Glenwood Springs, CO 
Colorado Mountain College, Glenwood Share
Uploaded By: bobmcnelly Hole #6 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 423ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: tacsmurf
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic course layout with breath taking views. The first hole captures the beautiful landscape with a short hole placed in a raised pin position. Each hole presents a new set of challenges. The course is well maintained by the locals. We were lucky enough to Play with a group from the area and I was surprised at how friendly people were at every encounter. Unlike many of the other mountain course it is difficult to lose a disc. Spotters were not necessary. Each hole was equipped with ample benches to take a break or just enjoy the beauty all around you.
Cons: The pads are slightly worn in but rubber mats are found near most holes for whipping mud off of your shoes before making a shot.

Hazards are ample but there are no water hazards.

Signs mark each hole but are lacking pictures displaying pin positions.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play and don't forget your camera.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of Glenwood

1    9/9/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: markjfun
Played: 73  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Glenwood CMC, one of Colorado's principal mountain-style disc golf courses, leads you on a winding path through a lush forest offering both spectacular views and tactical challenges. You'll be scratching your head as you stand at the maintained tees, wondering which approach will offer you the best chance at par, birdie or bogey. There are a handful of ace-able holes if you can thread the needle in just the right spot. In fact, threading the needle is half the battle here. Even after a masterful drive, you sometimes find yourself saying "Huh, now how am I going to get through/around/under/over this cluster of pines?". Elevation change doesn't play a huge factor in the game, but a few spots will remind you that you're playing in hills of the Rockies. Short evergreens and zero water obstacles should give you peace of mind that you'll finish the round with the same plastic you started with. It's simple but true: slinging your disc from the shady edge of the forest into a sunny clearing bedded with sage brush on a Rocky Mountain morning is just so gratifying.
Cons: Improvements to the inadequate, or incomplete, tee pad signage could really make this a 5-star course. The brightly colored metal sign posts are already placed at each pad, but the only communication they provide is graffiti, stickers and fading hole numbers scrawled in black marker. While this is enough to get you through the course, the signposts are begging to be adorned with weatherproof full-color hole maps. The course could get busy in the afternoons and evenings during the school year, and during bi-weekly club play.
Other Thoughts: A nice full color illustrated course map is available in the Links/Files tab. Benches made of recycled snowboards show up about every other hole, and there are ample knobs on tree trunks to hang your bag. The course gets a steady flow of players due to its much-deserved high rating, proximity to young active students and commonly organized events. Bring a friend or two to play this beautiful course; the atmosphere and setup is perfect for a friendly match up.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My new favorite course

1    7/16/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: kingjeremiah
Played: 80  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is an amazing course, well layed out, all types of shoots, and fantastic views!!! its really easy to follow with some common foot paths.
Cons: The boxes are a little uneven if you use a follow through step, but just back up more; needed a spotter a lot so as to not lose discs
Other Thoughts: I will for sure be coming back to play this course again. Also, bragging rights... I shoot a skip ACE on hole 18!!!!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic

5+    12/26/2010   12/26/2010
Review By: aaronoutside
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course. I love all of the variety and it is a challenging course. There are several holes that are like no other course. I love hole 2 and 16. 2 is great because you have to throw over this ravine. If you can make the drive, it is an easy hole, but if you miss it, it is a hard par. The tee boxes are solid and so are the baskets.
Cons: When it is wet, it is extremely muddy. I mean inches of mud, but since it is dry in colorado most of the year, it is not a big deal. The only thing that I wish they had are signs on the tee boxes telling distances. It is also heavily wooded, so you often end up throwing a lot of thumbers, but that is not always a bad thing.
Other Thoughts: Super fun course, and if you are in the area, it is the best place to play around.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Did Someone Say Fun

2-4    5/16/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 100  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is quite possibly in one of the most beautiful settings that one could possibly find. There are some incredible views. The course itself offers much more than just great views as well. There is a great variety of distances and shots required on this course. The layout was well thought out and takes advantage of the natural features of the land. Each hole has multiple pin placements that range from easy to sometimes rediculous. There are a lot of locals that love and take care of this course adding some nice features regularly. Baskets are all in good condition. This course is just plain fun to play for just about everyone from the beginer to the pro. The tee pads are cement and consistent throughout the entire course. There are several great risk reward shots on the course and several different options to allow for creativity.
Cons: The tee signs are nothing more than a colord post with a number on them at this point though there is hope that this will change in the near future. For a mountain course there was very minimal elevation change as well as far more open holes than one should expect on a mountain course. Pin placements could drastically change the challenge of the course. After snow melt or a good rain this course is going to be crazy muddy, even to the point of making the nice concrete tee pads someone challenging to navigate. It is also possible to negate some of the challenge of this course if you have a good overhead shot. I am really trying to be at picky as I can on these as this truly is a fun course to play.
Other Thoughts: There are really only 18 holes on this course as it seem hole 19 is no longer going to be there. There is a tee pad for hole 19 but I am guessing there were too many complaints about cars getting hit. There are obviously some improvements that can be made to improve this course and I wouldn't be surprised if things improved in the near future with the number of people that love this course. Course maps have not been updated in a little while and while they are still very helpful for navigation the distances listed on the map you can find on this site is off for some holes. Hole 2, known as the crater hole, was the most memorable hole on the course, even if it really was a giant sink hole rather than an actual crater. This is really one of those courses that reminded me why I love playing this game so much. It is just a remarkable course that is fun to play.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    3/13/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: paulrothley@msn.com
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very well marked course, challenging, and beautiful land. #2 is a real kick. This course has some pin placements that are very challenging, in the trees, etc.
Cons: Not much to pick on, T - pads can be dangerous, very dusty, no bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: This one is a must play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 worth the drive

5+    10/4/2009   2/16/2010
Review By: 54over14
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best course in the Roaring Fork valley if not Colorado.

Multiple pin locations, drives can go short or long Hyzer, Anny, dead straight...they give you everything to keep the cousre fun. Open, wooded, Elevation change...everything makes you think a bit more then what you're used to if you play a "park" course.
Cons: Bring water, Pee in the bushes, and go early to avoid heat, dust, and loads of people. Soccer in the fall can eat up lots of the parking.
Other Thoughts: This is a "mountain" course so don't be surprised by stumps, broken branches, wild animal scat, variable footing, wind, blah, blah, blah...bottom line is come prepared.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Flat Mountain Course

1    9/6/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: HRPufinstuf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I echo the other reviewers in terms of variety of shots / challenges etc.... I am almost exclusively LHBH, but the guys I played with (their home course) pulled everything out of the bag - rollers, tomahawks, thumbers, forehand, backhand etc.... and they outscored me by 8 / 9 strokes. I love the pinon forest courses (Leadville has similar feel but overall experience not nearly as nice) - the trees are generally low enough you have over head routes and there is little underbrush once in the woods. Over half the holes it seemed allow for big rips - wide open fairways - with pins located in the trees - so your approach to basket is key. Be sure you know how you want to approach with your upshot before you release your drive. Crater hole is as advertised. Thanks for cactus warnings - still got bit!
Cons: You must have a map or play with someone who knows the course - this was my first time and if i had not hooked up with locals - I would have been pretty frustrated looking for baskets and tees. Tee boxes are concrete but have no hole information - often not even a number. No yardage or pin placements info. There are tee marker stands ready for hole info - but nothing there now. Height of first basket is not to code - but its cool. this would easily garner 5 discs if there was better hole info and course navigation.
Other Thoughts: I hooked up with three locals on hole 3: Wayne Garcia, RJ and Al. What great guys. Wayne is the main guy who takes care of the course and puts in improvements - its his baby and it shows - he is full of ideas for more improvements. I just wonder what he could do if he had volunteer teams like we get at Beaver Ranch. These three guys are perfect examples of why I like this game so much. Friendly, easy going, free with advice and encouragement - really made me feel welcomed and would play again with them anytime, anywhere.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  CMC has it right

5+    8/26/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: andreicus88
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all, tight alleys, open meadows, some elevation changes (minimal), hysers, anhysers, etc. Great place to develop your skills because the course designers have built in some mandos but nothing too discouraging.
Cons: Can be busy on the weekends. Course contains a lot of tall grasses/sage and some pinion so the potential for loosing a disc is there so be carefull and follow your shot.
Other Thoughts: This has become my go-to course despite the fact that I have three other courses that are closer to my home, definitely get to this one if you can.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 gorgeous

1    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I stopped by this course while on vacation and I have to say it was absolutely gorgeous. I am against rating it any higher than 4.0 since I've only played it once, but I would definitely go again. My most memorable hole is there, hole number two, and constantly tell people about the "crater hole" at CMC. All the holes are new, fun, and can be quite challenging. The long hole is deceptively harder than it looks, seeing as since you are on top of a plateau with no wind cover whatsoever. If you are having a hard time on the DG course and need something to cheer you up, just look around. Mount Sopris is something to marvel at
Cons: - Very dry and at a very high altitude. take a drink
- Can be dangerous for people that aren't as mobile or spry.
-Watch out for cactus!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.