Warren, OH 
Clarence Darrow Park (Young's Run) Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #8 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 287ft.   3 / 352ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Young's Run

5+    5/13/2016   5/15/2016
Review By: TheJet4
Played: 23  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Concrete short and long tees
-Good Baskets
-Start and Finish at parking lot
-Even mix between wooded and open
-Wooden holes are not too technical, so good for beginners
-Well maintained
-Hole 18 has putting distance markers (I believe it is every five ft, up to 30 ft) for warm-up
Cons: -Usually crowded
-Thick brush off the fairways
-Thorns
-Some holes and tees have beehives growing around them (16 was being sprayed last time I was there)

Other Thoughts: It's a good course and has 3 others around it. Short and long tees and baskets provide a great game for players of all skill levels.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Course!

5+    5/14/2016   5/14/2016
Review By: VDragich44
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm going to try not to be bias but this is definitely my favorite disc golf course I've ever played.
Two sets of concrete tees
Multiple baskets for some holes (1,10,14)
Challenging wooded holes
2 very cool water holes (down hill 5 and upshot 9)
Wide open holes to let em rip on
Couple of shorter holes for those easy birdies
For shorts, lots of short length holes for beginners but still fun and challenging
Some nice new baskets
Very well maintained by its crew
Nice sized parking lot
Port o potty and pavilion

Cons: Usually very crowded at night time and even on the weekends (It's the best course in Trumbull county)
Rough is currently pretty high in spots and could be easy to lose a disc
Some of the baskets are kind of old and I think could use replaced, like hole 2 or 3
Other Thoughts: This is where I play the most and where I first learned to disc golf. It's a very nice course and is worth the trip to check it out. Kent State Trumbull nine hole course is just across the road so you could play a quick 27.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Care, Variety, and Attention to Detail

1    9/26/2015   10/13/2015
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 129  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Young's Run course at Clarence Darrow Park is somewhat of an anomaly. It is relatively unknown outside of the Eastern OH region but is well taken care of and prized by its locals. I knew nothing about the course going into my round and was pleasantly surprised at the attention to design and detail. A lot of courses in the area are open and flat, but this one makes good use of a heavily wooded area and the elevation changes that are offered.

A lot of little things have gone into the course, which seems to have progressively gotten better year after year. Trees were recently cut down to improve design, there are two sets of color-coded baskets on multiple holes, and interesting objects throughout the course give it character. It was in good shape when I played it, grass was freshly mowed and the rough was pretty well cleared out. There are also a lot of great amenities with many benches, steps, and a bridges to make your round more comfortable.

There is a great variety of holes here, from long, more open par 4's, really tight shots in the woods, moderately wooded par 3's, and a few fun water holes. This is a course where you will use a lot of different shots and discs in your arsenal. Hole 9 sticks out, being a super sharp uphill RHBH hyzer. Only a few discs out there are made for this extreme of a line, and I was glad I had my XXX. At the same time, you get the opposite kind of shot with 5's downhill, sharp RHFH line over a creek. Holes like these make the course stand out.

The two sets of tees do a nice job of changing up the look and the length of the hole. Many signs help you navigate the course
Cons: Not a whole lot wrong here, mostly nitpicks for my cons.

Since it's the best course in the area, it seems to regularly get crowded. There are a few spots where this becomes a problem, most notably with the crisscrossing fairways of 5/9 and 7/8. A few other holes play very close to each other.

Navigation is easy for the most part, but there are a few confusing spots. The detailed map/scorecard help out though, I appreciated having one.

The tee signs could be more detailed, especially with a large number of blind baskets from the tee.

While the tees aren't in bad shape, they felt too short on some of the longer holes.

From the short tees, the course plays very short - six holes <200 feet and one barely over 100.
Other Thoughts: This felt like a 3.75 rating, but I didn't feel it was quite up to the standard of a 4.0 for me. Still, I don't want to take anything away from the amount of work that has gone into this course. Definitely the best in the area and I'd recommend stopping here if you're making a NE Ohio road trip.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Course is in great shape

5+    8/4/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: B-Rad-
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Awesome course that flows perfect. Very easy to navigate, concrete pads. Multiple baskets on some holes. Beginner friendly from Shorts and very technical from longs.
Cons: A little more open since the emerald ash tree borer came to take over and some trees had to be removed. Some posts have been place where trees were.
Other Thoughts: Great course fun for everyone.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Holes with trees and trees with holes

1    10/4/2014   10/7/2014
Review By: Derek B
Played: 162  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees
2) short and long tees
3) Good variety of lefty and righty holes
4) Good mix of open and wooded holes
5) Peaceful and beautiful property
Cons: 1) Some hole fairways cross each other - at least from long tees
2) Course feels tight and compacted
3) Some tees aren't long enough to get a good run up
Other Thoughts: Played this course blind at the NE Ohio Open this past weekend from the longs. Right away I could tell that this would be a good home course. Challenging. Scenic. Well designed and thought out.

Holes 3-13 are basically all tight wooded holes. There's a nice mix of lefty and righty favored holes. There's a few holes that are extra hard and I would rate them as par 4...Holes 6,12,14,18 come to mind.

The rest of the holes are fairly open with a few mature trees to act as obstacles. They're fun to shoot as well.

The course property is beautiful. As I was there in the fall, the leaves were starting to change and this added to its beauty. There's elevation changes on many of the holes that adds both challenge and beauty. If I lived anywhere close to this course, I would play it all the time, at least from the longs (I haven't played the shorts so I can't comment on those).

My two biggest complaints are that some of the holes criss-cross fairways with each other. Holes 7 and 8 come to mind, and I think there are others as well. Further, some holes' baskets are very close to the tees for the following hole. This makes it dangerous and distracting for players as people are talking while waiting to shoot on the next tee while you're trying to putt out, or, vice versa, while you're teeing off, people's discs from the previous holes are thrown in on you. I realize that some of this is due to the lack of land on which to build the course and I have taken that into consideration when rating the course.

My last complaint are the tees. On some of the bigger holes that require full run-ups, there's just not enough room to accommodate it. I blame some of this on the age of the course. I was told that the course had a different design a long time ago, so this would explain why some of the tees are too small. At some point, it would be nice to have new man-sized tees poured on the holes that are man-sized.

All in all, a pleasant course. I'm rating it a 3.5, but would bump it up to a 4 if there was a little more room and the tees were larger. Worth traveling to if you're within a couple of hours.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/23/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: AnthonyR42
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well layed out course. Well maintained it seems. Multiple tee boxes and tees on some holes. Some decorative masks hung in trees adds a bit of mystique. Easy to find next hole location. Tees are concrete and it good shape with easy to read signs on pin location and overview of hole.
Cons: You can get wet easy. 2 holes have ability to drive over water if wanted or you can take the short route and play normal. One hole on back has chains right in from of fairly deep water (I've been in it to get my disc out after some bad roll) so the amount of caution because of water is high.
I'd say the water is the only con here.
Other Thoughts: I frequent this course as its the closest one to me and I enjoy everytime I play here. Well kept, easy to find, fun to play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the trip

1    3/31/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: Burky
Played: 50  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Interesting layout
*variety of shots(left, right, up, down)
*great use of obstacles (trees, water, elevation, drop-offs)
*benches around quite a bit
*tee signs tell ya everything ya need to know
*easy location to get too
Cons: *can get really wet. Played in early spring and it was the wettest round I've ever played. Boots sunk down 2-3 inches at points.
*seems like it can be really busy. Even on the extremely wet mid week day I went there were people everywhere.
Other Thoughts: What a course. Day I played was extremely wet but I can't wait to make another trip to try it a little drier. Drove about an hour and ten minutes to play and it was well worth it.

Huge variety of holes and I've not played a lot of layouts that use obstacles as well. You have to cross a creek multiple times and the course uses up and down elevation changes perfectly.

You can tell even in the mid spring course is really taken care of with care. Day I was there multiple men where out cutting down some big trees. Lots of benches and places to sit.

Even for a newer player like me course can be scored on. Played the longs and it was tough but very fair.

Favorite holes were #3, #5, #9,#11, & #15. Always be aware of where the creek is and watch some of the drop-offs behind baskets like on #5. Really can't wait to make it back here again and see how much better it is when not quite so wet!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Above Average

1    10/7/2013   10/10/2013
Review By: Meesta_Bleesta
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Some really nice baskets

-Almost all holes have concrete pads.

-Signposts with broad layouts for each hole

-Majority of the holes have multiple tee pads, and some even have multiple pins.

-Navigation to get to the park is easy, helped by a number of signs that indicate a disc golf course is near on the road approaching the course. Course navigation is also a cinch, helped with the scorecards. Majority of the holes flow into one another intuitively, and if there's any question you'll find a sign pointing in the direction you're looking for. Well done.

-A fair mix of open and technical; lots of elevation, some open and some wooded holes

-Quite a few ace run holes, especially if playing from short tees

-Color scorecards with course map on the back

-I'd call it a scenic course, at least going through the wooded parts; there's a fairly wide creek running through it and for a few holes one gets that 'otherworldly' or 'separated from the rest of the world' feeling

-Very clean course
Cons: -While some of the baskets were brand new, others were old and I would classify a few as shabby. Not unplayable though, very minor. Seems it should be mentioned.

-A strange number of ace run holes - from short tees, anyway. At short tees you're looking at 6 holes less than 200 ft long, and one that's 108 ft - way short. If you're a beginner, this is good. But if you usually play shorts at other courses, this course might present the right time for you to start longs.

-Some really thick and prickly brush

-Some of the tee pads were numbered incorrectly; slightly confusing
Other Thoughts: Kind of a weird, but solid, little course. (maybe this impression was created by the creature-inhabitants - see below.) For some reason it felt tonally unbalanced to me; though the shots needed are plenty mixed.

If you usually play shorts (at least in NE Ohio), and can keep up with par, play longs here. On the flip side, if you're bringing somebody disc golfing for the first time, the short tees here would make for an excellent introduction considering their length.

Hole 5 and hole 16 - tied for most memorable hole. Hole 5 is way cool, from the long tee it's a short downhill anhyzer/forehand route over the river and hard right to a basket that's atop a dirt mount - with a 5 foot drop into the river directly behind the basket. And from the short tee it's a technical ace run. Hole 16 is a hyzer line around a group of young trees to lay it up into a basket also elevated on a 3-4 ft high grass mound.

There are Halloween masks - ghouls, aliens, werewolves, etc. - hanging on trees throughout the course. It's Halloween-ish time right now, but judging by other reviews these stay up year round. Not my style at all, but it shows that there are locals around who love the place, and that makes for a nice touch.

A solid course. If I'm ever in the area I'd play it again, but wouldn't go way out of my way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 STAY OUT OF THE WATER!

1    6/25/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: prerube
Played: 241  Reviewed: 218  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Maps at kiosk with score cards

A few baskets had bright new powder coated baskets in blue and orange for long and short pin (1, 10, and 14)

1 starts off with an elevated tee pad on a mound. Multiple concrete tee pads.

Lots of humor and novelty; hole 3 had a werewolf on a cross, 4 had the Burger King and a pair of ghouls in the trees, and 9 had an alien high in the trees.

Safety considered, separate walking paths to next tee, some tees protected by fencing.

Half the course open and half in wooded areas.

Benches and trash cans throughout the course.

You can see the Kent State course from hole #5

Road signs over a mile away guide you to the course and advertise the sport to others, everyone in the area knows there is a disc golf course in that park.

Mild elevation changes create risk vs. reward shots.

Good variety in distances. 2 tiny ace runs and few that will challenge you to hit a 3.
Cons: Distances were a bit confusing. The score card has 2 distances that do not match the tee signs on hole 1.

Tee signs did not show any trees or landmarks, just an arrow and a circle.

THE WATER ON 5 & 9 IS INFESTED. I pulled my buzz out of the water and it had no less than a dozen leaches and parasitic worms on it. DO NOT ENTER WATER FOR DISC!

5 and 9 have crossing fairways.

Pretty crowded. There was a large group of kids (possibly a summer camp) doing an activity around basket 15. Several people from the nearby offices were wandering around the course.
Other Thoughts: it is a solid course, but nothing memorable other than the novelty items in the trees and the nightmares of the horrible stench of the mud and the leaches that refused to let go of my disc.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    1/12/2013   1/12/2013
Review By: jhilton
Played: 48  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Made the journey from Pittsburgh to play course and it was very worth it. The course requires precise control of your discs and will require creativity to negotiate some of the different turns and lanes required to score. The course requires an even mix of tight control shots and longer bombs, giving you a nice variety of left, right and straight shots. The course also makes great use of a smaller space, meaning you can get in multiple rounds here very easily. Course has nice concrete tee pads and a nice variety of pins a tee pd placements that make it playable by those of all skill levels.
Cons: The course was pretty damp when we played, so drainage isn't the greatest.
Other Thoughts: This is a really neat course and combined with KSU Trumball makes a nice destination disc golf site.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.