Disc Golf Store
Annandale, MN 
Clearwater/Pleasant Lake Share
Uploaded By: tolson Hole #8 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 204ft.   3 / 204ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    6/10/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 100  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: Very nice little course well maintained and mowed fairways. A very nice sign with score cards and maps are available at the beginning of the course. This side of the road the park seems to be disc golf only so there is no worry of pedestrian interference. There are dual pads on each hole and enough variety of shots to stay interesting. The wood frames keep the gravel tees from spreading out. With frames gravel tees tend to become more suggestions than defined tees. The course is mostly flat with the only real elevation change at hole 5. There is enough length from the long tees to keep your interest but is very newbie friendly from the shorts without becoming to easy and boring. The design was well thought out with the terrain available here. Hole 5 would be the signature hole. Navigation was very easy with the nice wide paths between many of the holes.
Cons: The gravel tees could use a little attention to level them out, however they are plenty playable. The short pads are in good shape probably do to much less play. The other is just the fact that it is only 12 holes.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a fun course to play, I found myself ready to go again.
I am not a fan of the high grass in the rough, but it does add to the incentive to throw accurately. However I don't find it to make a difference in score. I would definitely like to play again next time I visit.

 Pretty Course With Cut Out Fairways!

1    7/23/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 615  Exp: 36.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Clearwater/Pleasant Lake Course sits across the street from the beach park. The course itself seems to disc golf exclusive. I would think due to it's fairly remote location that it wouldn't ever be overly crowded.

There is a nice course map sign at the beginning.
There are two pads for each hole. I believe the short pads were probably the originals as they have the maps. The Longs just have the hole # and distance. Until about # 10, they just added length to the hole, anywhere from 50 to 200'.
The terrain is mostly flat with numerous smaller immature trees. So consequently it seemed as though every hole involved some sort of tunnel shot. The fairways were nicely mowed grass with taller disc-hiding grass beach grass on both sides.
My favorite hole was # 5 which, surprise, which happened to be the only hole on the course with any elevation. It plays 357' from the Longs and 249' from the Shorts. It's a nice anhyser shot down to a basket beneath some trees.
The course nicely circles back to the beginning.
Cons: As mentioned before, the cinder teepads are not the greatest. I played them in the rain and they weren't too bad. I could see them being dusty and rough in dry weather.

I personally really dislike tall grass roughs like this. I always find myself spending large amounts of time searching for discs that have landing just a few feet off the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I can see that the parks department takes pride in the facility here. I'd like to see them scrap the cinder tees and maybe go with patio blocks or concrete. That would be a huge improvement.
I would guess if you lived nearby, you'd be able to play here at times and have the course all to yourself. It's a pretty little park and that beach across the street would be might inviting after a couple of rounds on a hot Minnesota afternoon.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    6/15/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: slash87
Played: 140  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2009
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful. It has plenty of challenging holes for the pros ( 600 foot)and is a great place for beginners to learn.
Cons: Tall grass, bugs, ticks
Other Thoughts: Play 12 then jump into the lake and then play 12 more.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, should be 18 though

5+    8/18/2008   5/6/2009
Review By: d4nk
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Well groomed fairways, fairly open course, not a lot of tree'd holes.
Cons: Mosquitos of course, the tees need to be fixed badly some of them have 1+ foot deep holes, they are sand tees...
Long Distance between tees could have been replaced with more holes.
Other Thoughts: Should be a full 18, good course when you don't like that hassles of there being way too many people.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.