Boise, ID 
Ann Morrison Park - Southeast Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Dances with Geese

5+    10/4/2011   1/20/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 164  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My firebase this summer was near Boise and Ann Mo looked like the only noteworthy course. On Google Earth it looks like a placid park with open fairways, mature trees and an innocuous creek, so I brought 2 drivers, 2 mids and a putter and left my bag in Portland.
After 2 rounds both my drivers were gone.
The course, however, is a lot of fun, with the mostly open fairways letting you air it out, most of the lines playing straight with fades left or right to the basket, freewheeling locals who are happy to show you around, and just enough obstacles to keep things interesting. Grass is well-maintained and so dense that barefoot is wonderful in the summer[though damp in the morning, and Southern-humid midday], and discs rarely skip except in winter when the grass is brown and frosty. Baskets are excellent and moved often[at least 2 placements/hole], and there's a practice basket that collects some of the talented locals. There's enough shade on most tees or near baskets to not suffer too much on those 98+F days, and there's a giant fountain near # 11 that's excellent for temperature relief. Benches are everywhere, and during summer festivals often get moved far from the tee. Portapotties at #1 and bathrooms near #s 8/18, which is the ONLY place to get drinking water [!] in the whole park.
Cons: Its the most popular course in Boise, so after 3 pm weekdays/ noon weekends it gets very crowded. And then there's the creek and ponds.
The creek is only 1-2 ft. deep and 6 ft. wide, but it moves slowly and instantly turns shit brown and reeks if you stir the silt up. The two waist-deep ponds that sideline #s 11-14 are almost always silty. In addition, waist-high grass and tule reeds line the creek 10 ft. to each side. In the 40-50 rounds I played during the summer, I found no less than 100 discs in the creek, woods over the fence at # 16 and roof of the hotel at #2; I was able to return 80 or so. At least two guys make a business of finding and reselling discs, and the local homeless have even gotten into recovering them for drinking cash. On #s 12-14 the Canada geese keep the fairways covered in fresh poop, which is what comprises the 1-2 ft. of silt in the ponds and creek[thus its stench when disturbed].
Trying to stay out of the creek and ponds will make you a better golfer, as they're in play on almost every hole. Wind is an occasional factor on #s 10-14.
Other Thoughts: A couple of summer festivals put a two-day dent in regular play, but it only seemed to make a difference for a few hours or a few holes. An excellent library, Tablerock Brewery and Papa Joe's Coffee and Pizza[Sunday $2 Bloody Marys!] are all within 1/2 mile of the park. Boise Disc Golf is just south of the park on Vista.
***Hole #2 has been removed, due to conflicts with the adjacent residence hotel.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    11/29/2010   11/29/2011
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice park surrounded by mountains. Locals friendly and lots of help navigating course. Well maintained. Fun time.
Cons: Little overrated considering it really is just a bunch of straight shots. A little hard to navigate, and what's up with all the giant ducks? If you play by all the signs, you will shoot 15 down easy. Someone really should define par 5 to these guys.
Other Thoughts: Play if you are near it. Probably would have swapped it for another course on our road trip in hindsight.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Annie Mo'

1    4/29/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Southeast course shares some of the Northwest course and this is the course that is used the most as it is set up for Summer play. This site reminds you a little like a Golf course with its manicured grass, water hazards and a couple of well placed trees. There are some really fun holes here and some good lines that you must hit in order to get the birdie despite most fairways lack of trees. The water hazards come into play on most holes and make certain routes riskier to play but also more rewarding when hit; risk vs. reward. Tee pads and baskets are all in excellent condition and the signs help navigate and find the multiple basket locations as well. With these grass fairways you should be practicing rollers and doing fairly well playing here. I would call this place more suited for intermediate players.
Cons: A lot of this course is fairly open and straight forward. Most pro players and a lot of amateur players are going to find this course pretty easy, it would be nice if some more par four and par five holes were in place, there could be some really epic holes with trees and water hazards and be long and really challenging. I found the holes that share both courses to be the best of the bunch with the other side of the SE course being open, long and boring.
Other Thoughts: It's too bad that all of the land couldn't be open all year round, then you could lengthen some holes and create a truly epic 18 or 19 hole course with plenty of OB and obstacles that would really challenge you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 watch out for crazy people

2-4    7/29/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: drummerjunkie101
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well maintained
no bush whacking needed
easy navigation
Cons: lots of goose
its to wide open for me, it looks like a real golf course
when busy people can be mean, aggressive, and jerks.
i was almost hit by a disc, on purpose, by people i never even talked to.
to much water in play
Other Thoughts: this compared to my michigan courses is way to open, i like wooded courses.oh and there is lots of large carp in the pond

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for deer!!!

1    9/19/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: HeiserSöze
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Extremely fun course. Lots of fun shots and water traps. Big fairways that are well maintained.
Cons: Almost got trampled by deer on the fairway of hole one. Creepy people walking around and playing. Aggressive players who like to walk around with tall-boys, shirtless. Had some dude who didn't even want to wait for us to hole out... they just drove and almost hit us.
Other Thoughts: Please do not let all my cons I have entered scare you from playing the course. The deer was probably the scariest part.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Boise's best

5+    9/23/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: Scorchysrevenge
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Long well maintained holes
-Lots of different approache possibilities on some holes
-Some good birdie opporunities
-Fun course
Cons: -Lots of people playing. Have to get up early to play to not have to wait.
-Lots of water/stinking swamp hazards (although, you may like this kind of thing)
-Bums and creepy middle aged guys in parked pick-ups
-Flat
-Only bathrooms that I saw were port-a-potties at hole 1.
-Over-zealous cops around
Other Thoughts: Lots of opportunities for losing discs, d/t water hazard so make sure you label your discs (or bring a disc retriever or wader pants) because there are people who wade through the water to find them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for beginners and pros!

5+    9/23/2009   9/23/2009
Review By: Carl311
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2009
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course. Wide open enough for beginners, with enough challenging lines and hole positions for more experienced players who want to go for birdies.
Large rivers and ponds on the back of the course provide challenges. They are very slow moving though, so if you do throw a disc in, you dont have to chase after it.
Almost every hole has some sort of water/ob hazard, so it makes every shot interesting and provides a good challenge.
Huge concrete teepads and great signs showing the hole and all of the pin positions and lengths.
The parks and rec fellas rotate the hole positions (2-3 positions for every hole!) every 4-8 days, so it keeps the course from feeling stale.
Cons: Nothing major if you keep your disc out of trouble. The stream the runs through the back of the course is about waist high and is pretty gross to get into. Its pretty much stagnant goose-poo water, so make sure you take a good shower if you have to go in after a disc.
Don't throw your disk into the tall weeds. They are accompanied by a gross stinky swampy bog that eats discs!
Other Thoughts: Play in the morning to avoid crowds, but prepare to get your toes wet and run from sprinklers! Afternoons can get a little crowded. Overall a great course. I play it almost every day and it never gets old.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 great course

1    8/7/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: pokrplayr
Played: 195  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: this is my first 4.5 rated course. excellent range of shots from hyzers to anhyzers short and technical to long and open. Well maintained with a couple of ponds and a stream that is well used throught out. pretty easy to follow as most tee pads are near the previous pin.
Cons: a couple of places where i stood at the pin and scratched my head a little, i think it was after hole 18 theres a pretty good walk to 19.
Other Thoughts: great course overall and definitely worth checking out if your in the Boise area

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 watch out for water!

2-4    3/5/2008   7/28/2009
Review By: Mopbrothers
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The nature is beautiful and generally the people are very friendly. There's even a hole on top a hill with some sand.
Cons: there is a huge ass lake and river covered with bird shit that really scares players from throwing too hard. if you misthrow (and believe me it's not hard to do) you could loose your disc easily
Other Thoughts: some guys are so desperate to find discs they actually dive in the lake to get them, hehe.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Disc Golf Park

1    6/25/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Environment- Beautiful park and easy to find. Good layout to cover the entire park.
Baskets- Excellent shape and easy to spot.
Tee Pads- Good concrete on most but, dirt on some. Still safe.
Signage- Easy to follow even without a map.
Course Flow- It was easy for my family to stop at 9 and have a bomb picnic before finishing.
Cons: Environment- Goose poop on a couple of holes.
Shot selection- Decent range of necessary shots but, distance is the key to this course with minimal technicality.
Crowded- While it wasn't unplayable there were a lot of patrons but, all were friendly and patient.
Other Thoughts: I'd highly suggest this course to anyone passing through or living in the area! Very beautiful park with a fountain for kids to play in on a hot day and a bad azz park for the kids after they follow you around through the 20 holes! Good times, I'll definitely be back on my next visit!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.