Warren, OH 
Clarence Darrow Park (Young's Run) Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #6 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 272ft.   4 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Short Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

2-4    8/23/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: AnthonyR42
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well layed out course. Well maintained it seems. Multiple tee boxes and tees on some holes. Some decorative masks hung in trees adds a bit of mystique. Easy to find next hole location. Tees are concrete and it good shape with easy to read signs on pin location and overview of hole.
Cons: You can get wet easy. 2 holes have ability to drive over water if wanted or you can take the short route and play normal. One hole on back has chains right in from of fairly deep water (I've been in it to get my disc out after some bad roll) so the amount of caution because of water is high.
I'd say the water is the only con here.
Other Thoughts: I frequent this course as its the closest one to me and I enjoy everytime I play here. Well kept, easy to find, fun to play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Well worth the trip

1    3/31/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: Burky
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: *Interesting layout
*variety of shots(left, right, up, down)
*great use of obstacles (trees, water, elevation, drop-offs)
*benches around quite a bit
*tee signs tell ya everything ya need to know
*easy location to get too
Cons: *can get really wet. Played in early spring and it was the wettest round I've ever played. Boots sunk down 2-3 inches at points.
*seems like it can be really busy. Even on the extremely wet mid week day I went there were people everywhere.
Other Thoughts: What a course. Day I played was extremely wet but I can't wait to make another trip to try it a little drier. Drove about an hour and ten minutes to play and it was well worth it.

Huge variety of holes and I've not played a lot of layouts that use obstacles as well. You have to cross a creek multiple times and the course uses up and down elevation changes perfectly.

You can tell even in the mid spring course is really taken care of with care. Day I was there multiple men where out cutting down some big trees. Lots of benches and places to sit.

Even for a newer player like me course can be scored on. Played the longs and it was tough but very fair.

Favorite holes were #3, #5, #9,#11, & #15. Always be aware of where the creek is and watch some of the drop-offs behind baskets like on #5. Really can't wait to make it back here again and see how much better it is when not quite so wet!

Above Average

1    10/7/2013   10/10/2013
Review By: Meesta_Bleesta
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Some really nice baskets

-Almost all holes have concrete pads.

-Signposts with broad layouts for each hole

-Majority of the holes have multiple tee pads, and some even have multiple pins.

-Navigation to get to the park is easy, helped by a number of signs that indicate a disc golf course is near on the road approaching the course. Course navigation is also a cinch, helped with the scorecards. Majority of the holes flow into one another intuitively, and if there's any question you'll find a sign pointing in the direction you're looking for. Well done.

-A fair mix of open and technical; lots of elevation, some open and some wooded holes

-Quite a few ace run holes, especially if playing from short tees

-Color scorecards with course map on the back

-I'd call it a scenic course, at least going through the wooded parts; there's a fairly wide creek running through it and for a few holes one gets that 'otherworldly' or 'separated from the rest of the world' feeling

-Very clean course
Cons: -While some of the baskets were brand new, others were old and I would classify a few as shabby. Not unplayable though, very minor. Seems it should be mentioned.

-A strange number of ace run holes - from short tees, anyway. At short tees you're looking at 6 holes less than 200 ft long, and one that's 108 ft - way short. If you're a beginner, this is good. But if you usually play shorts at other courses, this course might present the right time for you to start longs.

-Some really thick and prickly brush

-Some of the tee pads were numbered incorrectly; slightly confusing
Other Thoughts: Kind of a weird, but solid, little course. (maybe this impression was created by the creature-inhabitants - see below.) For some reason it felt tonally unbalanced to me; though the shots needed are plenty mixed.

If you usually play shorts (at least in NE Ohio), and can keep up with par, play longs here. On the flip side, if you're bringing somebody disc golfing for the first time, the short tees here would make for an excellent introduction considering their length.

Hole 5 and hole 16 - tied for most memorable hole. Hole 5 is way cool, from the long tee it's a short downhill anhyzer/forehand route over the river and hard right to a basket that's atop a dirt mount - with a 5 foot drop into the river directly behind the basket. And from the short tee it's a technical ace run. Hole 16 is a hyzer line around a group of young trees to lay it up into a basket also elevated on a 3-4 ft high grass mound.

There are Halloween masks - ghouls, aliens, werewolves, etc. - hanging on trees throughout the course. It's Halloween-ish time right now, but judging by other reviews these stay up year round. Not my style at all, but it shows that there are locals around who love the place, and that makes for a nice touch.

A solid course. If I'm ever in the area I'd play it again, but wouldn't go way out of my way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

STAY OUT OF THE WATER!

1    6/25/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Maps at kiosk with score cards

A few baskets had bright new powder coated baskets in blue and orange for long and short pin (1, 10, and 14)

1 starts off with an elevated tee pad on a mound. Multiple concrete tee pads.

Lots of humor and novelty; hole 3 had a werewolf on a cross, 4 had the Burger King and a pair of ghouls in the trees, and 9 had an alien high in the trees.

Safety considered, separate walking paths to next tee, some tees protected by fencing.

Half the course open and half in wooded areas.

Benches and trash cans throughout the course.

You can see the Kent State course from hole #5

Road signs over a mile away guide you to the course and advertise the sport to others, everyone in the area knows there is a disc golf course in that park.

Mild elevation changes create risk vs. reward shots.

Good variety in distances. 2 tiny ace runs and few that will challenge you to hit a 3.
Cons: Distances were a bit confusing. The score card has 2 distances that do not match the tee signs on hole 1.

Tee signs did not show any trees or landmarks, just an arrow and a circle.

THE WATER ON 5 & 9 IS INFESTED. I pulled my buzz out of the water and it had no less than a dozen leaches and parasitic worms on it. DO NOT ENTER WATER FOR DISC!

5 and 9 have crossing fairways.

Pretty crowded. There was a large group of kids (possibly a summer camp) doing an activity around basket 15. Several people from the nearby offices were wandering around the course.
Other Thoughts: it is a solid course, but nothing memorable other than the novelty items in the trees and the nightmares of the horrible stench of the mud and the leaches that refused to let go of my disc.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

1    1/12/2013   1/12/2013
Review By: jhilton
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Made the journey from Pittsburgh to play course and it was very worth it. The course requires precise control of your discs and will require creativity to negotiate some of the different turns and lanes required to score. The course requires an even mix of tight control shots and longer bombs, giving you a nice variety of left, right and straight shots. The course also makes great use of a smaller space, meaning you can get in multiple rounds here very easily. Course has nice concrete tee pads and a nice variety of pins a tee pd placements that make it playable by those of all skill levels.
Cons: The course was pretty damp when we played, so drainage isn't the greatest.
Other Thoughts: This is a really neat course and combined with KSU Trumball makes a nice destination disc golf site.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Metro Parked It

1    6/16/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: Brall
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful wooded scenery with a rolling landscape throughout this MetroPark. The terrain is surprisingly smooth along the paths and fairways. Just a gorgeous forest to have a disc golf course in.
- Huge mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots needed here. This layout requires you to use a variety of angles and shots. As a first timer I was astounded over and over as I came up on the next tee and saw that something completely new awaited me.
- Even though this course is short for an 18 hole course, only 5922', because of the technicality of this course it feels much larger than that. Also there are 5 holes over 400' which allow you to loosen up your arm but the majority is very technical.
- Enjoyable elevation changes
- Multiple Tees on many of 10 of the holes. Multiple Baskets for 3 of the holes.
- Excellent concrete tees
- Fantastic Tee Signs on posts showing all the information you need! OB's, Tees, Next Tee, Baskets, Distance etc…
- Next Tee signs are very helpful
- The Baskets are in great condition and are well labeled
- The water hazards here add a lot to the game and you should be able to easily retrieve your disc if needed
- Outstanding upkeep. The grass, the fairways, the rough, all in tip-top shape.
- Seemed to be some decent traffic from disc golfers on the course but not too heavy. Nothing from civilians since it's for Disc Golf only.
- Benches and picnic tables are scattered throughout the course
- The entrance is well marked on the road with a big Disc Golf sign
- Fully stocked Kiosk with plenty of local info and the most fancy Scorcard/Maps I've ever seen to take along with you
- Practice Basket with distance markers (just note that it's also Hole #18's Basket)
- Very clean course and plenty of trash cans
- Brand new, large pavilion with grills and plenty of seating
- Porto-potty at the parking lot
- Located right off the highway, easy to find
Cons: - Holes #13 & 17 are a disappointment on such a nice course. This place deserves more than these under 200' tosses.
- The flow: Hole #1 starts at the parking lot and Hole #18 ends there. Great flow in that respect. The criss-crossing at Hole #5 & 9 provided a bit of confusion and that, along with the crossing of Hole #7 & 8 could certainly cause some bad blood (safety issue) if the course is packed. Also Hole #15, I realize there is a sign to the Long Tee but it is still confusing to find for the first time (it wasn't only our group that was confuzzled). Maybe an extra sign for directions there (or maybe it was just us)?
Other Thoughts: - The map is extremely helpful but I believe there might be some ratio issues that could cause a problem. One idea for the next map is to use a satellite view as a stencil.
- Challenging fo sho. There are some extremely creative holes here that will challenge any level player.
- Hole #10 was the most challenging for me. The fairway turns immediately left off the Tee and it's a tight squeeze through some trees downhill . The fairway to the Long Tee practically forms a horse shoe.
- My favorite hole is Hole #10. Starts out open with a mando on the right down a hill with a beautiful view. The fairway tights up a bit as it curves right. The Long Basket has some guardian trees to test you.
- This was a very enjoyable course and worth my 1.5 hour drive to check it out. Combine this with the 9 hole course at Kent University across the street for a full day of fun. Oh, and we enjoyed the spooky masks and plastic alien stuck onto trees at random =) Huge thanks to the obvious hard time and hard work it takes to keep this course going.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Warren G

1    7/1/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Nicely maintained course
~Strictly used as a disc golf course, no mixed activities
~Concrete tees, long and shorts on most
~Plenty of benches and trash receptacles throughout
~Kiosk with score cards and maps
~Pavilion and port-o-johns
~Technical throws are dominant over grip it and rip it
~Baskets are in great condition
~Overall a very pleasant setting/atmosphere
Cons:
~Tee pads cross fairways on many of the wooded holes
~A handful of the wooded holes need more defined fairways
~Concrete tees could have been poured a couple feet longer
Other Thoughts:
All in all I had a very enjoyable round. The course starts off great with some fairly open holes then delves quickly into the woods for the majority of the remaining course. You finish the last handful of holes around where you started and it opens up a touch more. Hole No. 1 just may be the best starting hole around, especially from the longs. Just a great way to get a round going. The wooded holes are fun and offer plenty of challenge from the long tees. There are a handful of holes in here that could benefit from the removal of a few trees to provide a better opportunity off the tee. At times it seemed like disc golf plinko, but I managed. Navigation is easy and signage is abundant. The concrete tees are in great shape but come just a foot or two short of providing full on comfort. It was obvious that the locals involved take pride in this course, maintenance and upkeep was superb and I didn't see any trash on the ground. A great course all in all and it gave me some fits at times yet still kept me interested. Would have no problem playing here again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 18 holes now!

1    2/12/2011   3/4/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Youngs Run is located in a nice, kind of out of the way park and now has been developed into a full 18 hole course.

The course itselfs takes full advantage of the limited elevation available providing most holes with at least a slight change and a few with alot.

This course is mostly a technical wooded course but there are a few holes that you can really open up on (2, 7, 14 and 18)

The course is very well balanced between left and right turning holes and has a good variety in distances ranging from just over 100' to 500' (I did not duece the short one, Doh!) Additionally there is decent shot shaping required on all but two holes.

On most of the holes on the course there are two tees and on a hand full of holes there are two pins. The pins are distinctly marked with the shorts being bright orange, the longs bright blue and the holes without two are silver. This is always nice so that you can mix up your rounds.

Great use of the creek/stream/river. It comes into play on 4 holes with three of them crossing it.

There is an abundance of fun shots on this course. 5's putt with a massive drop off behind. 1's top of the world bomb to the blue pin and 16 in general is a very pretty hole with young trees defending a raised pin.

Form the short tees this would be a good course for Rec/Intermediate players with the Long tees providing ample challange to more advanced players.

After hole 7 you can transition over to the Kent State 9 hole convenietly located right across the street to get in a 27 hole round.

The tee signs are very nicely done and course navigation is pretty intuitive.
Cons: Fairway crossings. Holes 5 and 9 cross each other and 7 and 8 cross also. Crossing fairways is never a great idea but unless the course was packed it would never pose too much of a problem.

There are silly scary masks nailed to some of the trees. Maybe when there is foliage on the trees it might look different but when I played they just looked ridiculous and out of place. Since I am not a local and have not put in the hours on the course I know its not my place to take them down but I was sorely tempted.

Even playing in the winter I could tell that the underbrush off of the fairways will be nasty on this course. Lots of thorns and brambles.
Other Thoughts: After reading the previous reviews I was pleasantly suprised by this course. There is a really nice variety in the 18 holes. Some challenging, one clear ace run, and some that force unique shots (like 5's drive). All in all this has become a very complete disc golf course

The fun factor is high on this course and I appreciate the work that has been put in by the locals. If you read the previous reviews I think you can follow the steady progression from a 9 hole to a complete course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Packs a Lot in a Little

1    6/27/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Most holes have two tee location or two baskets. Lots of new and ongoing improvements.
Cons:
A bit of fairway crossing amongst 5-8. Map needs to be updated as there are now 16 holes, with a 17th due November 2010, and additional tees/baskets. Watch out for fishermen on #5 and #8.
Other Thoughts:
This course packs a lot in a little amount space, utilizing a bit of open space between small clusters of trees, parts of a thin forest, and a little bit of elevation change near a creek. Other than dead-straight-n-short ace-run #11, each hole will hit you with some trees/forest to get past, and a turn or two to execute at various points of the flightpath.

There is evidence of lots of recent work being done on the course - a long, unmarked, new hole with two concrete tees between 5&6, new holes 13-15, a fairway currently being cleared near them for an additional hole, some new benches, some new baskets, and where there are some areas of dampness, generous amounts of mulch have put down to help alleviate the problem.

Note: There is a steep drop-off to the creek just a few feet behind basket-5. Spotter advised, especially if throwing from the long tee.

Certainly worth a visit if in the area - a variety of (mostly short-n-flat) challenges packed into a small amount fo space.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/15/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: Fleshgordon
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open/wooded holes. The layout offers some challenging Tee shots, many of which are blind. Hole 5(i suggest having a spotter) is a dogleg right over a river and hole 8 is dogleg left backover the same riverThere is a 2nd basket on holes 1, 9, and 12 basically just for the better players to get more of a challenge. All in all, a fun and technical course.
Cons: Not yet a full 18. The woods can be hungry at times as this course will eat your discs with a bad tee shot. Heavy undergrowth and thick woods on some holes.
Other Thoughts: They appear to be adding a few holes right now. you can see they are doing work between holes 5 and 6 looks like another dogleg or two. You can jump to the kent state course from the pin at hole 6 but i would advise just finishing this course and then driving over if playing at all. FYI Kent course is all par 3's and is COVERED in goose shit(no joke). i personally just avoid it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.