Boise, ID 
Ann Morrison Park - Southeast Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 602ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Park, lots of play

1    8/31/2014   9/4/2014
Review By: willygriff
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent course, busy but all players good humored and with good etiquette.
Cons: soo many players! It was exciting to see, but lots of waiting when I was there labor day weekend.
Other Thoughts: - Huge park, that you can drive through, so make sure you start on the correct end near the baseball fields.
-Some water hazards. The park is pretty clean, especially for being a college park, but I would not wade into the muck canals. Besides the 6 inches of goose shit at bottom there are unknowns like glass and stuff. I was warned of needles. Just be cautious, plastic isn't worth a bad infection.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Stuff

5+    5/16/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: Casually_Dismissive
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well executed course. My buddies and I always use this one when we play in Boise as a group.
Cons: They took out the 2nd hole for awhile but added it again for the Masters tournament they had there on Saturday. Hopefully they leave it in.
Other Thoughts: Great place to find discs! Of course we call if there is a number but often there isnt.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Walk in the Park

5+    9/18/2012   9/28/2012
Review By: PSPerkins
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A variety of shot shaping holes where most will play best to those with a long arm who can also exercise considerable control.

Park is very accessible for people of all ages and abilities.
Great signage at every tee, which are conrete and built long which is great for sprint-throwers who like a long run up.

Fun obstacles on almost every hole. Sometimes they look much more innocent and innocuous than they actually are.

Multiple routes from the tee to basket on most holes.

Park is well maintained and manicured. Beautiful scenery. Playing this course is indeed a "walk in the park" as they say.

Most hazards have been hit many times by others and there are usually long pointy sticks conveniently placed around them which make fishing your disc out of the ditch pretty painless in most cases.

Multiple basket positions keep the course fresh.
Cons: Two words: bike cops. They can be zealous at times too so keep your eyes peeled if you are *ahem* consuming anything. Beers are ok in cans but no glass allowed in park. Please be considerate with your trash.

It can get pretty crowded on the weekends, but people are for the most part very considerate. We play this course almost every weekend without fail and have only had an encounter with uncooperative people once, maybe twice. Most large parties are happy to let you play through, I know we let others play through all the time if we have a group.

The water can be both murky and extremely glassy, depending on what time of day it is. Either one can make it difficult to find your disc if it goes into the pond. Bring a retriever if you have one and you'll feel a little safer in quite a few places.

This is a multi-use park and they do all sorts of functions there - concerts, balloon lightings, etc etc. You might have your game interrupted by some function or another that draws "outsiders" into the park where they sometimes park their fat asses in the middle of the fairway to eat their McDonalds or whatever, totally oblivious to your game. I have had to skip a hole a couple times due to this. Maybe if I were more willing to be rude myself I would just play through them but I always try to be considerate of others using the park no matter how annoying I sometimes find it.
Other Thoughts: I don't mind the goose poop so much - it's only a couple holes and I usually do not play barefoot, though a lot of people do here.

There are quite a few tourneys played here which can be both a pro and a con. A con if you are looking for a saturday afternoon game and there's a tourney in progress. A pro in that if you like entering them it seems there is about one a month there.

In the evening the pond gets very glassy and reflective. If you lose a disc in there it can sometimes be recovered the next morning when the sun is not on it. Or better yet, take the safe route to the hole as there is in almost every case a safe way to get there and avoid the hazards. Most hazards are situated in a risk v. reward position and the difference is generally birdie v. par - meaning it usually only takes one additional throw to play around them if you choose to.

I have seen players on this course much better than me as well as some not quite as good. The course suits both kinds of player very well. I personally like watching other people throw, especially if they are better than me. I almost always let them play through if for no other reason than to watch how they throw and what line they take.

This was the first course I ever played and over the course of a summer have taken my game down to an average of 3 under par for the whole course.
I will also mention that there is a great casual Italian place on the east side of the park that is great to have a beer and a sandwich on the patio after a good round.

Over all a very nice park and a very playable course that will provide whatever level of challenge you feel like playing to - it's pretty flexible and up to you in most cases.

Personally I like more densely wooded courses with more elevation change but really this course is highly recommended for a nice round in a nice setting with friendly locals.

P.S. Don't let the homeless people frighten you they are mostly harmless and for the most part they stay out of the way. Multiple reviewers mentioned them so I thought I would add some perspective and say that they really are not a problem. It's a nice park and they like to hang out there. I don't blame them one bit.


** added: they removed hole #2 - and put in a practice basket. 19 holes currently. Course skips 2 last few times I played.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun long course

5+    7/27/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: ChillyWilly002
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Easy to read course map
-Easy course layout so its a course for beginners and people that have been playing for years.
-tee pads are in great shape
-hazards are ponds so no running water so easy to retrive discs
Cons: -Lots of homeless people and creeps hanging out in the park
-People leaving beer cans and trash all over.(when there are trashcans at every other tee)
-Geese can be grouped up on some holes so it can be annoying.
-Hazards can be really murky at times so it can be hard to spot discs
-If you play past noon expect delays because the groups will pile up and you will have people cut in front of you.
-Drunk college students and older folks can make your round annoying with getting in the way and being loud and rude.
Other Thoughts: Overall its a fun course you have to atleast try and its easy for all ages and skill level so bring the family out and enjoy a good soild round.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    5/1/2011   5/16/2012
Review By: DiscCoulter09
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has everything for anyone. Some holes are wide open, others are near water, and some use the trees perfectly. The holes range from LONG par 4s to SHORT par 3s. And there are 21 holes and a putting basket. All the wholes have concrete tee pads and each whole has a map with the various basket locations. Basket locations usually change once every 2 weeks and some changes will change the entire whole.
The best time to play is in the spring, but it does get windy. The course is gorgeous then and there are less crowds. the course is well marked with directions to the next wholes. Each whole has a information sign showing the distance, par, and the various locations of the baskets.
The entrance to the summer course is off of Broadway, or you can enter at the main entrance and go all the way through the park, leave the park and then come back in (kind of confusing - go past the Pizza Hut).
The course utilizes the marsh, creeks, trees, and openness of the park wonderfully. Some wholes require a finesse shot and others require to bomb a drive. Also, I am not sure if they are still there, but on the holes along the pond there used to be disc retrievers (they may not be there any more)
Cons: There can be TOO many people, on weekends or summer afternoon expect to wait a long time. Lots of geese and geese poop.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice to see a big map of the course in the center of the park.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for deer!!!

1    9/19/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: HeiserSöze
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Extremely fun course. Lots of fun shots and water traps. Big fairways that are well maintained.
Cons: Almost got trampled by deer on the fairway of hole one. Creepy people walking around and playing. Aggressive players who like to walk around with tall-boys, shirtless. Had some dude who didn't even want to wait for us to hole out... they just drove and almost hit us.
Other Thoughts: Please do not let all my cons I have entered scare you from playing the course. The deer was probably the scariest part.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Boise Gold Standard

5+    6/30/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: blakeob
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2009
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is in great condition and well maintained. It's long with lots of opportunities to unleash big throws. However, there are also a lot of holes that reward precision.
Cons: Can be busy at times.
A few opportunities to lose your disc.
Other Thoughts: There's a little something for everyone on this course. You won't be disappointed.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Oh, Boise!!

4/12/2004   3/31/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 108  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very long, tasty layout will good signage, lots of different types of holes and generous but avoidable O.B.'s. A monster of a park with plenty of very friendly locals meandering about.
Cons: A tad buggy in spring and summer i think, but i can't see much for cons at Ann Morrison. You can lose a disc in some areas if you aren't careful, though!
Other Thoughts: A blast. Just what i was hoping for when i looked it up on pdga's directory as i headed out to visit Boise during the spring of 2004. Well marked tees are always delightful and the course is a beaut. Some local lads tagged along with me during my round and had some good chat. One of the best things about the game we play is the company (in general) you run into. Much better than your average ball-golf crowd! Don't miss this stop if you get to the "City of Trees". Rad, this course is!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.