Glenwood Springs, CO
Colorado Mountain College, Glenwood Share
Uploaded By: bobmcnelly Hole #3 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 249ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My new favorite course

1    7/16/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: kingjeremiah
Played: 74  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.9 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is an amazing course, well layed out, all types of shoots, and fantastic views!!! its really easy to follow with some common foot paths.
Cons: The boxes are a little uneven if you use a follow through step, but just back up more; needed a spotter a lot so as to not lose discs
Other Thoughts: I will for sure be coming back to play this course again. Also, bragging rights... I shoot a skip ACE on hole 18!!!!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic

5+    12/26/2010   12/26/2010
Review By: aaronoutside
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course. I love all of the variety and it is a challenging course. There are several holes that are like no other course. I love hole 2 and 16. 2 is great because you have to throw over this ravine. If you can make the drive, it is an easy hole, but if you miss it, it is a hard par. The tee boxes are solid and so are the baskets.
Cons: When it is wet, it is extremely muddy. I mean inches of mud, but since it is dry in colorado most of the year, it is not a big deal. The only thing that I wish they had are signs on the tee boxes telling distances. It is also heavily wooded, so you often end up throwing a lot of thumbers, but that is not always a bad thing.
Other Thoughts: Super fun course, and if you are in the area, it is the best place to play around.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Did Someone Say Fun

2-4    5/16/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is quite possibly in one of the most beautiful settings that one could possibly find. There are some incredible views. The course itself offers much more than just great views as well. There is a great variety of distances and shots required on this course. The layout was well thought out and takes advantage of the natural features of the land. Each hole has multiple pin placements that range from easy to sometimes rediculous. There are a lot of locals that love and take care of this course adding some nice features regularly. Baskets are all in good condition. This course is just plain fun to play for just about everyone from the beginer to the pro. The tee pads are cement and consistent throughout the entire course. There are several great risk reward shots on the course and several different options to allow for creativity.
Cons: The tee signs are nothing more than a colord post with a number on them at this point though there is hope that this will change in the near future. For a mountain course there was very minimal elevation change as well as far more open holes than one should expect on a mountain course. Pin placements could drastically change the challenge of the course. After snow melt or a good rain this course is going to be crazy muddy, even to the point of making the nice concrete tee pads someone challenging to navigate. It is also possible to negate some of the challenge of this course if you have a good overhead shot. I am really trying to be at picky as I can on these as this truly is a fun course to play.
Other Thoughts: There are really only 18 holes on this course as it seem hole 19 is no longer going to be there. There is a tee pad for hole 19 but I am guessing there were too many complaints about cars getting hit. There are obviously some improvements that can be made to improve this course and I wouldn't be surprised if things improved in the near future with the number of people that love this course. Course maps have not been updated in a little while and while they are still very helpful for navigation the distances listed on the map you can find on this site is off for some holes. Hole 2, known as the crater hole, was the most memorable hole on the course, even if it really was a giant sink hole rather than an actual crater. This is really one of those courses that reminded me why I love playing this game so much. It is just a remarkable course that is fun to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    3/13/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: paulrothley@msn.com
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very well marked course, challenging, and beautiful land. #2 is a real kick. This course has some pin placements that are very challenging, in the trees, etc.
Cons: Not much to pick on, T - pads can be dangerous, very dusty, no bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: This one is a must play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 worth the drive

5+    10/4/2009   2/16/2010
Review By: 54over14
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best course in the Roaring Fork valley if not Colorado.

Multiple pin locations, drives can go short or long Hyzer, Anny, dead straight...they give you everything to keep the cousre fun. Open, wooded, Elevation change...everything makes you think a bit more then what you're used to if you play a "park" course.
Cons: Bring water, Pee in the bushes, and go early to avoid heat, dust, and loads of people. Soccer in the fall can eat up lots of the parking.
Other Thoughts: This is a "mountain" course so don't be surprised by stumps, broken branches, wild animal scat, variable footing, wind, blah, blah, blah...bottom line is come prepared.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Flat Mountain Course

1    9/6/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: HRPufinstuf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I echo the other reviewers in terms of variety of shots / challenges etc.... I am almost exclusively LHBH, but the guys I played with (their home course) pulled everything out of the bag - rollers, tomahawks, thumbers, forehand, backhand etc.... and they outscored me by 8 / 9 strokes. I love the pinon forest courses (Leadville has similar feel but overall experience not nearly as nice) - the trees are generally low enough you have over head routes and there is little underbrush once in the woods. Over half the holes it seemed allow for big rips - wide open fairways - with pins located in the trees - so your approach to basket is key. Be sure you know how you want to approach with your upshot before you release your drive. Crater hole is as advertised. Thanks for cactus warnings - still got bit!
Cons: You must have a map or play with someone who knows the course - this was my first time and if i had not hooked up with locals - I would have been pretty frustrated looking for baskets and tees. Tee boxes are concrete but have no hole information - often not even a number. No yardage or pin placements info. There are tee marker stands ready for hole info - but nothing there now. Height of first basket is not to code - but its cool. this would easily garner 5 discs if there was better hole info and course navigation.
Other Thoughts: I hooked up with three locals on hole 3: Wayne Garcia, RJ and Al. What great guys. Wayne is the main guy who takes care of the course and puts in improvements - its his baby and it shows - he is full of ideas for more improvements. I just wonder what he could do if he had volunteer teams like we get at Beaver Ranch. These three guys are perfect examples of why I like this game so much. Friendly, easy going, free with advice and encouragement - really made me feel welcomed and would play again with them anytime, anywhere.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  CMC has it right

5+    8/26/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: andreicus88
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all, tight alleys, open meadows, some elevation changes (minimal), hysers, anhysers, etc. Great place to develop your skills because the course designers have built in some mandos but nothing too discouraging.
Cons: Can be busy on the weekends. Course contains a lot of tall grasses/sage and some pinion so the potential for loosing a disc is there so be carefull and follow your shot.
Other Thoughts: This has become my go-to course despite the fact that I have three other courses that are closer to my home, definitely get to this one if you can.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 gorgeous

1    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 65  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I stopped by this course while on vacation and I have to say it was absolutely gorgeous. I am against rating it any higher than 4.0 since I've only played it once, but I would definitely go again. My most memorable hole is there, hole number two, and constantly tell people about the "crater hole" at CMC. All the holes are new, fun, and can be quite challenging. The long hole is deceptively harder than it looks, seeing as since you are on top of a plateau with no wind cover whatsoever. If you are having a hard time on the DG course and need something to cheer you up, just look around. Mount Sopris is something to marvel at
Cons: - Very dry and at a very high altitude. take a drink
- Can be dangerous for people that aren't as mobile or spry.
-Watch out for cactus!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Unsurpassed Views

5+    5/17/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: McMarkD
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed and layed out course. Designed for lots of different shots and discs. Holes do have backdoors so if you are only RHBH, you can still par the course. Every time you look up, you know you are not in Florida. Big hysers through the trees are often needed because your drive wasn't perfect. Sunscreen and water are a must. This course is perfect for tournaments, all holes are close to beginning, but yet there is very little conflict between holes. Hole 1 has a huge risk reward pin placement. A beginner really has to consider laying up a 40 foot putt. Benches are great.
Cons: It is really dusty and dry. Extra water is a must. Hole 18 forces you to drive aimed at Soccer Mom's cars in the parking lot. It is hard to take them out of play.
Other Thoughts: It is really special playing here. If you are too sore afterward, there is always the Glenwood Springs pool!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Play this course!

5+    8/28/2007   4/7/2009
Review By: beardown4life
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2009
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great technical course. Every hole has a different feel to it from throwing over a crater, to shooting through a 6 foot wide pipe, to 1 or 2 challenging deuceables, to grip and rippers.

You want it, CMC has got it. ENJOY!
Cons: You better be patient if you are a beginner playing this course.

look out for small cactus if you wander off the beaten path.
Other Thoughts: No one can completely describe playing this course. go check it out, and you'll probably play around and start right away on the first hole for round 2.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.