Boise, ID 
Ann Morrison Park - Southeast Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 389ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
My Home Course

5+    10/20/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: Harvy B.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well planned and executed, the pads, pins, and placements are varied and fun.
-Close proximity to downtown Boise and BSU
-Close-ish to my house.
-There are a ton of really cool locals and club members who will let you throw-in with them if you want to throw with a group, or play through if you are in a hurry.
-Varied length of holes and a lot of obstacles to throw around/over/through.
-Very well maintained course, grass is regularly mowed, park is pretty clean (thanks to those who pick up after themselves and the many who pick up after others), trees are healthy and maintained.
-A great course to challenge all of your shots, having the ability to throw a forehand, a backhand, and an overhead shot isn't essential to play this course, but there is definitely a need for all three if you want to throw par or less (playing all par 3).
-Active GSDG (Gem State Disc Golfers) club members are usually around usually really cool and usually willing to play a round.
-Multiple pin placements for every hole.
-No shortage of disc golf shops in Boise, there are two less than a 4 minute drive or 15 minute walk from the course.
-Adult beverages are allowed in cans, sorry no glass bottles.
-Awesome pizza/sandwich shop (Papa Joe's) at the entrance/exit of the park. A very mellow spot to grab a pre/post-round bite or beverage.
Cons: -WATER AND O.B. ARE TREACHEROUS AND WILL STEAL YOUR DISCS. Seriously the water can be pea soup murky or glassy, some O.B.'s have "no trespassing" signs, or worse poison ivy, the mud in the water areas will absolutely consume your leg let alone your disc. One area of water around #12 and #13 is a festering cesspool of goose crap and staff bacteria. Bring a retriever, a buddy, and some hand sanitizer.
-It gets crowded on the weekends and after work hours during the summer. I don't mind usually because I like the opportunity to throw-in with different people, but it can suck if you are trying to squeeze in a quick round.
-There are some inconsiderate turds who leave beer cans and trash on each tee as they play.
-Bums who will hassle you for beers/money/beer-money.
-Some GSDG club members can be self-important friggin jerks.
-Flat
-Some pins placements never moved this summer, most rarely moved. (Hole 15 was in the long position 90% of the summer season) In previous years the club had a pretty clockwork rotation schedule that didn't happen this year.
Other Thoughts: I really love this course, it ain't perfect but it is fun. My con list may read like a "keep-out" banner but I play here several times a week so I have developed a few pet-peeves. This however is the course I learned to play on, so I have a soft-spot for it. I would give it a 3.5 to a 4.0 rating if the course didn't eat so many discs.
In all seriousness if you come to boise come play this course, it rocks.
Also, it is no longer a 20 hole course because of issues with the hotel that runs the length of the old hole #2, and a mysteriously missing basket it is now a 19 hole course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Annie Mo'

1    4/29/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Southeast course shares some of the Northwest course and this is the course that is used the most as it is set up for Summer play. This site reminds you a little like a Golf course with its manicured grass, water hazards and a couple of well placed trees. There are some really fun holes here and some good lines that you must hit in order to get the birdie despite most fairways lack of trees. The water hazards come into play on most holes and make certain routes riskier to play but also more rewarding when hit; risk vs. reward. Tee pads and baskets are all in excellent condition and the signs help navigate and find the multiple basket locations as well. With these grass fairways you should be practicing rollers and doing fairly well playing here. I would call this place more suited for intermediate players.
Cons: A lot of this course is fairly open and straight forward. Most pro players and a lot of amateur players are going to find this course pretty easy, it would be nice if some more par four and par five holes were in place, there could be some really epic holes with trees and water hazards and be long and really challenging. I found the holes that share both courses to be the best of the bunch with the other side of the SE course being open, long and boring.
Other Thoughts: It's too bad that all of the land couldn't be open all year round, then you could lengthen some holes and create a truly epic 18 or 19 hole course with plenty of OB and obstacles that would really challenge you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 watch out for crazy people

2-4    7/29/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: drummerjunkie101
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well maintained
no bush whacking needed
easy navigation
Cons: lots of goose
its to wide open for me, it looks like a real golf course
when busy people can be mean, aggressive, and jerks.
i was almost hit by a disc, on purpose, by people i never even talked to.
to much water in play
Other Thoughts: this compared to my michigan courses is way to open, i like wooded courses.oh and there is lots of large carp in the pond

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 BSU course

5+    5/24/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: Starwraith169
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well maintained as it is in a city park. Some water shots. Some pretty nice long shots. You could play in flip-flops if you wanted to.
Cons: Way too fuckin crowded. Everytime I have played, which the only time I can get to Boise is on weekends, I have had to wait behind huge groups of slow-ass college kids. Really flat course with not a lot of technical shots.
Other Thoughts: i like the fact that they added the other course, because not as many people play over there.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Baked Potato Open

2-4    6/19/2004   3/31/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 188  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Established in 1996, Ann Morrison Park - Southeast is located in a mostly flat- lightly wooded, multi-use park. This seasonal 20 hole course, much like the NW course, plays on plush green grass and through several mature trees and wetlands.

This course, although mainly open, still requires a lot of accuracy as players approach the basket. Often times there are large obstacles in the middle of the fairway or near the pin that hinders players from throwing a direct route to the basket. Par for the SE course is 65, with seven par 4's and two par 5's. Length for the course is 5,366 ft. - 6,719 ft, with holes ranging anywhere from 181 ft - 695 ft, allowing for big arm throwers to take advantage. The baskets are all Mach III's, are durable, and in excellent shape. The tee pads are all cement, unlike the NW course, and built for large run ups. The signs are clear and easy to follow, allowing for better navigation.

Both the NW and SE courses have access to several amenities including soccer and baseball fields, picnic shelters and bbq pits, bathrooms, restrooms, playground, tennis courts, and plenty of parking. Ann Morrison Park is also near downtown Boise.
Cons:
Homeless people sleeping and lurking in the general vicinity can be an issue as well. Although the majority of them seemed harmless and even friendly, I still wouldn't want to have my kid wandering in the bushes for a lost disc. Just beware.

Lost discs could be an issue as well. Although the course is wide open for the most part, it is very possible to lose your disc in the Boise River, some of the tall grass in the wetlands, or over a fence so accuracy can be a big factor at times.
Other Thoughts:
I really enjoyed playing the Baked Potato Open at Ann Morrison Park. I was able to spend some time in the beautiful city of Boise, with good disc golf, great food, and fantastic football! With Boise being so scenic, I felt like I was taking a long nature walk while throwing my discs around. It felt very relaxing, allowing me to enjoy the moment. I appreciate all the hard work the locals and parks department have put in to maintaining this course. It shows!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.