Lookout Mountain, GA 
Cloudland Canyon State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 212ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Great Location, Lots of Potential

5+    10/1/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: Coryan
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 32.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Location, location, location. Top of Lookout Mountain in Cloudland Canyon State Park. It's amazingly beautiful.
* Wonderful elevation changes on many of the holes.
* Variety. Three wooded holes, some open field and most with trees in play. (No water)
* Excellent teepads (wide and textured concrete) and good tee signs on all holes.
* Layout provides several defined fairways well placed to avoid interference with neighboring holes.
* Course is regularly mowed (as of 2011).
* Wind can add an extra dimension.
* Plenty of parking and never crowded.
* Nice Innova disc selection at park gift shop near entrance.
* Other things to do in park after your round.
Cons: * Innova baskets do not have inner chains (a volunteer group at the park is working to fix this).
* No trash cans and very few benches on course.
* Seven of eighteen holes are relatively open and straight.
* Course is short by today's standard. Good players can easily shoot 10 under or better.
* Thorns and poison ivy/oak will punish errant throws on several holes.
* Cost $5 per vehicle to enter park and $3 per round of golf.
Other Thoughts: There is some interest on behalf of the park and volunteers to make this a destination course. The location is the ideal canvas for an awesome course redesign. Discussions have included ideas of adding inner chains, adding an alternate teepad and basket per hole, and creating a championship length course of 7200+ feet while retaining a beginner friendly layout of less than 4500 feet.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/17/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: daxkturner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun little course that has mowed fairways. There are some fun short shots mixed some decent long shots on the back 9.
Cons: They could have maximized the views a little better when they designed it.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the rough it eat your disc and it has a lot of thorns.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Trip

1    8/8/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: dnbailey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Really easy to follow the course layout. There are some really great holes, but it's really set up to just rip some drives. Some shots require a big hizer, so it's kind of fun to bomb on in there.
Cons: Most of the holes are fairly straight forward and open. Just step up and rip it. Toward the end you head into a wooded area.
Other Thoughts: The area is gorgeous! It's worth the trip to just be there. The holes are fun, and you get a chance to let some discs fly. Can't wait to get back down that way to play again.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This one got me hooked.

1    10/24/2009   6/17/2010
Review By: pastorfrf
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The views and scenery were nice. As a Florida boy...loved it. Great hole layout.
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: My brother-in-laws convinced me to try this sport and course for the first time. I have been playing ever since. I look forward to playing it again...now that I know what I am doing. :)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/28/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: thewishman
Played: 67  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Recently mowed, the rough areas were only about 6" high. Well marked holes and logical layout. A bit of exercise walking the course.

Park admission is $5, on Wednesdays it is free!
Cons: Not a very challenging course.
Other Thoughts: When you play this course, take a minute to look at the view from the trail area into the canyon - very beautiful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Course with some Altitude

1    3/6/2010   3/6/2010
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This eighteen hole course is located in beautiful Cloudland Canyon State Park. I'm not positive, but I'm pretty sure this is the oldest course in the greater Chattanooga area. The actual land that the course rests on is gorgeous with very few signs of vandalism or littering. Expect to see wildlife everywhere. The park employees and other visitors were extremely friendly (every person I saw waved to me). Signs up Lookout Mountain and in the park made finding the course very easy. There's a "pro shop" on the right after you pay to enter the park if you don't have any discs. This is a nice addition, but there is very little selection, so bring your own to be on the safe side. The course has excellent signage on every hole and concrete tees that have held up wonderfully. There are also a few trash cans throughout the course, but not on every hole.
The actual course reminds me of a lot of old school courses. What I mean by this is that most of the holes are short and are only accented by a few trees. The old Innova baskets also add to this. Other than a few trees most of the fairways are completely clear. On average the holes were about 200 feet throughout the course, with a few right around 300. Although the majority of the holes are open, the last three holes are back through the woods changing things up a bit. What this course lacks in distance it makes up for with some elevation. Pretty much every hole has you playing downhill, uphill, or over a valley. I also thought the course had excellent flow, in that I could always find the next tee without needing a marker.
Cons: The park fees are getting a little pricey here. The rate is now $5 per car and then an additional $2 per person per round. You can pay for the whole day, but they don't monitor you at all after paying, so there's nothing stopping you from playing another round. When I went the grass was still dormant, but I talked to a local that bought a yearly pass and he said that they don't mow often in the spring or summer. The high costs and high grass would probably keep me from driving out of my way to play this course in the Summer, and that's a shame because the setting is absolutely beautiful.
The holes aren't very long here. This can be a pro or a con, but seasoned players might not find enough challenge here. Although the baskets aren't rusty and look like they've held up well, their catching ability begs to differ. My group had putts spitting out left and right, but it kind of intensified the round and made us really focus. Just be aware of this.
Only other con sto speak of is that the course is kind of out of the way. Although this adds to the atmosphere of the course, it also means driving 30 minutes from the city. I would recommend making this an afternoon outing instead of trying to play it while driving through.
Other Thoughts: I kind of found myself in a love/hate relationship with this course. The setting and character of this course made it something to remember. I could literally picture tournaments being played here a decade or more ago when courses were generally shorter and more open. The downside of this course is that it's far away and (according to rumor) not well maintained in the summer.
I would recommend playing "The Sinks" and Jack Mattox Rec Complex before making the drive to Cloudland.
If you do drive up to play this course enjoy hole 11. It's a straight, downhill 300+ ft drive. I felt it was kind of the signature hole if the course had one.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Money talks

1    8/16/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: ShopTom.com
Played: 26  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, Wednesday free parking, concrete tees, map signs with distance, shade, very little traffic.
Cons: $2/round + $5 parking, thorny bushes in play, front of tee pad drop off, not enough benches and garbage cans along course, most of grass not mowed so what am I paying for?
Other Thoughts: Optional yearly passes for parking $50 and golf $15 individual or $25 family. I wouldn't mind paying to play if it was reflected in course upkeep. Someone needs to record the distances to update this site. My group of players with under two years experience will be back to work on our games.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course...Bad experience

1    11/20/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The views from the top of the mountain are amazing. From the tee at 18 you can see along way. The hole plays away from the view but you can't help but notice. The signs are excellent and contain distance and par. The design is solid for a short course. There are a good mix of hyzer and anhyzer, uphill and downhill. The tee pads are not smooth on the top, which I love because it means they would not be slick in the rain.
Cons: DiscCatchers...no center ring of chains. Distance-wise the holes were fairly redundant. Most holes were between 220 and 320. It is in the middle of nowhere. Not really close to anything.
Other Thoughts: The problem that I had today had nothing to do with my rating for the course. I think the course itself is good. It is nothing spectacular as far as "signature" holes, but does have good signs and design which is more than most. I learned today to not play this course alone at this time of year. There are a number of blind tee shots. Those are fine most of the time. However, the parts of the course that are in the woods, including a number of pin locations, are covered with leaves...nearly 3-4 inches thick in some points. I lost discs on back to back holes and I can say with all sincerity that both are within 20 feet of the pin. But they are under leaves. If the pins are in the woods, and you have to pay to play, the greens need to raked. It made the round frustrating. After hole 7, there were a number of holes where I would throw and immediately run to follow the path of the disc. That took a lot of the fun out of my round. In the summer this is probably not a big deal, so I tried to not let it affect my rating. I like the course, but I will never play it again by myself at this time of the year.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice short course!

2-4    11/7/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in an awesome park that has some great views and great scenery. There are nice signs and large concrete pads for every hole. The course is very well kept and very easy to play and follow from hole to hole. This is an easy course that is very fun to play and if your throwing well you can score really low.
Cons: The course is a little short by todays standards with nothing over 350ft and many of the holes are mostly open. With all of the great woods and mountains around I wish they would have taken better advantage of them with the layout. You also have to pay to play. Not a big deal to me, just letting you know.
Other Thoughts: This course has a few wooded holes at the end but is mostly open up or down hill shots with a few trees. There are several holes that have the baskets in the woods or on the edge of the woods. Overall a fun course to play if you are in the area. A good player will easily shoot in the 40's though.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hilly But open Course In The State Park!

1    8/15/2008   8/22/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park is a lovely, hilly, wooded area to have a course. The course starts and ends right next to the public restrooms. The signs are very clear making the course mostly easy to follow. The teepads are concrete and serve the purpose. There are some holes with some elevation and about 6 are in the woods. Although it's short (many holes between 200' and 300'), I found it to be somewhat challenging, especially playing it for the first time. There are some severe doglegs, baskets are placed in and behind trees enough times to keep your interest up.
Cons: Obviously, it's a little shorter than many players would like. There are no holes to really crank it up on. The single chain baskets can be frustrating at times. The $3 park entrance fee is OK but the $1 per round fee is just kind of annoying. There are a few holes on the back nine that weren't real thrilling, just kind out in grassy area. At least they placed the baskets in the trees.
Other Thoughts: Sitting atop Lookout Mountain, the drive to and around Cloudlands is beautiful. The park area around the course is pretty but doesn't give you the drop dead gorgeous views you get on the drive there. I agree with reviewer blang that with all this park land, the course does seem somewhat squeezed into a small area. And my final question, for someone from the Pacific Northwest visiting Tennesse, what is this Kudzu that previous reviewers have mentioned? Sounds like an African antelope to me!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.