined. This is easy to fix, and may have already been fixed.)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B- (See above. Also, many are too short to be rewarding)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+ (This is a strength of the course design)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- A (The scenery is by far the most impressive part of this course! I was dissappointed that the quality of the holes did not come up close to the same level)
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C- (Most of the multishot holes had no landing zones or "strategery" designed in. And most are too short for legit par 4's).
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.