Clute, TX
Clute Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 182ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Another Niner in a park

1    10/2/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 59  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Pros:

1. Signage and tee signs.

2. Baskets are in good shape.

3. Fairly easy to navigate.
Cons: The Cons:

1. The holes are basically all the same.

2. Hole 3's basket is missing...

3. only one hole is over 250 ft. This doesnt really constitute a down grade since its a nice thing for beginners, but considering that if you are not form the Clute/ Lake Jackson area, this course is nothing special.

4. This course is a breeding ground for mosquitoes. Park is not always well kept. Grass is getting long.
Other Thoughts: Clute is nothing more than a warm up to Dunbar. Clute is for beginners period. Basically hyzers and anhyzers are all you need. Natural tee pads and sigange at each hole are about all i can this course has going for it. I really wish i could say more but leave the dirvers in the car and take only midrange discs and putters.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Better Bring Bug Spray!

1    7/24/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: tsupak
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice trees... keeps the workout a challenge.
Cons: MOSQUITOES are terrible! Better bring your Off!

I really dont care for the grafetti on the markers, they could use some polishing up, but its an okay course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cramped - Yet Still Good Fun.

1    6/25/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great beginner level course that you can take your time on to help people learn their game. It was the perfect type of course for my wife and kids because we could relax, replay holes, and practice putting without having to worry about other golfers. Being nine holes, this park gets less use than Dunbar Park, which is equally beginner friendly.

It's a nice park that you can make a day in with playground equipment, bathrooms, and even some horseshoe pits. There is a walking trail to the left of the first three holes, but it only comes into play if you have a very errant shot left. This is the place if you want to practice your midrange and putting with some challenge of trees, but no worries of losing a disc.

BEST HOLE/S: #3
Cons: Coming in at under 2000', the course is very short so if you are decent expect more of an ace run than a big challenge. Only one hole is over 250' feet, so you won't need more than your midrange or putter. Hole #3 is the biggest challenge and just keep walking since the tee box is way back by the fence. The tee signs are adequate with number and distance, but the natural boxes gets muddy fast. The various older DisCatcher baskets are in average to below average shape.

The course layout itself, although fun, was very cramped in one corner of the park area and would be hazardous if it were packed. You couldn't ever have a small tournament there because people would be getting hit left and right.

WORST HOLE/S: #4
Other Thoughts: If you're in the Lake Jackson area, and are looking for a relaxing day, both Dunbar Park and Clute Park are nice courses to get a quick fix. Don't expect to be wowed, but I will say that when I wasn't hoping for much, both courses were more fun and better than expected. My recommendation is hit the Dairy Bar on Plantation Road west of Dixie after your round and get a homemade corn-dog or burger to complete your day.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but not that bad

2-4    8/1/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
A nice quiet, multi-use neighborhood park houses the Clute DGC. While this course isn't fancy it does serve the purpose of being a pretty good introductory course. The holes are well marked with tall tee posts/signs. The distances marked are accurate and the baskets are nicely numbered. The baskets are single chain Innova Discatchers. The tees are dirt but smooth and generally free from roots. This course is a birdie-fest for any semi experienced golfer. Although most of the baskets are straight ahead shots there are other shot lines (hyzer or anny) available on most holes. Restrooms and trash cans available.
Cons:
The course is short at an average of 214' per hole. The transition from basket/hole #2 to tee/hole #3 is not obvious without a map. Hole #3 doesn't seem to fit in the course with the rest of the holes, it's a much harder hole with the only line offering a decent approach to the basket being an extreme hyzer skip shot out over the sidewalk. It seems like a much tougher hole than any of the others. The tees are most likely muddy after a decent rainfall. I could not find the supposed "pro tees" that are marked with rope.
Other Thoughts:
There were zero mosquitoes when I played in August. No real drivers necessary here with the possible exception of #8; just bring a midrange and putter. It looks like some locals have attempted to create an alternate layout as some of the tee signs have Sharpied on them phrases like "#4 box to #5 basket". I found these labeled, so I measured them:

#3 tee to #4 basket - 201'
#4 tee to #5 basket - 300'
#5 tee to #6 basket - 312'
#6 tee to #3 basket - 255'

Definitely not a destination course, but if you're in town to play Dunbar you might want to swing by to bag this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tiny Course

1    8/29/2008   8/31/2008
Review By: modestmusic
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good chance at an ace, well groomed, nice baskets & tee signs
Cons: No hole longer than about 240' with most under 200'...horrible mosquitos...do not play this course without bringing spray
Other Thoughts: not too bad for a short 9 hole course. Probably better suited for working on your short game.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.