Glenwood Springs, CO 
Colorado Mountain College, Glenwood Share
Uploaded By: bobmcnelly Hole #7 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    5/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2013
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good Tee boxes and baskets. Some real good tech trees shots. Really easy to find you way around the course. Great photos at all the tees showing possible pin locations. A real good variety of shots.
Cons: No trash cans on the course at all. So make sure you hold on to your trash.
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course the multiple pin locations keep the course fresh i just wish I could play the course more often.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Did Someone Say Fun

2-4    5/16/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is quite possibly in one of the most beautiful settings that one could possibly find. There are some incredible views. The course itself offers much more than just great views as well. There is a great variety of distances and shots required on this course. The layout was well thought out and takes advantage of the natural features of the land. Each hole has multiple pin placements that range from easy to sometimes rediculous. There are a lot of locals that love and take care of this course adding some nice features regularly. Baskets are all in good condition. This course is just plain fun to play for just about everyone from the beginer to the pro. The tee pads are cement and consistent throughout the entire course. There are several great risk reward shots on the course and several different options to allow for creativity.
Cons: The tee signs are nothing more than a colord post with a number on them at this point though there is hope that this will change in the near future. For a mountain course there was very minimal elevation change as well as far more open holes than one should expect on a mountain course. Pin placements could drastically change the challenge of the course. After snow melt or a good rain this course is going to be crazy muddy, even to the point of making the nice concrete tee pads someone challenging to navigate. It is also possible to negate some of the challenge of this course if you have a good overhead shot. I am really trying to be at picky as I can on these as this truly is a fun course to play.
Other Thoughts: There are really only 18 holes on this course as it seem hole 19 is no longer going to be there. There is a tee pad for hole 19 but I am guessing there were too many complaints about cars getting hit. There are obviously some improvements that can be made to improve this course and I wouldn't be surprised if things improved in the near future with the number of people that love this course. Course maps have not been updated in a little while and while they are still very helpful for navigation the distances listed on the map you can find on this site is off for some holes. Hole 2, known as the crater hole, was the most memorable hole on the course, even if it really was a giant sink hole rather than an actual crater. This is really one of those courses that reminded me why I love playing this game so much. It is just a remarkable course that is fun to play.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Flat Mountain Course

1    9/6/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: HRPufinstuf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I echo the other reviewers in terms of variety of shots / challenges etc.... I am almost exclusively LHBH, but the guys I played with (their home course) pulled everything out of the bag - rollers, tomahawks, thumbers, forehand, backhand etc.... and they outscored me by 8 / 9 strokes. I love the pinon forest courses (Leadville has similar feel but overall experience not nearly as nice) - the trees are generally low enough you have over head routes and there is little underbrush once in the woods. Over half the holes it seemed allow for big rips - wide open fairways - with pins located in the trees - so your approach to basket is key. Be sure you know how you want to approach with your upshot before you release your drive. Crater hole is as advertised. Thanks for cactus warnings - still got bit!
Cons: You must have a map or play with someone who knows the course - this was my first time and if i had not hooked up with locals - I would have been pretty frustrated looking for baskets and tees. Tee boxes are concrete but have no hole information - often not even a number. No yardage or pin placements info. There are tee marker stands ready for hole info - but nothing there now. Height of first basket is not to code - but its cool. this would easily garner 5 discs if there was better hole info and course navigation.
Other Thoughts: I hooked up with three locals on hole 3: Wayne Garcia, RJ and Al. What great guys. Wayne is the main guy who takes care of the course and puts in improvements - its his baby and it shows - he is full of ideas for more improvements. I just wonder what he could do if he had volunteer teams like we get at Beaver Ranch. These three guys are perfect examples of why I like this game so much. Friendly, easy going, free with advice and encouragement - really made me feel welcomed and would play again with them anytime, anywhere.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 gorgeous

1    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I stopped by this course while on vacation and I have to say it was absolutely gorgeous. I am against rating it any higher than 4.0 since I've only played it once, but I would definitely go again. My most memorable hole is there, hole number two, and constantly tell people about the "crater hole" at CMC. All the holes are new, fun, and can be quite challenging. The long hole is deceptively harder than it looks, seeing as since you are on top of a plateau with no wind cover whatsoever. If you are having a hard time on the DG course and need something to cheer you up, just look around. Mount Sopris is something to marvel at
Cons: - Very dry and at a very high altitude. take a drink
- Can be dangerous for people that aren't as mobile or spry.
-Watch out for cactus!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Glenwood Springs

5/6/2008   5/6/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 157  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.3 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: well marked course, beautiful setting. multiple pin placements. short and long holes, in the open and in the trees. well designed, will challenge all levels of players.
Cons: no bathrooms? (portapotty i think), not much to complain about.
Other Thoughts: This course deserves a high rating but i dont know about a 4.5/5. its a great course, well designed with short technical holes, and long, in the trees and out in the open bombs you have to make. afternoon wind will work you a little harder but still not a complaint. Juniper trees are the prevalent growth with pine trees thrown in the mix, to me it doesnt feel like a true mountain course with a lot of elevation changes, but its stilll up there in altitude (6500/7000 ft?). Bring your own water and food. It takes about an hour and a half to play 18, maybe two hours. As it is isolated from the mainstream, it doesnt get crowded like a course in the city, for first timers its a little hard to find, but once you do get there, its well worth it. Definitely one of the best courses in the area and if you are travelling through, dont miss playing it.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.