Glenwood Springs, CO
Colorado Mountain College, Glenwood Share
Uploaded By: bobmcnelly Hole #15 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 166ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: skeeter308
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is very well laid out. Maps with pin placement and distances at each hole Great use of terrain to challange you to consider shots.
Cons: Unable to come up with any at this point
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love hole 2 the way the crater is used. I look forward to playing it again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun technical mountain course

2-4    5/30/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: Xiou
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out course, pretty easy to follow the signs to the baskets. We didnt know about the extra holes and went from 2 and played a few more holes before we ended up on 4 however. Technical shots for a lot of holes and a few wide open ones to let you see how the wind wants to help (or hurt) you.
Cons: I found some holes were a little too technical with no good way to effectively make it to the hole. Wind can carry your discs away with the high wind and changes of elevation.
Other Thoughts: It was one of my favorite courses in colorado so far (i prefer technical over open) and the views from the course are amazing.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of Colorado's Best

2-4    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 99  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice long concrete tee-pads
-Bright baskets that are easy to see
-Very large vareity of holes that will challenge the different types of shots in your bag (wide open bombers, wooded, elevation changes, etc.)
-All of the holes have at least 2 or more different pin positions
-The course has a large variety of distances on it (the distances range from about 250 to about 600 feet depending on which pin positions are currently in)
-The holes are well-designed and some of them present quite a challenge
-The tee-signs are very nice as they show all the pin positions, give the distance from all the pin positions and also show an overhead view and from the tee-box view of the hole
-Almost every hole has a bench on it or somewhere to sit and take a break, which is nice because this course gets warm and is a bit of a hike
Cons: -There are a few spots on this course where it can be hard to navigate to the next hole especially when certain pin positions are in (There are signs that point to the next tee-pad but they don't always point in the right direction)
-On some holes if the basket is in a certain pin position you have to walk back up the fairway to get to the next holes, which could lead to some safety issues if the course is crowded
-Some of the teepads are raised slightly above the ground and have a bit of a drop off (Hole 2 has a major drop-off in front of the teepad) that if you are not careful could lead to a twisted ankle or something like that.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the best courses I have played in Colorado. It is an absolute blast to play and has a ton of fun really well designed holes that will definitely challenge you. This course is definitely worth driving too and playing no matter the distance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/15/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Breathtaking views. Mt. Sopris is visible throughout the course, and the mountain setting is pretty much unbeatable in terms of ideal surroundings for a round of disc golf
-Just the right amount of elevation change. While you won't be hiking thousands of feet up and down mountains, you'll get a nice little workout with the topography of the course.
-Really good mix of types of holes. There are open holes, tight wooded holes, doglegs, blind shots, uphill, downhill, flat...
-Pretty hard to lose a disc for such a challenging course. The wind, shrubs, and trees may give you hell here and there, but you'll find your plastic.
-Detailed signs, trapezoidal concrete tee pads, and benches made of either logs or snowboards at each tee.
Cons: -It can be tricky to navigate at certain points for first-timers. I got lost once or twice. One time I asked for help from a local on another hole, and he said "you're playing this alone for the first time? If I were in your situation I'd probably have given up and started hunting deer". It wasn't that bad, but take a good hard look at the course map before you make your drive on hole 1.
-The wind is brutal on this course. More times than not I was driving with my Whippet, which only gets pulled out of the bag rarely, because it was the only thing that could handle the random but frequent gusts.
-The mountain vegetation will eat up your plastic. The sandy dirt is almost like a pillow for a falling disc, but the shrubs will tear your pro-D and DX discs to shreds.
Other Thoughts: If you are even remotely near Glenwood Springs, you really owe it to yourself to play this course. It's challenging without being ridiculously hard, it's in a breathtaking locale, and you'll need every shot you know to get through it. What else could you ask for?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of Glenwood

1    9/9/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: markjfun
Played: 61  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Glenwood CMC, one of Colorado's principal mountain-style disc golf courses, leads you on a winding path through a lush forest offering both spectacular views and tactical challenges. You'll be scratching your head as you stand at the maintained tees, wondering which approach will offer you the best chance at par, birdie or bogey. There are a handful of ace-able holes if you can thread the needle in just the right spot. In fact, threading the needle is half the battle here. Even after a masterful drive, you sometimes find yourself saying "Huh, now how am I going to get through/around/under/over this cluster of pines?". Elevation change doesn't play a huge factor in the game, but a few spots will remind you that you're playing in hills of the Rockies. Short evergreens and zero water obstacles should give you peace of mind that you'll finish the round with the same plastic you started with. It's simple but true: slinging your disc from the shady edge of the forest into a sunny clearing bedded with sage brush on a Rocky Mountain morning is just so gratifying.
Cons: Improvements to the inadequate, or incomplete, tee pad signage could really make this a 5-star course. The brightly colored metal sign posts are already placed at each pad, but the only communication they provide is graffiti, stickers and fading hole numbers scrawled in black marker. While this is enough to get you through the course, the signposts are begging to be adorned with weatherproof full-color hole maps. The course could get busy in the afternoons and evenings during the school year, and during bi-weekly club play.
Other Thoughts: A nice full color illustrated course map is available in the Links/Files tab. Benches made of recycled snowboards show up about every other hole, and there are ample knobs on tree trunks to hang your bag. The course gets a steady flow of players due to its much-deserved high rating, proximity to young active students and commonly organized events. Bring a friend or two to play this beautiful course; the atmosphere and setup is perfect for a friendly match up.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic

5+    12/26/2010   12/26/2010
Review By: aaronoutside
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course. I love all of the variety and it is a challenging course. There are several holes that are like no other course. I love hole 2 and 16. 2 is great because you have to throw over this ravine. If you can make the drive, it is an easy hole, but if you miss it, it is a hard par. The tee boxes are solid and so are the baskets.
Cons: When it is wet, it is extremely muddy. I mean inches of mud, but since it is dry in colorado most of the year, it is not a big deal. The only thing that I wish they had are signs on the tee boxes telling distances. It is also heavily wooded, so you often end up throwing a lot of thumbers, but that is not always a bad thing.
Other Thoughts: Super fun course, and if you are in the area, it is the best place to play around.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 worth the drive

5+    10/4/2009   2/16/2010
Review By: 54over14
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best course in the Roaring Fork valley if not Colorado.

Multiple pin locations, drives can go short or long Hyzer, Anny, dead straight...they give you everything to keep the cousre fun. Open, wooded, Elevation change...everything makes you think a bit more then what you're used to if you play a "park" course.
Cons: Bring water, Pee in the bushes, and go early to avoid heat, dust, and loads of people. Soccer in the fall can eat up lots of the parking.
Other Thoughts: This is a "mountain" course so don't be surprised by stumps, broken branches, wild animal scat, variable footing, wind, blah, blah, blah...bottom line is come prepared.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  CMC has it right

5+    8/26/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: andreicus88
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all, tight alleys, open meadows, some elevation changes (minimal), hysers, anhysers, etc. Great place to develop your skills because the course designers have built in some mandos but nothing too discouraging.
Cons: Can be busy on the weekends. Course contains a lot of tall grasses/sage and some pinion so the potential for loosing a disc is there so be carefull and follow your shot.
Other Thoughts: This has become my go-to course despite the fact that I have three other courses that are closer to my home, definitely get to this one if you can.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Unsurpassed Views

5+    5/17/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: McMarkD
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed and layed out course. Designed for lots of different shots and discs. Holes do have backdoors so if you are only RHBH, you can still par the course. Every time you look up, you know you are not in Florida. Big hysers through the trees are often needed because your drive wasn't perfect. Sunscreen and water are a must. This course is perfect for tournaments, all holes are close to beginning, but yet there is very little conflict between holes. Hole 1 has a huge risk reward pin placement. A beginner really has to consider laying up a 40 foot putt. Benches are great.
Cons: It is really dusty and dry. Extra water is a must. Hole 18 forces you to drive aimed at Soccer Mom's cars in the parking lot. It is hard to take them out of play.
Other Thoughts: It is really special playing here. If you are too sore afterward, there is always the Glenwood Springs pool!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 sage, pine and mountain views

3/10/2008   3/10/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 186  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11 Years
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course, I wish I could bottle it and drink it. It has everything you want in a Colorado hike and a disc golf course. Almost every hole has the little things that make a course nice, like benches and pegs to put your bag on. The natural beauty make this one of the most picturesque courses in all of Colorado. The smell of fresh pine leads you into the woods, but have no fear, the course is well marked and the beaten paths are well placed so that you will not get lost. Granite sage pine and mountain views abound. The course layout rewards good shots and the natural beauty rewards bad shots in their own way. My favorite is the benches made out of old snowboards, nice touch.
Cons: They say it can be windy in Glenwood Springs. I'm actually a picky grader, this may be a five, it is that good. Best course in Colorado out of the 20+ I've played there!
Other Thoughts: After being disappointed by the much over hyped Apsen course, come to Glenwood Springs and find the best course in the area.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.