Boise, ID 
Ann Morrison Park - Southeast Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Deaf Geese Couldn't Hear Me Yelling "Fore".

1    7/22/2014   7/31/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Anne Morrison is a very large and beautiful park in Boise. It's mostly flat and features a variety of water hazards, from small easy to cross creeks to a larger drainage ditch to some kind of ponds on both sides of holes 11-14.
The course has nice, extra long concrete tee pads. Many are grooved for winter weather play. The signs are small fiberglass ones showing the pin positions but with no way of telling which position the basket is currently in.
There were a couple of holes I especially liked. # 6 is just a little 260' throw across a creek but the basket was set in some trees adding to the challenge. There was a yellow mando?? ribbon tied to one of these trees but I didn't know which way the mando was so I ignored it.
I also liked # 12. It's very narrow with the walking path OB on the left and the canal on the right. This is one of the few really cool basket placements with the basket in this small thicket of trees on a hill. There was a yellow mando ribbon here which I ignored again. Making the mando either direction would make sense to me.
I played early in the morning and there were few golfers on the course. However, the sprinklers were going great guns and the geese were out in large numbers. On 2-3 holes I just had to throw into the flocks of grazing honkers. Yelling "Fore" didn't help as a couple of times my disc went sailing merrily close by nearly conking a Canadian. They just looked up with a look of amused bewilderment on their little goosie faces. Just keep eating your grass and fowling the course for all, boys.
Cons: Course navigation was a little confusing here and there. I didn't get the fax about # 2 being pulled so that was a little confusing. I missed # 5 and then when I figured it out, opted not to go back. It was also puzzling at times to figure out which position the basket was currently in. I tried asking the deaf geese and just got a honk in return.
The mando ribbons weren't clear as to which way the mando was.
I didn't exactly appreciate throwing into the flocks of geese, didn't appreciate walking through them getting to my discs or shooing them off the tee pads and I especially didn't appreciate their goose crap fowling much of the course.
Other Thoughts: Very nice park which is overran with the geese. The water hazards are compounded by the fact the water is dark and murky, to say the least. Avoid these water holes like the plague which is what you might end up with if you do decide to go disc diving. It's just recently been medically proven that the black plague in Europe WAS NOT caused by rats as previously believed BUT was indeed caused by, you guessed it, direct descendants of the Boise Canadian Geese flock.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Crowd pleaser

5+    11/2/2013   12/17/2013
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 27  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of hole lengths and obstacles,
Up to 6 different basket locations on some holes
Well-maintained park setting.

Cons: Very crowded unless you play at sunrise.
Lots of duck/goose poop.
Water hazards will swallow discs (bring your floaters and/or retriever
Other Thoughts: Boise needs more summer courses to keep Ann Morrison from getting so crowded. There are many more winter courses to spread out the players. If it weren't so crowded, I would have given this course a 4+..

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Flat with Risk/Reward

5+    9/29/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 35  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played multiple times 3 days in a row on a recent work trip.
-Location, course is just a short walk away from where I was staying in downtown, seems like a great central location. I initially walked into the park from the far side, but locals got me to tee 1 with little trouble.
-Maintenance, very well taken care of course, grass was close cropped lending to some awesome rollers on some of the longer holes. The pads are well done, in general a pretty "manicured" feel.
-Signage, there were a couple missing signs but the ones that were there are descriptive and helpful.
-DD truck parked in the lot, Not sure how often the dynamic Discs truck is there but pretty cool to have that parked near hole 1.
-Risk/Reward, a number of the holes that play in and around the waterways offer a couple of cool holes, play the direct path and flirt with water, play safe and have no chance at a bird.
Cons: -Transitions, a couple of longish transitions (especially with out hole 2 being in play) first time around I spent a bit of time lost.
-Duck crap, only a problem on a few holes but never pretty to have a disc land in any type of poop.
-Chuckers, every round I played I had to try and play through at least 1 group of 10+ folks with one disc, not a huge deal but most of the time they weren't very aware of their surroundings, really slowing down a round.
Other Thoughts: A very good course with a mix of different looks/shots. All of my rounds were played with baskets in the same position but some of the alt pins on the signs looked fun. The course is very flat, while not really a con in my book it is always something that adds to the fun.

Overall a place I will for sure play again next time I'm in Boise.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great despite the crowds

5+    5/30/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: DoOgSauce
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well placed tees and trees make shot shaping necessary on most of the holes. Lots of pin placements. The first time I played it was still set up for a recent tournament and it was killer. lots of long holes. Lots of laying up (for me anyway).

I come from the woods of Flagstaff, AZ, so this course is a lot different than what I am used to, but I love that I can throw rollers now!

This course is a great challenge for an average player like me.
Cons: The crowds. It is great that disc golf is getting bigger and more people are playing, but this course has a lot of beer swilling inconsiderate litterers. I pick up at least a half dozen beer cans every time I play. An afternoon round can easily take 3 hours or longer to play.

The geese. they are stinky and annoying.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Go early in the AM to avoid crowds. I wish there were some small nine hole courses in town to provide options to Boise residents.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dances with Geese

5+    10/4/2011   1/20/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My firebase this summer was near Boise and Ann Mo looked like the only noteworthy course. On Google Earth it looks like a placid park with open fairways, mature trees and an innocuous creek, so I brought 2 drivers, 2 mids and a putter and left my bag in Portland.
After 2 rounds both my drivers were gone.
The course, however, is a lot of fun, with the mostly open fairways letting you air it out, most of the lines playing straight with fades left or right to the basket, freewheeling locals who are happy to show you around, and just enough obstacles to keep things interesting. Grass is well-maintained and so dense that barefoot is wonderful in the summer[though damp in the morning, and Southern-humid midday], and discs rarely skip except in winter when the grass is brown and frosty. Baskets are excellent and moved often[at least 2 placements/hole], and there's a practice basket that collects some of the talented locals. There's enough shade on most tees or near baskets to not suffer too much on those 98+F days, and there's a giant fountain near # 11 that's excellent for temperature relief. Benches are everywhere, and during summer festivals often get moved far from the tee. Portapotties at #1 and bathrooms near #s 8/18, which is the ONLY place to get drinking water [!] in the whole park.
Cons: Its the most popular course in Boise, so after 3 pm weekdays/ noon weekends it gets very crowded. And then there's the creek and ponds.
The creek is only 1-2 ft. deep and 6 ft. wide, but it moves slowly and instantly turns shit brown and reeks if you stir the silt up. The two waist-deep ponds that sideline #s 11-14 are almost always silty. In addition, waist-high grass and tule reeds line the creek 10 ft. to each side. In the 40-50 rounds I played during the summer, I found no less than 100 discs in the creek, woods over the fence at # 16 and roof of the hotel at #2; I was able to return 80 or so. At least two guys make a business of finding and reselling discs, and the local homeless have even gotten into recovering them for drinking cash. On #s 12-14 the Canada geese keep the fairways covered in fresh poop, which is what comprises the 1-2 ft. of silt in the ponds and creek[thus its stench when disturbed].
Trying to stay out of the creek and ponds will make you a better golfer, as they're in play on almost every hole. Wind is an occasional factor on #s 10-14.
Other Thoughts: A couple of summer festivals put a two-day dent in regular play, but it only seemed to make a difference for a few hours or a few holes. An excellent library, Tablerock Brewery and Papa Joe's Coffee and Pizza[Sunday $2 Bloody Marys!] are all within 1/2 mile of the park. Boise Disc Golf is just south of the park on Vista.
***Hole #2 has been removed, due to conflicts with the adjacent residence hotel.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Boise's best

5+    9/23/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: Scorchysrevenge
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Long well maintained holes
-Lots of different approache possibilities on some holes
-Some good birdie opporunities
-Fun course
Cons: -Lots of people playing. Have to get up early to play to not have to wait.
-Lots of water/stinking swamp hazards (although, you may like this kind of thing)
-Bums and creepy middle aged guys in parked pick-ups
-Flat
-Only bathrooms that I saw were port-a-potties at hole 1.
-Over-zealous cops around
Other Thoughts: Lots of opportunities for losing discs, d/t water hazard so make sure you label your discs (or bring a disc retriever or wader pants) because there are people who wade through the water to find them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Disc Golf Park

1    6/25/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Environment- Beautiful park and easy to find. Good layout to cover the entire park.
Baskets- Excellent shape and easy to spot.
Tee Pads- Good concrete on most but, dirt on some. Still safe.
Signage- Easy to follow even without a map.
Course Flow- It was easy for my family to stop at 9 and have a bomb picnic before finishing.
Cons: Environment- Goose poop on a couple of holes.
Shot selection- Decent range of necessary shots but, distance is the key to this course with minimal technicality.
Crowded- While it wasn't unplayable there were a lot of patrons but, all were friendly and patient.
Other Thoughts: I'd highly suggest this course to anyone passing through or living in the area! Very beautiful park with a fountain for kids to play in on a hot day and a bad azz park for the kids after they follow you around through the 20 holes! Good times, I'll definitely be back on my next visit!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/29/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice grassy, mostly open course. Plenty opportunities for the 300 foot plus drives. A couple streams add a little challenge to this course.
Cons: No elevation change, and to call this "moderately wooded" I believe is a little bit of a stretch. A few holes are close to neighbors fences.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the stop.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 ann morrison park

2-4    4/25/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 153  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well groomed/maintained city park. Bathrooms. Dogs allowed. Food and drink are within walking distance of course.
Cons: Goose poop. Dogs must be on leash. No alcohol on course.

Other Thoughts: Anne Morrison Park boasts a beautiful and user friendly disc golf course that has been re-designed the past few years from 9 to 20 holes. Tee pads and tee signs on every hole. The terrain is flat, and plays on mowed lawn 100% of the course, creating a fairly wide open playing area. There are various tree and foliage hazards on the course with some OB water thrown in by way of ponds and small streams. Mature trees come into play off the tee pads for your drives, located down the fairways on most holes. Bird life frequent the ponds and adjacent fairways, mostly canadian geese which you may have to look out for (watch your step). Some fencing comes into play on a few holes but nothing that is unfair at any level of player experience. You will need to cross the access road in the park after holes 4, 6, and 16 to get to the next teepad. A little confusing since there are no signs directing you to the next teepad. Also a couple of the teesigns on the back nine are missing, but is not a big deal as you can pretty much see where the next teepad and basket is.
The course plays fairly long, 330 to 550 feet per hole on average, with only a couple of shorter shots. Rollers can crush this course if the fairways are mowed and its not wet. An ideal course for pull/pushcarts. Wind will add a pucker factor to your game if its blowing, especially on the back nine where most of the water hazard is. You would think this course would be dull and repetitive with the terrain being so flat and consistent, but the designers have done a good job mixing up the tee shots to challenge you with hyzer and anhyzer drives with a fair amount of risk down the fairways and around the baskets from OB, trees, and water hazards. Being the only real course in the Boise area, its crowded. Boise State campus is nearby so a large amount of beginner and intermediate players are present at all times. Allow for wait delays and big groups to deal with, at peak hours.
Aside from the popularity, the setting and ambience of this course is extroardinary. There is a real feeling of separation from the mainstream of life, and should be experienced if you are in the area. A must play course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    4/12/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: DRKPRNC
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open, green grass, friendly players of all skill levels and you can drink canned alcoholic beverages 8)
Lot's of people playing daily.
Cons: Field drainage is kinda bad after a good rain, which makes for wet feet. There are concrete paths that wind through the park that have many walkers, runners, bikers and etc. This sometimes makes you wait to throw your discs, which isn't fun if you've got two groups waiting for you to throw. It's in a park, so sometimes people pick bad areas to throw down their blankets to picnic, which makes for lots of yelling "fore" to bewildered people.
Other Thoughts: I play here exclusively, and love it for the most part. I wish there were more technical holes instead of 'grip-n-rip' all the time. It's technical in that you must figure out which disc is good for each hole, i.e. trees, water, and wind in the open sections. There are many college kids who play here, it's right next to BSU, so there's some good and bad involved in that. Overall, I recommend this course to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.