Lookout Mountain, GA 
Cloudland Canyon State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 192ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Mountaintop Wildlife

2-4    12/26/2013   12/26/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 2.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This state park, 18-hole course rolls up and down hills and along the edge of several woods lines, providing a decent challenge for a Rec to Intermediate arm, with holes ranging from 190 to 347 feet. Extra large, grippy concrete tee pads are joined by good signage and a reasonable course flow. Mostly open fairways and DiscCatcher baskets that started with 16 chains that have had 6 added in an inner ring. The course is clean and pretty, with abundant wildlife (especially deer on the sunny winter day when we visited).
Though you will be hiking some hills, it's not too strenuous and none of the holes are brutally long for a weaker arm like mine. There are ace runs on the course, beginning with the bowl-crossing #2, with its hillside backstop for over throws, and finishing with the short but blind #18, where an overthrow could put you scrambling out of the woods. Although there are no "next tee" signs, the course flow is logical, the paths usually obvious (I took along the aerial map, just in case).
In all, I felt that Cloudland Canyon poses a fun challenge for players moving up to the Intermediate level.
Cons: Advanced and Open players won't find enough distance or difficulty here, and critical players will find some of the shots repetitive and not demanding of a varied sillset. Holes #3 and #4 both play over a line of trees, forcing a high style of shot (Tomahawks, Sky hysers, etc.) that an old fogie like me thinks a less than pure "frisbee" shot (because there is no low line through those trees).
Hole #8 is a huge hook shot further left than out, which felt a little unnatural and introduced me to some of the thorns on the course when my shot fell short near a large boulder on the left side of the fairway. I noticed the thorns again along the functional hedgerow between fairways #11 and #12. The next two fairways (#12 and #13), unfortunately, share a hyser line. The only holes that truly play in the woods all finish to the right.
Other Thoughts: The park does require $5 per car and $3 per round (honor box). Hole #1 is on the far side of the Girl Guides building, while #18 finishes by the parking lot.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 UnderRated Course

1    5/25/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 57  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Course is very easy to follow
*Good, fun, enjoyable flow to the course
*Has variety of obstacles and distances
*Can play it quickly (in fact we played it twice)
*Some wooded holes
*Great park
Cons: *Not really any multiple pin locations or tees I can remember
*Mostly a beginner/starter course (but a good one)
*Location is kinda out of the way
Other Thoughts: This is simple yet very enjoyable course. There is some poison ivy on a couple holes, but for the most part is not a true factor at all. If you want to let rip your drivers, then this is the place. For what was given to the creators (in terms of the land), they delivered up to all the potential this area had to offer. Some aceable holes, long drive holes, and a few accuracy holes. The 18th ends it with a sweet drive from openness tee into the woodline for the basket, a nice ending. In conclusion, take beginners here and anyone wanting a relaxing round of DG.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Location, Lots of Potential

5+    10/1/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: Coryan
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 31.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Location, location, location. Top of Lookout Mountain in Cloudland Canyon State Park. It's amazingly beautiful.
* Wonderful elevation changes on many of the holes.
* Variety. Three wooded holes, some open field and most with trees in play. (No water)
* Excellent teepads (wide and textured concrete) and good tee signs on all holes.
* Layout provides several defined fairways well placed to avoid interference with neighboring holes.
* Course is regularly mowed (as of 2011).
* Wind can add an extra dimension.
* Plenty of parking and never crowded.
* Nice Innova disc selection at park gift shop near entrance.
* Other things to do in park after your round.
Cons: * Innova baskets do not have inner chains (a volunteer group at the park is working to fix this).
* No trash cans and very few benches on course.
* Seven of eighteen holes are relatively open and straight.
* Course is short by today's standard. Good players can easily shoot 10 under or better.
* Thorns and poison ivy/oak will punish errant throws on several holes.
* Cost $5 per vehicle to enter park and $3 per round of golf.
Other Thoughts: There is some interest on behalf of the park and volunteers to make this a destination course. The location is the ideal canvas for an awesome course redesign. Discussions have included ideas of adding inner chains, adding an alternate teepad and basket per hole, and creating a championship length course of 7200+ feet while retaining a beginner friendly layout of less than 4500 feet.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/17/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: daxkturner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun little course that has mowed fairways. There are some fun short shots mixed some decent long shots on the back 9.
Cons: They could have maximized the views a little better when they designed it.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the rough it eat your disc and it has a lot of thorns.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Trip

1    8/8/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: dnbailey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Really easy to follow the course layout. There are some really great holes, but it's really set up to just rip some drives. Some shots require a big hizer, so it's kind of fun to bomb on in there.
Cons: Most of the holes are fairly straight forward and open. Just step up and rip it. Toward the end you head into a wooded area.
Other Thoughts: The area is gorgeous! It's worth the trip to just be there. The holes are fun, and you get a chance to let some discs fly. Can't wait to get back down that way to play again.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Average course with great views!

1    8/29/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course that is in the middle of a state park, on top of a mountain that has some tremendous views. The land that was utilized for this course was well planned with the exception of a few holes. It makes for a pleasant walk between the pin and the next tee. You would be pretty had pressed to lose a disc here with all of the open fields. Holes 15-17 are wooded (ah sweet shade). It has Innova baskets that are in good shape as well as slightly larger concrete tee pads than I am used to. Has plenty of obstacles, trees, big rocks, and wind that you have to account for as well. Also has soda machine by tee 1.
Cons: Can get a little hot in the summer and can get a little too windy sometimes. Hole 18 left me itching for more. It was just around 200' and thought that a nice course would have a final hole that begs you to throw a long one. Can get repetitive in the middle, going back and forth.
Pin 10 is pretty close to tee pad 8, I would say 20-30'. Not many holes (if any) that require an anyhyzer shot. This might not be a bad thing for some but I would have liked at least 2 of these. Hyzer shots were plentiful.
Other Thoughts: Cost $5 to get into the park and then $2 per person that wanted to play DG. After the gate, no one asked if we paid to play and I have a feeling that not many people do (not that I would ever condone such a thing). This being a state park, there are a lot of other things to do, tennis courts, hiking, camping, grilling and supposedly they have a pool there as well. If you are planning a road trip along with camping, you can't go wrong staying here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This one got me hooked.

1    10/24/2009   6/17/2010
Review By: pastorfrf
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The views and scenery were nice. As a Florida boy...loved it. Great hole layout.
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: My brother-in-laws convinced me to try this sport and course for the first time. I have been playing ever since. I look forward to playing it again...now that I know what I am doing. :)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cloudland

5+    3/14/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: TreeBurner
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course, unlike others in the area, lets you slang some discs. Most of the holes have wide open fairways with the basket at the edge of the woods or just into the woods. All of the teepads are concrete. The course is in a very nice state park. Some holes are very unique. One hole is an extreme dogleg left that will make you want to throw over the trees seeing that there is no mando.
Cons: Grass is tall in the fairway and will make your legs itch all day. Most of the course is in the open and gets really hot during the summer. Have to pay to park and pay to play. Park rangers will creep by at 2mph to scope out your girlfriend and to make sure your not toting some brews.
Other Thoughts: Beware of going left on hole #5 because there is a severe drop off that will swallow your discs whole.

Trees!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/28/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: thewishman
Played: 67  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Recently mowed, the rough areas were only about 6" high. Well marked holes and logical layout. A bit of exercise walking the course.

Park admission is $5, on Wednesdays it is free!
Cons: Not a very challenging course.
Other Thoughts: When you play this course, take a minute to look at the view from the trail area into the canyon - very beautiful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Can you actually plant poison ivy?

1    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes make this relatively open and short-medium length course fun. Most of the shots begin in open shots off the tee, with pins placed in and around trees.
Pins placed near hills require some strategy.

Some challenging tunnel and tunnel upshots required on the final 3-4 holes. Even though there aren't any "long bomb" holes, the elevation changes require some torque.

It's not bad exercise walking up and down the hills either.
Cons: If you are, or think you possibly could be, allergic to poison ivy, don't even attempt to play this course. The plants grow freely in huge patches all over. Instead of upping the penalty for wayward shots, you can stick a drive 10 feet from the pin, and be smack in the middle of a patch of ivy. Unless you're Ken Climo, you and/or your disc will find its way into the stuff at least once.
Seriously, it looks like they're growing it intentionally.

While the location makes for some nice scenery, it also musters up some pretty formidable wind. I've never seen a TeeRex get so close to flipping over. If wind is forecast, it may be worth avoiding this course.
Other Thoughts: One of the only pay-to-play courses in the area, yet it's one of the most poorly kept as well.

For $9, for my wife and I to play one round, you'd think they'd buy a bit of weed killer, or maybe a bullwhip and a chair, and try to tackle at least SOME of the ivy. Just around the pins, maybe?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.