Reidsville, NC 
Lake's Edge DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tyson Hole #10
5 / 509ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Sign



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Whoa! What a challenge!

2-4    12/7/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: hycard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent signage on every tee / hole.

Begins with wooded holes played across sloping ravines with creekbeds and well-placed trees restricting disc placement.

Trails through course are above average. Bridges and benches throughout.
Lake hazard comes into play on back nine (last seven holes) requiring accurate throws.
Cons: $2 entry is worth the price.

Way too challenging for beginning discgolfers, yet extremely fun. Neither a con, though.

Other Thoughts: Well maintained park with all the amenities is very clean and family-oriented.
Park office has pro shop, snack bar, restrooms, and overly helpful staff.
Well designed map/scorecard available at office.

Update..1-24-09...Course is in better condition: improved tee pads, benches, and fairways.

Update.. 2010....Fairways more defined.
Alternate basket placement on longer holes adds a new level to this already spectacular course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A work In progress with some thought provoking hole designs

1    12/6/2007   5/20/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2010
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
NOTE: I put a lot more time and effort than usual into trying to understand this course, and I labored over this review. The course designer, Russell Schwartz, and I exchanged several emails and he very graciously gave a lot of his time to discuss the course in a long phone call.

This course opened in summer '07 and I played it in Dec '07 while it was still pretty new. When I played it there was a list of items still to be completed, so the course was still a pretty new and unfinished work in progress.

I especially liked the holes on the back nine where the lake came into play. There are also creeks in play on several holes and 6 holes on the back nine have water on them. The drive on 18 is a really cool shot plays straight down a creek until you get to a perilous landing zone.
There are some really good and fun holes such as 1 (short valley shot in trees), 2 (great fairway in the woods), 5, 15, 16 (my favorite; see more below)
The land has nice trees and terrain. 14 holes are in the woods, 3 are a little more open, and 1 is a long wide open downhill hole to let it fly at full power.
There are a wide variety of fairway shapes- 4 St/ 4 Lt/ 4 Rt/ 5 S curve/ 1 L bend
Excellent length variety: [Short tees] 8<299/ 5 of 300-399/ 3 of 400-499/ 2 of 500-520
There's a fair amount of elevation changes. 9 Up/ 9 Down. The greatest is +30 ft, but 10 holes are under 10 ft elev change.
Tees are very good rectangular raked concrete, and tee signs are fine with a basic map.
Cons:
There are still lots of thorns in places.
Seven baskets are hard to see from the tee.
If you play in the late fall it's easy to lose your disc in the leaves on the holes in the woods.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level = Blue (Advanced)
There's work currently being done to finish up some aspects of the course, to make some holes a little more fair, and to address a few potential safety issues. There are a few trees that have been, or will be, taken out to make some fairway shapes more fair. On 18 it's planned for the landing zone on your drives will be made bigger.
There's an active beaver on hole 15.

You be the judge-
I have great respect for Russell Schwartz' course designs, but I expect that this course will continue to produce some strong reactions, as it already has. Some of the holes have creative design intentions which require uncommon shots. These are intended to add variety, to stretch the boundaries of hole design, to make the best use of the available terrain, and to force a player to think about their shot selection. In addition to the Schwartz signature "L" shaped fairway on hole 7 these unusual holes are 4, 12, 14, 15, 17, and 18. Most of these holes have forced layups which require more accurate, lower power, and shorter shots. Some players will appreciate the creativity and diversity of playing fairways that are different from the norm, while others will be frustrated because the holes don't play the same way that they're used to. Big arms may be especially frustrated when they have to hold back their power on some holes. On a few of these holes (especially 17 and 18) I was baffled how to throw the hole and wondered what the intended shots were. It may have been because I didn't have the skills for certain shots, but several times I couldn't figure out how to make a disc follow the fairway. Personally, I rather liked the unusual holes because for the most part they add variety, but by the end having them on 6 of 18 holes may have been a little too much. I suspect that the typical Advanced (Blue level) player that the course is most suited for may not like these holes as much, so my rating is a little lower because of this.
-I expect the course rating to improve a little over time as some issues are taken care of, the work is finished, and the course gets more broken in.

Favorite holes: 16. From the long tee- you drive over the water for a beautiful hole with risk that makes your palms sweat.
15. A beautiful hole with the lake all down the left side. Play it safe with shorter shots for a 3 or take a big risk to try to get near the basket for a deuce.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

~More detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are available in the Files section.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course to Challenge You!

1    5/12/2008   5/12/2008
Review By: Tyson
Played: 61  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am updating this on 7/16/2010 as we have done alot of work to this great place. It is hands down my favorite course in the triad.
This course Rocks!
Club has Improved fairways to add challenge and short tees to make the course more accessible.
Very good amenities - store with gatorade, snacks, disc, hats, ice cream, bathrooms, great camping sites and an occanssional bass tourney!
Par 66/Short pin placements Par 60
Innova Discatchers
Easy 1st Hole, or is it?
Tight Wooded Holes to Long Open Bombs
Very Scenic
Friendly Staff
Great Bridges
Tough Holes
Plenty of Trash Cans
Tournaments have great support and prizes from Park and Rec
Nice mix of long/short/par 4s and 5s
Cons: Not enough benches (in progress)
$2 entry fee per car load
Really Tough Holes

Other Thoughts: We are located off Business 29 in Reidsville or Waterworks Rd. We are going to more add from benches, add a few more pins/tee pads very soon, course is awesome now, summer months bring many bugs and vegetation. Make sure to use bug spray and watch your disc. Sometimes it is smarter to just play it safe, but low scores are out there to be had. I absoultely LOVE this course, it will be a tough course to grow tired of, so go give it a try!!! They keep a guestbook, so please sign it when you visit the park store.

Thanks,
Tyson

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.