Boise, ID 
Ann Morrison Park - Southeast Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 The Boise Gold Standard

5+    6/30/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: blakeob
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2009
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is in great condition and well maintained. It's long with lots of opportunities to unleash big throws. However, there are also a lot of holes that reward precision.
Cons: Can be busy at times.
A few opportunities to lose your disc.
Other Thoughts: There's a little something for everyone on this course. You won't be disappointed.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/29/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice grassy, mostly open course. Plenty opportunities for the 300 foot plus drives. A couple streams add a little challenge to this course.
Cons: No elevation change, and to call this "moderately wooded" I believe is a little bit of a stretch. A few holes are close to neighbors fences.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the stop.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 ann morrison park

2-4    4/25/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 157  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well groomed/maintained city park. Bathrooms. Dogs allowed. Food and drink are within walking distance of course.
Cons: Goose poop. Dogs must be on leash. No alcohol on course.

Other Thoughts: Anne Morrison Park boasts a beautiful and user friendly disc golf course that has been re-designed the past few years from 9 to 20 holes. Tee pads and tee signs on every hole. The terrain is flat, and plays on mowed lawn 100% of the course, creating a fairly wide open playing area. There are various tree and foliage hazards on the course with some OB water thrown in by way of ponds and small streams. Mature trees come into play off the tee pads for your drives, located down the fairways on most holes. Bird life frequent the ponds and adjacent fairways, mostly canadian geese which you may have to look out for (watch your step). Some fencing comes into play on a few holes but nothing that is unfair at any level of player experience. You will need to cross the access road in the park after holes 4, 6, and 16 to get to the next teepad. A little confusing since there are no signs directing you to the next teepad. Also a couple of the teesigns on the back nine are missing, but is not a big deal as you can pretty much see where the next teepad and basket is.
The course plays fairly long, 330 to 550 feet per hole on average, with only a couple of shorter shots. Rollers can crush this course if the fairways are mowed and its not wet. An ideal course for pull/pushcarts. Wind will add a pucker factor to your game if its blowing, especially on the back nine where most of the water hazard is. You would think this course would be dull and repetitive with the terrain being so flat and consistent, but the designers have done a good job mixing up the tee shots to challenge you with hyzer and anhyzer drives with a fair amount of risk down the fairways and around the baskets from OB, trees, and water hazards. Being the only real course in the Boise area, its crowded. Boise State campus is nearby so a large amount of beginner and intermediate players are present at all times. Allow for wait delays and big groups to deal with, at peak hours.
Aside from the popularity, the setting and ambience of this course is extroardinary. There is a real feeling of separation from the mainstream of life, and should be experienced if you are in the area. A must play course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    4/12/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: DRKPRNC
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open, green grass, friendly players of all skill levels and you can drink canned alcoholic beverages 8)
Lot's of people playing daily.
Cons: Field drainage is kinda bad after a good rain, which makes for wet feet. There are concrete paths that wind through the park that have many walkers, runners, bikers and etc. This sometimes makes you wait to throw your discs, which isn't fun if you've got two groups waiting for you to throw. It's in a park, so sometimes people pick bad areas to throw down their blankets to picnic, which makes for lots of yelling "fore" to bewildered people.
Other Thoughts: I play here exclusively, and love it for the most part. I wish there were more technical holes instead of 'grip-n-rip' all the time. It's technical in that you must figure out which disc is good for each hole, i.e. trees, water, and wind in the open sections. There are many college kids who play here, it's right next to BSU, so there's some good and bad involved in that. Overall, I recommend this course to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 BSU course

5+    5/24/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: Starwraith169
Played: 48  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well maintained as it is in a city park. Some water shots. Some pretty nice long shots. You could play in flip-flops if you wanted to.
Cons: Way too fuckin crowded. Everytime I have played, which the only time I can get to Boise is on weekends, I have had to wait behind huge groups of slow-ass college kids. Really flat course with not a lot of technical shots.
Other Thoughts: i like the fact that they added the other course, because not as many people play over there.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly surprised - good course

2-4    10/19/2008   10/24/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *I'd give this a 3.75 if there were one - it's better IMO than the other courses i've rated 3.5
*Beautiful park with super-GREEN grass - like a golf course - has mtn views, nice trees
*Course designed - most holes require shot placement & shaping; plenty of OB comes into play via irrigation ditches
*Good signage, but tough in spots to follow w/out map
*Very few bad or boring holes; many excellent holes & a few great holes
*Very fun to play
Cons: *This isn't a bad con -- tons of people playing the course....bad when you've gotta catch a plane & want to bust through a round in 2 hours. the 2nd most crowded course i've played .... played it twice and it had people on nearly every hole in both instances (granted it was fri & sunday)
*Par 3 pitch n' putt course -- double digits is very attainable
*flat topography - mitigated with water
Other Thoughts: Would have rated it higher if the course was longer. Nice 20 hole course - a must play if you're anywhere near Boise - you won't be dissapointed.

Good enough that i felt compelled to squeeze in another round before flying home.

Faves - hyzer hole over water (#12?)
Shot -6, birdied #19 with 100' putter flick!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Baked Potato Open

2-4    6/19/2004   3/31/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Established in 1996, Ann Morrison Park - Southeast is located in a mostly flat- lightly wooded, multi-use park. This seasonal 20 hole course, much like the NW course, plays on plush green grass and through several mature trees and wetlands.

This course, although mainly open, still requires a lot of accuracy as players approach the basket. Often times there are large obstacles in the middle of the fairway or near the pin that hinders players from throwing a direct route to the basket. Par for the SE course is 65, with seven par 4's and two par 5's. Length for the course is 5,366 ft. - 6,719 ft, with holes ranging anywhere from 181 ft - 695 ft, allowing for big arm throwers to take advantage. The baskets are all Mach III's, are durable, and in excellent shape. The tee pads are all cement, unlike the NW course, and built for large run ups. The signs are clear and easy to follow, allowing for better navigation.

Both the NW and SE courses have access to several amenities including soccer and baseball fields, picnic shelters and bbq pits, bathrooms, restrooms, playground, tennis courts, and plenty of parking. Ann Morrison Park is also near downtown Boise.
Cons:
Homeless people sleeping and lurking in the general vicinity can be an issue as well. Although the majority of them seemed harmless and even friendly, I still wouldn't want to have my kid wandering in the bushes for a lost disc. Just beware.

Lost discs could be an issue as well. Although the course is wide open for the most part, it is very possible to lose your disc in the Boise River, some of the tall grass in the wetlands, or over a fence so accuracy can be a big factor at times.
Other Thoughts:
I really enjoyed playing the Baked Potato Open at Ann Morrison Park. I was able to spend some time in the beautiful city of Boise, with good disc golf, great food, and fantastic football! With Boise being so scenic, I felt like I was taking a long nature walk while throwing my discs around. It felt very relaxing, allowing me to enjoy the moment. I appreciate all the hard work the locals and parks department have put in to maintaining this course. It shows!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Oh, Boise!!

4/12/2004   3/31/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 108  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very long, tasty layout will good signage, lots of different types of holes and generous but avoidable O.B.'s. A monster of a park with plenty of very friendly locals meandering about.
Cons: A tad buggy in spring and summer i think, but i can't see much for cons at Ann Morrison. You can lose a disc in some areas if you aren't careful, though!
Other Thoughts: A blast. Just what i was hoping for when i looked it up on pdga's directory as i headed out to visit Boise during the spring of 2004. Well marked tees are always delightful and the course is a beaut. Some local lads tagged along with me during my round and had some good chat. One of the best things about the game we play is the company (in general) you run into. Much better than your average ball-golf crowd! Don't miss this stop if you get to the "City of Trees". Rad, this course is!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course in the park

7/9/2007   7/10/2007
Review By: mesaranger
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Signage
Great map @ #1 tee box
Course was in great shape
Other Thoughts: While on my vacation to Boise Idaho I was able to play the Ann Morrison Park disc golf course. This course is a beautiful place to visit even if you don't get to play golf. The park is absolutely huge, not something that I am used to in the middle of the city. I again followed the PDGA directions to get to the course and the first tee box. Even though its July, 5 am is still to early to play.  No worries though, it gave me a chance to read the course design sign which shows you all of the hole locations and how to get around the park. Each and every hole is very well marked with a sign and the various possible hole locations. Which in case you were wondering, there is three possible locations per hole, except for hole 14. So heres how it played out.

5:55 am I was able to reach the first tee box, stiff and still a little grogy from the lack off sleep the night before. I pulled out my disc and let it fly. This in fact started off my 2 hour tour around this beauty of a park. The course played very well in every aspect of the meaning. Big trees, multiple alley ways and a lot of water. I am what most would consider an ego maniac when it comes to my skills, how ever I must admit I am still a very novice player, or a REC player. That being said this course pars out @ a waping 65. All in all I am very happy with the way my game played out I only shot 3 over par, not bad for a new course.

If any one has the opportunity to stop into Boise, I would suggest to stop and play this course. Very nice, very playable for all skill levels, and every one I meet was super nice and considerate. They were always willing to show the direction or just chat about DG. Huge props to the local club for the awesome course!!!



Dane Hilgenfeld

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.